Rent Kororinpa: Marble Mania for Wii
view large frontback

Kororinpa: Marble Mania

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

915 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun! & Much More Content then the "Critics" Claim

posted by Oldgamer80 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 22, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

As other reviewers have said, Kororinpa: Marble Mania is pretty fun and it's easy to pick up. Unfortunately a lot of the content is "hidden" and needs to be unlocked by getting special items and getting good times on boards (not just winning, but winning fast). It's all pretty easy to find if you're actually playing the game to have fun, but many reviewers seem to not notice these levels. The hidden content is significantly more challenging and engaging then the early levels, and will take quite a bit of skill to get good times on!
IGN claims to have reviewed the game twice, but also claims the game has barely 40 levels, and doesn't have enough content to be a great game. The reviewers at IGN are numerically wrong and should be ashamed of their negligence. The game has at least 65 levels, plus the inverted mirror levels of all the boards.
Kororinpa: Marble Mania has a surprisingly smooth physics engine, perfect controls, is a lot of fun, and unlike most 1st generation games, doesn't have any striking flaws. Its a lot of fun to play, and although it won't likely take 70+ hours to beat like an RPG will, it is definitely worth the rent, and for many, worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but Short

posted by Gibbsman (LEHI, UT) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Yeah, I have to agree with the other website reviews. This game is short, but it's a lot of fun. I didn't try for gold cups on every one as I didn't see the point, but it still has a lot to offer.

I'd recommend a rent of this game rather than buying it. After you finish the 45 levels normally it unlocks the mirror mode where you can play the same levels in reverse. This can also be fun, and is a nice change.

With that said, I finished the game from start to
finish, with mostly silver cups, in about 4-5 hours.

I've got three kids, ages 4-8, that just love this game though. They aren't terribly good at the game, but they love the way you control the ball with the Wii remote.

Overall, I think this is a fun game and is definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It Zen Like!

posted by BAMyers (WARSAW, IN) May 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My most important criteria when searching for great games is how the Wii remote is used. I didn't by my Wii so that I could turn the remote sideways and press buttons.

I found this game very relaxing, mostly because of the concentration required to get through each level. The other big plus for me is can I enjoy it with my kids. This game was a blast for the family.

This game is a great way to chill out and have some great fun. It also is one of the best games for utilizing the Wii remote and all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short but sweet

posted by Mooglewing (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is great rental for the whole family. The only thing that keeps this one from getting a higher rating and a suggested buy is the length. You can blow through all the levels in about 2 to 3 hours. The game is really on beating your best time after you figure the route through a board.

The graphics are pretty good for a marble game but the thing that stands out the most is how well the controls handle and how changing marbles really can change how you play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An awesome rental

posted by AngryJ (MONROE, CT) May 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After SMB: Banana Blitz disappointed at launch, I wasn't expecting much out of another roll-the-marble-to-the- goal game. However, despite the drab graphics and presentation, Kororinpa was a great surprise. The first twenty levels are easy enough, but the difficulty spikes pretty quickly. While the Super Monkey Ball games require players to merely tilt the stage, Kororinpa's stages can be rotated completely. The controls are extremely intuitive, as you rotate and flip the remote in order to do the same with the levels. Luckily, the sensor is incredibly precise, which helps make up for the somewhat awkward camera angles. I just wish the fun lasted more than two hours. You'll fly through this game, especially given the unlimited retries (not that I'm complaining; this is much less frustrating than Banana Blitz). The unlockable stages and mirror mode are welcomed, but none of the hidden content is enough to justify a fifty dollar price tag. However, as a gamefly subscriber, this is an awesome choice. Definitely in the top tier of third party Wii games, alongside Trauma Center.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I bought This One!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I bought 3 games so far; Zelda, Excite and this one! This games has the control that Banana Blitz should have. Just Buy This one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is it really 'short?'

posted by dumptrucks (BURBANK, CA) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think the mainstream game review sites are being too harsh on this title. It's not too short in my opinion. If you replay the game with an eye toward gold cups on every stage, it will take you a while. No, it's not a AAA game but it's a very satisfying experience. Next to Wii Sports it's the best game to show of the Wii remote that I've played. It's a ton of fun and pretty challenging toward the end. Plenty to be happy about. If you're a jaded hardcore gamer, then by all means rent this, it's well worth it. It's an impressive use of the Wii remote.

Four things I'd like to see in a sequel: 1. bumping option in multiplayer so players can play more cut-throat if they want 2. more stages 3. a maze editor so you can make your own stages! 4. a custom marble maker would be cool too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Interesting, newer game concept is fun to play

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Aug 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I was pretty surprised how good this game is in its physics and level maps. The features of the game will keep you entertained from start to finish. Two player or one, it's great for the whole family, too..without anything being too cheesy like telletubbes or whatever.

Game was pretty quick to finish, in my opinion. If you're looking to have this game almost twice the length, I'd recommend its sequel "Marble Saga".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I SERIOUSLY PLAYED FOR 45MIN. ON ONE LEVEL

posted by DBESTEST (BLUE ISLAND, IL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

VERY FUN GAME IF YOU HAVE SKILL. THERE'S ABOUT 90 DIFFERENT LEVELS AND ABOUT 30 DIFFERENT BALLS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marble Mania For The WII

posted by ras2484 (HOUSTON, TX) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2006

I have just recently played Konorinpa: Marble Mania for the Nintendo WII. It is one of those games that relies on the wii remotes motion sense to move the marble to its goal. I believe this game was fun. To most critics saying that this is a rip off of Super Monkey Ball I don't really see that besides how you control the marble itself. The game play is quite fun but there are some parts in later levels that some amateur players might get frustrated with. Also the game is quite short only 50 stages including the unlock able stages which are opened by gathering green crystals. The music I thought was really well done and very catchy in some way. To sum things up this game was a masterpiece when it comes to using real physics to play a game. I thought I was actually moving the board myself. I have nothing really bad to say about this game except the fact it is too short. I will definitely buy this game if I can find a copy for sale. Also I will be playing the sequel to this game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

1 word....BORING!

posted by proudmaof2 (SPRING, TX) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

BORING!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marble Madness + Labyrinth = Fun!

posted by GameDrop (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This is a very enjoyable romp with the Wii Remote. Unlike a lot of games, I felt that the control scheme worked quite well with the remote. Tipping the level to move the marble felt very natural and reminded me of the Labyrinth board game of old, which was a nice bit of nostalgia. The multiplayer is also fun.

To top it off, I ended up being able to do a Keep It, which was a bonus since I had been trying to pick this up on eBay but all the auctions ended up closing out of my price range. Thanks, GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Fun Fun

posted by JawJackinF (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

Totally fun game. Great variety and totally challenging. The addition of different marbles to use makes the game seem new all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than expected

posted by FRUITFRUIT (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Jul 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

When I saw that this game was coming, i was not that excited. Once it came, i put it in and then I immediately loved it!!
Marble Mania is fun, addicting and is very very creative. Every time you beat a level you look forward to seeing what kind of path or stunt you need to perform next.

Positive: Fun, addicting, creative, difficult, simple movements, original, great graphics, and a a great experience for the whole family.

Negative: The instructions about the green gems (keys to secret levels) are not very clear. THATS IT!!!

My dad started playing it with me. It was even more fun once that started. Not only did we get to compete, we also helped each other through tricks and other difficult problems. I had a great time discovering each level with him.

BOTTOM LINE: One of the best games ever. Rent it, if you like puzzle games, buy it!!! More fun when you play with others. HAVE FUN DISCOVERING THE NEW AND FANTASTIC WORLD OF MARBLE MANIA!!!

10!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Marble Mania is a Bad Game

posted by cleodreams (Wrightstown, NJ) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Easy controls, but very repetitive. Bad graphics and music. Although it was challenging at times, it was still somewhat easy to get through the levels. I was able to complete the entire game in less that a week. Don't waste your time in renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy to play & use. My kids liked it...

posted by RoseAngel (LYTLE, TX) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This was a very simple game to navigate through. My kids got more enjoyment out of it than my husband and I did...but I won't lie - I enjoyed it, too! The things I liked most, after how simple it was for my kids (ages 9 & 8) to play on their own, were the camera angles and the point of view changes. It added more to the game than just a traditional 'put the ball in the hole'-type game. It may not be like one of the most wanted action games, but it definitely does test your skills in hand-eye coordination. We liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Different

posted by sschmid7 (GROSSE ILE, MI) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

This game is a lot of fun and is a different kind of game. Easy enough to get the concept right off of the bat without having to learn 10 moves or more. A lot of fun and requires concentration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very entertaining!

posted by GonzalJ13 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

wow, this game is so addicting, and if you love puzzles,then buy this game,it played for 3 straight hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

annoying

posted by Leger13 (DALLAS, GA) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The idea behind this game concept is different and it's a great way to use the Wii controller but it gets pretty boring after the 3rd of 4th board. Cute but it's more for the younger crowd. Plus the music on the candyland boards is soooooooooo annoying!!! Next time they need to pick something less repetitave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good lazy man game!

posted by skiman (HICKORY, NC) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

If you're looking for a game that goes against what the Wii console is designed for (getting up out of your seat and moving around) then this is that game. I'm not trying to sound lazy ,but I like a game that I can seat down and play and most wii games don't allow that. You gotta be pretty still and make calm movements with the wiimote in this game. I played it all the way through in beginner mode ,but it does get alot harder so if you want a challenge then this game can provide that as it has many complex stages and it's all in the type of ball you use that decides how hard this game can be. I enjoyed it and I would have kept it had I been given the option to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A wonderful rental!

posted by Strongbad1 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is fun, has decent graphics, and has well-made levels. The only thing I didn't like was the length. I beat the game in an hour and a half, and wasn't even trying very hard! I did unlock a few things, but not really anything I wanted to check out. It's fun while it lasts, but it doesn't last very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kororinpa: Marble Mania looks good.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

A very unique marble game. Can be very challenging. Plenty of marbles to choose from to use on the puzzle boards. Would have been nice to see 4 players. The graphics are great. Takes some time to get use to the feel of the game controls. Some puzzle boards are pretty difficult if you use the wrong marble. It's worthy of a rent. Some fans of the classic NES (Nintendo Entertainment System) game Marble Madness will be sure to enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a bit

posted by Mossax (LUBBOCK, TX) Oct 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

Kororinpa started as a semi-entertaining game. I was impressed that the sensitivity of the Wiimote did was not terrible so it allowed for me to maneuver the ball fairly well. This was nice because I have played similar titles like this like Super Monkey Ball and that game handled terribly. I thought that since this game corrected this glaring mistake that it would be a nice to play for the evening. Well 2 and half hours later I had completed Kororinpa but it was not without many many times of wanting to throw my Wiimote at something because of frustration. I began to realize as the levels got harder that this game was just as bad as those other games for the Wii that force you to move the world around to complete your goal. The sensitivity might have been fixed but there were times when I was holding the Wiimote upside down for levels and it was just awkward. This game is just mediocre. I wouldn't recommend it for kids because it becomes way to hard and it is far to short for any other gamer, casual and hardcore alike. I realize Nintendo has made a console that is revolutionary but when will developers realize that you do not have to use every feature a console has to offer to make a fun and exciting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too easy

posted by playgames (FORT LEE, NJ) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

It is a fun game, but too easy, finished in two hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by Bedbug (CORVALLIS, OR) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Kororinpa: Marble Mania's value is in it's intuitive and simple style. The levels are complicated enough to be a challenge the first time through but the controls are easy to get used to and also fun.

That said, there are a few downsides: the game is rather short (though there is lots of "hidden" content which can be unlocked), and while you can always go back to previous levels and try for a higher score, this becomes tiresome quickly.

I enjoyed this game quite a lot while playing with others, since the two player mode allows for simultaneous play witha sort of "ghost" marble on the other player's screen, while remaining separate so the players are not actually interacting. I found this to be a good balance of solo and group play, though some gamers may dislike the ability to interact with their opponent.

Overall the game was enjoyable to me and to my friends. We are college age students, but I think Kororinpa would appeal to almost any age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse