Rent LEGO City Undercover for Wii U
view large frontback

LEGO City Undercover

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

484 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect 10!

posted by Mikey1228 (YORK, PA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A perfect 10 across the board! I hate to describe it as a “G” rated Grand Theft Auto 3 like game, but it does play like that to me. I’ve only been playing it for the past 3 or 4 days, but I’m hooked on it. It’s tons a fun.

I highly recommend renting or buying it. I have it rented right now, but it will never leave my house again. I’ll be buying it at one point or another. I love it and I know my 8 year old son will love it too…as soon as he gets here this weekend and plays it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome! It's the best LEGO game yet! You can take cars and learn kung fu ! GET IT NOW!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lego city undercover

posted by Supamom70 (WATKINSVILLE, GA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i think i would give it a 10 if it was 2+ players but it is a pretty funny game imean honey HONEY! and more levels like 60 levels i think you should get every thing with ChaseMcCain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego grand theft auto

posted by marc123 (RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ) Apr 9, 2013

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was awesome the only thing i did not like is the combat but other than that it is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More fun than expected.

posted by JPlayEy (HANOVER PARK, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Found this to be one of those game were you will have just as much fun after you beat the game because of freedom it gives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego Game Review (Wii U)

posted by esphung (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game was ok. Kept my attention for about 15 min. My nephew on the other hand(4 years old) loves the game...he won't get off of it. Buy this game if you have a little boy that likes lego stuff...they will play forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get it

posted by buddy74 (ALLEN, TX) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Patience.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Apr 10, 2013

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very much your average lego game with the twist of having a more GTA style open world. It does have a story and generally likable characters.

One of its pit falls is it takes a whole lot from the days before they used voice acting in lego games. The physical Warner brothers style comedy is still present but this makes the game feel like it was completely made for children.

I greatly enjoy the license games for the novelty of playing the lego version of many of my favorite figures in pop culture. Maybe that is what makes the lego games so good.

The largest downside to this game by far is the load times. It is insane this game takes forever to load sequences. You also never know when that door or item or scene might require the load time so it involves a whole lot of sitting there staring at that rotating badge. I found myself picking up my phone and playing games on that while waiting. That is never a good sign.

A new feature is the collection of blocks that once you have enough you can go to large empty areas and use a build feature that will allow you to create larger lego structures. This feature is great but it is still very limited do not expect to be able to build and place your own original objects.

Over all this game is just another Lego game without the novelty of the licensed series. Likely going to be beloved by children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Starsky & Hutch and a little shaft with legos.

posted by jonny5isalive (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

pure wholesome fun for any age and most ten year olds
won't even get half of the tv & movie references in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by timmyyocum (STANFORD, KY) Aug 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Me and my son love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way too easy but a whole lot of fun.

posted by Horatio99 (BELLEVUE, NE) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2008

The storyline and writing for this game is spot on with great jokes. However, it is a bit too easy. But you should still play it for the laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great, but beware of non working copies

posted by Zazaaji (POTTSBORO, TX) Jun 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The game was great fun while it lasted. The problem was that on chapter 4, the game always gave error 151. After googling it, it's an issue with buggy copies, and even brand new copies of any game can have it. Have to warn all other customers:Gamefly has at least one broken copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lego city

posted by SunnyShores (WAUPACA, WI) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

The open world is pretty massive. a decent selection of cars, fun missions and some genuinely funny moments. this game was a blast to play, plus all of the hidden Nintendo easter eggs to try and find. this game will take up hours upon hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so good

posted by xfactor360 (GEORGETOWN, OH) May 10, 2014

Member since May 2014

I enjoyed the game in the beginning, but it became difficult after awhile. In my opinion its a good/hard game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by totaldrama (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

this game is so awsome and funny that you will think that some parts are hard some are easy totaldrama out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game is a Must-Have!

posted by ChaseTheRace11 (GRANTVILLE, PA) Sep 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

If you're into GTA, if you're into LEGO® bricks, and if you're into action and fighting... THIS, IS THE PERFECT GAME FOR YOU. Honestly, I only played this game for 2 days, but I loved it. It's one of the greatest Wii U games as of 9/29/2013! (psst not when MK8 and SSB4 come out, that'll be a different story xD) So, the first thing I did in this game was grab a car and went around the town causing mayhem and destruction. Until I finally decided to go do my first in-game mission. It was great! The free roaming was great, the missions were great, everything was GREAT! If you need a new title for your GameQ or an opportunity to buy a Nintendo Wii U game, this, I say this, is the greatest game you can get as of 9/29/2013!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game so far for Wii U

posted by paulsukhu (DALLAS, TX) Jul 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game is a must have for Wii U owners with kids age 5 to 12. It is entertaining enough for adults to play with their kids. Violence is minimized as much as possible and the ability to roam throughout the city is great for young gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic!

posted by GameFreakCFH (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

This is definently a game i would recommend to any of my friends. Hilarious cutscenes, creative use of the gamepad, amazing characters, and awesome action. Although the super-builds can get a bit annoying, especially in the beginning of the game, when you dont have the equipment to get most of the super bricks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by crbug7 (WACO, TX) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I got this game and was playing for 1 whole week. my friends are also hooked onto it. so I shipped it back, went to target, and got it. it was THAT good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grand Theft Lego

posted by Fleshbot (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

Excellent game, full of lego style fun. I've been through the Star Wars, Batman, and Indiana Jones lego worlds and this while a great game is a major disappointment. My only reason for not giving this a 10/10 is that it is a single player only. No coop. Lego coop games have helped my daughter and I argue for years. I will purchase this game if they release a co-op patch, otherwise it is a fun rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego CITY

posted by virtualrw (Nolensville, TN) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

This is a great game with unlimited possibilities. The game as consumed by two boys for weeks now - they are still only at ~80% complete. Must HAVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best lego game yet!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

after started playing this game i can't put it down it's a must have for the wiiu i waited months to try it it's worth it! i give lego city undercover 5 robbers out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lego city

posted by redsoxs2 (LOVELOCK, NV) May 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

when I got Lego city undercover it had a scratch in it so it didn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Undercover Job I that’s a whole lot of fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

When the head villain Rex Fury strikes at the heart of LEGO City, it’s up to our hero Chase McCain, to restore order (or not). I really liked the story – some of the cut scenes are hilarious – just like in other LEGO games.
LEGO City: Undercover is a free roaming game where you play as Chase, and it’s up to you to get through several puzzles by utilizing Chase’s suits.
Each suit (there are eight) gives Chase powers. For example, the cop suit lets him shoot a grappling hook at certain spots or listen in to conversations.
Then there’s the miner’s suit when let him use dynamite.
Or the robber’s suit that lets him break into certain doors
The main story is much longer than your average story (it could go 12 hours), but the real treat is exploring LEGO City during and after the main story is over.
There is so much to discover in the vast playground that is LEGO City – you can take on tasks like rescue cats, stop gangs, launch pigs back to a farm (don’t ask), or stop space aliens from sneaking onto this world. It’s so much that you might want to take a coffee break every now and then (something else you can do as well). I enjoyed the dozens of hours I played just on the side quests.
However, there are only a few drawbacks to the game: This game can only be played by only one player, some of the abilities are copies of other abilities (the robber’s crowbar and the construction worker’s dynamite are far too similar) and some of the main missions just aren’t as fun as the others.
But if you’re a fan of LEGO games, then you have to buy LEGO City Undercover. I think it’s one of the BEST GAMES OF THE WIIU this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good fun

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

With pretty graphics, a sprawling open world, and hilarious writing and voice acting, "Lego City: Undercover" delivers what is probably the best Lego video game experience to date. The story mode is fun, and also quite long, and, in typical sandbox game fashion, there's lots of extra stuff to do on the side (though a willingness to scrounge for innumerable Lego bricks is necessary). If you're a Lego fan, then this game is definitely for you. And if - like me - you're not really that into Legos, the story mode is still worth a playthrough for the fun stunts, goofy action, and, of course, the side-splitting comedy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse