Rent Kung Fu Panda for Wii
view large frontback

Kung Fu Panda

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
5.9

828 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Awesomeness"? More like average-ness

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kung Fu Panda the game basically follows the same plot line as the movie - except the game has Po doing more; he has to rescue a bunch of eggs from crocodiles, wander about a desert, and take on a tribe of cat people.
But no matter what goes on, the game is a basic 3D platformer; you jump and double jump over obstacles, beat up the bad guys, search for collectible items and beat up more bad guys.
The basic controls (walk, run, jump and attack) work fine, but the characters' special moves are clunky at best.
But the worst part of the controls occurs at certain points when the game asks you to jerk the Wiimote either up, down, left or right in a timely manner. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't work, it can make the game very frustrating.
The camera is a small problem, but it's not as bad as other 3D platformers.
Despite those problems, the game can be beaten in three to five hours; not a good deal when you're paying $50 for it.
And the action for the most part is mashing the B button to beat up bad guys and the A button to jump from one place to another.
Kung Fu Panda: the game is a good rental, but there's not enough content for the $50 price tag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty entertaining

posted by TheDudeKY (KATHLEEN, GA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game overall. Controls were pretty easy to use. My 7 year old loved it. My only complaint was that as the game progressed, it got harder for her to figure out how to reach objectives. This frustrated her, but she still enjoyed the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair Movie Inspired game. Average Fighter Game!

posted by raildave (FOREST HILLS, NY) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hey fellow renters!
Here is my take on this game.
Having seen the movie which was in my opinion, a good animated tribute to the Saturday afternoon Martial Arts flicks, I was eager to play the game.
I do have to say that it seems to parallel the movie fairly well, with some extra added scenes thrown in to add some more depth for gamers. It is sort of an action RPG, Martial Arts fighter, all rolled into one package. As a movie adventure it plays well, and I did like the fact that the vocals were the actors and actresses from the animated feature. Jack Black's vocals are certainly a treat, and you can tell he had fun recreating the vocals for this game.
So it is a good re-creation of the movie, and it plays like an interactive version of the film.
But as a martial arts fighter it was nothing more then what I've played before. In fact because you could not really control the camera angles, in many cases it was quite frustrating because you could not see what you were doing. That is simply a no-no for a fighting game! I also found it difficult to perform moves with the nunchakau controller, which you had to shake while pulling the trigger on the main Wii controller, as it didn't seem to respond very well.
To sum it up I am grateful for Gamefly as this makes a good rental, but since in my opinion it is not a keeper, I would have been upset, had I spent the money to buy the game.
I will be sending it back post haste, so I can get the next game in my queue.
Dave

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hard for kid's

posted by peanutandamy (CARNESVILLE, GA) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

my kid's didn't enjoy it, levels were hard for them, ended up sending game back fairly quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pretty bad

posted by lorijkf (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

We didn't keep this game more than one day. The graphics were terrible and there wasn't really any combos or anything like most fighting games for you to figure out or get better out. The story line wasn't that great either, you really couldn't do much to control the character. Moves etc. are preset.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by iwanta3ds22 (LOCK HAVEN, PA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

THIS GAME MAJORLY SUCKS! DONT GET IT IT DOESNT EVEN GO BY THE MOVIE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kung Fu Panda

posted by OldSkuleGamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

My 12 yr. old daughter had this game solved in less than 12 hrs. She said it was fun but only stayed true to the movie about 80% of the time. I would definitely recomend this game for someone under 10 yrs. old, but would not buy for an older child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GREAT GREAT x4 GAME

posted by Echobase (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I think that this game was great. the graphics were great, the story mode was awesome. liking how they added abit i mean alot more story to this. only problem was i didn't get how to do some of the moves but i figured the moves out. Also i beat it in 5 hrs. i am a vid game addict!!!~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Consider trying Kung Fu Panda on another console

posted by quirkster (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The gameplay of Kung Fu Panda alternates between free-form fighting/jumping and boss-style battles where you have to flick the Wiimote in particular directions at particular times.

I had little trouble with the motion sensing during the battles and jumping, especially since I could focus on the simpler moves rather than the fancy ones. However, the segments that depended on me doing sequences of moves (left, right, up, down) were quite frustrating: the game had trouble recognizing my motions, and it took me many replays of each sequence to get the game to think I'd done the right thing at the right time. If you get frustrated with these kinds of motion sensing problems, try Kung Fu Panda on another console instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Fu Panda

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Ugh. That is all I can say. Ugh. This game is already an average beat-'em-up, without having to put useless motion controls in the game. 1 tenth of the time the game doesn't even recognize your movements, so you have a 1 in 10 chance of actually completing the section. This is not a game to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Difficult Game

posted by makdommom (RICE LAKE, WI) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is a very difficult game. My son couldn't figure it out at all and my husband had a very hard time getting through some of the tasks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

For Kids

posted by EEOphoto (DELMAR, NY) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

I played this game for about 10 minutes before I got extremely bored. The only good thing about this game is that it may be fun for kids. The graphics are awful and the flow of gameplay is sporadic. Ended up sending it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by katie1097 (LINCOLN, RI) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

at first the game caught my attention but then the game just got to hard to do and there is this one part that you and nobody else can get past i would notrecomend this to anyone it is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Good, But Left Sour Taste

posted by Gruizzer (ROGERS, AR) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

My daughter and I spend several days playing through this game, and it was pretty fun until we get to the 12th level, one away from the end!!!!

In the 12th Level Warriors Destiny Part 2 we tried for 48 hours to get the Monkey to jump across the buildings, and finally had to give up out of frustration. You have to jump and hit very small spot on the roof to make it. We would maybe make it 1 in 20 tries. AND WE TRIED ALOT! Then of course if you dont make it you have to start all over! This spoiled the game for us. Get your bugs worked out before you release a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Son loves this game

posted by RonPas (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

My 4 year old son absolutely loves this game. I must also say I have enjoyed it quite a bit as a 38 year old man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Coooool....just luke warm

posted by jerbear (LOVELOCK, NV) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is not bad. Very simple, but the camera can make it frustrating as you are trying to make it through the levels. Special moves are good, but as has been said you spend most of the time pressing the A and B buttons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kung fu panda wii excellent review

posted by mragent (PIEDMONT, CA) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I was very excited about kung fu panda for the
nintendo wii. When I got the game, I already kind of knew it was bad. But when I started playing the game this happened: pow ka-bam thud ka-boom. Then I got stuck on a part. Then I passed it. I was relieved. The stress was out of me. Then I got stuck on another part. Then another. Well kung fu panda the movie is better. It's one of those games where it's better to see the movie before playing the game so you can follow the game compared to the movie. It's an ok game. If you read this whole review and you really wanted this game you might be disappointed now. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cross between Prince of Persia and Sonic

posted by eddielee34 (SPRINGFIELD, TN) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I had to give this game a pretty high rating simply because it is a kids/family oriented game. The controls and movement reminded me of Prince of Persia (fantastic game), just adapted for kids. Also the rolling and coin gathering reminded me of Sonic the Hedgehog (great game from the past, not so good on the Wii).

The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because the game was too short. If you are going to pay $40 - $50 for a game you should get your money's worth. I don't think the game has very good replay factor. The multiplayer games are no comparison to the single player portion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I love Kung Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

posted by cjdurbec (CAMAS, WA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Most games based on movies are lousy. This one fairs well above average. Watching my 8 year old flail about while playing this game was both fun and entertaining too. Again, as typical with movie based games, I wish there were more to it but all in all this one was pretty enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Fun

posted by mommyof2 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game is all about fighting and there are to many animals at once to fight, it hurts your hands from hitting the bottoms, so it get real old real fast (very boring) i guess unless you like to fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Similar Game Tie In

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

Very average, and there is a glitch where you half to walk across a board but always fall to the right. Go see the movie instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Over Done Panda

posted by darkprp (SULPHUR, LA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Very funny clips but to much in the obsticals area. Takes too long to get through even the first level. Alittle much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »