Rent L.A. Noire for PS3
view large frontback

L.A. Noire

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

13617 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

complaint to gamefly

posted by frodo1112 (ELLIJAY, GA) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

the L.A.NOIRE for PS3 disk was damaged data wise the game would not load and was stuck on the installation screen and when i quit the game it restarts my system it is not my system i have put in my gta5 and it play and works fine i'll just put it back on my Q try to fix this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

frezzing

posted by THAMONSTA (RUSSELLVILLE, KY) Oct 27, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I like the game but when I got to "Marriage Made In Hevan" it would not let me play the dialog would repeat itself the game would frezze or it would be stuck in the loading screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game but some problems

posted by DrakanIDG (CHERRY TREE, PA) Oct 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I haven't even started to actually play the game, The game keeps glitching out when I try to pick up a clue, ( Example and truth) First of the Traffic Case I try to pick up the InstaHeat pipe and it will start the animation and then stop, I've had this happen 4 times already its really making me kinda angry. Additionally I noticed DON'T Drive fast it will make the game not load the scenery correctly,and it will have your car stop with a blurred dragged edge of the street and you'll be stuck. I paused and went to the map screen and went backwards out from the pause screen and it seemed to fix the problem only happened to me twice.

In all honesty it seems Rockstar needs to quit putting games on a single disk or this will keep happening I know were more powerful than 10 years ago but please I'd rather switch a disk twice just for it to be perfect. other than the problems its a pretty good game for people WHO are patient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A neat concept, but it gets old fast

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

At first, I found this game's more cerebral, less action-packed approach to crime-fighting refreshing. It was a nice change from Rockstar's other offerings like Grand Theft Auto and "Red Dead Redemption". The gameplay soon became tedious and repetitive, however, as I found myself doing the same thing over and over again. In solving cases, you continuously follow the same pattern of events - check the crime scene, interrogate somebody, chase a suspect - and most of the cases don't even differ greatly from each other, as you spend most of the game stalking a single killer with a single, unchanging M.O. By the time the main story campaign was concluded, I was more than ready to send "L.A. Noire" back to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LA Noire.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since May 2012

One of the best games I have ever played... hand down! I've played literally thousands of games and this would be in the category that I will remember forever for all the right reasons. Now, for people not familiar with this game. It is a Rockstar game, but it is NOT like GTA. It is a small open-world, with only certain parts being available. You are detective and are forced to actually be a detective and go to your cases and complete them. There really isn't much room to do anything else. You are a good cop, and cannot blow cars up, or kill masses of people without being penalized. The graphics are superb, the sound is great, the lasting appeal is extremely high, and the period piece game is one of the ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great move for ROCKSTAR

posted by Jaydee626 (LA PUENTE, CA) Oct 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Before this game was announced, all of what ROCKSTAR was getting out was pure GTA games. And every game after GTA IV was a step down. L.A. NOIRE was and still is a good step forward for ROCKSTAR. This game has a good story line, good game play, and good graphics. Perhaps the same kind of graphics as GTA V.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

l.a. noire

posted by whyatt_earp (YONKERS, NY) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

got l.a. noire and never loaded was so disapointed but oohh well maybe try again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How can this game have such a low overall rating?

posted by DINGLExBERRY (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 30, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I am truly puzzled by why it has such a low rating! How can this game have received a 7.6 (basically a C grade)? This game is great, if not the original, new gameplay (talk about an awesome way of incorporating a detective style into a video game), then at least for its story. This is not a grand theft auto set in Al Capone times! Can you free roam? Yes, between missions, but there's not much to do in free roam (there are police calls you can respond to, but that's about it). So what's so great about this game if it doesn't have much to do in free roam? Well, if you'd like to step into the shoes of a detective TRULY investigating crimes rather than playing a cop who only shoots bad guys but doesn't use his brain, then this is a game for you. Search for clues, question people (try to read their face and see if they're lying), find information to lead you to other clues, and ultimately solve a crime (of course with added gun fights and car chases here and there). There's no game out now that you can compare it to; this is as original as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

la noire

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but one problem

posted by INEEDANSWERS16 (GARFIELD HTS, OH) May 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

Was playing one day blablabla i was doing an interrogation and the the game skips freezes stops what ever you what to call it. I cleaned it turned of my PS3 for a while. I went back started playing and it happens again. Someone post why. I don't want a fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Cool and very bloody.

posted by SuicideSam (FLATGAP, KY) May 16, 2013

Member since May 2013

Incredible detail, grisly murder scenes, slick cars, and a bit of repetitiveness. Great for fans of mystery, and crime drama style shows.
The lead character is a hard nose, no B.S., by the book cop. Some of his lines fall a little flat because he doesn't quite feel as real as the other characters do. He just feels like a robot. (Yet Robo-Cop He is not), Despite the leading mans angular feel the game itself is amazing. The twists are great you never see them coming, and a surprise visit from a real serial killer.
The environments are absolutely beautiful.
The story can seem strange from time to time, even if you screw up an interrogation the story move right along like nothing ever happened.
Overall great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by dubzy (PENSACOLA, FL) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

L.A. Noire is a good game to change things up a little bit. It is an open world detective game with shoot-outs and car chases along the way. The biggest part of the game is figuring out cases. This involves interrogating suspects, watching a suspects/witness facial gestures, and hearing their tones. You get to decide how you want to go about the interrogation. After a few cases you will notice them being the same kinda thing. The overall graphics were good and the faces looked real enough. This game was OK, glad I rented it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by Patience2011 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

Playing la noire is as similar to solving real life criminal cases, from collecting evidence to questioning and criminally charging suspects, it's a pretty cool action game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love the era, fun to play

posted by hethunder (CLIO, MI) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game, in my opinion, was very well made. I love the era that it takes place in, and the story was great. The graphics were amazing, and i really enjoyed how they put the actor in the game, instead of just using there voice. Was very very cool. I liked the story, and the investigating. It did seem a little redundant at times, but not enough to deter me from playing the game. I even bought all the expansions for this game adding to the story line. I hope there is another along the same style, maybe make it a little more action packed. But eiether way i'd play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Idea

posted by yankeerick (CAMPBELL, CA) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

As a fan of this time period in L.A (Gangster Squad and L.A Confidential are great films) I am probably a little bias. The city looks great and the character designs really capture the feel of the era. The storyline is good and makes me want to keep playing. The only downside to this game is the lack of mission variety and the interregations are a little tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fight crime as a 40s cop

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and thought rockstar had outdone it self. This game is definetly like playing a crime movie and better then any of the grand feft auto games. The graphics are beautiful done from the 1940,s los angeles to the characters facial movements and expression. The controls are easy to learn to with your character moving with the left stick and moving the camera with the right stick. You investigate things with the x button and run with the r2 button. The missions are easy to understand, you look for clues at the crime scene and intergate the suspects. Also there are missions where you are involved in car chases or shootouts with suspects. I would highly recommend this game to fans of crime drama or the grand theft auto games. The only problem I had with this game was the fact that it kept freezing on me and your character would pretend to jump over invisible objects. I really hope that rockstar makes a follow up to this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boo This Game!

posted by LongestBattle (WOLCOTT, IN) Apr 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Never got to play game title. Put game into system and selected it for play. Everytime would get a ps3 error 80010006. Looking online, many others had same problem with no fix.Both PS3 and LA Noire suggest a "restart system files", but it didnt work on my system. So, with no fix and no ability to play the game, I have unwillingly wasted 4 days thanks largely in part to no mail service on sundays. Not a cool way to start out my game fly membership. I caution anybody wanting to rent this title. Make sure your current system will play blu-rays. Good Luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty much like L.A.

posted by Grandpa1676 (MCMINNVILLE, OR) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I grew up in Los Angeles area during the 40's and 50's. A lot of nostalgia with the streets, stores and seeing the Red Cars again. You've had to be from L.A. To appreciate the. Red Cars (Pacific Electric Street Cars). How they depict the traffic and the unruly driving is so typical of how it was. Good storyline and grading on your outcome of the cases.
The only down fall that has been true with all Rock Star games is the controls for driving takes some getting used to. I wish they would put some sensitivity control adjustments to allow users to set for over steering so that you can have better control of the vehicle. Otherwise, a pretty good game. I am definitely going to try to find a copy since gamefly won't sell theirs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by Babyface_Nelson (GROVER, NC) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Disappointing ending. Well worth playing though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

L.A

posted by boogeyman718 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

wish i would of play this game sooner is so good if gamefly was selling it ill buy it upset its not for sale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ps3 instant classic

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Enjoyed the concept of early L.A. cops. And the fact that rockstar went to so much trouble to search the L.A. archives to ensure that the entire city was true to that era. If you are looking for a shooter, forget it. This game is for those that enjoy a good story and the concept of investigating crimes. Although there is plenty of shooting and action, L.A. Noire is all about story and investigation..Take it for what it is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by logikclay (FARLEY, IA) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game is the best game ive played in awhile. graphics are great, storyline is great,gameplay is great. my only regret is that there isnt a ''keep'' button to click. i highly recommend this game to rent or go buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet game

posted by dmcmob (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

i like the game really made me think about the situations and such the graphics were good the plot was great i kinda wish there was a squeal to this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Unique Experience That Might Not Be For Everyone

posted by Severen (GRAHAM, WA) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

LA Noire For PS3:

+ Great Style and Graphics.
+ Facial Animation Tech is Groundbreaking.
+ Great Music and Sound.
+ Great Replay Value.
+ Open World Game Design.
+ Controls and Character Animation are Outstanding.
+ Awesome Storytelling and Cutscenes.
+ Gritty and Adult Content.
+ Varied and Interesting Cases. Some are Even Inspired by real events.

- Open World is not very alive.
- Not Much to do Outside of Cases and random petty crimes.
- Not Very Difficult Gameplay, Though Some Will Have trouble With Interrogations System.

LA Noire is one of the most unique experiences on this generation of consoles. The setting and characters are compelling and well fleshed out. The game progression is well thought out and new mechanics are introduced well. The interrogation system is groundbreaking and unique. Some players will have a hard time with the interrogation system since they dont explain the details just the basic controls and concept. Also the game is not hard in anyway, the challenge is from finding the evidence and successful interrogations. The open world is well designed and looks great. The world is boring however as this game is not really open world but just a place for the cases to take place. The only things to do are the cases and to stop random crimes that happen. I did not have a problem with this but some might. This is not GTA: 1940's but it's own thing and it is really fun. I have already played through this game 3 times and I had a blast every time. I love the setting and the gameplay though I do concede that it is not for everyone. If you are looking for something different that is not another shooter, then give LA Noire a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by velocity13 (PEVELY, MO) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

opposite of gta but awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse