Rent Kirby Super Star Ultra for DS
view large frontback

Kirby Super Star Ultra

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1186 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby is back!

posted by Yoshi2000 (CARLTON, OR) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kirby Super Star Ultra is a remake of Kirby Super Star, and a nice remake, too.

First off, you get the 6 games that were in Kirby Super Star, plus 5 more games. There are 3 new minigames, however none of them are very memorable(maybe snack tracks...). Eventually you will also unlock the 2 minigames in Kirby Super Star.

You can call helpers and have them CPU controlled, or if you know someone else who has the game, they can play as the helper, which can make the game even better.

Now the bad news. The 5 new games aren't new levels. Revenge of the King is just the first game, but harder. MetaNightmare Ultra is just playing through most of the first 6 games. Then there is the Arena, where you fight most of the bosses in the game. Helper to Hero is the same thing, but you play as a helper instead of Kirby. Finally, the True Arena is where you fight the remaining harder bosses.

I would have rated this a 7 if I had played Kirby Super Star before, so for those who have, there's not much your missing, unless you really want to play this game again.

But, for people who haven't, this will be an enjoyable game, and I reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good remake but falls short from perfect

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay so the game is a remake of the super Nintendo game but with a few added games. Nice to play through the game on a portable system instead of sitting in front of a TV. Everything was in the exact same place as the original game. One of the added games was that your went through 5 of the games with meta knight instead of Kirby. Very very very nice i mean extremely. I loved playing at meta knight because I've always wanted to see how he would play. Overall i suggest renting this game instead of buying it. Its really short and can be beat in bout 5 to 6 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A classic brought back.

posted by liukangx (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you played the original like me, you were probably jumping for joy when it was announced for DS. The question is does it live up to the original?

Answer? Heck yeah!!

Kirby brings back his "8-in-one" game pack, with some extras.

Snack Tracks
Kirby Card Swipe
Kirby on the Draw

In Snack Tracks, Kirby is standing in front of a conveyor belt which is carrying food towards them, attempting to eat the most of the four while also touching non-food objects to keep them out of Kirby's path. Kirby Card Swipe requires the player to view a certain number of cards with images on them, wait for an image to show on the top screen, and then touch whatever card matches the image shown. Kirby on the Draw requires Kirby to shoot at images that appear in a shooting gallery. Like in many shooting galleries, most images give the player extra point, while some give negative points.

The orginal 8 games that were in the original use the same classic Kirby element as it did before, so it isn't hard to get a hang of.

Old Kirby fans will love playing this again, while some may get bored a little because its the same game they played.

I can't I love this game when it came out and still love it to this day.

In closing why don't you stop reading and go play it... NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by SpartanGuy07 (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fun game! Reminded me of the old Kirby games I used to play on NES and Gameboy. Some of the new modes were weird but totally worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool game

posted by Luigi221 (PLYMOUTH, MA) May 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a complintation of Kirby and meta knight games please buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever but

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want a two player mode and I want more extra caricters and I want all the powers to play the whole game 100% by themselfs and more powers. and I want a second milky way wishes. I would pay for extra content like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kirby superstar ultra good game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by kirby360 (LONGMEADOW, MA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Three sylables. A-MA-ZING. I love it! The game is great. Sure it sounds like it's previous version, kirby superstar, but it is bigger. the worlds have expanded to six basic games of their own,spring breeze, dynablade, the great cave offensive, gormet race, the revenge of meta knight, and milky way wishes. Each of them with there own special twist. There are also three unlockable sub games, and movies too. Another twist is the arena, where every boss in the entire game come to fight you. If anyone is new to kirby this game is the perfect start!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A DS Must Play

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If people never played the original "Kirby Super Star" then in Kirby Super Star Ultra, you will find out what it's really like. A must play for Kirby fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby Super Star Ultra

posted by MarioGamer (DALLAS, TX) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game, as everyone knows, is the sequel to Kirby Super Star for the Super Nintendo (SNES). The whole idea is that it's a whole bunch of games in one. Well, that's the idea, but basically, you play the same game with different rules. That's not a bad thing, but still. You have many things to do, from exploring vast lands above and below ground, to racing King Dedede and fighting Meta Knight. There are even some mini-games.

Some Good Aspects: Something that's relatively new in the Kirby series is the fact that you can turn an enemy power into a CPU helper to fight alongside you. You and your helper have several different abilities in each power that requires a certain button combination or certain area in standing.

If you have a friend, go to town and either battle with him/her, or fight alongside him/her.

Some Bad Aspects: The Mini-games, which require consistence in moving the stylus, are very hard sometimes. You always fight against three CPUs, unless you're playing with a friend, that are almost always faster and more accurate than you.

Many things in this game are challenging, and other things require no effort at all. Regardless, it's one of the hardest Kirby games I've ever played.

I recommend this game for some hard-core players, and some skilled kids, too. This game gets an 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game I ever played.

posted by kirbystar (FITCHBURG, MA) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just can't belive how good that game is, it's just perfect for me, well, I like Action Games, Adventure Games, Kirby Games, well, to make this %80 faster- it's just so fun. Ah, I love that oversized pink gumball like he's a, he's a, a video game called Kirby Super Star Ultra! (Oh yeah, he is.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby!!

posted by SBMARIOSB (OGDEN, UT) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

C'mon. How can you not instantly love Kirby?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Then Bad

posted by awesum34 (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

At first this game was sickly addicting.then i played the great cave offensive and milky way wishes and the game revealed its true colors. it got wicked ez then wicked frustrating.if u played a game like this u no wut i meen.Graphics r ok but not great the controls r good but the whole idea of this game lacks sumthing important,simplicity

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't see any flaws

posted by WarHound27 (WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This one is one that does not bit the dust this game is a great addictive one you can steal powers from enemy's and even turn them into a partner who will help you on the way if you have a friend that also has this game he or she can join you as your partner and work together i give this a 10 because i really have not found a flaw the difficulty gets harder as you progress each power uses different mechanics this is a good game rent it you will feel the same as i do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only 7.5? Are you people insane?

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

It makes me sad to see the game that got me addicted to Kirby get such a low rating.

Come on man. This game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by kai5005 (EMERYVILLE, CA) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

this game is sooo fuuuuuunnnn!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by awsomness100000 (NEW MILFORD, CT) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

IT IS AWSOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by shinyknight224 (CERRITOS, CA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

It's a near perfect game!!! It's awesome! The gameplay is almost flawless... I just wish it was for sale so I can keep it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby super star ultra rating

posted by willcat4 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I think this game is pretty fun at first but then it eventually gets a little boring.At first its fun to experiment with the different type kirby powers
and fighting different bosses but then I get tired of it in 2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby

posted by hepayj (MANCHESTER, NH) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

I love this game it is a good one I want to get it once i tell my parents about this cool website.AWESOME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can't go wrong with this even if there is better

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jan 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

Kirby Super Star Ultra deserves high praise for excelling in those areas where any game should. It's consistently fun, rarely frustrating, and has original gameplay. Anyone who enjoys the platforming genre would do well to give it a try, while those looking to break into the genre would be wise to select this game, as the lenient difficulty can help to get such players up to speed.

In my opinion, this is a solid sidescroller, but not the best I've seen. The easy difficulty and modular structure, in which the game is made up of several modes each with a few levels in it, kept me from getting fully engrossed in this game, like I could with a game such as New Super Mario Bros. Wii or Donkey Kong Country Returns. Maybe I'm just not used to having several mini modes but I prefer one massive, story-driven mode. This game certainly has meaty replay value to it, including what is essentially a time attack mode and a tough boss mode, as well as secrets to find and minigames to play, but I wasn't interested in pushing myself in that way. Those who are up for pushing themselves to find or complete everything will certainly find hours of enjoyment, though they also will have to sit through the nonchallenging sections. A basic playthrough of the main modes, not looking for all secrets, might run you about ten hours.

I have to confess that I did expect more out of this flagship game from the Kirby series. The gameplay engine is great, but I think given the structure, Kirby has gone on to use it in better games, such as Kirby and the Amazing Mirror. But don't let me deter you. It's not often you find a game with this much fun and this little frustration. Give it a try, and if you're new to the Kirby series, you may have a whole series yet to explore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kirby cute and hugable, if he were real.

posted by mygamefly1 (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

kirby is so cute when it comes to his games. it took me a day to finish it mostly by this long level where you have to find all these 60 tresures, other than that if you like a cute hugable pink creature this game is alright

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great for long trips!

posted by myobuu (WILMETTE, IL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

this is a great set of games
with several full length classic kirby games and some fun minigames
this will defently keep you busy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was a good game just kinda...

posted by nerfguy98 (OAKLAND, TN) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

it was fun for about a week me and my freind did the download single card play didnt work well but hey it was still worth trying i wouldnt buy it unless you were a hardcore kirby fan
so i decree a 8 to the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is ok

posted by pickelrock (HERNDON, VA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This game has a few thing that i would like to change but in all it has a good storyline and i would recomend it to people how have a little bit more experece playing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game but one downside

posted by brittaneya (EAST BETHANY, NY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I really like the kirby games they are awesome specially when kirby dances its pretty cute. The only downside of this game is the levels are really short and can win them fast. I like the powers kirby can get.This game is a def. rent again and possibly after I play it more maybe sometime buying it if I like it just got to try it out more...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse