Rent Kirby: Squeak Squad for DS
view large frontback

Kirby: Squeak Squad

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

993 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by Bonnie (ANCHORAGE, AK) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game brings back all the goodness of the Nintendo 64! A bunch of new abilities, and plenty of stuff to unlock gives this game incredible replay value, with interesting puzzles, good difficulty, and challenging bosses. The multiplayer could be better, but thats only a minor problem. If your a fan of Kirby like me, you owe it to yourself to try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool game

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was good for what i got to play of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kirby returns!

posted by frank12341 (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best ds game I have ever played. It is highly replayable because of its ability variations. The bosses are tricky, but not impossible. My favorite personal ability is the magic ability. The scrools found in chests allow you to do awesome stuff. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

weird story but the game is great!

posted by mrawesome (BEACHWOOD, OH) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a grrrrrreat game, but it's really all about a shortcake! So It was a beautiful day. Kirby was just about to eat a shortcake and..... out of nowhere a strange dark figure hard to see though swooped down and toke the shortcake. So Kirby guessed that there was only person that could have done it, it was.... King Dedede! So the adventure begins (but it was not king dedede It was a squad called the squeak Squad, thats why the game is called Kirby Squeak Squad, I think the game should be called Kirby V.S. Squeak Squad.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best ds game i played

posted by Therater1 (POWELL, OH) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was easy and challenging and really really fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most fun since Super Star.

posted by Jon2452 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kirby Squeak Squad is a wonderful addition to the Kirby franchise and a welcome to fans around. The ability to collect treasure yields tons of fun stuff, such as changing Kirby's color, music archive, unlock a new secret ability, and upgrade the ones you can learn. The abilities, some old and new, have special button techniques similar to Kirby Super Star, but not as much. Also some items in bubbles can be stored (up to 5) until you need them. Certain items can be combined to create something else(Example-Chicken and cherry form the maximum tomato, and combining two abilities will randomize them.) For anyone who likes the series, I would go as far as saying this is the second most fun I've had since Kirby Super Star, and I hope when you play, you'll think the same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby Squeak Squad

posted by jimmie5 (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a very interesting game, my son loves it so much that he does not want to give it back. Is there any way that I could Purchase this game for my son?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mmm.....

posted by wonderboy9 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game was okay,me and my brothers sorta kinda...aww who am i kidding,this games multiplayer was awesome!!! new and old abilities make defeating foes more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another Kirby Game

posted by gosjims (OAKDALE, PA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Squeak Squad delivered on exactly what you should expect it to deliver on: being a Kirby game. There's nothing wrong with that, but there also isn't anything too great about it. While I've always been a fan of the Kirby franchise, the platformers like Adventure, Dreamland, Squeak Squad, etc., are all pretty much the same. There are some hidden things, you get some powers, you float around, and the only real variation in play is what power you choose to destroy your enemies with.

Don't get me wrong, the powers in this game are cool, there's a nice selection of new and old powers that can make slaughtering your foes moderately interesting, but when all is said and done, it's only that: moderately interesting. If you're looking for another Kirby game very similar to the others you've played, then get Squeak Squad because you won't regret it. But if you are looking for some innovation, you won't find it here except for in the touch screen functionality, which really doesn't add much to the game other than the ability to store up powers in case you lose the one you have.

Overall, a good, fun game, but that was expected, and it doesn't bring much to the table that we haven't seen before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good kirby game

posted by france12 (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think this game was good if you like the previous hand held Kirby games, although it seemed to be a bit easier

Over all its a good game if your trying to find a good game to rent for the DS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you LOVEd Crystal Shards

posted by DrPepper (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This kirby game on the DS does not have great graphics, but it is a very quaint kirby platforming game that is fun for the whole family and is much like Crystal Shards. Fortunately this is not another canvas curse type game. Even though this is a family game it still offers plenty of challenge and other fun replay items. alas this is not a long lasting game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good, although short, game.

posted by eneighbour (AMHERST, OH) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Kirby games, Kirby Super Star being my favorite. So when I heard that treasure collecting was back, I was very excited. Unfortunately...this wasn't quite up to par with Kirby: SS.

Graphics: 9/10

Sure they're 2D, but that works well with Kirby. The graphics are colorful, crisp, and just overall great.

Music & Sound: 8/10

Nothing new here...same old sound effects. Not that that is a bad thing, I wouldn't really want Kirby to suck any differently ;-). Now the music is entertaining, but nothing too memorable.

Gameplay: 9/10

Here's where Kirby games stand out. There are new and creative abilities, new level designs, and some new and returning bosses. The treasure collecting was very fun...but if you've played Kirby: SS it might seem like a letdown. Each treasure you collect will unlock some fun, and some pointless, extras...one including a VERY fun new ability.

Replayability: 6/10

There's not much at all here. All they give you is a time attack mode, where you have a certain amount of minutes to go through each level. Nothing NEW...once it's over, it's over. AND it's a short game to begin with, I beat it in less than 5 hours.

Overall: 8/10

If you like Kirby games DEFFINANTLY rent this. Don't buy it unless you find that you REALLY like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad when you are bored.

posted by FLeXx26 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You have to be a Kirby fan to really enjoy this game. The graphics are nice and Kirby has some new moves, you are able to get many new and fun abilities and even combine them to create new stronger ones. I don't understand the whole "stomach" thing though. Every time you eat something it goes into his stomach and then with the stylus you select or mix it or you are even able to make Kirby cough it up which I find amusing. The game in all is very short, I rented this game for my 6yr old nephew who enjoys Kirby games and he beat the game in 3 days. The mini games are ok and fun only for that moment and once its done there is no feeling to play it again unless you have other players to join you then it'll be fun for a few more minutes. If you are bored and just want some entertainment to get you buy then this game is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME IN HISTORY

posted by 111111111 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

KIRBY SQUEAK SQUAD IS THE BEST GAME.THEY GOT ROCKET-MAN AND THE FLYING MICE AND THE BEST TITLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another too easy Kirby game, is it worth it?

posted by MadEyeMonk (PITTSBURG, CA) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well here of another time is our little pink puff ball to save.....the cake....... sure why not.

Alright like all kirby games it's simple to play, but this takes it to the limit, with the new touch screen holding five powers and ability to combine some, there is no real challenge.

It's a boring game, too simple and kinda short...rent it (if your a kirby fan) but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this was my first Kirby game

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

the replay value is low, as it gets boring after you've beaten the game

but I loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kirby:Squeak Squad

posted by fpalos (DALLAS, TX) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

When I received this game my child tried to play it and it did not work. So I just went ahead and sent it back because it did not work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby and the Squeaks

posted by waluigi (CENTERPORT, NY) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Early one morning in Dreamland, our puffy hero Kirby was about to enjoy his favorite morning snack, Strawberry Shortcake. He gestured to put his fork in, and then the fork hit the plate. The shortcake was gone. So now, Kirby must get back his favorite shortcake. This is the story of Kirby Squeak Squad, a game for the Nintendo DS. With an action packed story and lots of fun Minigames, This game will please any Kirby fan, new or old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not like The Amazing Mirror...

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

I did like this game for a little while. But then I wondered why Kirby would go on an adventure just to get his shortcake back! (What a weird story!) I found myself just floating and copying and inhailing through levels. Plus the bosses were so simple I was about to cry! I kind of wanted the game to be like The Amazing Mirror. But for a kirby DS game it is an alright game. I would give this game to a kid who was nothing fun to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby's Newest Adventure

posted by 3KarrBoys (BERLIN, WI) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I think this game is really cute due to the better graphics then the previous games along with a storyline of mice stealing Kirby's Shortcake. Cool new abilities such as thunder sword, ghost and the ability to store and mix abilities.

It would be nice to mix the abilities to make a new one instead of just random. Also I think they should make it easier to acess items for people not so quick on the draw.

+ Cute storyline
New abilities
Can store abilities
- Hard to heal on the draw
Can't make new abilities
TOO MANY CHESTS!!!
Short lived

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent!

posted by NurmaKhan (NASHVILLE, TN) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

I loved this game! It brought me back to the original game boy kirby games and didn't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is awesome

posted by momba1 (YORK, PA) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

this game has some good graphics i think this game is really good it was easy to beat they should probably make a little more challenging for people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yeah Weak!

posted by spitoon (PLYMOUTH, MI) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

Sorry to beat up on Kirby but this game was just too boring. Not much going on and the bosses are just too easy to defeat. Sorry Kirb!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic kirby and loving it

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

I can't remember the last time I played Kirby but as soon I put this game in it all came flooding back. I remember how much fun I had playing the old Kirby games and how easy it was to get immersed in it all. Graphics are good, game play is good, and the over all feel is awesome. The plot is a little bit lame but in no way does it take away from the play of the game. For those that have never played Kirby I recommend trying it out. Much different experience than Mario, but just as fun to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Way too short

posted by Uzumaki1 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

All I can say about this game is that it (like the title says) is too short. I know some people like me hate short games. It really shouldn't take a spot in a GameQ since the shipping takes longer than the game itself. A weird thing is the narration actually takes a long time to go by even though the game itself is short. If the only reason you're gonna get this game is for the combination of powers, don't bother. Most of the time it will be random (mostly a parasol) and if it's some other power, you won't get to savor it for long because the game will be over by then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse