Rent LEGO Batman for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Batman

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
7.3

2495 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining but Easy

posted by mytibt (WINNETKA, CA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was my first venture into the Lego line of games for the PS3 and I found it to be very entertaining. High points were definitely the interactive environment, character animation, costume changes, and use of vehicles. I especially liked how there was a little gameplay variation (one level is entirely vehicle based) as well as simple problem / puzzle solving, but not nearly enough for a higher rating.

This said, there were a few areas of the game that I would have liked improved (bear in mind that these comments are made from the perspective of a 30-something gamer and that this game is targeted to younger demographics):
1) Controls are a little too simplistic for me - this is one of those one button mashing games
2) Game was too easy - we beat it in about 2 hrs in one sitting
3) Humor was a little cheesy - I'm sure that some younger kids would have enjoyed this more

All in all - very good rental but that's about it. Replay value is not high at all on this one.

RT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just Like Real LEGOs...

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Sep 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

After several iterations of LEGO based titles, you'd assume that Traveller's Tales would fix the main issues its fan-base complained about... and you'd be terribly wrong. LEGO Batman swings into gear with the same pointless puzzles, bad camera angles, and stupid AI that plagued the LEGO Star Wars and LEGO Indy titles. Does this make it a terrible game? Absolutely not.

LEGO Batman follows suit from its predecessors with cute interpretations of beloved icons and mixes in a bit of humor and full fledged LEGO nostalgia. The game doesn't follow the comics, movies, or the television show, but rather opts for a juxtaposition of everything. Essentially, Batman's greatest foes escape from Arkham Asylum and plot revenge. It's generic, but if you're a Batman fan, it provides hours of entertainment.

There are six chapters in the game. The first half you are limited to playing Batman or Robin (or one of the unlocked 'good' characters), who start out boring but become interesting by obtaining suits that grant them different powers. The second half of the game places you in the bad guys' shoes... and what a pair of shoes they are! Each has a unique ability: Mr. Freeze can put his enemies in a block of ice, the Riddler uses mind control, and the Joker shocks anyone he touches. Also, each chapter features a vehicle level that sort of mixes up the aged formula.

The soundtrack is taken directly from Burton's 1989 film adaptation, so you're sure to recognize the music. I was delighted by that.

While LEGO Batman is not a bad game, it is more of the same (unless you are a diehard Bat-nut.) The experience is best in a co-op setting and there is some replay value to be found if you are interested in unlocking all the hidden characters. For me, the game was not worth the $50, though I'm sure some will disagree. Regardless, enjoy it for what it is. LEGOs and super heroes rarely ruin a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i was not expecting this...

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

well, as far as the LEGO series of games goes, i thought the Star Wars sagas were great, i was addicted to them both. when they released the full series, i was hoping to get a bit of a change, only to be disappointed and got the exact same games. when Indiana Jones came out, i had high hopes since it was a different spin, yet still seemed like i got the exact same game, i was disappointed.
the Batman game has regained my addiction to these LEGOs games, its fun, witty and adds alot of new spins to the LEGOs/Batman universe. i just finished the last of the story modes and im gettin ready to work on the 100%. id say its absolutely worth a rental and may be worth buying. visually its really good, its 1080 HD. it has alot of replay value, since you have a whole arsenal of characters, Batman info, cheats, and special stuff to unlock along with tons of secret areas within each level. there are 6 main 'episodes' to play through, each with about 5 levels. 3 main episodes you are playing as hero, and 3 you are playing as villains. you have to play through the hero side of each episode before you can unlock the villain side of it (each episode has somewhat a theme where the villains are planning a certain group of crimes to enact one bigger crime to wreak havoc on the city). there is a number of suits for either Batman or Robin that will assist you in completing each level. with the villains, you will start off with different characters in each level to help you through those. its very much a platform game in the sense that you have to jump from ledge to ledge, break a bunch of stuff, flip switches or activate certain things, and put LEGO pieces together to create stuff. you collect LEGO coins (i think they are called 'cogs') that will allow you to unlock stuff in the batcave. and you also have a trophy room in both the batcave and Arkham Asylum (the villain headquarters).
you definitely need to check it out, if your like in LEGOs, Batman, Platform games, or just bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lego spiderman

posted by 626xlr (BLANCHARD, OK) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

who evven makes lego games needs to make lego spiderman asap!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for First time LEGO players

posted by wabaki1 (WEST HAVERSTRAW, NY) May 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I picked this title thinking it might bring some entertainment to the PS3 while I await the next big title, unfortunately not being used to the LEGO series proved harsh in trying to play and understand the game. No walkthrough hints as you go along to help you discover how everything works. The graphics were nice and the sound was good, some humor made it a little more tolerable to get through some levels, but frustration kicked in for me as I tried to understand exactly what was happening and was to happen.
Is this how all the LEGO games are, you might want to do some research on the gameplay before you dive in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting Concept; Botched Delivery

posted by Akman84 (CANTON, IL) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the Lego Star Wars games, so I went into this game optimistic. Since it is co-op I had a friend sit down with me and found that the game is very disappointing. The game is pretty buggy and just overall not very fun. The only saving grace that the game has is the fact that the music is taken from the film score by Danny Elfman from Batman '89. But if I wanted to listen to the music, I would have bought the soundtrack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game doesn't work from the begining

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

The Game has a Major Problem you can't play episode 1 because the very first mission has a MAJOR problem you get clear to the end and as soon as the cut scene starts you are booted out of the game back to the PlayStation3 Main Screen. I don't know why nothing I have tried helps the same thing always happens. I would think that before a game was put on the market to sell that problems like this would be fixed but in this case they weren't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay nothing too good

posted by ProudBelieber (TAMPA, FL) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

i enjoyed the begining but after breaking every single thing i found for coins it gets old -_- plus i got a little confused on what to do some times and it would not tall me or show me what i need to do ..... i gave it back 2 days after having it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game

posted by AC1984 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Excellent game and experience....What makes it unique is the lack of split screen in co-op mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun game but only if your playing coop

posted by MattH2325 (ROGERSVILLE, AL) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Batman Lego is definately a fun game. If you just do a playthough as i did there are 6 chapters and itll take about 10 hours. If your a completionist and want 100% you will at least double that. Easy game because you have unlimited lives. The frustating thing about this game is if you have to play it alone the AI of your partner is absolutely horrible. This game is meant to be a 2 player experience. Definately has some funny moments in it. To me the lego batman games are rite behind the star war games as being the best in th series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Batman family fun!

posted by danbone5050 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Great game to play with the 5 year old. Entertaining for even the adult bat-fan. Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lego Batman

posted by matthew22 (BETHLEHEM, KY) May 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

For me I thought lego batman was that OK kind of game.Then as I got into a little bit it seemed like there wasn't enough action as there is in Batman Arkham city or Arkham aslyum. It had some alright gameplay for it being legos. But I didn't like it as much as other batman games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This stinks

posted by Villasenor (LATHROP, CA) May 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

You guys are a real pain to me right now. I ordered this game Friday on my gamelist and i noticed you shipped it yesterday and it should have been shipped on sunday so can you please tell me why you were so late on shipping it please tell me because i should have got this game today or yesterday so please tell me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty short but a lot of fun.

posted by iStayFrosT (EASLEY, SC) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This is a good game. The only thing wrong with it is that it's very short and the game play gets a tad repetitive. Considering the game is so short and it starts to feel repetitive by the end, you can see that you do a lot of the same. However unlockables make things a lot more fun. Plenty of suits and vehicles and characters to unlock, overall worth the rent. Good for all ages, reminds of those old coin collecting games like Mario and Sonic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Batman legos

posted by Scully (MIDLOTHIAN, IL) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game was very disapointing. I just got done playin Harry potter Years 1-4 Legos edtion and I got all the thropys.This game does not have thropys So if your a thropy hunter like me dont play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple game for inexperienced players

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I, for one, think the game is made for inexperienced players. It was not actually me that played this game, it was my mom that played this. I did play a little of this game and watched her play as well. Some things were challenged not so much as for me but her, but that's to be expected coming from a non-stop gamer like myself. I do think that this Lego game is better than the others as far as its game play and characters. My favorite character to play as was the joker because he had 2 guns that packed some damage. Overall its worth a rent at least but for inexperienced players. Players that like Dead Space, Resident Evil or that type of stuff probably won't like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but gets old fast.

posted by BrennanMc (NORTH HIGHLANDS, CA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

Okay, let's be honest. i got this game from my birthday money, and thought it looked cool. i was ten. my father got mad at me for not buying VANS, 'cause my shoes were falling apart, and i wasn't thinking. i got to keep the game, and thought it was awesome.

but i was 10.

Lego Batman (I'll call it LB from now on) is made by who knows, and as far as i know, it's the best Lego game (Keep in mind, i haven't played Lego Rock Band.). the controls are similar to most action games, yet still innovative. it lets you controll the wonderful dark knight, and his side-kick. but that's only the first three (yes, the riddler, the penguin, and the joker have formed their own groups and decide to wreck havoc on Gotham) storylines. you can also control the villans, and see how they make their plans and execute them. and don't we all LOVE the grunts they make. there is also a large cast of villians, i think i can list them: Riddler, Poison Ivy, Clayface,. Two-face, Mr.freeze, Penguin, Catwoman, Bane, Killer Croc, Joker, Scarecrow, Harley Quinn, Killer Moth, and (Strangeley) Mad Hatter.
Tiring.

but it gets old. that's why i've rated it 8.

After you finish Batman's part, the viillian's part get old. fast. that's when i gave the game to my sibling, who is working on his fifth re-play. wow.

8/10

Brennan McCulloch

age 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Do not play

posted by hiro2213 (GREENBELT, MD) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

As a true batman fan. I did not like this game. If you are into Lego , try lego Star Wars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lego Batman - lame / ok

posted by minpin85 (WARSAW, IN) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game was OK. It was a lot like the first lego star wars game. Pretty much just repeating the game, but just with the same characters.

Pros: Fun different characters, like poison ivy, penguin, and other ones. They all have different things they can do. Good graphics. You get to not only play the good story with batman, but you get to play the bad guys story (before batman catches them) which was the funnest part of the game.

Cons: A lot of the same stuff as in Lego Star Wars and Lego Indiana Jones. Each game as a flying scene, each game has a water seen, see my point? ALOT like the other lego games. So, that makes it pretty lame. Also, the story line seemed really short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fun

posted by ajsheffiel (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The game is fun and interesting and incredibly easy to play. Most easy games become boring after a bit but me and my wife can't put this one down. My only complaint is sometimes its hard to tell were you are when your jumping from spot to spot or trying to climb a ladder. But because of this game im going to try the other lego games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by cactusaz (PRESCOTT, AZ) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

not too bad of a game, the soundtrack was excellent. I felt that the game lagged on too much, it was the same thing over and over again but still a good game. Worth renting in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by rebelhell (MARTINSVILLE, VA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

me and the wife loved this game it was a fun game for two people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego batman

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This game just as good as Lego Star wars. Not as many charecters , but better cause difficyulty is harder. It has classic batman characters. Fun on co-op. It has better charecter creation too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Holy repetitive lego action Batman!

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

So, we have yet another installation in the crazy train that is Legos. This should come as no suprise that it pretty much copy-cats the predecessors.

Good- Its Batman! You get lots of fun characters to play as and you can create your own super hero or villian in Arkham later in the game.

Bad- Short lvls, too much free-play not enough story play. Most missions are over before they really take off. The videos between stages also aren't as funny as they could have been (which is half of why this game is fun... its comedic lego action)

Ugly- Yet again... the devs and WB productions refuse address the horrific and pitiful camera view which make any kind of jumping area (which is really most of the games difficult) nearly impossible.

Unless you are a kid, or have a kid or likes legos, i suggest avoiding this one. Its only mildly fun and collecting pieces for purchase or pieces for game completion is really the only replay value... agian.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

miss

posted by DoubleX (PARLIN, NJ) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Kinda fun but not worth buying a great reason for game fly not for my age group I'm sure young kids would enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse