Rent LEGO City Undercover: The Chase Begins for 3DS
view large frontback

LEGO City Undercover: The Chase Begins

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego City Undercover The Chase Begins 3DS!

posted by gamer127 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A lot of the reviews i read about The lego game were (Dont get it there is a fog that does not let you see all of the city at once!) Which i understand reviewers need to point out that stuff in a game, But when i rented it there was a fog but it Does nothing to keep the player out of the games Experience Which is (open world play). Lets get Down to it.

The City is broken up into huge sections, Where you can explore downtown, Then go across the bridge (Loading) And explore the next part of it. When i say huge i mean HUGE! Now for Pros And Cons!!!

Pros. An open world 3DS Lego Game, A Fun combat system, A Funny Storyline (which is also broken up but still is Just like a movie) , The game lets you drive Cars, Fly UFOS And Helicopters, Boats, And A ROBOT And Much much more!

Cons. The lag the reviewers told me it had was Incredibly Hard to notice, The games gyro functions are a little hard to control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was Worth The Wait

posted by Mame3388 (NEWARK, DE) May 9, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can only review this game from an observers point of view as I get what my 7 year-old grandson requests (within reason, of course). We waited the six weeks for the April 23rd release of Lego City Undercover and three days later he was happily gaming away. I asked a few times if he needed some help and I got, "No thanks", which was great for me because I'm not the best at helping. He loves this game, and after two weeks is still as enthusiastic as the first played day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awsome

posted by dj_adriadr (SOUTH RICHMOND HILL, NY) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked the game the characters the fighting.This game is like gta but for kids. However the controls are kinda weird but besides that its awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very strong title. Uncover this gem.

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

Pros: Great open world. Lots of personas to build up your character. Take control of several vehicles. Some funny moments and neat set pieces.

Cons: Load times? This game has one of the longest load times of any 3DS game. The world is in 6? parts. So when you cross a boundary, you will tire of the loading. The fighting is unfortunately a joke. Button mash until they all get arrested.

Also: I was at first trying to collect all the items even after finishing the story, but that gets old quickly as some items require some fancy path. That path is sometimes impossible to see because sometimes the camera is locked and in scan mode, the graphics wash out.

The extra items won't help at all. They are there for extra fun, but the fun drops off after the story is done. I'm use to completing previous LEGO titles to 100%, but I'm done with this one at 38%.

I wish there was more to the story. I wish there was a New Game+ with harder enemies and keeping collected items, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego Meets GTA

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Even if Lego's were intended for kids, I know for a fact that no one can resist them, not even me. The ability to build, the humor associated with the franchise, and the games. This is certainly no exception, it's so much fun and so satisfying. Contrary to possible popular beliefs this is not a 3DS version of the critically acclaimed Wii U game, it's actually a handheld prequel telling the story of how Chase McCain became a cop and became arch enemies with Rex Fury. Then jokes make you laugh out so hard when you see and hear them, the writers did a good job. If you don't have a Wii U but have a 3DS, get this first because then you'll be ready for the console game when you get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very fun lego game

posted by matt5177 Jul 13, 2013

To start off this game is very fun and enjoyable.The missions are fun to play and the free roam feature is cool too.The game last about 6 to 8 hours and there is a lot to do in lego city.There are also many collectibles and characters to find.The graphics are pretty good for the 3ds, but there is always fog in the distance because the section still has not loaded and some times the framerate slows down.Another annoying thing is that lego city is split up into sections and the loading times in this game are extremely long and most of the scenes dont have voice acting.The story mostly consists of you getting a new costume and defeating a boss, but its nice that at the end of every boss battle there is actually a voice acting scene.The 3d effect is nice and stands out.I recommend renting or buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »