Rent Konami Classics: Vol. 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Konami Classics: Vol. 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.1

199 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Who didnt love Contra

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I love these classic bundles, makes you laugh at what you thought was cutting edge 25 yrs ago and who didnt know the Contra cheat code back in the day, sadly how many of us actually remember it now. Good mindless fun and a pleasant trip down memory lane. Great for a rent and a laugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Contra Code

posted by Everett25 (ADRIAN, MI) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

WOW!! I still remember the code after all these years.
UP UP DOWN DOWN LEFT RIGHT LEFT RIGHT B A SELECT START. Thats for two players!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I expected.

posted by abvanar (PIKESVILLE, MD) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Sure, most of us remember the old Konami cheat code that worked on various Konami games for the Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), but those expecting that code to do you any good on this version of Contra will be sorely disappointed. These games aren't the ROMs those familiar with the NES know and love; these games are the original cabinet arcade ROMs. Fortunately, this is why I signed on with GameFly in the first place, because I would be furious had I bought this in the store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Konami's Mistake

posted by kyle123 (SANDY, OR) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is a vary bad the track 'n' feild is a 3 Cantra is 7 and rush attack is a 5 this game would be better if there was 2 more games and theres not much more i can say about this besides its F#&$%!# the s&#!!$# game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definately a rental

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have had this on my GF list since it released and just got it 2 days ago. I figured after such a long wait it would be worth it,nope!! I just don't see the point of splitting this game and volume 1 apart. Why not all 6 games on one disc? Thats how Capcom does their greatest hits/classics. I assumed that these games would be direct NES ports,instead they are the arcade versions. I own the full size arcade machine versions of these three games and in comparison the closest one to being authentic is Track & field. Contra has some colors that are incorrect and the sound track has been altered,game play is also a little slower. Rush N attack has the same issues, also the difficulty is set to high by default and I do not think you can change that. Track & field is insanely difficult and once you lose an event once it's game over so the games do not last long. Better to play this game online or with people at home. Definately a rental but not a must buy even for nostalgic reasons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

About as Classic as the Black Plague.

posted by NukeDukem (WALLA WALLA, WA) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Three Games. The Konami Code does not work. Do not get. Do not rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Disappointing

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Like many people I rented this mainly to relive Contra, but it's a severe disappointment. For one you cannot enter the Konami code in this bundle (maybe you can in the arcade version, I don't know). Furthermore the game is displayed in a rather small box on the screen rather than fullscreen. This is really annoying especially since I assumed it being updated in 720p meant it would look nice.

Track and Field is a waste of time, nothing but button mashing and little reward.

Rush N' Attack isn't worth your time. Even if you loved these games in the past they'll really only provide minutes of entertainment now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Only 3 Arcade Games?

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Oct 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not even worth a rental. The disk contains three sorry games from the 80's arcade years and the only thing remotely fun and nostalgic was playing track and field again after all these years. I had to quit playing Contra due to the noise. You can install the disk to your hard drive, but it plays from the disk and is incredibly loud.

If you want arcade goodness, go for the Sega Remix instead of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same thing

posted by jeselkar (RIO RICO, AZ) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

very poor graphics, I do not like as seen in the middle of screen, I thought it would be more original, but in full screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucky game

posted by rickanjohn (GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok this game was very lame contra is not even the same one i remember playing i ran thru it in 20 mins and half of the stages are missing whats up with that. i am so glade i did not buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

so so sad

posted by tumbleweed1972 (MONTICELLO, AR) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

this is why i like game fly instead of buying games. if i would have went out and paid 20.00 or more for this game i would have been very mad. trust me dont wast your time with this game, you dont get full screen games just a little squar in the center of your tv.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Trip down memory lane

posted by stultz13 (CLAIRTON, PA) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

This is a purely nostalgia-only rental. Yes, you can get 30 guys on Contra and beat it in about 15 minutes. However, Contra is the only saving grace of the bunch (and I'd give Contra a 5 out of 10 by itself). The problem here is that these games play EXACTLY like the arcade versions. No continues, 3 lives (or attempts in Track & Field) and you're done. I was hoping to make it far in Rush 'n Attack and T & F but got frustrated at the relative difficulty. Personally, I feel that a console version of an old arcade game should allow for unlimited continues. If you want to be frustrated as you were in 1986 playing these games, go right ahead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Konami 2 classic

posted by tdogg1999 (GREENVILLE, MS) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game wasnt good at all,....I didn't enjoy it at all....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Remember These On The NES

posted by Gamer6583 (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I played all 3 of these games on the NES and loved playing Track & Field on both NES and at the Arcade Room. Playing Track & Field on the Xbox 360 is a liitle more difficult. I would definitely recommend getting an arcade style controller like Xbox 360 Real Arcade Pro. EX by Hori. This game is fun if you enjoy Arcade or Old School games !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »