Rent Kung Fu Panda for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kung Fu Panda

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, DS, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

1952 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kung Fu Panda - The movie continued

posted by ChiefGreen (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, if you enjoyed the movie Kung Fu Panda then I believe you will like the game as well. The game expounds more on the movie adding new scenes and backgrounds and unlike most movie games, this one was enjoyable! It reminded me of the Crash Bandicoot series and was nostalgic in the collection of coins and sub quests through the mostly linear levels. My four year old enjoyed watching the game (I initially rented it for him but ended up sneaking in late night sessions for myself) as much as I enjoyed playing it. If you want light, fun, action, Kung Fu Panda is worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kung Fu Flop? Not Exactly...

posted by ThePinkie (OWASSO, OK) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After the release of E.T. the video game we realized just how bad games made about movies could be. Since that time, and crash of the industry, we have been proven time and time again that playing games based on movies are going to be a horrible experience. Occasionally someone can get it right though.

After seeing the movie, which I enjoyed, I promptly dismissed the game as an epic failure before even seeing it in action. Then, reviews started to pop up around the internet and in GameInformer that said otherwise. After renting this game I can safely say that it, surprisingly, is one of those rare movie games that is actually good.

The game loosely follows the story of the movie and injects several more occurrences to further lengthen it. Game play is elaborate and fun, even for being a kids game. Your main character is Po but throughout the game you take control of each of the Furious Five and Master Shifu to accomplish different tasks and story lines. Fighting is the main task of the game allowing you to beat up multiple enemies at a time with a wide array of attacks and combos. Combat varies by character you control but control of anyone but Po the panda is brief. Levels are pretty straightforward but offer a wide variety of hidden objects and each one presents you with new types of tasks to accomplish so it never gets repetitive. You also gain money to upgrade your skills or unlock new outfits. One of the biggest pros of the game: Jack Black. His narrative and banter during battle is humorous and is part of the reason you will play this game. There are few complaints with the game especially if you do not expect much, it is a kids game after all. Funny, diverse, and overall a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I loved this game

posted by tweakster (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I think this is one of the, if not the only, best movie-to-game adaptations I've played. It takes what the movie does and stretches it out to let players fully explore the world.

On top of that, it's a pretty easy 1000G (if you use cheats which don't cancel out achievements)

I can't wait for the sequel to the movie just so I can play another one of these games. I had a blast. I couldn't recommend buying the game though because there's no replay value to it whatsoever. Once you've unlocked all the items, the game goes stale.

I put a solid 10 hours into this game split into 3 days to get 1000G so if you have a weekend available, get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by GirlGamer9 (DAVIE, FL) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i got so bored so fast. graphics are great tho. and easy achievments however i couldn't get passed the 3rd level cuz i got so bored. i packaged it back up the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool

posted by Gonzo151 (CHASKA, MN) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ahhhhhhhhhhh Kung Fu Panda how i love thee ways. Lol Anyways Kung Fu Panda Is tight. Great for the Kids and Ok for adults looking for easy achievement points.

Yet there is some gripes. First the loading process you can load a level so you can redo it for Ach Points...but you have to load the next level then pause and load the level you want to go to WHY WHY WHY. Whats so hard about being able to load a previously played level after purchasing attribute points Ahhhhh (hair being Pulled out). ..............

Kid loved it though so great for kids. all in all ok game Combos were more than expected. Late

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a movie based game that doesn't suck!

posted by flywheels (FORT MILL, SC) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would say my title sums it up nicely, but I'll elaborate a little.

This is a great platform type game that follows the movie's plot fairly well. Of course there is a good bit of original material to fill in the game and extend it beyond just the movie. Controls and camera are quite well laid out and easy to "master". Game play is very solid as well. There is a bit of a RPG element to the game wherein you have to buy new moves (and costumes) to fully upgrade your character. Don't worry though, the money is plentiful. Certain fights during the game required timed button presses...a little hard to first get down, but once you do you should "cruise" through the fights.

Difficulty isn't that bad either. There are certain levels that are more challenging than others, but not to the point that you don't want to play anymore because you are so frustrated.

Jack Black didn't reprise his role in the game, but I swear the guy that got for Po's voice overs in the game is a great Jack Black sound alike. All the voice work was well done, though I didn't take the time to see if all of the other characters were voiced by their movie counterparts or someone else.

For the 360, the achievements aren't that hard to obtain. You get various GS points for completing each of the 13 levels on both normal and hard (dragon warrior) by clearing it 100%. This includes all of the optional quests. The other achievements are for certain hit combos, maxing out each move category and buying everything in the game. The achievements for the clearing 100% on each level AREN'T STACKABLE...meaning you'll have to play through the game twice to get unlock them all. I thought that was a bummer, but I enjoyed the game enough to give it a second play through.

Only complaints I had with the game outside of it being short (13 short levels) was that you didn't get to control the Furious Five more than you do. Compared to most movie games these complaints are very minor. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kung Fu Fun

posted by Buttafucco (DIMONDALE, MI) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kung Fu Panda is a good example of what a game that is targeted to children should be. Mildly challenging gameplay, (My 10 year old beat it in about 8 hours) is perhaps the only complaint that can be raised. This title is abundant in personality and delivers fun while packaged to appeal to the children who have seen the film.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice

posted by Gladiator1 (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I was amazed with this game. The graphics were marvelous. I can't belive that they put so much effort in the movie game.
The bad part is the game is too short. I was done with this game like in about 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Movie to Video Game usually worries me…

posted by Gator6C (MANASSAS PARK, VA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was pleasantly surprised by this game… I mean how many movies to video game have come out and just completely stink… Well Kung Fu Panda is different it’s a solid game…

Are is a single player story mode which has few difficulty setting and it follows the story of movie if you are familiar, and there is pretty detailed multiplayer mode, which I have actually played with my younger son and found quite fun actually.

The story mode is 13 stages going with the story of movie, and filled with jokes and details not in the actual movie, which I found interesting and fun. On the technical side I was quite impressed with the play control for this type of game. Nice fighting combos and in game upgrade system to improve moves and to buy new costumes for Po (the main character). In addition they have a nice in game Easter egg system with rare coins and statues that unlock special features in the game.

The sound and graphics are fairly good, the game looks great, and the soundtrack and vice acting is done well and is fun… Jack Black does voice Po… The do a nice job on animations, and the cut screens are fun and keep you interested.

The replay value is pretty good, with a few different difficulty modes, and hidden coins, statues, and add a fun multiplayer mode you have solid game… Final note I recommend this game for families looking for a fun game for their kids… it’s a nice choice in that regards…

7 out 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1000 pt game

posted by owtkast (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good adaptation of the movie. There aren't alot of spoilers in the game but if you've seen the movie you will definately follow along. It's aimed at children tho so it is not difficult to get 1000 gp's in this game. I got mine in about 4-5 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My thoughts

posted by irishrican (BRIARCLIFF MANOR, NY) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i actually enjoyed this game really well. At times i found some missions almost impossible to complete but with the right timing , a very fun game to go threw. The aceivments on the 360 version is also a plus. I recommend this game for any family,..Not to give out any spoilers but, some spots are near impossible to complete to any casual gamer. Keep trying and eventually you will see there is certain ways to complete your task.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Alright, but..

posted by AlfaRage (THEODORE, AL) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is an alright game, with some obvious but expected flaws. If you're getting it for your kids, I'm sure they'll have fun, but if you're getting it for any other reason, consider any of the hundreds of better titles on the system.

The controls are often unresponsive or limited by your current actions (see swinging from branch to branch in level 9.. or any level that requires a series of precise jumps) and a few graphical glitches where characters will reset their models and lose any fluidity in their movements make the game a little disappointing.

The biggest draw backs are the inconvenient checkpoint system, inability to go back and play levels freely and inability to skip nearly any of the dull cut scenes (a sin when requiring multiple playthroughs). If you're thinking greedy like I did and said "This'll be an easy 1000" just give up now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, if your 8

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Dec 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I dont really like games like this, especially since it was based on a movie. Because usually the games that are made from movies are let downs. The main dialoge for this game is from the movie obviously, and if your really young you might like this game. If your a bit older, uhh, dont even bother. Let me just say though that this isnt a really bad game and it doesnt have anything wrong with it, its just not a very interesting and special game. But if you went to see the movie, try it out. The graphics are pretty average. It doesnt have anything for live, which is a big down side. Pretty much through the entire game its the same stuff after the same stuff. So overall this game doesnt really have anything unike about it and unless you got an xbox for Christmas and you got this game with it, only buy it if your 10 or younger. Otherwise dont try it out and dont buy it, because after you beat this game there is no point to own it anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gamesmith (LIVINGSTON, LA) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dear God, sorry if that mad anyone mad for using Gods name like that, but dear heavens it a really bad game. My brother love the movie and makes me buy ith for the xbox360 when it first came out, and he breaks it in a week. So now he makes me rent it and i hate it for the followin: The camera sucks, the voice acting sucks, and the fighting is, well the fighting is ok. The game is one of worst game i have played in a long time, and my brother sucks at playing game so I do most of the stuff for him. He loves the game but I hate it. Your pretty much in one area. all and all IT SUCKS!!!!! But good for kids.

The End

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One word

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game sucks .One word suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kung fu panda

posted by Zacharacam (ELMER, NJ) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by bobbigaskins217 (SILVER GROVE, KY) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

kung fu panda is an action adventure game if you ask me but thats not what were talking about today. Today were talking about the gameplay of kung fu panda. It is a game based off the movie kung fu panda or well you think that before you buy it. Actually it has nothing to do with the movie it instead focuses on fighting against characters that arent in the movie. The only characters from the movie are tai lung, the furious five, the trainer and the turtle. The controls are good but the combat dosent go as smooth as it looks you will find yourself just taping buttons to win. there is no reason in using combinations because you dont have to to win. Also climbing up ladders and walls can be repetative and annoying to try to climb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The game is hard, but it's an OK game.

posted by edpolanco5712 (LOWELL, MA) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game Kung Fu Panda is kind of fun, but the game is sooooo hard, it took me 9 hours to beat the game, and I did beat Kung fu Panda! The super-hardest level in the game is the last level of the game when you have to defeat Tai Lung, man that was a hard level!. But anyway, the game is kind of fun, and it's an OK game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME SUCKS PERIOD!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

THE GAME SUCKED SO BAD IT WAS VERRY WORSE THAN THE WII GAME SO TOO TELL U PEOPLE THAT THIS GAME IS FUN TO PLAY WELL IT ISN'T IT IS REALLY BAD SO I AM SENDING IT BACK AND PLEASE SEND THE NEXT GAME ON MY GAMEQ PLEASE ALRIGHT WHICH IS RANGO OKAY CAUSE I REALLY WANT TO TRY THAT GAME OKAY PLEASE GAMEFLY STAFF..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid

posted by GMcConnell (BALTIMORE, MD) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

Although this standard fare action/adventure had potential, the constant lockups I experienced with this game ruined much of the fun I could have had with the game.

Look elsewhere, preferrably any company but Activision, for a game that actually had a testing cycle or two before they shoved it out on the public.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Jack Black is hilarious

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Dec 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

I actually thought this was a pretty enjoyable game, plus it came free with my old 360. Jack Black makes it hilarious as usual, so it was entertaining for me.

It's extremely easy as you'd expect for a children's game. The controls are not difficult and the different characters provide some varied play. This is also a great game for scoring some easy achievement points.

If you're looking for a kid's game it would be fun to rent or even cheap to buy and resell. If you liked the movie, you'll surely like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great MOVIE GAME!

posted by jaypony17 (Gainesville, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

Ok whoever is rating these game literally need to stop being so uptight..LOL Kung fu panda is adapted from the dreamworks movie as you know you, the dragon warrior have to save the village from Tai Long. I like that during the game you get to play as the awesome 5 periodically throughout the game. What I dont like is that the game doesnt follow the movie completely and the voice overs arent the same from the movie which sucks. I took me about 4-5 hours to beat the game so I wish the game was longer. The gameplay is great, the graphics looks just like the movie. I also like the cinematic button commands you have to excute on some of the bosses. I was coming into this game thinking is was gonna be really terrible but in turn it actually was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kung fu panda

posted by hulk50000 (BARTLETT, IL) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I rate this game a 7 because it is a good game to rent because if you like action fighting challenge kungfu then this is a excellent game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad...not good...but not bad

posted by LosTonto (FAIRPORT, NY) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I was actually surprised this game had some merit. Very easy 1000 gp which is what i expected but it was surprisingly an ok game. Po skills progress very nicley keeps you interested even though its obviously a kids game. It follows the movie very nicley so if your even a fan of the movie the games worth a play. Youll prob beat the entire game and 1000 gps in about 4 hours. Its actually pretty funny to jack black got a few laughs out of me. Although towards the end of the game i did find myself just hunting for the last treasure just to get the game over with and move on to the next. Definately worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly good...

posted by Matt1207 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

I usually try to steer away from games that are based on movies, because lets face it they usually suck! Kung Fu Panda however is a rare exception. If you enjoyed the movie and you enjoy platform games then you'll probably enjoy this as much as I did.

It is still a family game so it's not exceptionally challenging, and the game is not very long either, but it's still great fun to play. If you're willing to play through it two to three times you'll be able to unlock all 1000 points in achievements. It's a shame they couldn't get the cast from the movie to do the voices, but the person who voiced Po in the game sounded so much like Jack Black I was surprised it wasn't him doing the voice.

I'll still be wary of future games based on movies, but I'm glad I rented this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse