Rent LEGO Batman for Xbox 360
view large frontback

LEGO Batman

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Wii, DS, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.3

7715 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great family game play, just not alot of it.

posted by Azoroth (GLEN ROCK, PA) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have played ANY of the previous Lego games then you have played this game. The character models are different, but the game play is exactly the same. That is not a bad thing though, the play is fun and stress free, and is even more enjoyable when you play co-op. The only real gripe I have is the amount of content. Like all the other lego games there is about 6 to 8 hours of playtime with you and a friend, then you will be rehashing the same old stuff to unlock mediocre perks. feels more like a expansion of previous games, than a new, 60$ title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego Batman; The Video game

posted by DaGr8est (MUSKEGON, MI) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is truly a up-grade from other lego series titles. The characters fully act like everyone from Batman's punching, throwing, and kicking villains tail all over Gothem City to Two-Face flipping his two headed coin heads you buy this game or tails you rent this game. This title has high replay value due to the villains story mode! Yes, You can play as Batman and the Joker, Mr. Freeze, and so-on. This title contains hours of non-stop continuous fun. Even the veteran gamer would love this title to the up-coming future gamaholics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun For All Ages

posted by SgtSnyder (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its LEGO, and all that that implies. Just your typical family friendly action/adventure/puzzle game with some comical cutscenes. If that sounds like fun to you then this game is right up your alley.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but becomes a chore

posted by Masque (BRONX, NY) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't enjoy having to go back and find things in games because I COULD NOT get it the first time around and that was what I did not like about this game.

But the game itself was a lot of fun, the story line was originally entertaining and playing as the bad guys with all their powers and unique move-sets was very satisfying.

Unfortunately character create is too limited in weapon choices and you can't formally choose your attacks

I still find it to be worth the rent though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Holy building blocks, Batman!

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Sep 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Lego is back again with a tried and true formula for fun. Like with Indiana Jones or Star Wars, if you like one you'll probably like them all. They are fun, silly, and actually make you think sometimes about how to solve their puzzles.

The new thing that the Batman version adds that is lots of fun is different suits that you can put on Batman or Robin. Batman's glider suit is awesome fun! I would probably like to just have it on all the time, but sometimes other suits are needed to solve certain puzzles. He also has a demolition suit for setting bombs, and Robin has a magnetic suit that lets him walk up some of the game's metal surfaces.

The cutesy style seems like it would appeal to kids, but I think it would be a bit difficult if they are too young. There is some accuracy necessary in jumping and a good bit of exploration and experimentation needed to solve some of the puzzles. Still, the game is very forgiving and if you die, you just lose some studs and keep going.

There seems to be a little bit of all the Batman versions included in the making of this game. There are characters that look like they are based on the old campy 60's Batman, but Batman himself is a little darker and more serious (for a Lego guy). But the style of some of the vehicles reminds me of the Micheal Keeton Batman movies. Titles and bits of menu spiral towards you when appearing on screen the way the words Pow! or Socko! might have appeared in the old TV series. There is a lot of charm and character in every aspect of the game, and you can tell that the creators had a lot of love in their hearts for the subject matter.

The formula for these games obviously works. Anything that has a huge fan base could easily be fair game for future Lego releases. Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, or other comic book characters besides Batman would all make great new Lego worlds to explore.

I hope they continue this formula for fun with a new game every year or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love these family games!

posted by 21slipknot (JEFFERSON CITY, MO) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I bought Lego Indiana Jones and Lego Star Wars (complete saga) and went ahead and bought Lego Batman from gamefly! these games are so much fun to play with the family! Graphics are good but simple... and even when you play the story levels, you want to go back and play the 'freeplay' level! Non stop fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stars, Indiana Jones, Batman?

posted by yodathecat (SHORELINE, WA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I love the lego games, I have Starwars lego on 3 game systems and indiana jones, but this game I decided to rent from game fly

this is a pretty good game, if your five years old. it's more of the same thing of the other lego games where you have lego characters go around and whack villains, or play as villians and kill good guys, bot hare fun but after 3-4 levels you will start to get bored. Its different aspects of characters is really cool, where one minute your flying and the next your planting bombs. the achievments are also pretty good, I rented it for 5-6 days and 800 achievments which is pretty good for a game. there are some bad parts, there is no xbox live like they had in star wars lego TCS, also like all the other lego games the two play multiplayer is bad unless you can think the exactly same way, you'll soon find that you want to go one way and the second person wants to go the other.

Summary

Good:
long campaign with many hours of fun
get to play as many characters from all the batman shows
play as villain and good
Achievments
game play
Graphics (for a lego game)

Ok:
Music it keeps repeating but its not to bad, i would recomend music on the media center while playing
more of the same of the lego series
Controls

Bad:
Multiplayer
NO XBox live (that might be a good thing)
no plot (but hey its lego so...)
a few glitchs

over all 7/10 Campaign 8/10 Multiplay 2/10 XBox live N/A

What to do:
Rent it for a week and beat it
if you have a kid 6 and under BUY IT
If you hated the other lego games don't rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LEGO Batman Rocks!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Sep 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I picked this up today from my pre-order & I’m really blown away by the game! The introduction is an awesome escape scene of all the criminals of Gotham City escaping from the nut house (from the advertised trailer shown on TV too.) The first episode is involving the Riddler & your battling his goons dressed as him, I got a real kick out of it! The storyline is similar to the way of LEGO Star Wars & the Indiana Jones. It goes chapter by chapter & having to complete missions & side bonus missions, secrets to get unlockable costumes, achievements, etc. The controls are smooth & not overly sensitive, it’s a bit of a button masher a bit, but also it’s a challenge. Take for instance, you need to get Robin’s Technology suit to control a radio controlled car to go under a trap door which is holding a woman hostage. I won’t say more than that, because I don’t want to give any spoilers. Don’t want to give out too many goodies! The graphics are All LEGO. The creativity is a 10. I have no doubt in my mind there. The reaction time in some points is a little tiresome, you do have to wait in some points such as save points, seemed to take a bit of time. On another note, I love Batman’s Destruction Suit, I mean come on, Batman planting bombs!? How Awesome! I felt like I was back in day of playing Mario Brothers for NES. I’m not comparing Mario Bros. to this, just saying & do feel it’s brought more to the table of creativity, unique perspective & my hat’s off to the developers. The game as a whole is well worth the price of $39.99 wherever avaible plus GF they always give you a little discount! ;) Final Grade: 10 of 10.Happy Gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same ol

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have played all the Lego series and I am finding them to be repetitive and boring. This game isn't as funny as Indy and the suit upgrading was a mild pain. I didn't care for the driving/flying missions. I guess what I am saying is that unless they make a LEGO X-Men game..I'm done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as the rest and still fun!

posted by RoundOne (NORTHGLENN, CO) May 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

With Lego Batman I have now played every Lego "Whatever" game. While they are all pretty much the same, each rendition they bring a few abilities or changes that the other games did not have. Though that is not the reason I like the games. First, my children and I love to play these games together and they love to play them with each other. Hard to find a game that a 10 year old girl and a 7 year old boy will agree to play together.

Yes, I hear lots off "I don't want to play SIMs, it's just dress up" and "You just killed me, again, I'm not playing with you anymore" with most games.

Fortunately with Lego Batman, I hear neither of these. Further, my kids (and I) love the humor in the games. The cut scenes and huge amount of unlockables is the main reason I beat these games after my kids have gone to bed!

Bravo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I'm brooding over this misfire.

posted by DigDoug (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fact: LEGOs are awesome.
Fact: Batman is awesome.

Sad Fact: LEGO Batman is not awesome.

From the franchise that made a game with Jar-Jar Binks fun, I expected LEGO Batman to improve on it's Lego predecessors, or, at the very least, be a light fun romp. LEGO Indiana Jones worked well enough, and it seems like not nearly the fit that Batman would be with the fun toy blocks.

But if any game recently made me appreciate good level design, it was LEGO Batman. Maybe that's wrong; I'll rephrase. If any game recently made me curse poor level design, it was LEGO BATMAN.

The premise: Batman must stop various rogues from committing crimes throughout Gotham City. He does so with Robin and many a handy suit with different abilities. Then, the rogues get their own levels where they must use their unique powers to reign terror throughout the most picked on city in comic book history.

In theory, it's great. Play as the Joker or Clayface or Catwoman? Sounds like a blast, sure, and for a few spread out moments, it is smile inducing.

But the levels aren't that fun and the combat is repetitive. I wish I could pinpoint something more complex that brings down this game, but it really is that straight forward. I could even probably look past the combat part if there weren't so many infinite respawn points in the game. It wasn't that great killing 4 henchmen the first time, why do you think I want to do it again?

Toss in hit or miss driving sections, jumping sections, boss battles, etc, and you get the idea of what your in for. It becomes frustrating because every time you use a different villain, there's a quick sense of joy from being part of DC's most interesting rogues gallery. Sadly, a little ways into each level, you realize the the promise of a new character or other unlockable becomes more like getting a small reward for a tedious chore instead of a reward for enjoying sweet candy. Games should be fun as you play, not in between playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego Batman

posted by trollnor (FLORENCE, MA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game was cute and fun. Graphics, controls, story lines, sounds where all done very well.

Logged about 8 hours on this game and enjoyed what it had to offer.

Downside is that the game gets a little too repetitive as the cuteness wears off.

Good rental... not so sure about it as a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Back to being good again!

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The lego series of games has been a roller coaster for me. I really enjoyed Lego Star Wars (both games), but although I am a huge fan of Indy and was looking forward to it, it was a huge let down.

Respawn issues and INCREDIBLEY dumb AI, complete with mostly only being able to engage in hand-to-hand combat, really sucked the fun out of what could have been a great game.

For me, this game brings back all the fun of Lego Star Wars, without bringing all the bugs from Indy.

Heres some improvements:
There are many characters to choose from with many different abilities, less cheap shots (getting hit when taking some time to recover from a combo has been greatly reduced), A LOT less respawns in death traps, and more distance weapons so its not all hand-to-hand.

Bottom line:
The AI can still be dumb at times, but there is a lot of characters and batsuits to unlock. Also the story has you playing the baddies as well as the good guys!
It seems like the focus was back to more fun then frustration with this title.
If you liked the other games, (or didn't like Indy), then this one is worth trying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it was a bad choice for lego

posted by zxcasey526 (BRECKSVILLE, OH) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was kinda boring but some times fun it was okay but kind stupid i think lego made a bad choice making a batman one like when i was 3 i had my life based on batman and lord of the rings but batman! they mad a bad choice well that's what i think if you have a different opinion fine with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable due to bugs

posted by SvenYorgen (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

On the first stage of Lego Batman I encountered two different progress halting bugs.

1: The first mini boss glitched and teleported onto the side of a building three floors up. He would not come down (or move at all) and I could not get up to him. I had to exit and lose about 15 min of progress.

2: The second try. There was a vehicle you could get into in the area right before the first mini boss. I directed batman to get in and drive to the next area. Robyn was being attacked so I switched to him and left batman in the car. Apparently he liked it so much he didn't want to leave. I couldn't not switch control to him, nor would the AI controlling him do anything but sit there. As I needed batman to finish the stage I had to once again exit the stage.

2 strikes, you're out.

It is unfathomable to me how a game with so many Game Breaking errors could be aloud to be sold and even rented to the public.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lego Batman

posted by cvalentino (GLENDALE, CA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its a funny game, but because it's based on time. a frustrating game. example you cant just beat the boss and go to the next level, you have to wait for the game to allow you to beat the boss. based on the time you have to spend in the level. mean time you just beat on goons over and over until the game allows you to fight the boss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by gmerdude12 (UKIAH, CA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not able to play

posted by barbara1973 (CLIFTON, TX) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was unable to play this game as it was scrached to badly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its an O...K... Game

posted by AceKZone (BRONX, NY) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As the title delivers, the game is ok nothing too big yet nothing too small either. Lego Batman is a well polished game in terms of graphics. The characters look extremly detailed and the animation runs smooth to the core (if playing on an HDTV). Never did I see a delay on the frame transfter of animation.

In terms of the gameplay, the game play is pretty solid at times. The buttons are symbol yet efficient enough for combos to be made. The levels are fun at times since the creators were smart enough to switch the levels between mobile vechiles and walk around character. At times it does get repetitive but this is a nature accurance in "beat em up" generes.

Sound is solid, that is the soundtrack. If you have surround sound there is nothing better then that lego batmobile go vorrom vorrm, or the da da da da daaaa of the batman theme song; that is all cut short though when you start realizing every character grunts instead of actually talking. Throughout the whole game batman, robin, the joker and the whole nine yards dont deliver a word out their mouth. Its as if you muted the characters speech, that I didnt like. Now for a small tike who wants to boost his imagination process then this is the type of sound you want, but for an rpg gamer, I need either words or actual talk to confert the story.

Regardless it is a ok game you should pick up. Its fun but if your the I dont have an imagination type (like me) then lay off the game.

Thanks for reading, have a good day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lego batman

posted by jgamer206 (Seattle, WA) May 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i had a fun time playing this game it was one of my favorite lego game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Dark Knight Prevails Again..

posted by WarriorT (Montrose, MI) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i first recieved this game I was a bit hesitant on what kind of gameplay i would be experiencing. But after having it for over a week i have deciphered that it is a very good game. The combat system is nice and for the children its not bad at all. One thing that kept me from keeping the game is at moments of the game the boss's would dissapear from my screen and they would not come back. So i would have to restart the level and get back to the boss's and re-do them. But overall not a bad game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game.

posted by djclueless (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall very fun game. The fact that you can play as heroes and villains make the lasting appeal so much better. The humor is great, had tons of laughs along the way. Great for children and even adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth adding to the batbelt

posted by Amatwrestl (MARIETTA, OH) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game will be very familiar to those that have played other Lego games. This game does offer some new challenges and does a decent job of getting you into the mood. The camera can get a little annoying but not as much as Lego Indiana Jones. There is plenty to do in this game that can keep an adult occupied for a little while and children really enjoy it as well. If you are looking for a good family game that is lighthearted but with a little excitement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Huh?

posted by jayhawk109 (MOUNT JULIET, TN) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I waited a week to get this piece of junk game. I sent it back after playing for less than 30 minutes. Terrible game, just terrible. They are just trying to cash in on the Lego success and did a bad job at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LEGO Let Down

posted by IceBerg33 (PALM BAY, FL) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wow.. 20min into this game and I have turned it off and put back in sleeve for shipping. The storyline was boring, the boss fights where lame, the maps where chopped up and confusing, and the puzzles were more anoying then fun. After playing LEGO Star Wars I fell in love with the LEGO consept, but this game was a mayjor let down. The "Bat Cave", simular to the bar is Star Wars, is a chopped up confusing mess. Half of the 20min I played was spent in that maze of nonsence. The maps were the same way, no guidence what so ever, confusing and anoying puzzles, stupid AI and enemy presence. While you sit there and rack your mind on what to do next an endless wave of gun packing, mindless enemies smother you untill you grip your controler so hard it makes a poping sound. But yeah, mayjor let down. Wouldnt recomend for any age group or diffrent kind of gamer F-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse