Rent Konami Classics: Vol. 1 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Konami Classics: Vol. 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

244 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just My Opion

posted by Gamer6583 (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

These are the kind of games I played and loved to play. Most people would just pick Castlevania SOTN to play on this BUT don't count out Frogger this is a fun game for us old school gamer's who really enjoy real video games. So if your a arcade freak of the past or liked playing PSX or the older systems then you should enjoy playing these 3 games. there not perfection, there just fun ! Give them a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Old Games Still Kick.. um.. boo-tay?

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright, I've reviewed all of these games in the past on my broadcasts. (They kick ..'ash'.) And I STILL enjoy playing Castlevania on my PSX. Yeah, the games do have their share of flaws, and, unlike games today, they're actually CHALLENGING. (Don't believe me? I DARE YOU to make it through all of the first Castlevania without swearing ONCE.)

Anyway. All I can say is that these are some classic games, and while they're not perfect, they're some of the best ones out there. If you love the old genre of gaming, and want something to prove your fandom, this is the way. (Or, if you just want something good. I won't judge.)

Anyway, it's a good rent or buy, if you can find it. (I've seen it for like 10 bucks new, but I've no idea if it has codes that let you install it on your 360.)

So, they're three good games from the simpler ages of gaming. That's all it is in the end. Try it or don't. Really don't care. (It's worth it, though.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow really?

posted by MadMethods (DUBLIN, CA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This gets a 4.6? wow... I give this a 10. Not because it has state of the art this or that, it obviously doesn't, but what it does is PERFECTLY emulate three of the greatest games ever made. Some people (kids, morons) have no sense of where games were a decade or more ago... here ya go. These games are great examples of why gaming has stuck around and been such a force in the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only one game on here is worth it. Castlevania.

posted by CptPicard (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Frogger's a good game, and so is Super Contra. But they pale in comparison to the 2D sidescrolling open-world masterpiece that is Castlevania: Symphony of the Night. You are Alucard, and you are trying to find and kill Dracula in his own castle. Your trip through the huge, labyrinthine castle will take you everywhere, from a library to an underground network of caves. And no matter where you go, the monstrous inhabitant of the castle will try to kill you. The gameplay focus is on exploration in this game. You go through the castle, finding new abilities like Double Jumping and turning into a cloud of mist, a bat, and a wolf. With these powers, you go back to where you were before, except now you can access previously unreachable areas and find new weapons, shields, and armors. All of this is capped off by some of the best bosses in history. Shame the voice acting is awful, though. But you can't have it all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only get it for Castlevania

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Personally I only got it for Castlevania because I didn't want to have to download it from xbox live arcade but the two other games became boring and you can't find anybody online to play against. Also these games are basically just copied from the xbox arcade and put on a disc becuase when you run the disc and play the games it puts the demos of the three games onto your xbox and just unlocks it when you have the disc in but locks it back up when you take the disc out. All the achievements and things of that sort are also exactly the same as they would be if you were to just download the game off the arcade so you only get 600gp for this game when you normally would get 1000gp for a normal completed game.
Last my final recommendation is if your planning getting this you should probably only get ti for Castlevania, unless of course you like frogger or the re textured version of the original contra from the NES and you want to revisit it, but be warned the xbox control pad is uncomfortable to use and can give your finger cramps because of the tough reach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Castlevania, not much else

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this is the better of the two Konami Classics discs, but that isn't saying much. In theory the Konami Classics sound fun but they will likely only hold your attention for a very short period of time.

The most annoying factor is that the games are played on a small screen with borders around it (at least playing on a widescreen TV) which is unacceptable.

Frogger is fun for a few minutes while Super Contra is quite challenging (but in my opinion inferior to Contra which is on Volume 2, however considering it too is played on a miniature screen it's not worth playing).

Castlevania: Symphony of Night, however, is the best game on both Konami discs. The Playstation game looks wonderful and plays great to this day. Unfortunately, once again the small screen is a hindrance.

I'd rate Castlevania a 9/10, however the disc as a whole is pretty useless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Symphony of the Night is the best part.

posted by Slarky (LIBERTY, NC) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Contra is too difficult without the cheat (maybe with) and with the cheat you get no achievements.

Frogger is OK but after 10 minutes you've had about all you can take.

I'm really glad I didn't purchase this one, its a good evening on gamefly though. Playing through Symphony of the Night is the best part of this disc. So if you're not interested in tossing several hours into that classic this disc is mostly a waste.

I did rack up the easy achievements on all 3 though ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

blast from the past

posted by kjh1976 (ASHTABULA, OH) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This wasn't a bad rental. I got it mainly for Castlevania and was pleasantly surprised with the number of arcade trial games. There was UNO, street fighter, and pac man to name a few. Worth a rent for something different

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor graphics

posted by jeselkar (RIO RICO, AZ) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

very poor graphics, I do not like as seen in the middle of screen, I thought it would be more original, but in full screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »