Rent Knights Contract for PS3
view large frontback

Knights Contract

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.2

601 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Devil may knights?

posted by Deerwalker (SUNNYVALE, CA) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, all in all it was an ok game. Take Devil May Cry, take away his guns, add a little magic, add a little button squencing for boss finishing and there ya go. Some of the areas can get you lost, a lot of running around with no direction. But, for a hack n slash, not too bad but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Really not as bad as everyone makes it sound

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can fully understand anyone's gripes towards this game. It is certainly different, but if you get used to it, it can shine a bit. The gameplay is not fantastic by any means, but I did feel like it was kind of cool once I got the hang of it.

Combat does take a slight amount of finesse to pull off properly; this game really likes to focus on "Finishers" which is basically just an execute move that you use by pressing Circle once you use an ability while the enemies' hp is at certain point. If you can get practice with it, it does evolve out of simple button mashing (although you can probably still sorta play like that).

So what's the biggest gripe? Quick time events. Yes, it is true that if you do mess up on a QTE on a boss, you get thrown back into combat and have to "kill" the boss over again (although most bosses you only have to take off the last 20% hp). But what people do not point out are 2 things: 1) If you're playing on Easy or Normal, if you're playing the game right and using Finishers, that 20% goes by quickly. 2) If you're truly afraid of the QTEs, go look them up! Yes, they're not randomized like most games! It's the same sequence in each game, so go look them up somewhere, write them down, and you won't have any surprises. The window to press the button is not that horrible; I didn't find them any worse than any other game out there with QTEs. Also keep in mind most boss fights have an average of 5 button presses. Be wary venturing into harder difficulties though, the QTE windows do get smaller with difficulty.

Level layout is a bit labyrinthian with a couple of levels and even though you have a map, it's not too useful. The game is also relatively short (8-10 hours while listening to story) but it has some replay with a new game + feature.

It does feel like an "average" game, simply because it doesn't really do anything too wonderfully, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game. It takes some getting used to, but I found it fun once I understood it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated

posted by Exus12 (POCATELLO, ID) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I bought this game entirely on impulse and was very much pleased with it. I admit, it has a few minor flaws and did get frustrating at times, but over all, I loved it! I won't waste any time giving you plot elements, but I will say that the battle system (combining scythe and magic) was one of the more enjoyable I've used. I really don't get why this game got such a bad rep. It's fast paced, original, and the story is interesting. If you enjoy a good hack slash, Knights Contract is for you. Give it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Intriguing but highly aggravating

posted by grim_reaper92 (BLUE MOUND, TX) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I got this game recently and I got pretty into it at first. I mean the graphics are pretty good I don't know what everyone else is seeing, and the controls are simple and it is very easy to throw in some devastating combos with the help of your sidekick witch. The storyline is actually pretty great don't listen to people who say it isnt . But there were some major flaws that I had to endure with extreme patience such as when heinrich becomes immobalized you have to button mash the x button a million times before he becomes whole again. Now I understand they tried using this as a challenge because while you are immoblized your sidekick decides to still attack and if she's dies you start over, there are ways to get around this button mash and that is to have gretchen give up more than half of her health just to revive, or you can keep using her magic to knock enemys back while trying to break your x button. The other pain is the boss battles they have so much health which isn't a problem because they are easy battles but the problem happens when you get there health all the way down and you mess up on the button your suppose to push during the cutscene of trying to finish the boss off and if you mess up the boss recovers 2 to 3 bars of health back. If they changed up the battles alittle this game would have been a great one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of time and money

posted by Demsky (COATESVILLE, PA) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

30 out of 51 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Knights Contract should have never been made the time money and resources put into making this game wouldve have been better served building habitat for humanity or feeding starving children someting more useful than this unentertaining piece of waste of DVD. Let us list the cons i experienced in the 1 hour i could withstand playing this mess. Bad control scheme( no jump button in an adventure game?)Muddy graphics.Terrible dialogue. Uninspired enemies.Unreliable QTEs. Map is unhelpful as it doesnt point to a specific goal. Worst of all there is a cutscene every 2-3 mins for everything imaginable, walk a few steps then there is a cutscene of you walking a few more. Fight some enemies then watch a cutscene of them talking about it, walk some steps another cutscene.Long loading times even with installation and this was all in the first hour or so of play at which point i ejected from ps3 placed back in GF envelope and will be proceeding to mail back immediately. Which brings me to my pro for the game it is a rental. TGGF(Thank God for Game Fly).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I really enjoy this

posted by fogopop (SUNRISE, FL) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If this game was called "Call Of Halo Resistance 4 Dead Killzone Black Ops Fallout" people would have liked it. I guess Ban Dai didn't pay reviewers enough to give this a good score.

The combat is fluid. I haven't experienced any slowdown. The story is interesting with the twist that your character can't be killed, but you have to protect someone who can. She can take care of herself, but you don't want to stray too far from her.

I like this very much and wish more people would give different games a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Spoilers, just why this is bad

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since May 2005

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Let's put aside the terrible story, terrible voice acting, and okay (probably sub par) graphics.

Thats right put that aside and focus only on the game play, is this fun.

It is easy to get lost in this game, and they try to hide areas by making terrible camera angles.

The worst parts, in my opinion, are the boss fights. They are incredibly easy BUT during the ending fight sequence if you don't press a button in time (and sometimes even when you press the right button in time) you have to fight again with the boss having 2 full bars of health. You might think this is no big deal but maybe your girlfriend or cat is harrassing and you miss the last button, twice. You will be ready to return the game.

After the fire boss I had to stop playing. there is a reason why the score is so low.

I gave it a 3 because that is what stage i got to before quitting. stay away!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GF Saves Again

posted by mournen (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am sure glad I rented this instead of purchasing. It is a real disappointment that such a great concept was wasted on such poor game design.

Graphics:
Rich detail in most areas. They are about average for a console game. Cut scenes are many but enjoyable plus the player can skip past them.

Concept:
Plenty of thought went into this. Each witch has a good amount of background and the player gets a sense of reason for the encounter. The bond between Heinrich and Gretchen is a good catch and fathomable. The concept really makes the player want to get through to the end and get the whole story.

Sound:
The music is well done for the medieval period. Settings are limited and cut scene voices can be low if you turned down the volume of the music.

Gameplay:
Normal Hack and Slash play through is enjoyable enough and the addition of witchcraft from Gretchen (either controlled and AI) is a bonus. Boss battles are the nail in the coffin. Though they can be fun to figure out and the quick time events (QTE) do give ample time to select, missing the selection on the QTE tends to cause a redo of the whole battle. This isn’t always the case but occurs enough. A great annoyance is Gretchen’s AI. She has a tendency to just stand there and take it when Heinrich is trying to revive. The real killer of these encounters are the horrible camera angles and either Heinrich or Gretchen getting tossed of the side of whatever high place the encounter is taking place at. This occurs way too often and too easily. Getting beaten by the boss due to poor planning is fine but getting tossed off a bridge over and over is a quick trip back to the mail box.

Summary:
It is more aggravating that the player wants to get to the end of the story yet is unable to due to such poor design. If you have the patience of steel to get past the design then rent the game. No matter how good the story is, it won’t matter if the player doesn’t want to finish the game and this is what earned it a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STAY AWAY

posted by adam18man (PRATTVILLE, AL) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game just sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Knights Contract

posted by heart3259 (CALCIUM, NY) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

the game just bad i play it for 15mins and just don,t like it ever thing bad on it the game would be a waste off money don,t like the fighting or story time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable game

posted by Loki01301 (GOSHEN, MA) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

i have played all the devil may crys and this is just like them it even adds a little twist with having you as immortal trying to keep your charge alive the boss fights are amazingly fun and the magic is pretty cool if you like the devil may cry series i suggest trying this out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could Be Worse

posted by Jat380 (UNIONTOWN, PA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

Low quality graphics, constant loading times, and repetitive music. Still, it was fun to play, which is why I gave it as high a score as I did.

This game suffer from some bad programming. The game jarringly loads cut scenes. You're traveling along when your character comes to a dead-stop, then the cut scene loads, play out, then the game loads again to bring you back to the level. You're going to see the load screen a lot. Instead of the level loading on the fly, there are many hard-points in the game where the next area loads. Have to go back? The previous area has to load at that same point.

The graphics are really sub-par. Several times you can catch the textures loading in the environment. This isn't because you're traveling too fast neither. One time I looked ahead to a near-by hill and the textures loaded. "OK, whatever. ", I thought, but I backtracked a little and returned, the same textures loaded on the same spot, on the same hill. I didn't even travel that far.

There is, like, one piece of music that plays throughout the game. There are other pieces of music that play, sure, and most of the time I didn't even notice, but, any lull and you'll hear the same couple of notes you heard a few levels back.

I hated the little guy. Annoying and constantly getting into trouble. I think he was suppose to be endearingly comical, but I just simply hated him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic and Excellent Game!

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

When I first got the game I thought It might be like the GOW series, but it wasn't. This game had so many characteristics to stand on it's own other than being a clone of another great franchise. The story is amazing and so are the graphics, controls, and combat. Absolutely going to purchase this game! The only reason why I didn't give this spectacular game a 10 rating, is because of three reasons. The first reason was because although I don't really get freaked in games, i have a fear of snakes and these ones in the game known as "Ice Serpents" look very much realistic that it freaked me out. The second reason is because the lead character Henreich can't get defeated really, which is good, but the bad part about that is reviving him. When reviving him you have to mash the x button for a while before he get's back up, and sometimes it's either to late or just in time in your lucky to survive the battle. The last reason is because although it's really awesome that you get to play as Gretchen the main witch, she has great magic to cast upon her enemies, but when she falls or gets hurt in battle she is way to weak, and sometimes takes a while to get back up after getting knocked down by an enemy. But altogether this is a really great game, besides a few little mishaps. I would absolutely recommend this game to hardcore gamers who love rpg's and action and adventure games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game for button mashers

posted by nellyhoose (FRESNO, CA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

The plot line is ok, could have been a lot worse.

One of my biggest complaints about the game was in the in game map. There were several times that the maps were completely worthless and it took literally hours to get out of the area I was in or continue (it's worse the second time when you through the Witches Enclosure).

Game play was pretty good, who doesn't love mashing the buttons and kicking butt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good story marred by bad choices

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

"Knights Contract" could have been an excellent game, an action/adventure title that certainly could have given the "Devil May Cry" series a run for its money. The premise is terrific- you play as Heinrich, a former executioner cursed with being immortal, who accompanies the last witch he executed, Gretchen, who's come back to take down who fellow witches who've gone over to the dark side under the villain Faust. The graphics, music, and voice acting are all fairly decent, and the story, while not the best, is still interesting and decently written. Combining the brute strength of Heinrich with the magic of Gretchen works nicely in taking a variety of foes down over the course of the game's 20 episodes. But here's the big problem- Heinrich is immortal, Gretchen is not. If Heinrich gets smashed to a pulp, repeatedly jamming on the X button brings him back. If Gretchen dies, it's game over. Sadly, Gretchen is not the smartest AI in a game, and she often hurls herself into the fray even when her health is dangerously low. You can pick her up to revive her health bar, but this isn't always easy to do, especially in the middle of a boss battle. Speaking of boss battles, they all follow the same pattern- go through 3-4 health bars than master a QTE. The QTE isn't very forgiving, and if you mess up, the boss regains health, but you don't. This leads to some very cheap deaths, as do some very bad camera angles. Also, there's no jump button, unusual for a game of this type. The map is all but useless, and some levels can get confusing, as you often have to backtrack. It's a shame the developers made these bad choices, because most players won't even get to see the story to its conclusion, as these problems may cause them to quit the game in frustration. I recommend you rent this only, unless you can pick it up dirt cheap. If you have patience (you'll need it) it could take you about 8-10 hours to reach the end. A shame, considering what this could have been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Should be Called "Now Loading"

posted by Dunric (DULUTH, MN) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Maybe this game is really amazing, but I didn't want to wait to find out. Load times right from the start of 5+ minutes between scenes, and even after installing to the HDD it still took a long time.

When I finally got into the game, I was very disappointed at the gameplay graphics--pretty good I thought for the movies, but the gameplay graphics were just bad. I'm not sure what all the loading was for, but it certainly couldn't have been the graphics.

Also caused my system to freeze, and that was the end for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Is Worth It

posted by jraiter123 (LA SALLE, IL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I was not expecting this game to be as good as it is. Sure, it may be a little too linear, sure it may be a little too easy even on the hard setting. But that doesnt matter because this game makes up for it with an awesome and absorbing story that really pulls you in. After having a few bad games on my Q its finally good to have something Im not sending back the day after I get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A great action game for Halloween.

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

The atmosphere here is great; dark, fantastical, and even a little twisted thanks to the great creature designs on display here. Unfortunately, the visuals are simplistic and sport some muddy textures. It literally looks like an HD PS2 game - a great one, like Onimusha 3, but it can't compete with games like Castlevania: Lords of Shadow. The lighting is flat too, and the character models - while generally attractive in terms of DESIGN - just aren't very detailed or well-rigged. Don't expect jaw-dropping animations from these guys.

The combat is solid; it's easy to learn, and feels great. It feels simplistic at first, but adds wrinkles - like the witch powers - that keep it relatively interesting. The Quicktime events can have some brutal timing though. The witch in question here adds a nice "partner dynamic" to the game, like Prince of Persia or Enslaved. However, that gameplay is a lot simpler here than in those games - it's much less organic than in POP, and you have less control over your partner than in Enslaved. They also fail to capitalize on it to improve storytelling - don't expect any back and forth dialogue during gameplay like in, say, Uncharted.

However, the music is fantastic. It's fully orchestrated, and accentuates the action very well. The game's also not nearly as repetitive as I thought it would be. There's a decent mix of boss fights and set pieces punctuating the action to avoid becoming stale. The second stage, for example, begins with an old-school Crash Bandicoot-style "run away from the monster towards the camera" sequence.

I really like this game. But it's also, admittedly, unamazing. There's a lack of ambition to the gameplay and level design that undermine it's cool, unique premise and fantastic atmosphere. If you loved the Maximo games back in the day, or already played through Castlevania: Lords of Shadow and cravee more horror-themed actoin games, Knight's Contract is an easy recommendation. Just don't expect it to be as good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh.

posted by Shadley (MOUNT HOLLY SPRINGS, PA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Very pretty game. VERY frustrating loading screens. Maybe I'm just picky. Seeing how others rate online might be nice for some, but I just want to play the game and contant prompting doesn't change my mind. Poor save opportunities - look forward to waiting for your magic to load as you play Gretchen solo. This game may be worth a try, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by beowolf (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

have to stop in middle of fight to heal girl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »