Rent LEGO: Battles for DS
view large frontback

LEGO: Battles

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
5.9

639 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Like RTS (Real Time Strategy) games? Try Legocraft

posted by megumegu (Lakewood, WA) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Actually, I have to admit, I've been wondering when a decent RTS type game would come out for the DS. Not that I've really tried very many, but a lot of the ones I've played left me a lil' wanting, especially in the UI (User Interface). This game (at least so far, I've only played the first few missions) really feels like a mod of Warcraft to make all the visuals Lego. If you have a Nintendo DS and like RTSs... play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

KGM Review: LEGO Battles for Nintendo DS

posted by kinggames9 (ASHBURN, VA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, very interactive and fun. The touch screen that you had to do 80% of the stuff with part is interactive. It is challenging and can get hard and or boring. I would recommend this to everyone who doesn't play or like a lot of Shooting and RPG. - Grayson Albers, KGM Master Reviewer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Strategy/ Simulation Selection for the DS

posted by raptorgame (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lego Battles for the Nintendo DS is filled with entertaining puzzles to protect your kingdom from enemy forces. This game makes a great selection especially for Lego fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun On The SPOT! (stud)

posted by DigiFan (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This as fun as watching your favorite cartoon's greatest/funniest episode! The excitement about the constructing of fighters, buildings, specials and walls! The awesome taste of defeating enemies and enemy's bases! The sight of your fun on this good game! Although, there are some lack, like the expense of prices, the impossible-ness of finding the special Red LEGO Bricks and mini-kits (which should be differently decorated in different stories) and some of the low health. But it's still good. Thank you for reading this review. And also, can you guess how many characters (the letters and spaces) I used in this review? Under 1500. Now guess... waiting... and... Lol!!! FOOLED! Why would anyone want to guess something like that? Lol. Maybe you would. Ack! I'm just making this review longer and longer. DANG! USED ANOTHER 100! I should really REALLY stop typing this now. AAAUGHH! Still typing!!! NO!!! ANOTHER 100 USED! Stop... forcing... me... to... type... more... wait a minute! These 3-period things are just using more space. OMG!!! WENT UNDER 1000! Ah, crud. Just letting out answers! Bye. D'OH! ANOTHER HUNDRED! I'll stop typing now. Good-bye FOR REAL. God... Lol. I should stop now. Because I'm really using up space. OH... CRUD... JUST... SPENT... ANOTHER... 100!!! Bye for really real. NO!!! NOT ANOTHER HUNDRED!!! Bye for really REALLY real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very shallow RTS

posted by JimDScott (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very limited. The game is a solid RTS with multiple themes, but there's little depth. There are few choices in unit production and no real resource challenges.

Controlling units can be frustrating. Groups are not remembered, so if you move between an attacking army and a builder, you have to recenter the screen to group the army over and over again.

Navigation is slow -- you have to scroll through the entire map. Other DS RTSes have had some form of a clickable map which brought you to different locations.

This might be a fun game for younger gamers new to the genre, but it's not much of a challenge to anyone experienced with full RTSes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unless you are a good faN of lego don't rent it

posted by tankbuster501 (AZUSA, CA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

I own this game and if you play the the wizards story you'll hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lego batles

posted by sth44 (MADERA, CA) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game was ok but its like a board game. It was fun but only for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lego battles posted oct.28 2010

posted by kermitzack (EL PASO, TX) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I got this game from gamefly already and it was not what I expected I went to Legoland last year and I wanted to get the game there but is was out I had to wait til I got home to get it from gamefly but when I did I got bored the first two days I had it all I have to say is if you like battle games pick a different one because if you like stuff like bad guys destroying everything in your path. I mailed It back the second day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

getting it

posted by mickey1o1 (GHENT, NY) Apr 10, 2010

Member since May 2009

well im getting it from a book order
it looked cool to me so ill giv it a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring...

posted by Lindsag (CHANDLER, AZ) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Strategy games like these are not my style, but I tried it thinking the LEGOS theme would make it cute (and I'm a huge fan of LEGO Batman, Star Wars and Indiana Jones). I could only force myself to play this game for about 20 minutes because it was so boring and slow. If you like these types of games, it is exactly what the game says it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sokay

posted by TheJonboy (TOLEDO, OH) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

It is really weak compared to all of the other lego games I'v played..I guess I just expect more from Lego!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for Young Ones

posted by 1point6 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My 4 year old had a problem with the game play of this title. It is a pretty involved RPG for the casual kid gamer. I liked it though, and so did my 7 year old daughter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »