Rent LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

2580 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun with Flaws

posted by bnortman (ANKENY, IA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lego Harry Potter is fun, just like all the other lego games. The drawback? TONS of glitches. Sure they fixed a few, like being stuck in the dragon dungeon, but after i beat the game, and went back to get all the extra stuff, I wasn't allowed in certain areas, or when i went in a room, the screen went back and my PS3 froze. I think they should have made a few more test runs of the game before releasing it to the public

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Def Rent if your a potter/lego fan

posted by RynoDyno (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

What can i say about this game... its good fun and excitement, but if you have played any previous lego game and have hated it for its repetitive nature and what not than steer clear of this game. If you are a harry potter fan, def rent this game, it is very worth it. Missions and levels are a bit quick sadly but at least they outline exactly what you need to do. Very easy controls to adapt to and graphics are nice and crisp. I wish i could give it a higher rating but for some reason the game would freeze on me every once and a while. I played the game through and enjoyed everything it threw at me. The camera was really not an issue but one problem was that certain levels just gave you a new thing and sent you out there hoping you know what to do. I say just rent this thing and play the crud out of it... no harm in that here is the quick run down

Graphics: great graphics for a lego game, look nice and vibrant when they need to be

Sound: Harry potterverse music all over the place, but it fits perfect into everything you need since you are playing harry potter after all

Controls: Actually liked the controls, after using the broom the first time i felt like a pro, aiming system for the wand is nice since you just press it and it seems to shoot everything but what you want it to.

Replay value: if you are they type who loves to collect every little thing and secret than this game is exactly your looking for. Golden bricks, regular bricks, characters you name it, it all can be unlocked. If not play through it enjoy the ride because its fun.

Final Grade: I give this a B-, this game does a lot to make me love it but at times makes me hate it with how repetitive it gets. There is a lot of wit and play and overall a great rental, but that said will only be a rental. If you have kids they will love this, if not you will love this if you are a potter/lego fan. If you hated any of the past lego games, please don't think this will change anything. As always, Happy Gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Clean Fun

posted by Catmandude (MEDINA, OH) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Lego Harry Potter is a great clean fun family game. It has the story mode, free play, bonus levels, ability to create your own levels. Unfortunately it only supports local coop and you cannot upload your levels online.

This just may be my experience with the game but it froze up and crashed the PS3 nearly ten times on single player between 90% and 98.5% completion. Back up your save file regularly in this case.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lego harry potter

posted by rashonk1 (SANDUSKY, OH) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was really bad i dont want to see the game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A game where the recommended age applies.

posted by UltraMedic (FRESNO, CA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not much to be said about this game. If you've played any LEGO brand game before you pretty much know what your getting yourself into. While yes I am a bit older than the specified age group this game is designed for, I have played LEGO games in the past and found them to be enjoyable.

Before you say, oh, this guy just hates Harry Potter... let me just say, wrong. I've read the books and seen all the movies. This is very much so not the case. My problem is more likely that I'm tackling this game solo. It's your classic case of run, shoot, jump, manipulate, repeat... and it gets old very fast. In the past I had played a friends copy of LEGO Star Wars in coop mode while very intoxicated and had a blast. So hard to say which factor really made it enjoyable for me. The fact it was Star Wars, or the fact it was coop... let's be honest. I think it was the alcohol.

This game gets old quickly and as much as it breaks my little black heart to not finish a game... yes I'm stopping at less than 10%... this is worse than using tongs to forcefully remove your own eyeballs or... put paper cuts on your nipples and run a mile in a cotton shirt. I'd rather be spoon fed baby feces than spend another minute listening to a Deaf Cartoon Reproduction of Harry Potter. This game = not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is the second time I've got a first review:)

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 20 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

I played it and thought why hasn't LEGO done any Halo lego games?????? Anyways, it was good, good graphics (for a LEGO game), good sound, cool idea, and is worth a try for LEGO fans. That's all. Awesome person out. WAIT!!!! When are they going to make a second one? I would very much like to see the next movies made into LEGO games. But yes try this game and if you don't like it, DON'T BUY IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not super thrilled with it

posted by Nuria4 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

It was cute. Kept with the Lego game theme. Funny little pokes and jabs at the movie. It was simple but entertaining. I played through the first few levels before we returned it. My kids got bored with it easily. My 6 year old just likes to destroy things so he didn't get anywhere in the story line and my 9 year old just thought it was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not too many games I don't like, but...

posted by Ambino (CRESCENT CITY, FL) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

I hated this game from the start. Easy trophies, whatever... I just didn't like it. I rented it, played it for about an hour, put it back in the sleeve and shipped it back. Some games just aren't for everyone. Maybe if I were 9 or something? Idk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game and codes work

posted by kccarrel (GOLETA, CA) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I love the way this game plays. I love the X3840 to give you true wizard instantly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Would Freeze Constantly

posted by pml679 (BUDA, TX) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I tried playing this game, couldn't even get through the first two levels let alone the first year of Hogwarts. I love the LEGO series, have played and platted Indiana 2, Star Wars III, and Pirates, and never had any glitches or problems with those games.

This was a terrible experience, I thought perhaps it was my PS3 since I couldn't find many other people with this experience, so I waited over a week. Since Harry I have played over SIX different games and had no problems with any of them, so I can hardly believe it is my maching. Perhaps it is beacause I have a newer machine?

I just wanted to post this as a warning to people who are considering this game alongside the other LEGO games, play some of them first, please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT

posted by freak0nature24 (MEXICO, MO) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I love Harry Potter! This game has challenges that test the mind! Can't wait for Years 5-7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining Game

posted by wmartin83 (SCHERTZ, TX) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

My daughter loves this game. I have played it too. Not very difficult. It is entertaining. I may have to buy this game. It is like all the other Lego games. If you have kids or if you are Harry Potter fans, I highly recommend this game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OK gAME.

posted by RJH1229 (SEBRING, FL) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

i am 12 years old and i rented this game because i am a huge fan of harry potter and i own a ps3 and love it. i also have harry potter and the deahtly hallows for my ps3. it is so much fun. this game is in legos so of course it is going to have no talking and a lot of humor. i like the lego games but this one was not especially appealing to me once i got into playing it. it is fun but there is one part that i can just not get past!!!!! isent it back because i didnt like it that much. now i have ordered harry potter and the order of the pheonix and it should be arriving soon.well, that is all that i have ti say!!!! bye!!!! iammilkingmyboobiesritenow!!!!!!hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Harry Potter Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by hillk5223 (GROVE CITY, OH) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Awsome game best I ever All 7 of the Harry Potter games rocks there AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay Game

posted by Nickhil14 (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was okay because the game only went for four years with easy levels. I wanted some challenging levels but sadly, I got none. If you like wands you should get this game but if you like challenge in this game, you might see it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute game and entertaining

posted by Madragal (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was really cute to play. It followed the movie more than the books, so it is predictable, but the many challenges are fun. It's obviously a pretty easy game, but there were times when even I (26!) got stuck, so for a younger person it's just right.

I lost a many of hours on just running through the game, and it can get annoyingly repetitive having to repeat missions to unlock things later on when you unlock other people, but at the same time it has good replay value in that sense because once you beat the game you can go back and finish all the side missions.

Overall, I really liked it and would definitely suggest it if you are a Harry Potter fan, as I am. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trophy mine

posted by hiltinberg (RUPERT, ID) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This game is a good way to score trophies if thats what your after

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game To Play

posted by Photographer301 (BERTRAND, MO) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This was a fun game to play and it is a easy game to get a platinuim trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost worse then Lego Rockband

posted by Karnage75 (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

But not quite, they have really gone downhill since the Rockband and it seems that they are just turning out trash to keep the money coming in. I rented this for my kids, and they were bored and uninterested within a hour. But they can play Batman,Indy, or starwars until they havge to go to bed. There is just something missing about this game. I hope the Clone wars is done as well as the first Lego games were.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, real funny another Classic.. Almost

posted by tfchronos (MORGANTON, NC) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Look, don't get me wrong I love Lego games, I own Star Wars, Indy 1 & Batman, I never thought so much humor could come from characters that didn't talk, what's even better is it's good clean humor.

Lego Harry Potter is no different on those terms. I'm giving it a 7 because sadly it is chalked full of errors and glitches unlike previous Lego games. I can't even count how many times I have to redo levels because the game would not work correctly. I even had to restart my game completely because the Gold cauldrons did not unlock like they should have. I didn't notice it until I had completed all 4 years. And don't bother with 2 player Online or at home it's even worse (No it's not the disc, it looked brand new no scratches)

Which tells me Tt rushed the game a didn't take the time to fine tune it like SW a Indy 1 making the game is bitter sweet for me.

Other than that it's very fun and challenging for people of all ages. Hogwarts looks great very well detailed, the characters while they look simple they are still very well done Tt out did themselves on that. If you like any of the Lego games then you will like this one, to a point. Had Tt taken proper time to fine tune it then it would easily be another classic for me. My only hope is that they take a little more time to do future Lego games and not rush them through like this one.

This should at least be rented; jury is still out on whether I would buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great but not best lego

posted by nightpanda (SANTA FE, NM) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this was a really fun game with tons to do..... i did like batman better though. running through hogwarts all the time got annoying and the game was kinda buggy -- had to start levels over.. got stuck trying to get bonus materials... but i did have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but Buggy

posted by catalyzt (ARCHER, FL) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

We had fun playing this game. Most of the bugs were funny and not too much trouble until the end when we went back to collect all items and get all trophies. Worked real hard and then found out some of the trophies were bugged with no fix. One of the major ones is the trophy to get all the members of the Gryffindor Quidditch team. We got them all but the game would never recognize it. Was a bummer to have worked so hard and not get the platinum. Needless to say we decided not to buy the game based on this and just played it through our gamefly rental and then sent it back a little disheartened. Only way to fix this bug was to play the game through from the start and it wasnt fun enough for that. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Many Glitches!!!

posted by Nrobayo (BRONX, NY) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I was excited to finally get this after being in my que for a few months. I was only able to play up to year one because when I was trying to load year two it would get stuck on the loading screen.I managed to get it to load but then the game froze on the cut screen. I was reading around and it appears that this game has tons of glitches and that the game devs put out a patch but it really doesnt seem to fix anything. Its too bad though cause I was having fun playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Harry potter 1-4

posted by mmagamer19 (HENDERSON, NV) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Good game, not great. It was a little repetitive and somewhat difficult in times because theres no real guidance to the game at all. and it is an extremely dark game. half the time i couldnt see what was in the room with me and thats what i needed to find. overall i enjoyed the game though and if you are a lego fan that its for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My boy loved it

posted by junkmail (ODELL, OR) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

My boy likes all the LEGO games but this was one of his favorites. So if your 7 year old likes Harry then this is for you.
Or him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse