Rent Knack for PS4
view large frontback

Knack

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
6.7

1243 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth Playing

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I feel Knack has had some harsh reviews. People should not be surprised by what they are getting when playing this game. It looks great and plays great. It is a great alternative launch game that is more child appropriate and is not a "shooter." The game is very linear and unforgiving as it only takes a couple of hits to make you start over at the last check point. The story is not too bad either. An interesting concept is being able to swap out the hidden treasure find for one that your friends might have found if you want or need it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Believe the Horrid Reviews, this game ROCKS!

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You may have read some bad reviews of Knack by usually reputable sites such as IGN or Gamespot, but I'd argue that the game is much better than they'd have you believe. The attention to detail and a worthwhile demonstration of next-gen capabilities is present here, along with decent voice acting and a compelling story. Sure, the concept is simple, beat up goblins and robots, bosses, etc., but each chapter features new enemies and forces the player to approach each encounter with a different strategy. Given, there's plenty of hidden chests either containing jewels or parts needed to assemble gadgets which aid in your efforts, but it is actually fairly far into the game before you can actually complete a single, simple gadget perk, which is really Knack at its worst. Also, there aren't even any puzzles of any form which would've enhanced the experience tremendously, but taken as a whole, Knack is a noteworthy and ultimately awesome piece of the PS4 launch lineup, and should be played by anyone looking for a lighthearted, immensely satisfying example of a game that deserves a much better critical analysis than Gamespot was willing to give it, (a 4.0 out of 10), and IGN's "mediocre" 5.4. It appears some people don't recognize a great game when they see one. Typically, professional review scores reflect the quality of a game with all aspects of the game taken into account, but I believe the big boys dropped the ball on this one. Play Knack! If you don't like it then there's probably something wrong with you, LOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KNACK

posted by gdazlings (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Dec 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

awesome game for my son (10 yrs) he love it! and we bought it finally!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The most average game you'll ever play.

posted by Ahiam94 (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game I was excited. I got my PS4 and I was ready to play a next gen game! After beating the first level, I noticed something. I wasn't bored, but I was also not having any fun at all. That's a feeling that goes on the entire time you play this game. Every level is so incredibly average. There's absolutely nothing special about this game. The characters are very linear and have no depth. One character has a "tragic" back story, but it's not enough to make me care about him. Knack himself really doesn't stand out as a character. Nothing he says makes you like him, and most of his lines are cheesy and have been said by every other "super cool" cliche character. The story isn't really anything worth mentioning. Imagine Uncharted, but not interesting. The villains try too hard to make you not like them, but aside from the girl (who reminded me of an evil, not cool, Laura Croft) I really didn't mind any of the enemies. The music is so easy to miss I almost forgot it had music, so nothing worth mentioning there. And then there's the gameplay. At a first glance, this game seems like it might be really fun. Don't let that fool you, it's not. Every level starts you off as a tiny verison of Knack. EVERY LEVEL! Playing as him makes you feel defenseless and incredibly weak. It's not until at least half way through EVERY level you become as strong as a level one character in any other game. But, every level has a point where you become pretty big, or in some cases massive. This is when the game gets fun. It's always entertaining running around smashing tanks with one punch. Sadly, every single time you become huge and start actually having fun, it takes no more than three minutes for the game to come up with a lame excuse to shrink you back down and make you weak again. There really isn't anything wrong with this game, it's just that there isn't anything good about it either. If you're looking for the next gen experience. Look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unique. A rewind on classic type games.

posted by FFCollector (EDGEWOOD, MD) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Starting the game its tutorial after tutorial. After about 30 minutes into the game is where it gets better. It reminds me of when I first picked up Ratchet and Clank back on PS2. Not complicated at all as the areas for exploring are stream lined. A great game for those beginning their PS4 gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool but not enough variety

posted by SoulDragons (ANDERSON, SC) May 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was fun but I kept getting the feeling that I needed a little more variety to the enemies and more ability to use gadgets than allowed. Graphics were good and story line was decent so definitely a rent but did fall short on excitement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is not Dark Souls

posted by DarkoHCP (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Why is this so frustrating? There is nothing wrong with being compared to old-school platformers, but this is a bad platformer. So many conventions were ignored. Checkpoints should be obvious and reset all stats, not just health. Special moves should be available frequently, and not wasted if you die. Enemies should not be so devastating, especially on the Normal setting. Dodging should make you temporarily invulnerable (he's not even a solid object for crying out loud!). My wife was cringing at the thought of trying to play this herself.

SCE Japan seems to have an iffy track-record and this seems to be more proof that they need some real design work over there. Interesting mechanics are meaningless without good game design. I won't even go into the story--the premise is all over the place. The only real plus is that it is fairly pretty, but the camera was on rails. They should have talked to the God of War team in Santa Monica about good camera work.

This game was just feels like a prototype that lucked its way into production. A sequel would certainly be welcome, but try some playtests before its released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was fun.

posted by worstcaster (ROSCOE, NY) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Knack was fun to play and given the limited amount of game available for the newly released PS4 I would recommend playing it. The story wasn't bad but could have been more fleshed out and detailed. Many plot points left you with unanswered questions by the games end.

Changes in Knack's size seemed more driven by the plot then by actual control by the player, with very few exceptions.

The platforming was ok but could have been more challenging then it was. The levels were very linear and seemed at many points to discourage backtracking and exploration, which was very disappointing. The levels could defiantly have benefited from design styles more in keeping with Ratchet and Clank and Jak and Daxter.

Combat was ok but could become redundant quickly. Punching was alright but limited to a series of combo punches on the ground and a rolling meteor strike into enemies while jumping. When changing size from gigantic knack into a small version the difference in the length of your punches could cause some very unfortunate error in judgement when throwing a punch. It also would have been nice to have quick vs. heavy attacks similar to what is in the God of War series. The next major combat mechanic was the super moves you could unleash using the power of sunstones. These were effective in getting you out of very dangerous situation and the limitation on how often you could use them required some discretion. There were a very points where you could pick up objects and throw them but it was very clunky compared to punching and super moves. It seemed almost safer to ignore picking up an object to throw because the time it took often exposed you to injury. This is too bad. The size changing nature of Knack made it seem like this could have been a better method than it was. Smoother quicker movement is needed to fix this problem. It also would have been nice to be able to hold onto these objects for a while and use them as melee weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Knack does not posses the Knack to fully entertain

posted by XxApolloxX (MISSION, TX) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To begin, the pros of the game. It is graphically a beautiful game, and the difficulty challenge is somewhat satisfying. Sadly that is all the good things I can say about this game. Even for a kids game, the quality of story telling and game-play variety is remarkably low. Every aspect of this game gets extremely repetitive. And if you're a trophy hunter, I wouldn't recommend renting this game, it is very difficult to even hit 70% in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

just ehh

posted by blink070810 (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

stories good, graphics are good, but gameplay is rather annoying. your running through a mission you lift you finger to scratch your nose you fall into a ditch and have to start all over. you cant control the camera angle its like a god of war type of angle. which is no problem except .000001 seconds of an enemy coming into view your already dead, because it takes very little for you to die in this game and then boom you have to start over. could of been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wanted to like this...

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But even with low expectations this game was terrible. The game looks nice if very simple and fake like everything was a kids toy including the people. The gameplay is likewise extremely simple with knack only able to jump punch and dodge slightly, no puzzles to solve or anything to break up the same bland combat. No matter how big you get enemies will consistently be able to kill you in 1-2 hits and many have aoe attacks or rapid fire shots that are difficult to avoid, especially when multiple enemies gang up on you at once. Knack moves sluggish (during boss fights especially) and pauses after each dodge leaving you open to attack. Not helped are the annoying checkpoints and the game being extremely stingy with heath/relics in some some parts. You will rely on the sunstone powers more and more just so you won't have to deal with the enemies anymore.

The story is bland and barely there, none of the characters were likeable or memorable even Knack. Everything is just one note and bland and never cared about the world or what was going on. That this was created by Mark Cerny, who worked on games like Crash Bandicoot and Ratchet and Clank, is stunning because it felt like something a rookie studio made in an attempt to cheaply ripoff those games but with no understanding of what made them fun. That it reminded me of old PS1 games like Crash only made things worse because it made me wish I was playing those instead of Knack.

Overall just a soulless shell of a game that wasted any potential it had. Rent it if you must but you won't be missing anything if you skip it entirely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Concept But

posted by Sandguard (FOLSOM, CA) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Felt like a lot was left on the table here. Could have been Ratchet and Clank fun, but never jumps the hurdle. Hats off for the concept, but needs to be more open. Playing this game, I got the sense that it was developed under a tight timeline and the result is a very linear experience.
I would love to see a follow up in a more open world with more options for upgrades (like a relic cannon or increased armor). Until that happens, you wont miss out skipping this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game rocks

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game right out of the box. Alot of fun, even though your basically killing the same goblins over and over, it's still a fun game.
The graphics are sweet and the game flows really well. It's well worth a rent for sure.
Don't pass this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Overall Average Experience

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Of the three titles I took home with my shiny new PS4, 'Knack' was the most disappointing to me. I'd heard early on of bad reviews, so I avoided them and have come to agree with some of them post game credits.

To its credit, 'Knack' is a different game than any other launch title in that it is kid-friendly and a platformer. For that reason alone, it will be worth it for some to give it a shot. I imagine if I was younger I would have found a lot to love about this game. The graphics are good, the character is cute (initially), and the art style resembles some of the more popular animated features/tv shows.

What 'Knack' lacks is execution. The game is very linear and provides nearly no room for exploration beyond a set path. This leaves the concept of a creature that grows and shrinks devoid of creativity and, to this reviewer, all around boring. Whereas games like 'Rayman Origins' and 'Little Big Planet' have provided massive outlets for exploration, creativity, and family-friendly fun, 'Knack' just simply doesn't.

That said, I would recommend this game for those who purchased a PS4 and want something to play with their young ones. I would not, however, recommend buying this game. Once it's done, there is not much left to do. 'Rayman Legends' will be launching soon for the PS4 and should prove a better platforming experience than 'Knack' has provided thus far.

I wanted to love this game. I really did... But 'Knack' didn't do it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Promising new IP

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am pleasantly surprised at how good Knack is for a new IP. Critics all around just slammed this game for either being too easy or too difficult, I think they are just a bunch of entitled jaded goons who can't enjoy games anymore.

I started playing Knack on Hard Mode from the get go, never looked back. The game definitely is hard, but I never found it so frustrating that I wanted to stop. I actually found it amusing at how unforgiving one mistake is. It sort of reminded me of Super Meat Boy, one wrong jump or dodge or swing will usually mean death.

My complaints with the game are the secrets you unlock, on my first play through I only managed to find 2 completed secrets and a lot of half completed ones. I felt like some of this secret equipment would've been nice to see in action, but they are so spread out in the game that I didn't even finish a secret equipment until mid way through the game.

My next issue would be the sun crystal power. It takes a long time to build sun crystal meter, you need to use it sparingly which is what I did, and actually only used it if I kept dying to a certain pack of enemies. I guess it isn't a big deal since the powers are extremely strong, but at the same time it didn't feel right when you have 3 max special powers to unleash and you pass all these sun crystals that give on other benefit.

The stages in the game are very linear and there are very rarely more than 4 enemies at any point in the game in which you must fight. It did become a little boring because you fight 1 or 2 enemies, then move up a bit to fight only 2 more. I really wanted to smash a bunch of enemies at once! However, this wouldn't be feasible since you can die in a single hit.

I'm running low on space here, there is more I'd really like to touch up on. In conclusion, the game is very fun, give hard mode a shot. I found the stages to be sort of bare and longing to fight more than 3 enemies, but it'd be way too difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

knack

posted by iPhone44 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the worst game...

posted by dat83kid (BRONX, NY) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

This game reminded me of a failed attempt at recreating ratchet and clank but missed the mark. The graphic were nice, granted... but the way the hit gauge was set up was kind of unbalanced and frustrating to say the least. Rent only. If its the only available game you have not played on ps4. Put at bottom if a newer game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very good family game with a lot of promise

posted by gotwriter (BRANDON, FL) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

My son and I love platform adventure games such as Ratchet and Clank. We both thought this game looked great and enjoyed the whimsical story. However, be warned the game is harder than you expected. My son is good at these types of games and he got frustrated by the combat. There is also items to collect and if you want the platinum bad enough, you will run through the game a second time.

I finished the game and smiled from beginning to end. There are some frustrating points, but the checkpoint system never pushes you too far back. I hope we see more platform adventure games that are for the entire family....did I mention it looks fantastic?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok but. ..

posted by docazoid321 (ROCHELLE, GA) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

It was an ok game to play the storyline was a bit predictable. Plus knack doesn't seem to have any growth in powers. It's the same 3 powers thru the whole game. I saw a lot of potential for more powers. Also it's a very short game I beat it in 5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why?

posted by Sausageboy (PEARL RIVER, LA) Oct 8, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The story line is alright but its boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

brutal

posted by DethDoc (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Rented this with hopes that the people who rated it high were right, that the game was getting a bad rap for no reason. This was one of the most painful titles I have ever played through. And yes, even though terrible, I still roughed it out since there is no sense not finishing what one has started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game

posted by kaltenbach337 (LAFAYETTE, LA) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

Very addicting and fun but has a short span of play time, finished in a few days and really not much to play after, all just the same missions and all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun game but Drags Throughout Story

posted by David98 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

This is a fun, yet entertaining game to play. The only problems this game has is that the Combat system is really bad. Also the hit detection is horrible, which goes with the combat system. The controls are good, but at some parts they can get annoying. This is a PS4 exclusive, it should've been really good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Major potential...big time let down

posted by Klink154 (DENVER, CO) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

The game has a lot of potential. It looks amazing and the characters are easy to like and dislike. The story has so much potential that they could of set up a series like Ratchet and Clank or Jak and Dexter, But instead of jumping all over that potential, they crammed 3 games into 1. The game play is fluid, but the story is confusing in many parts. It also becomes very frustrating if you are a trophy hunter. I had to play through the game 4 times to get the crystals that are in the game and I still don't have all the crystals. I've unlocked all of the chests at least 3 times and in most cases 4 times to repeat items. I was seriously let down by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

STOP HATING

posted by cjkasino (INGLEWOOD, CA) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

people stay hating on this game, and its actually such a good game, I don't understand the hate. but I don't think its worth 59.99 but definitely worth it for a lower price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse