Rent Knights Contract for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Knights Contract

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.1

855 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Three Major Design Flaws

posted by theozzman (CHESHIRE, CT) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Sure the crapy camera can get you killed and the dialog is bad (Heinrich will occasional point out the plot holes in an incredibly humorous way as if he’s channeling the players bewilderment), but the worst problem by far are the QTEs.

I’ve seen some bad button prompting, but these drain all semblance of enjoyment from the otherwise thrilling game. I’m all but convinced it’s imposable to land most of these without knowing what buttons will pop up ahead of time and that’s no guaranty as the game frequently ignores correct inputs.

I really want to recommend this game, but the good just comes with too much baggage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than these low reviews let on.

posted by Elderelsak (CEDAR CITY, UT) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game is not perfect in any way, its your same old hack and slash, but thats not a bad thing. It does exactly what a hack and slash needs to do to be entertaining.

The flaws come into play with the horrible camera, and the horrendous button sequences. The camera is tolerable in most cases, but the epic moment you should have gotten out of the cut scene/button sequence parts of the boss battles really ruin the entire boss fight.

There are some glitches causing you to get stuck, or horrible fights with ledges that you can fall off (which happens too easy on one boss fight...) but nothing horrendous enough that i'd stop playing, just had to cuss a couple times and get back to it. And the auto-save feature helps make these glitches tolerable because you don't lose hardly any time the 2-3 times you might get stuck.

Overall I gave this game an 8 (in all reality i would have given it a 7.5, but round up i suppose) because it is a good hack and slash with a cool twist. The ability to use and upgrade the witches magic was a nice addition. The story is compelling, and who doesn't love half naked witch babes? I really wish they would have worked on it a little bit longer to fix the bugs, but its still pretty good, and at least worth a rent in my own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gotta take the bad with the good

posted by Karinka88 (MONTROSE, CO) Apr 22, 2011

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

ill begin by saying this game... is 80% frustration 20% oh thats kinda cool i have never played a game where 99% of my deaths were of no fault of my own the camera is horrific possibly the worst ive seen least in the current consoles the point of the game is to escort this witch around and kill all the bad witches... 1st off the person you play as is invincible there is no game over if he dies unless you fall off a cliff or something the main reason you will die is the AI controlled witch you escort around she is the absolute dumbest computer companion to date half the time she wont even follow you she will go her own route and get lost which if you get to far away from each other....like 6 feet you wont be able to use your magic which is the only reason to even play this game and without it you suck plain and simple and then she will start to die if you dont find her in time also most the time she wants to die she will go out of her way to get you a game over she will stand in FIRE/Lava/Acid/Poison pretty much anything until she dies she has no sense your up fighting in melee combat and shes right there with you she mostly gets hit from cleave damage luckily enemies do often reserve you as the biggest threat i can deal with most of that but the number one most annoying thing for me was after every main boss you have to do a push button to finish them normally not a big deal... well THIS game dosnt recognize half the time when you push a button ive had to repeat boss fights so many times do to this flaw this game almost got sent back many times its a test of will power to finish this thing the only things i did enjoy about this game is the combat is pretty solid magic abilities are neat and quite powerful most one shot enemies least up to chp.11 bosses look cool but all have bugs not one boss went as im sure the developers intended quite buggy... oya last thing your movement speed haha...well its slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not That Bad As The Reviews

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is not as bad as everyone is saying. Yes, this is your typical button masher with the occasional bad camera angle but it's a fun game with cool upgrades and great bosses. My biggest complaint is the game is very short. I beat the game in about 10 hours..............I do have the same complaints as the other people but I got used to the problems as the game went on. The camera angle sucks sometimes, cut scene after cut scene, load screen after load screen, and the horrible AI. Luckily you can press the start button to skip the cut scenes. You never die....ever but your partner does die......The game has good graphics, great combos, excellent upgrades, and easy acheviments...........If you're in to bloody button mashers then this game is for you........a good rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I would give this game a zero if I could.

posted by Pixelminer (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's completely buggy. Got stuck on a ledge after the first boss hit me once. Really?!?! Don't even bother with this waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The good,The bad,The ugly

posted by UmbroDragon (LA MIRADA, CA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Quite honestly this game was terrible in the game playing design. Often enough you would be falling off the edge by a fire ball or you get a game over to easily because your witch partner is to stupid to run away when you are Breaken apart......However! The story is what really kept me going all the way. The fact that they used the Old Witch trials in the tale and the backround followed by it was superb. I was struggling so much to see what would happend next. Its a very great story-line and once i got past the many quirks in the game's Design. I was glad i was able to finish it with a sense of Accomplishment. I do advise however if you do not have the patience and are likely to "Rage-quit". This will not be a game for you. I was kind of Mad however you did not get new weapons.....Overall This was interesting and very challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not so bad

posted by brentevans (PINELLAS PARK, FL) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found the game overall entertaining.

I did have problems with the camera angle, and it seemed to lack a sense of direction at times, but the game play is fun, and I haven't had a problem with any of the QTE's.

It may be that I installed the game on my hard drive to make it run a bit smoother, I don't know. That is just a theory.

It does take a little while getting used to the buttons used to use the witch's magic, but that lasted all of about 30 seconds.

Pretty good hack and slash.

7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why so Jadded?

posted by MenOfWar (BEDFORD, TX) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game seems to be receving nothing but awful reviews. However, i found this game to be unique with a fairly entertaining story line. The graphics may not be the best, but that is really the only problem i found durning my playthrough. The graphics themselves really aren't even that awful just not the best. To be honest if you like hacking and slashing while following a compelling story rent this game! You can't die, there are impressive witch spells, and even more entertaining finishers, along with tons of hidden content making the replay value pretty high. Yet once again this will be a well made game that goes unoticed. Don't let the jadded game reviewers of our modern day spoil this experience for you. RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Knights Contract

posted by Alucard8012 (OREM, UT) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When you first play this game you are thinking this could possible work out to be a fun game to play, Good story, Decent game play then blam you screw up one button push and you have to fight the stupid boss all over again and again and again until you finally get the stupid button pushed at the right time. ARGHH!!! The game was fun until the stupid QTE'S during boss fights. That is what killed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse, five minutes, ever.

posted by Lord_Winter (RENTON, WA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So let me get this straight... In order to fight enemies I have to hold the left bumper to lock on, than pull the right trigger to switch between melee and using my witch's abilities, and finally press a button to use one of the assorted cool-down spells? Mind you, this is all happening in real time while being pummeled and knocked around the screen.

Oh what's that? The first boss smacked me off the roof right as an enemy spawned behind my witch and instantly impaled her while I watched on in horror, rendered useless sailing through the air off screen as the camera couldn't even keep track of me?

My only regret is that the mail has already come and gone today and so I must wait until tomorrow to return this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Knights Contract: Hack and Slash Fun Time

posted by Yusuke420 (GRANDVIEW, TX) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing and finishing Knights Contract, I feel like it was a good experience, but if you have played any action game in the last 5 or 6 years you have seen it all before. This game tries to be unique in it's approach by teaming you with a powerful, but fragile teammate. This mechanic works well until the latter parts of the game where it become much more of a chore and hassle.

The visuals aren't bad, but some of the dull textures and recycled enemies hold it back a bit. The framerate was steady for the most part and the boss battles while uninspired are the high point of what basically amounts to you standard hack and slash gameplay. The game also tries to introduce a points system that rewards the player for playing effectively, but ultimately it's poorly explained and implemented.

Knights Contract is a game that is good for what it is and it was an interesting story that was told, but ultimately you have played this game before and tacking on an escort mission makes the game very sterile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor

posted by cwitherell (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Reminds me of a cheap Japanese game. Not impressed at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

CHEAP DEATHS! MUST READ!!

posted by BluStyles (AURORA, IL) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll sum it up short for you..DONT PLAY THIS GAME!! Im a huge fan of the hack n slash since Golden Axe, ive been playing them ever since so I have an extended history of the genre.
The regular fighting of minions, no problem. Bad angles, slow main character, very annoying AI damsel to save and carry..all this I have no absolute problem with its been in previous games before that ive beaten. The absolute WORSE thing is the Boss fights and dying! During the later boss fights they just get cheaper and cheaper to the point of the game not being remotely fun but just an endless cycle of reload screens. Too many times to count I have been knocked off some cliff, bridge, castle etc.. while taking a simple average hit from the boss. Or my damsel in distress decides to walk into lava to take a little nap. When you die, you have to mash the A button repeatedly, and by repeatedly they mean longer and faster than any other game ever made! Even with magic that is supposedly makes this go faster.
Dont waste you time and rental with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is a 1 and deserves it.

posted by buckykat11 (North hollywood, CA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, first let me give out credit where due. this game has decent graphics (decent not good) enjoyable combat, and an enjoyable story.

PROBLEM. The QTE's (quick time events) are corrupted somehow. Before anyone asks, I whupped the God of War QTE's in all three games, so it isn't me. the button press will not register on most occasions, not to mention if you fail them enough times you go back to the beginning of the battle. This means that the game is broken, nobody should have to waste their time on something like this.

Also, the AI is terrible on the companion Gretchen, she has no self preservation instinct. A game that depends on a partnership should be made with almost exclusive attention to AI, so that the girl runs and hides when neccessary.

A good idea sabotaged by poor programmers. Don't try walking before you learn to crawl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool game.

posted by lusence (OKEECHOBEE, FL) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To start off i was pleasently surprised. I love the whole witch trials, and occult like stuff from medieval ages. so i was instantly like, 'coo'. And that intro clip is one of the most hardcore cuts ive seen. When you see that ogre witch grab that child/boy, your like okay here is where the hero comes in and saves the kid... instead the ogre squeezes the goo out of him and licks it up... WOW! what the heck just happened!?

so had fun with the story and like the upgrades and weapon. plus the challange is great. been a few times i was sorely tempted to pop it down to easy. and that one boss that keeps knocking you off the platform?! took me 79 tries on normal to beat that ahem witch.

all in all only thing that that really ruins the game is the AI on the witch. worst eva. she will just stand in lava and not move until she dies. so you have to make sure you get good and carrying her around a lot. i just made the best of it but at one point during that boss battle who shoots fire/lava i almost lost it. she would just stand in the puddle of lava, could not belive the AI on her... neways check it out... GL though for a rental took me about 6 months and ive had this game in my number 1 spot in my Q the whole time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable

posted by Mickley (WAYNESBORO, PA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was actually very good. It has a pretty solid story and nice graphics to match. Although, it does have a lack of fighting moves and at some times horrible camera angles to the point I thought that I was playing the classic Resident Evils. Upping the difficulty is also a decision that you chose to do only if you have a lot of time to burn. Its not like that enemies are impossibly hard but they take just so long to defeat, it makes you want to put out your hair. Also, allowing it to continue playing with the stuff that you unlocked/acquired from the previous play though gives it good replay value, especially increasing the difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably decent game, ruined by horrible AI

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The premise seemed okay, graphics okay, walk into one mini-boss, and one boss battle in less the a couple minutes, frustrating AI controls, turned off, packed up for Gamefly, terrible game, enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by ckoehler45 (LA MARQUE, TX) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I personally can't stand a game when your forced to guard another character and that seems to be this entire game. The camera angles suck and your character takes forever to turn around. God help you if you get knocked down, it takes forever mashing the A button to get this idiot to get back up. Seems like the game makes were trying to to rip off Devil May Cry and come up FAR short!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Knight's Contract

posted by violet121 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 27 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

bad camera angles all your doing is button mashing worse games ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Tactis of the Game

posted by SKmRashid (BRONX, NY) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you like devil may cry then you would love this game, i know this game has been rated 5 out of 10 but i give it a 7.5 because its a great game can get yours hand on, though this game lacks visual eay candy but the story its great.

You will engoy the game if you do the flowing things:

1. Do not upgrade your magic power to the fullest because you wate a valuable upgrade points and the other hand the fully upgrade magic takes way to long to reload. and you need magic avialable to use when in tough battle, especialy with the boos. (by the way there are three level up for each magic).

2.learn and place the tactics carefully with foe. because you will get boared if you just do usale attack and you use the same atack tactis with evary foe you come a crose. just because you don't know how to kill an eanemy fast enough you will get boared.

Overal this game is good
Visual 6 out of 10
BGM 7.5 out of 10
play 7 out of 10
overall 7 out of 10

Enajoy the game... :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why does this game even exist?

posted by DKfoids (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok so let me start by saying, i started this game on it's hardest difficulty "Knight" mode, becuase thats what i do with gamefly games to get all the possible achievements i can get before returning the game.

Anyways, on to the review. This game is horrible. This game is EXACTLY like devil may cry, but HORRIBLE. way too many cut scenes, PS1 quality graphics, ridiculous boss fights (like really? just die already...) and horrible ways of doing things. Your an immortal knight who cant die! yeah awesome! ...then u get to thinking...well wait how does one "game over"? well they team you up with a weak mage girl basically, and when she dies, game over...and you heal her by....picking...her...up? That's right. you press RB to tell her to jump in your arm, and you begin to bride carry hear and she heals. awesome. NOT.

one might say, "aw well the hack and slash and the magic combo is cool!" that ALONE is why this game still exists. and even still that is not that great.

i popped the disc in...played for an hour? two hours? opened the tray, took the disc out, and put it right back in the mail box. Horrible. 1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CUTSCENE AND LOADING!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

CUTSCENE AND LOADING!BORING,KIND OF SEEMED LIKE A RPG THAT WHEN WRONG,NAMPCO SUCKS!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Knights Contract is a great game

posted by shaggy176 (FRANKFORT, KY) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 52 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

i bought this game the day it came out hopeing i didnt waste 63 for nothing i was right its a very awsome game that you must play.the finishers on the last board leaders are very awsome the magic is epic if you love video games you gotta get this 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

UGH!!

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

I wanted to ignore the reviews and find that one hidden gem that was panned by people who only gave it 15 mins. 2 hours into it I thought I had found one. I was sorely mistaken. The complaints about the frame rate and last gen graphics I can handle, the terrible AI, ridiculously hard boss battles and useless aiming function, I cannot. I actually had to purchase this game because I got so angry I broke it into tiny pieces out of frustration and anger. So if you want a game that can cause you to break a controller in anger..look no further!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Knights Contract review

posted by Timestreamer12 (BEAUMONT, TX) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Knights contract is a seriously under estimated . I have played many games that most people never gave a chance that do deserve poor ratings. This game being not one of them. What makes Knight Contract a fun game to play is the hack and slash action and a mixture of magic . You play an Exiecutioner and a Witch that must team up and stop other bad witches from destroying all humans. The story seem a little different but not to hard to follow. The graphics are very impressive and the music is mesmerizing .
This game was one of those games that went under the radar when it was released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse