Rent LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, DS, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
7.4

4312 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must!

posted by Squiggles2013 (VENUS, TX) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so I rented this for the easy achievements, but it actually ended up being a great game! The story has some funny parts, and the collectibles were a bit tedious, but well worth it, because they were fun to collect. I almost didn't want to send it back after I beat it to 100%. This is a MUST RENT or at least BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the Better LEGO Games

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LEGO Harry Potter is definitely one of the higher tier LEGO Games. I like it better than the Batman or Indiana Jones ones, but not more than the Star Wars ones. There is quite a lot of content available, however unfortunately because of how much IS available it occasionally drags on.

I think if I hadn't played LEGO Star Wars III: Clone Wars a few months prior to this, I'd rate it higher. But unfortunately so far Clone Wars is the best one to date and thus, throughout playing Harry Potter I was constantly thinking "If only it had this new feature Clone Wars introduced..." Who knows, maybe Harry Potter 5-7, with the new engine, will wow me more than this one did.

That's not to say this is a bad, or even mediocre game. It was a lot of fun. Like the other LEGO games before (and after) it, Harry Potter's scenes reconstructed (lame pun totally intended) in LEGO form are all very humorous, and the world and atmosphere created in the levels are all fantastic. The gameplay is just as fun as always.

I definitely recommend this game to anyone who wants to have fun with a friend, or a parent looking for quality, legitimately fun gaming they can share with their kids that won't treat them like they're stupid (I'm looking at you movie tie-ins), or gamers just looking to boost their achievement score with a VERY easy 1000 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game

posted by cov331 (FREMONT, OH) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

lego blows my mind with the way how they do these games, it is pretty cool how you can have so many spells. it is really one of the games where if you like to have some fun with getting decent achievment this is the game for you. kinda addicting to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Instant Family Classic

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As with all LEGO games, the basic game play is destroy everything & collect the LEGO pieces. With LHP being the 7th game of the LEGO series, it could have become very old to follow the destroy/collect idea. However Travelers Tales (Herein TT) made sure that wasn't the case. Except for a really good twist, LHP follows the same basic premise of destroy/collect LEGO's. The twist is spells. To interact with different items in the game, characters cast spells. TT made sure that casting spells was easy. For the most part, all I had to do was aim & the correct spell was cast for me. There were times that I had to scroll through the spells to find the right one, but it was rare enough that it wasn't an issue. There are the same old issues with poor AI partners and poor platforming. With that said, there were no frustrating moments like past LEGO games.

The story is told through cut scenes & follows the movie version for the most part (with a lot of humor added). TT has taken some liberties with the story. TT did an extravagant job in doing so. 99.9% of the time it only adds to the experience. There was 1 time at the end of the Prisoner of Azkaban that what TT did made no sense to me in the big picture of the story. But overall the story & presentation was excellent. Also, the learning curve is slim to none.

The graphics and sound are top notch. TT won me over with stunning detail to Hogwarts. And I nearly had convulsions watching the cut scenes so many times because they are that good. The sound is grunts w/ the characters & the soundtrack will be familiar to fans.

The lasting appeal in this game is there is SO much stuff to do. LHP provides 10-11 hrs of game play without 100% completion & a WHOLE lot more with 100% completion. LHP is easily one of the best LEGO & HP games, which is saying a LOT. Now the wait is on for the rest of the LEGO Harry Potter story.

LHP is definitely worth renting, if not out right buying. Harry Potter fans will rejoice in the splendor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Lego Game Yet

posted by Wess25 (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I have played all the Lego games of this style since Star Wars and this is the best one yet. I was never the biggest Harry Potter fan but I have seen the movies and playing this game only deepens my interest in the franchise.
After playing the last Lego game (Indiana Jones 2) I was a little disappointed, as were some critics, because it wasn't up to par with any of the other Lego games. Well after a slight bump in the road that was Indy 2 the developers have actually surpassed my expectations and made a wonderfully crafted game.
To give you an idea of the length of this game I have put in 5 hours and am only 10% done with it. I am strongly considering keeping this game because I can see it being fun to play even after I have completed it. If you have ever enjoyed any of the Lego games of this type than give this one a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

glitch filled title

posted by jdizzle23 (Cottonwood, CA) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoy all the lego titles and look forward to their release, this title is no different.
The only real problem with this game as with all lego titles is the glitches that either enable you to get achievements easier then was planed or won't allow you to get all available achievements. The latter being the case for me in Lego Harry Potter years 1-4. There is a glitch that won't allow for you to get all students in peril which will keep you from attaining the last five achievements. This isn't always true for everyone but I played through 2 times and both times there is a student who I save and the game makes its chime but the happy face doesn't come across the screen and no gold brick is awarded.
Like I said I know this isn't happening to everyone but there are numerous glitches that are.
Overall I enjoyed this game. It is great for my kids and achievements are really only important to me so I would definetly recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.

posted by Bakamicado (DELTONA, FL) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Love the long campaign, it gave me hours of fun, and lots of acheivements as well. Definatley worth a rent!!(;

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely well thought out and implemented

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

So far I am enjoying this title immensely. It really has done a good job getting you into the Harry Potter world.

Well done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potter and the Terrible Game

posted by elmersglue (CORONA, CA) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the most frustrating video games I have ever played. I figured that since I liked Lego Star Wars, and I like Harry Potter, this game would be great. Instead, it took the frustrating parts of other Lego games and ramped them up to 10. I have no clue how children are supposed to play this game. The water level is the worst video game level I've seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring

posted by NixNixus (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the game was not fun and way to confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOADS OF FUN

posted by DeJaVu561 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

THIS WAS A VERY FUN GAME.

I MYSELF AM AND ACHIEVEMENT JUNKIE AND GOT THE GAME FOR THE 1000GS, BUT IT TURNED OUT TO BE MORE ENJOYABLE THEM I HAVE EVER THOUGHT.

THE GAME FOLLOWS MOVIE EVENTS ALMOST TO THE T WHILE PLAYING THE CAMPAIGN.

THE ACHIEVEMENTS AREN'T THE HARDEST TO GET BUT THE REQUIRE SOME TIME TO FIND ALL THE COLLECTIBLES, CAN BE DONE IN TWO PLAY TROUGHS, AND A GOOD GUIDE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Love lego games, roundabout manner

posted by Foehammer (CAMBRIA, CA) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When Lego Indiana Jones came out I was the first in line. I fell in love with Lego Star Wars and sometimes restart a campaign to this day. Both these games are great, but Lego Harry Potter falls short.

It does have the destroy everything way about it, but when there is too much to destroy it can get a little irritating. Plus I don't know how many times I had to look online to find my way around Hogwarts after completion of the story. I think Lego Harry Potter lacks the sweet simplicity of the other Lego games.

I would like to say one very important thing about this game. They started a new trend of certain item/blocks that you can place anywhere you like within the expected area. The idea is to give the player more freedom over the surroundings, but more often it just provided more frustration for me. There seemed to be no room for margin of error and I could never seem to be able to restart after I messed up placement of the items (which I did a lot).

I know this may sound like an amateur gamer complaint, but I like being told what I need to do. Sometimes the game just had this roundabout way of completing a scene that I either didn't know what to do or I accidentally finished a spot before I wanted to. This has always been kind of true for Lego games, but with Harry Potter it seemed worse than ever.

The spells are kind of neat, but when you are in free play mode it is difficult to switch between them since the button to switch spells quickly and the button to switch characters are the same button. Plus, I felt that since every level had some kind of object that needed an "evil" character, one should have been available sooner.

One last item, when picking characters from the ones you have bought, they oscillate between silhouette and the actual picture. That was an unnecessary affectation that proved more frustrating since (even if you have bought the character) you can't pick it if the picture has fluxed to the silhouette. That just seems stupid to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok, but nothing special

posted by Ash6318 (Kannapolis, NC) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game has nothing new to the series. The game has both book and movie references. The only thing that I could say to watch out for is that there is a lot of glitches in the game, and use a faq for the student in peril in Hogwarts castle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why the 4

posted by Hector79 (HIALEAH, FL) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is not really to good yes its fun to play but just not as fun as Lego Batman was i was looking for the same thing with harry potter but could not find it maybe its cuz i have never had any interest in those harry potter movie and i had more interest in batman flicks but either way Lego Harry Potter Was not a very good game to play for me ....

:::Hector:::

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NEVER AGAIN

posted by Killerjulz (RICHMOND, TX) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

This game was fun at first, but it gets boring after a couple hours into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Magic System.

posted by Kumama (ALGONQUIN, IL) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This plays and feels like an older, glitchier Lego game. The polish seen in the second Harry Potter or other games like Batman is not present here, and the fun of casting spells and running through the first four movies is diminished somewhat by the tedious puzzles and obtuse system of character switching via potions. The quidditch levels could have been a lot better as most of the time you'll be idly watching a quidditch match while playing through a tedious platforming level instead of riding a broomstick yourself. Overall fun for mega Harry Potter fans but if you're looking for a really great Lego game, try years 5-7 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not my favorite Lego game

posted by Jetv72 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I've played every Lego game other than Harry Potter 5-7. I have to say though years 1-4 is definetly my least favorite. While I was plying the game it was missing something every other lego game had. I hated the fact that you had to walk around hogwarts for 30 min doing stupid tasks just to get to the next level. Another thing is every year in the game is pretty much the same because you visit the same places and do different tasks in the same place! The only year that was unique was year 4. The character unlocking system was also horrible, you actually had to go around finding charter tokens to buy characters. There was some pretty cool aspects to the game though the different spells that you use for different situations was a pretty clever way to implement the harry potter spells into the game. I honestly would not recomend this game at all. If your a die hard harry potter fan then you would probably enjoy the funny cut-scenes from the movie but other than that and a few sections in this game this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by BenihanaGT (BOTHELL, WA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This was a fun game to play over a couple weeks. The game goes through the basic story-line with modifications that make it work as both a video game and as a kid friendly game. If you are a Harry Potter fan you will enjoy this game as long as you don't take sticking to the exact story-line too seriously. It is a lot of fun to just explore around Hogwarts with the Harry Potter music playing in the background.

They lock the user out of being able to complete the game 100% by just playing through the story. You have to beat the game, then go through the levels again to get past ~35% completion. After I got to about 75% I had to use a guide online to find the rest of the items to get to 100% completion. Once you find the red bricks, go to the shop in diagon alley that you can buy them, then go to the extras section of the start menu to enable them. This will help you get to 100% completion a lot faster than I was able to.

It is also fairly easy to get every achievement as well, about 85% will be satisfied by completing the game 100%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

broke my streak!

posted by HERRON (JEFFERSON CITY, MO) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Although this game is a lot of fun, and easier to beat than the others, don't expect to get 1000/1000 like the other lego games. They changed this one so its WORK to use a walkthrough and not worth it. You can get about 600/1000 and it still be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad

posted by Xman245 (LORTON, VA) May 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

It's the same as any Lego game. Good but not the worst Lego game I've played. I do have an idea on the next Lego game they should make. It should be Lego Hunger Games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Boring

posted by MnGeLove053110 (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game was very repetitive and i sent it back the same day i got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another fantastic entry in the Lego series

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

Indina Jones and Pirates of the Carribean and now Harry Potter are my favorite lego games. Exploring Hogwarts has never been so much fun but I wish they would have put in some kind of map system bcos it was hard to keep track of where you were and had been. The stroy was fun and as always the humor spot on great. Overall a near perfect score and defiantly worth a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Broken

posted by gearslovingun (WYANDOTTE, MI) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This wouldve been fun if it wasnt for the game breaking bugs. It would freeze when replaying a level just to collect all of the unlockables. first lego game ive played that made me madder as ive played more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's just an average game from Lego.

posted by assaisin7 (CAMILLUS, NY) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

I didn't know what I expected when I rented this game. I am a fan or previous Lego games including Indiana Jones and the original Star Wars which i found much superior to this game. The game's redundancy and hardship of character unlock is frustrating and time restraining. My 10 year old brother also found this game lacking that special something that was found in the previous ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game stinks

posted by speedyhink (WYOMING, MI) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

i've played a bunch of diffrent lego games. By far this is the worst one I've ever played. I played it for about a half hour before deciding this game is lacking in what i would call a lego game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse