Rent Klonoa for Wii
view large frontback

Klonoa

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

703 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by nelics (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a very good sequel to the original Klonoa. Im thinking of buying this game for myself. The gameplay is very fun. And the storyline is really good and interesting. I cant put the wiimote down when Im playing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Little Bit Mario + Little Bit Bandiccot= GOOD!!!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played the original; so I cant compare. However; this one is very fun and the price is right. The 2.5D can get annoying and it is wierd to here the sonic voice in Klonoa but all in all it is a good game and worth checking out. The levels are short but replay value is there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Klonoa: Not the easiest platformer

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In Klonoa, you are the title character, a strange looking boy. With his friend, a floating ghost like creature, you set off on a standard 2D platforming adventure to save his land from some evil guy and his army.
How to do that? With the power of a ring you get in the intro cut scene, you can catch some enemies, toss them about to hit other enemies, jump higher than usual or hit switches - the standard 2D platforming fare.
If you've played any other 2D platformer, than you know what you're in for in this game - go from one point to the other, make some jumps, solve simple puzzles, collect stuff, and defeat enemes. The controls are easy to learn.
Some level design elements are very good - for instance, knocking over platforms to get to the next part or hitting targets from a distance. The story is also good - for a video game.
But some level design elements are very bad; some of the jumps you'll have to make are very tough, and if you miss, Klonoa falls to his death and you'll have to start over from the last checkpoint (it's an alarm clock icon you hit). If you lose all your lives, you'll have to start the stage over from the beginning.
Good thing you can go back to the easier, earlier stages and stock up on lives before taking on the later stages.
Klonoa is a good 2D platformer - just watch out for some really rough spots. I say rent it first and try it, then decide if you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad.

posted by InnerSpazz (DEKALB, IL) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In all of my years of gaming, I have never been more disappointed. First, I will get the normal rating junk out of the way.

Because this is a remake, the rating will be determined based on the ORIGINAL game.

Graphics: 5/10
Storyline: 10/10
Layout: 3/10
Cinimatics: 4/10
Music: 10/10
Storyline representation: 0/10
Controls: 5/10
Voice acting: 2/10
-5/10 for general creepiness of the stonemason.
Overall: 1/10

This game is a remake of a classic PS1 game. They failed. Horribly. The voice acting was HORRIBLE, causing the original and wonderful plot line to crumble. Much of the dialog was morphed, which did not turn out well at all. And the game became so easy, I gobbled it down in less than a day. The result is a game that has been brought to life as a brain eating zombie.

The average member review is 6.8.

DO NOT LET THIS FOOL YOU!

The original game would have scored as such:

Graphics (for its time): 6/10
Storyline: 10/10
Storyline Representation: 10/10
Layout: 6/10
Cinematics: 10/10
Music: 10/10
Controls: 8/10
Voice acting: 10/10
Overall: 10/10

The fact is, Klonoa for the Wii is a horrible pile of dung with a few good specks of gold that remained from the old game after it was swallowed up and digested. My sister and I who have always been huge fans of this game, were horrified with the results. I played it all the way to the end, only to find that the most touching part (the ending), was actually made worse...something that broke my sister's heart as well as my own.

Overall? I will tell you what I think overall. This game was created in order to take advantage of the already decent fan base of this amazing game title. Go ahead. Visit YouTube, look at the cinematics, the story, the game play, and tell me that I am wrong. If you want to play this game, try and play the ORIGINAL Klonoa for the PS1. Heck, I would even suggest Klonoa 2! But this? THis is a sorry excuse to make money.

END

OF

STORY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

long time no see

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i know klonoa from the ps2 version and the rarest klonoa for playstation as well this time they talk english but yeah i can understand that it's different on the nintendo wii there are klonoa games for the gba as well too i like the graphic and colors of the levels just like in the old days of klonoa on playstation.
i give klonoa 4 healing hearts out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Got to level 2 & ready to send back

posted by IgGreyhound (YAKIMA, WA) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Maybe I am just not giving this game a got enough chance but the controls are some more badly thought out controls. It is really basic every time you jump Klonoa says "help me up", I find this very annoying. A very easy game kids might like it if you are willing to listen to "help me up all day". This game is super slow at saving as well. Just boring... not well thought out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jumping into a dream world

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and had a really good time playing it. The graphics on this game are beautifully done with the scenes popping right off the screen and the characters have motions that show all of their emotions. The levels are designed perfectly with attention to detail on everything from the leaves on the trees to the water flowing in vision 2-1. The bosses and levels are not overly hard as so you get frustrated and wanna quit. The controls are easy to use with the 1 button being the attack button and the 2 button being your jump button and movement with the control pad. This game orgiunated as a ps1 game and has been updated to the much better looking wii game. I would highly recommend this game to action adventure gaming fans as well as fans of the original klonoa games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fun but just for a while

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The highest praise I can give this game is that it reminded me of Yoshi's Island, which is a great thing. The main character has a flutterjump like in YI, and the move you use to attack and grab enemies from a short distance is not unlike Yoshi's tongue attack. There are collectibles to find in each level, and like in YI, the boss battles are diverse and very well done - truly a strength of this game.

Now, this game isn't exactly like Yoshi's Island, and unfortunately in the end it doesn't manage to be as good. This game has just 12 levels - long ones, granted, but there's not as much content as in YI. At the same time, though, I wasn't disappointed by the short length because by level 10 or so it started getting really annoying. This game isn't as difficult as all that, nothing I couldn't overcome, but some parts of the game do feel cheep and the flutterjump doesn't control as well as I'd like. You'll rarely die from hitting too many enemies, but dieing because you missed a platform and fell down a pit? Oh yeah, that's going to happen a lot. You'd better bring a bunch of extra lives to the final levels if you want to make it through without tearing out your hair.

This game could be over and done with in just ten hours, and that could include finding all the collectibles as well as the levels that, in my opinion, stop being so fun. So it's a brief escapade, but I do recommend it to fans of the platforming genre, who should find something unique but with good platforming sense, as well as good production values, at least for a little while. Although the difficulty is lax at first, I found it gets rough later so I wouldn't really recommend this to newcomers to the genre. But veterans should like it, and if you're willing to put up with some growing pains as you get used to the style, then go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great platforming game, but one major flaw

posted by Scotty1964 (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is a very fun game, lots of puzzle solving and interesting worlds, but there is one frustrating problem...if you fall off any platform you lose not just a "hit" (you get 10 to start) but you lose a life (all 10 hearts). So that means when you lose a couple lives, you have to start the whole world from the beginning!

The game is still worth playing, but you will become furious in the later worlds where there is a lot of jumping between little tiny ledges that are easy to fall off of. You have to have 100% acurate landings or you go back to the begining of the whole world and it can take you an hour to get back to where you were if you are near the end of a world!

Arrrgggggggg!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Klona

posted by neovengean (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I am happy that i gave this game a chance, just by looking at it does not do justice, after playing it i noticed, this game has high replay value.
The graphic look better than most of the game out for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Plain and simple

posted by ZBandicoot (CLINTON, IL) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Klonoa: Door to Phantomile is a platforming game for the Playstation, the game was successful enough to spawn a few sequels, but they didnt do as well. Now Klonoa comes out, and it was going to breath life into the series, but I cant say it did it well enough. The game starts out with Klonoa having a dream about a ring falling from the sky, then a little blue thing named Huwpoe comes out and becomes his friend. As they hop along in the woods together darkness covers the sky. Klonoa wakes up from his deram in a fright, only to seehis friend Huwpoe sitting there smiling at him. Then you get to play the game and I must say the graphics are fantastic. The characters look smooth and the backgrounds are colorful and vibrant. Now something was added from the original game that I really did not like: the voice acting. Klonoas did not fit his look, Huwpoes was flat out annoying and everyone elses sounded fake. Getting past that though, the gameplay was great. You cannot jump on enimies, but use your ear/hand things to pick up and throw them.I loved this aspect but not as much as something else.Every level is sidescrolling but in a 3-d way. For example, on one path you can walk on now but in the background you see where the path will be later, if that makes sense. also you can throw your enemies into the background or foreground. Although this tossing technique is fun, they didnt use it enough for it to have the right amount of potential. If it were used in more innovative ways it would have been TONS better. But I think this issue comes from being about one-third the games length should have been. only 12 levels makes the game too short. It felt like a third of a game like I said before. And the difficulty reflects this also. You can gethit a whopping 10 times before you die. Any time you do die is from falling in a hole from thin platforms.
Pros: Good gameplay, I like the grabbing thing
Cons: Too short and easy, WASTED POTENTIAL
7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great gameplay, but short and bad dialogue.

posted by PiPanda (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The core gameplay from the original and other Klonoa games is there, and it's as good as ever, though a bit easier than Klonoa 2's. The new graphics are a nice improvement on the original if you're into the 2.5D thing (which I totally am), but seem dated for a game coming out for the Wii. Still, many of the levels are quite pretty. Unfortunately, there isn't much time to enjoy them, as the game is very short (~5-10 hr). The big problem though, is that the dialogue in the game is just awful, painful to listen to even. Despite that, the story is interesting enough (same as the first game), just so poorly acted out that you feel like the voice actors might not speak the language(s), (Japanese voice-overs are the same way too).
All in all, the game is worth a play if you can tollerate some annoying dialogue (or you just skip it with [-]). It's even more so if you played the original, but it's not good enough to hold it's own in the Klonoa series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was simply nothing special

posted by mehrkat (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

The graphics were pretty and neat but the controls were just to plain to make it fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the goods and bads

posted by klonoa5370 (KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, FL) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is very good exept the fact that it is almost a complete ripoff of sonic.Allthough it has good graphics and plot , the gameplay is simple and different but awsome. It needs to be easier with more action.The final level is very difficult i cannot finish it.I love the charactors and overall it is my new favorite

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An fine game... back in it's day that is.

posted by Shnazzyone (MANLIUS, NY) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

If you loved Klonoa back in it's early days on PS1 then you are in for a monumental treat. Everything about it is perfectly intact and there has been a major graphical upgrade done to this game. These levels are absolutely beautiful especially when compared to the original. It even runs a solid 60 fps through the whole game making everything fluid and quite delightful. If there was ever a quintessential version of this game to own this is it.

The problem is that it is still a ps1 game with ps1 game mechanics. It was from back in a day when Sony was still trying to find their platforming character that Sega had in Sonic and Nintendo already had in mario. The gameplay is unique as it is a essenially an early 2.5 d sidescroller. This makes for some very mind bending gameplay as you have to often consider what's in the background as much as the foreground your currently running on. A neat idea that works well. Levels are more or less well designed but a tad overly simplistic. It's a game that is over flowing with imaginative character design but flunks out when it comes to the game itself.

It has major faults. For one it uses old tired methods to increase the difficulty. Tiny platforms and obstructed jumps become the tools the developers cling to make the game more difficult in the end levels. That and flat out frustrating enemy placement. Also, the boss battles just don't seem to measure up to the difficulty of each level. You almost have to expect a single dull pattern for each of these beautifully rendered bosses. The plot is certainly not the best either and the voice acting is somewhat grating at times.

Overall, if you love sidescrolling action platformers and want to give this a try. Then by all means give it a shot! It has a very old school feel... but if your looking for a deep game with revolutionary ideas... you should look elsewhere, this title is just a bit too archaic by today's standards. Undeniably beautiful though, maybe best for kids.

Score: 7/1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why i rated this game a 10

posted by Cysinye (ROWLETT, TX) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Because its the klonoa i played on the original ps when i was a kid. I loved it then and I love it now. You can't say there is something really bad with this game. ITS GOT PANTAMIME SPEAK!!! It is also still pretty difficult at the end of the game like i remember. Platforming greatness.

Anyways for kids growing up with the wii, to not have the game or check it out is a shame. For those older people who didn't play this on the original ps. Yeah too bad, and no, you just won't have the sheer nostalgia factor this game has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great if you're new to it...and even if you're not

posted by DonJuggalo (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

If you were lucky enough to grab a copy of Klonoa for the Playstation, then you know how good this platformer is. Not quite on par with Mario, but Klonoa is a very fun game to play. Here it is remade for the Wii with improved graphics and a few extras...but don't expect a whole new game here, because it's simply a port of the original.

If you've never played, then you owe it to yourself to check it out. The story is a bit cutesy, but after you beat the game there are bonus levels which are very difficult indeed. Worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a very strange dream indeed

posted by thefrabs (JAMESTOWN, NY) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

this is one of the strangest games you'll ever play. the story, which is quite heavy throughout, is so strange and full of "what the-" moments, that it'll have you wondering hard about the writers or laughing hard about the insanity. it's extremely funny, but not necessarily on purpose. none of the story will, or ever should make sense to you, but that's part of the magic to it. this game harkens back to a time when games made not a lick of sense, but you kept coming back for more. it's the gameplay here that stands tall. simple and addicting platform gaming, not groundbreaking in any way, but breathtaking in its challenge and simplicity. it's the kind of game that donkey kong would be proud of, but that's not to say it's impossible either, you acquire the necessary skills as a player to overcome this little treasure. the scenery and level design are genius and never repetitive. definitely worth a try, even if you don't want to play it all the way through, but it won't likely take you more than three hours to beat the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mr game

posted by 1234inomy (WATSONVILLE, CA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game was really confusingin the beginnig but made seince in the b. Sence in the end. The end was really dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2D Scrolling Fun

posted by Frenwick (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jul 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

Great fun with great movement of the screen to give the environment a 3d fell for a side-scrolling adventure. A good play and even challenge side quests after play of the game for those looking for a real game teaser.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Klonoa, you haven't aged a bit!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

While essentially the same game as the original, the Wii version of Klonoa manages to feel fresh and original. For those who wondered if a pure platformer was possible in our modern gaming landscape, this is the game that shows it's viability.
The closest thing I can compare Klonoa to is NiGHTS. Both are pseudo-side-scrolling games revolving around the theme of dreams. Both are remakes with stilted dialogue, fairly annoying voice acting and a weak story. The big difference: NiGHTS is bad, Klonoa is good.
The basic gameplay here wil remind you of the original Mario games, as you spend much of your time jumping, collecting and dispatching enemies. Klonoa tries something different by making your enemies your main asset. Grab an enemy and you can use it to smash obstacles, eliminate other enemies or double jump. Many of the challenges in the game revolve around catching and using your enemies, a very unique game mechanic that is implemented well.
Then you have the levels. While the paths are linear, you can interact with the environment in front and in back. Getting to different locations will twist the landscape as the camera angles and rotates to heighten the feeling of a 3-D world.
If anything ha suffered with age, it's the presentation, as mentioned above. And it's length of four hours means that while it's great platforming, it won't last long. Luckily, the game gives you some unlockables at the end that might keep you playing longer, but not much longer.
It's nice to see an innovative platformer that holds up over time. Let's hope this signals a relaunch of the franchise, because there's still room for Klonoa in our modern gaming world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a trippy childish, addicting game.

posted by whocares1 (STONEHAM, MA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

Let me say right off the bat, Klonoa, at first glance, is a very trippy, and childish side scrolling 3-d platformer. while it is trippy, childish, and at times in the dialogue, lame, it is also one of the most addicting titles of the year so far.

First off, the graphics are beautiful, most of the time. sometimes during cut scenes the characters you're talking to seem to look a little crude, especially the fish people. But every character and object has a certain shine to it and are all very colorful and original.

As you make your way through a level, you find that your environment tends to change. you may be walking down a straight path and than all of a sudden, the path loops around something and your camera angle completely changes. And the camera does a great job keeping up with the changing activity.

All of the levels are original and creative and are a blast to play through. the grabbing and throwing technique works well, except at certain times when i was being bombarded with enemies, I had trouble throwing enemies behind me.

The game is fairly easy at first, but as you get to the last few levels, the difficulty definately does pick up.

I think my biggest gripe with the game is the story and writing. The dialogue was very childish. We find the characters thanking everyone they come across repeatedly for any help they give. and Klonoa's best friend, Hewpoe, a blue orb, has an extremely annoying voice. There are many cliques thrown around in the game, as far as writing goes. The odd thing is, this game has one of the saddest endings in video game history (no exageration) and the ending is actually rather disturbing. It makes me wonder why the people making this game would gear this game towards such a younger audience and make the game so whimsical, but than give the game such a sad and bizarre ending.

But besides that last gripe, the game is one very addicting platforming title,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Satisfactory remake for Wii low on replayability.

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Klonoa was originally released for the PlayStation (1) over 10 years ago, and they've remade it on Nintendo Wii.
The good news is that this game is really what the Wii is for. A family-friendly platformer that's the pick-up-and-play type with good use of the Wii remote.
The game is also high on plot and a good plot runs straightforward throughout the game. The plot takes dips and turns but is never confusing because the setting, enemies and level sytle relate to the part of the story. But there are only 14 levels which each take around 10 minutes to complete. By Level 3 the game's story and controls seem repetitive and boring, but when you start the game feels fresh and fun.
The game's controls copies from other platformers, like a student's completed work when they cheated off someone's test. The replayability is low. The graphics are satisfactory.
I hate to say this on a remake that sounds wonderful of a classic video game, but the adventure Klonoa is a little bit boring. If you have any interest, however, rent it, because the replayability is very low EVEN if you loved the game by heart.
Most people, however, should skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good, very cute

posted by studboy (LA VISTA, NE) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

I really,really like this game, however, near the beginning it is extremely boring, repetetive, andnot very fun. But,later in the game it will have a tremendous difficulty and puzzle spike. Also, this is more of a game for kids due to it's insane amount of cuteness so be warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) May 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game is very fun like the title I gave this review. If you like being happy and not so frustrated I highly suggest that people get it. The only problem I can think about it is you can't change difficulties. Everything else is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse