Rent Kung Fu Panda 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Kung Fu Panda 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
5.4

548 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Game Easy Platinum

posted by thesilentchild (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played through the first Kung Fu Panda game so I said why not try the second one. First let me say that the game has some bugs. The Cut scenes are the worst. The Voices don't match up with the mouth movements and the scenes are choppy. If you can over look that then you'll make it through the game. The in game voices are better and has all of Po's Kung Fu witty and silly comments. I like to add the the diolog doesnt repeat itself like most halfbaked shovelware or movie tie ins so thats a plus. Also its not like the first Kung Fu Panda game which was more of a platformer and this game is more of a side scrolling beatem up. A bit more dull then the first game.

You play as Po and you get to work with 3 masters. Each master has a special move they can teach you to help you out through the game. There is some Collecting of different Metals and some Flags in the game. You can pick about 95% of them by going through the regular story mode. After you beat the game you can go through all the areas to look for what you missed.

When your choosing the masters I would go with the raccoon guy then the Gator, then the Ox. After I beat the game All I had left for the metals was some of the areas in the Raccoon masters area I couldn't get to with out the Ox Masters Ability.

This game is a Very Easy platinum that should take you anywhere between 4 to 7 hours to beat. The enemies are easy and the collecting wont be a challenge for any seasoned gamer. Not a bad game but not a great one either. Just turn your mind off and enjoy.

A Khilds Review
RR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Easy Platinum - not fun for any age

posted by KosmoCrisis (LINCOLN, CA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played through the game nearly two full times now I can say that this game isn't nearly as good as the first Kung Fu Panda.

Pros:
- Its an easy platinum. Only one playthrough required if you be sure to get the trophies related to kills with weapons or with certain moves before finishing the game. Otherwise you'll have to do what I did and replay just to get the enemies to spawn at the locations having a dumb guitar weapon or enemies with shields.
- Its short. This is a pro because the game is not very entertaining. This is the type of game that if you're not a kid and you are playing this game, you will have some explaining to do.

Cons:
- Graphics suck. Specifically, the character models are no where near the quality of the movies. Where even the first game was very graphically impressive or Toy Story 3 looked really good. Characters here are bland looking up-res versions of a PS2 game.
- Frame rate inconsistent. Many fighting sequences will cause the frame rate to dip as low as a jarring 10 fps. If 30fps is the acceptable rate, this game drops to at least 1/3 of that. Fighting near the docks or with fire in the area can cause this to occur.
- Cutscenes are a disaster. The one part of the game that should be awesome is horrendous. The cutscene audio does not sync nearly ever with the visuals. The characters are animated extremely poorly, worse than an amateur puppeteer. A ton of graphical popping, things moving here then there in an instant. Other than Po, all other character voice overs are performed by wannabes. Pretty bad.
- Gameplay blah. No platforming like the first game. Its so easy to get lost in the levels, yet there are so few environments. Collectables are scattered randomly in some places making it difficult to find ones you've missed. Combos entail mashing the Square button repeatedly and maybe throwing the Triangle button in for good measure. Dpad can summon a helping strike from one of the Furious Five.

Stay Away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

OK for trophy hunters

posted by Xx_thepro_xX (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my little brother and he grew very tired of the game easily. Going through the whole story and breaking every vase or box you will get every single trophy. This is a game that you only play through one time and its not worth renting unless you need an easy platinum. I got the PLATINUM in 4 1/2 hours so it shouldn't take to long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kung Poo Panda

posted by Games_Bond (MULBERRY, FL) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

The movie was excellent, entertaining, and exciting, all things this game is not. We understand that movie tie-in games are not exactly high quality (that's mostly because the dev team is rushed and pushed to complete the game to coincide with the movie release) but this game raises the bar for "awful". The game not just looks last gen but it plays worse than it looks. Constant frame skipping, poor animations, and glitching environments make this game a sad disappointment. Graphics are not everything but there is a standard. Most character models are insultingly bad. (Shifu is very bad and void of pupils which gives a very unfinished look). The game company obviously did the best they could in the time given but the result is sad. As a parent I can't see most kids enjoying this. If your looking for a game for the little ones, look elsewhere. If your looking just a fun romp in the "Kung Fu Panda" world, then again look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blaze's Review

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is very easy to platinum. Took me only 5 hours to platinum this game. 10 out of 10 if you want an easy platinum. All I did was button mash and spammed a Kung fu power over and over again because it was an instant kill. Collectibles are easy to find.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for Kids & That's About It

posted by C00lstorybr0 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) May 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I'll be honest, the only reason I rented this game was for what I thought was going to be an "easy" platinum (I kinda have a condition know as trophious whoriness). Be that as it may, "easy" turned in to four separate play-throughs in order to unlock one of the last trophies I needed. I even used a guide and it still took four attempts.

No, I'm not slow, and the intricate plot-line of a panda that can perform Kung Fu did not get the best of me. The reason is there are 1800 collectibles you have to find in the game for different trophies. You find these by breaking every object you can (literally) which then drops different types of collectibles (i.e. iron, gold, copper, etc.), and you need to find EVERY. SINGLE. ONE.

Some how, some way, despite breaking everything that was breakable in each level on my first THREE play-throughs, I still came up short on one particular type. After running back through each level and finding NOTHING else that could break...I had to start again.

Long story short, this game was maddeningly difficult for that very reason. However, I finally did manage to collect all 1800 collectibles and this game can burn in eternal hellfire because of it. I'm not resentful at all.

Now that you have a decent understanding of my pain, the game is definitely for kids. Adult gamers and more seasoned gamers will find nothing appealing here at all. Its simplistic combat lends itself great for young children that haven't yet developed their twitch reflexes required by more complex games, and it's a great diversion if you need something to get your kids out of your hair for a few hours while you hit the bar.

The graphics were serviceable, but the low-quality development is obvious. As far as I could tell all the actors reprise their respective roles, but Jack Black still isn't funny.

I recommend this game for parents with kids or people that just can't get enough Kung Fu Panda in their daily lives...and that's about it. Trophy hunters: Ye b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by ers1 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 3, 2012

Member since May 2011

THQ should be fined for releasing this. It was buggy and me being an expert gamer even got lost at times on where the heck to go. My kid was totally lost and we just ended up giving up on the game. Terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not That Bad! Easy PS3 Platinum

posted by GizmooreTech (JAMAICA, NY) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

First off I wanted to start off by saying I'm not really a fan of Kung-Fu Panda and as an adult I didn't really find it too bad to play-through. It just requires you to collect items which can be a bit frustrating if your not paying attention. I would give it a rent for trophies, It took me about 8-9 Hours but I was pausing In between so It might take you 4-6 Hours to complete the game. I say good luck and most of all Have Fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trophies Galore!

posted by DoGWiLD6207 (TEXAS CITY, TX) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Your friends may make fun of you for playing this game but I quickly rubbed it in their face that I earned 36 trophies and beat the game in 4 hours. If you want a platinum trophy make sure you do everything you need to because you won't get a second chance once you beat the game. I give it a 5 out of 10 because it seems to lag or rather feel like slow motion a lot. The animations are not that good and there is limited skills to learn. Basically if you want easy trophies then this is the number one game on the market for that. You will earn a trophy about every 5 minutes, no joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simplistic & Repetitive

posted by Starbase009 (PONDERAY, ID) Aug 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I think I would have enjoyed this game much more if you cut my age in half. It's not the worst, but I've certainly seen better. I thought the plot was creative but you are just shoved from one scene to the next in a very repetitive way. Even though your view changes it all ends up looking and feeling just about the same. It was cute and did have Jack Black at least, but for me that just wasn't enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Panda

posted by MsDachshund (HIGH POINT, NC) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This was a very fun game to play and we laughed alot. Great for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sean moore

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jul 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

i Got that form gamestop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok freezes a lot

posted by kbilly06 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Adventure is somewhat entertaining. The game freezes a lot causing the need to reboot the whole system. Would probably not recommend...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So- So

posted by htorres888 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Good Game but it could have had other missions within the levels. After fighting the wolves & others what else is there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by faq (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

worst game in the world everybody do not get kung fu panda 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »