Rent Kung Fu High Impact for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kung Fu High Impact

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

234 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, but limited

posted by Descronan (SEMINOLE, FL) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this with my 11 year old son and it is great fun. Like some of the others have mentioned, this game uses your image and inserts you into the game, which is extremely funny.

As far as Kinnect games go, this is my favorite so far. The action is fast, its funny, and a great workout. Any movement you make that is "fast enough" is treated like an attack and you hit your opponent. I'm not very good at the blocks and defense, but they worked well too.

Multiplayer is also fun. One or more friends use the traditional controller and duke it out while one uses the Kinnect. We traded off quite a bit.

My only real complaint is that the battles are too repetitive and the number of special moves are few. By making certain predefined poses you can power-punch and shoot across the screen, shoot lightning, create an earthquake, or slow time. While cool, it would be great to set up your own custom suite of superhero powers.

I can see this working great for adult themed parties too as it is just ridiculous to watch and play.

For parents worried about language (personally I don't care), there are some words dropped in like "time to kick ---". But nothing worse than that. The story is classic comic-book style and your image is included in the comic book pages. I wasn't happy with the voice overs, but whatever. It didn't ruin the game or anything.

Bottom line, good fun, but my son is bored with it already. We haven't tried fighting online over LIVE though. That might bring him back in. As with all Kinnect games, rent it before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisingly Awesome Game. Great Workout

posted by jebus187 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After reading the reviews I was not sure if I would like this game. I have to say it is extrememly fun. The game is not very dynamic as I don't think it has online multiplayer and there is not a ton of content from what I've seen so far. However this game is an incredible workout and a very funny/entertaining. I have to be careful when I play because its so fun I play till I practically have to throw up from exhaustion.

Anyway I'm buying it cuz at $19 its a no brainer(with gamefly coupon and 5% member discount). I really feel like this game got short changed and should have sold better. Gamespot gave it a 3.0 rating which leaves me to believe they are idiots and not to be used as a reference. The controls are a little annoying at times but it should have gotten at anywhere from a 5.5-7 rating overall. This game is a blast and definitely worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Kinect game you can purchase!

posted by Gates1986 (HUTCHINSON, KS) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me be the first to say that I was very skeptical about this game. Mainly because...well it's not a secret that the "Good" Kinect game database isn't very large. I watched the game play videos for this game on internet and couldn't believe what I was seeing. Could it be true? A good Kinect game? Yeah I'll believe it when I see it. Well get ready to believe. I bought this game the other day and I'm exhausted from having so much fun. HOW IT WORKS: The Kinect scans your body (including your clothes) and puts you in a comic world. There is a descent story but this game is more about having fun and thankfully there is a lot of it.

This game is best played around your friends. You will have an absolute blast because everyone is intrigue by the game's premise and it's always fun to watch your friends jump, punch, and kick the air. The Kinect sensor picks up your moves with ease. I don't think I've had any issues with my moves not being recognized but if there was a time when it didn't recognize my movement I didn't notice it. To add some flavor to the mix the game allows you to scan in weapons. There is an obvious size limit but I was able to scan in a baseball bat and my friends guitar. I never thought the day would come when I would be inside a video game hitting ninja's with a acoustic guitar. The sound is exactly what you would expect from a kung fu game. The graphics help set the mood. It looks fantastic but at the same time it reminds you that you're in a comic. My only complaint is that it sometimes blurs your image on screen a little bit but it's easily fixed by turning on more lights.

I apologize for the long review but I can not give this game enough praise. If you want a great Kinect game then BUY THIS NOW! If you want to try it out first then rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easily the Best Kinect Game I've Played

posted by Loo777 (GREAT NECK, NY) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've played just about every Kinect game out there. As much as I love the Kinect, most games feel bloated and sluggish.

WIth this game, the action is fast and the game is the most responsive I've ever seen in a Kinect game. That's because it uses your own real-time image, not a cartoon avatar, as the main character. In a Street Fighter-type setting, you kick and punch not by mashing buttons but by kicking and punching in whatever way feels most natural to you. The game is remarkable in how it literally puts you in the game. It's a blast to kick and punch at enemies approaching you at all sides like a real movie ninja.

I can't recommend this title highly enough. It really starts to show what the Kinect is capable of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

interesting!!!

posted by comfishoez (BELLFLOWER, CA) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its kinda cool little better grap;hics few hotter moves who knows. it could be a classic!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kung-Fu Fun!!

posted by dadonela (EVERETT, MA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to say i'm impressed with this one. You are the hero, literally it's you, the Kinect projects your live video into the game. I had to move my couch out the way for this one, and I also had to retune the Kinect. Your moves are read pretty well but there is a learning curve. Bottom line is this game is tons of fun, it will get you sweating real quick. Great weekend rental!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Excercise

posted by laurapancake (DENTON, TX) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I rented this for my kid who is always sitting on his butt on the computer. I wanted him to get some exercise. He loved this game and it wore him out. He still kept playing. He thought it was funny how his picture was up on the screen hitting people and in the comics.

Lol. Freaking Hilarious and Great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mortal Kombat Starring You!!!!

posted by Kingleader (HOOPESTON, IL) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

To me this game is awsome my kids love it as well and i really it shows what the future can hold for this kind of gaming.Its seriously a blast from striking poses for it to insert u into the comics to the actuall fighting itself its a blast and lots of fun and we allaugh all the way through it.I had dl'd the demo and had to try the full game and im so happy i did im gonna buy it for sure!Hope theres a part 2 Best kinect game yet by far for me :)It seriously is like old school Mortal kombat only it u play as yourself and anything your body does it shows onscreen its awsome and 2 players can play co-op so good times for all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Interesting But I Didn't Like It

posted by dChAsE77 (FORT MYERS, FL) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game's got some cool features, but I am actually a kung fu teacher, and to me, it lost it's appeal after getting swarmed with guys that are hard to kill in round 2. It's got very funny stories that are very silly, and this is probably a better game for young kids that have nothing to do all day, and have a little more energy that me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!

posted by Joedago12 (ELGIN, OK) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is so simple, but amazing!. it takes your actual image and puts it on the tv. the kids love this game. its great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Decent but then again...

posted by Waynechristy (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Fun at first, very tiring, pretty neat how far along technology has come. overall a good rental game and thats it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by karatygoku (MUSKEGON, MI) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

the game sucks because the 2nd capter is so hard that u cant pass it but tahts me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On of the most entertaining Kinect games were trye

posted by ukjohn (HAMDEN, CT) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

We have rented a lot of kinect games and there are a lot of bad ones out there.

We love this game as they really did design it well with the Kinect in mind. It is the only Kinect game that has kept the family entertained for over an hour.

The Good:
We have played comic strip and in that the scene starts by taking picture of you as you stand in various poses. These poses are then used so that you become a part of the comic strip. Great laugh.

Once the action starts you can punch and kick a variety of enemies and BEST OF ALL, unlike other kinect games, you can just walk out of the frame and let someone else take over without a stupid kinect warning message telling you that you have stepped out of teh play area. Marvellous!!! You also get to see a little you moving around on the screen!!

I really do not know if we will plan to buy this or how long it will keep us entertained but certainly I am very impressed by it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »