Rent LEGO Batman for Wii
view large frontback

LEGO Batman

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
7.6

2244 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good lego view of batman

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was suprised at how good this was. one thing that helped was the need/ability to change suits for different powers to do different tasks. The game was fairly easy but still hard enough to make it fun. The bosses were easy but lego added tasks to the boss battles so the boss took a few minutes to beat. Like other lego games, theres a co op mode. Now for the bad which was minimal. If you dont do co op then the computer plays the other character. It usually isnt a problem but the computer got stuck several times and when in a fight, it almost never beats a opponent. the computer doesnt die but its still annoying. its good for a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I made a decoder ring out of LEGOs!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you've played LEGO Star Wars or LEGO Indiana Jones, you'll already be familiar with LEGO Batman, the latest brick-themed action game from Traveller's Tales.
Throughout the game, you play as Batman and Robin, tracking down escaped convicts from Arkham Asylum who have gone on a crime spree. More well-known villains such as Joker, Riddler and Penguin are aided by less known gems like Killer Croc and Mad Hatter.
The gameplay is pretty similar to other LEGO games. You collect studs, smash random objects and build things that help you progress through each level. Occasionally, you'll run into a bunch of goons, who are dispatched with simplistic fighting (keep hitting that Z button). There are also a few vehicle levels, which have you shooting everything made of LEGO bricks and driving like a madman. And that's fun.
A new game mechanic for the series are the interchangeable suits. Find a suit change location and you'll unlock special abilities you'll need to collect objects or progress. Batman has a demolition suit for blowing up shiny objects, Robin has a dive suit and magnet suit to access new areas, etc. Another cool game mechanic is the Batarang, used to hit multiple targets that are out of reach.
There's quite a bit of game here. Batman will traverse 15 levels to catch all the criminals, and you'll have to run free play to get all the goodies. But that's only half the game. In a stroke of brilliance, you can access Arkham Asylum and play 15 more missions taking the same story from the villains perspective. Throwing heavy objects around as Clayface or using Riddler's mind-control ability really adds to the game.
If you just want to run through the game, it might not take you very long. But getting 100% will eat up a fair amount of time. It's not hard and it's pretty repetitious, but it's still fun to play and quick enough to hold your interest. Take a trip to the Batcave, you might want to check this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"LEGO Batman": Another LEGO Hit

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

LEGO Batman is almost identical to LEGO Star Wars and LEGO Indiana Jones.
You guide your avatars through a course, building things, making jumps, and using that character's special abilities (or costumes) to solve puzzles. There are many collectibles along the way and several places that can be reached when you play that level a second time in Free Play Mode.
But one difference between this game and Star Wars/Indiana Jones is there are levels made for the bad guys. But it's not a big difference; you go about the same jumps/solve problems/collect items/get to the end of the course that you did when you controlled the heroes.
But this game is nowhere near as dull as I'm making it to be; the cut scenes are great (as always with Traveler's Tales), the story is interesting, it feels really good to be the villains, the controls work very well and there's a lot of levels to get through. Oh, and the game is a lot of fun to play.
Unfortunately, there are a few flaws here. The fighting isn't as exciting; you just punch your way through the bad guys. The camera can make spotting important items hard. And some puzzles are very tough; you can get stuck really easy.
Despite that, LEGO Batman is another hit in the LEGO universe. I wonder who's next for the LEGO treatment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bad Camera

posted by badguyman (TULSA, OK) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The camera is the biggest drawback to this game. The gameplay is fun, but the camera keeps pissing me off. I also have to say, part of the problem may have been that I rented it for the Wii. So far my experience has been that normal video games are not enhanced by the Wii experience. In fact, the Wii controller system has, so far, detracted from any regular game. Love the use with movement games, just not regular games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best of the LEGO Games: The Brick Knight

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Dec 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS FLIPPIN' AWESOME! EVERY PERSON WITH ANY SANITY SHOULD PLAY IT! unless, of course, you don't like LEGOs. ACTUALLY, FORGET THAT, PLAY IT EVEN IF YOU DON'T LIKE LEGOS! Lemme explain why. The other LEGO games are fun while you play them, but once you beat the story mode, they're not as fun anymore. Not so with this game. A diverse character selection fills this game with fun, and there are also tons of cool places. My only problem with this game is that while playing the story for the heroes, you only get Batman and Robin. You should have more than two people in your party during story, like in LEGO Indy and LEGO Star Wars. Also, the DS version has more characters and a minigame called Villain Hunt, which isn't quite fair. Other than that, THIS IS AN EXCELLENT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game...

posted by Daddyof2 (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you have ever played Lego Star Wars, you will love this game. If you never played Lego Star Wars, well, you will still love this game. Everyone, young and old will enjoy playing this game. My kids love because the get to beat up the bad guys and I love that there is no blood. When you hit someone they break apart like legos. Like in the star wars game, you get to change into many different costumes that all do different things. You also sometimes have to switch players and play as Robin (unless you are playing two player).
Controls are very easy to use, story line is great, and a all-a-round great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the game

posted by jarrad (SAGINAW, MI) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is very good but i dont know how to play 2 player help

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as Star Wars

posted by mrbigtime (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) May 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We're average gamers....play for fun. The Batman game is more puzzling than Star Wars Lego....no-win scenarios do not make the game as fun as its counterpart. Fun to see Batman and Robin but frustrating play (e.g. 30 min trying to figure out how to get to the next level) prevents this game from being a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Entertaining

posted by momplayer (MARION, NC) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got a giggle out of this game every time Batman looked at Robin and shook his head in disgust. There are a few laughable moments in this game to remind you it is not as serious as the "regular" Batman. I liked the concept of using LEGO characters so the violent-realism element doesn't come into play. After all, who hasn't knocked the poo out of their LEGO set?!
I did have to cheat and use a walk through guide to get through the game, but I'm not much of a game player and have little patience to try and figure things out. Not to say it is really all that hard, I just didn't want to take the time.
Overall, enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing New...

posted by puzzlmastr (TORRANCE, CA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked this game better when it was called Legos Star Wars. The programmers have not changed a thing since that first title including the horrendous glitches and controls. But, before I point out the down sides I'll mention the positives.
Pros:
-does a good job of sticking to its original premise of jumping and punching to uncover secrets.
-has nostalgic appeal of Batman
-mini-kits, and whatnot, are a bit easier to find
Cons:
-same old Legos game
-story mode is a joke in difficulty as previous Legos games
-the nostalgic appeal wears thin in the first hour of gameplay
-glitchy, glitchy, glitchy:
-wife (who isn't a gamer) couldn't even play because you must learn to manipulate the glitchy gameplay in order to get through it
- when playing solo, the computer would get stuck in corners (once even kept jumping off a ledge over and over again for no reason)
-but, probably the worst glitches of all are the fact that once you've unlocked certain features, they don't always work. for example:
-sonic area
-score x4, 8, or 10....I spent hours collecting 4,000,000 studs (yes 4,000,000) to buy a score x8 that I had unlocked, and the game took my 4,000,000 studs and nothing happened. I did not begin to see my score multiplying by 8, or anything for that matter. In essence I collected 4,000,000 studs just to lose them for no purpose at all. That's about all I could take before I sent it back.
In conclusion, the game is fun for a short while, but don't waste your time trying to take it seriously. It's definitely geared towards young children and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Might Of Had A Glitch: This is a partial review!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The begining movie is great; must see. After that Batman and Robin just hugs the rail and I can not move them. Based on the other Lego titles (Star Wars; bad camera), (Indiana; bad texture); I am saying from what I can tell this has better camera, better textures and maybe better controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved it

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game super fun because you can play as the bad guys and the good guys rent it now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO DOES IT AGAIN!!!

posted by ftdsalways (NASHUA, NH) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have found all the Lego games to be fun and exciting for my son and his friends (age 6) They especially enjoy when the enemies get blown to bits and batman and robin get put back together immediately. Lego has made its mark w video games!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it

posted by stephzac04 (CENTERBURG, OH) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

My 4 yr old loves Batman and so I thought he might like this game. He loves it. But he defiantly needs my help to further on. I does take some thought and skill to advance...even me, at 28 yrs old, racks my brain some to think of how to beat the level. It's very addicting....my son and even his mom loves it :) It's very cool how everything works. It has taken some time, but he now knows which characters do what and he can beat levels now after we beat them the first time. I rented it first to see if we would like it so after we knew that we did, we bought it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LEGO games are the best games

posted by martha00jackson (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Any of the LEGO games that we have had have always been the best for my boys. I have 3 boys, ages 4, 6 and 9. They all love LEGO Batman. And are all able to play at a great rate of learning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Twuz good!

posted by WiiNii (ROCHESTER, WA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Fun game, we played this until 3am...finished!

Sending back!

Thanks GameFlies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

indeed the worst lego game in the universe.

posted by superg (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

i dont wanna give this game a 1 i wanna give it a -1000000000!!!
this the wworst batman game in history! its so bad i cant even explian how bad! it is! if you want a REAL bat man game i heard batman arkham alsum was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Batman Meets the Bricks!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) May 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

This is yet another game in the Lego series of 3D adventures. At first, I wasn't so sure about Batman, as the Batman movies are gross. I was soon prooved wrong! In the game you can play as the heros(Batman and Robin) or the villians(the Joker,Catwoman,The Penguin, and so on). I like the power suits Batman and Robin can use, but the villians are more fun to play as, because the villians have more characters to play as. Over all fun, but the vehicle levels are a bit too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So Like Me!

posted by Shadowkid (SAN ANTONIO, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The only thing wrong with this game is that it's !2#&1% GOOD!!!.You can Play GG & BG.I love this game.But..............................too bad they don't make Lego Bakugan.GEEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lego Batman Leaves Extremely Not Exciting

posted by Mantis7 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Although the game is visual appealing, it leaves much to be desired. Especially the fact you cannot change the button configuration at all. For all the time they spent making it look good, they could have tweaked the dynamics of play a little. For example, the best Lego game in my opinion was Star Wars for the Game Boy advanced. It had comparable graphics to that of Leg games on the Wii or any other system. There was also the ability to upgrade characters, with each character having special powers. Now each character has less powers and a fixed amount of life. Why can’t they give the gamer some challenge? Overall, not impressive, although might be fun if one had never seen a Lego game before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

jyutyjh7uiyujtuiytgjyuuyuytuyuytujyjygrtgherterher

posted by way2crazy (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

this game sucks dont!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ever ever ever ever ever rent this game noone likes it but nerds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Motion Sickness Cam!

posted by Hoopie (KIHEI, HI) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

Much the same as the other LEGO titles, this game offers nothing new regarding gameplay. However, one thing we found really hard to deal with was the constantly swinging camera. Just a few times around and our heads were spinning. Too much jerky camera movement for continued play. Cute characters though, and lots to do, just like Lego Star Wars and Lego Indiana Jones. If you're less susceptible to motion sickness, perhaps you'd enjoy it more than we did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Minimum Requierment of Awesomness Met

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game has its flaws and awesome things. For example, on the level when you're fighting the Scarecrow in your airplane it takes you awhile to figure out how, exactly to get past the flames. Well, it's not easy and I'm not telling you how to get past because I forgot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WOW

posted by Jysontodef (MARIETTA, GA) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

IT got old Quick!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun yet very hard

posted by jal117 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

the fun parts was just to destroy stuff and make those legos cars or something also the vehicle levels were great

the bad parts were the levels were too hard and the camera angle didnt help

so theres just a few things they couldve changed in the gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse