Rent Kirby Air Ride for GC
view large frontback

Kirby Air Ride

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.0

837 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TOTALLY AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!

posted by jjgames (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

tO START OFF, the game is four player compatible!!! It also has three main ways to play the game (air ride, top ride, and city trial).in air ride all you do is race.top ride is a mini-game type concept to the game.city trial is a fun "freedom" part of the game.you can also unlock music,different charaters,and new vehicles for all of the three parts of the game.also, in city trial events happen in city trial which are very fun to witness.probably my favorite part of the game is free run on city trial. you can pick form every vehicle known to the game. I like to fly through the air in the advanced warp star. it is so MUCH FUN!!!The controls on this game is very EASY to master. the level are very hi-tech for the year it debuted.(if you are a kirby fan)YOU MUST RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Racing + Flying = Fun

posted by MistaMike (DELANO, MN) Jun 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before is start the bulk of this review, i have to give a warning: If you have: extremeley dull creativity, a really unopen mind, or if you think games have to be violent and gory to be good, you should probably stop reading this review right about now. Everybody else: you're fine. Kirby Air Ride mixes the flying and racing genres quite nicely, and is one of the coolest looking ganes i've seen in a while. Though this Kirby spin-off game could of used a storyline, but the races are fun. There are cool veichiles, each unique to itself. The tracks are very creative, and always manage to keep a racing formula while mixing in elements of the kirby series. It does fall behind a bit in replay value a bit; but the urge to get every unlockable thing will keep you playing. Oh, did I mention this game has a ton of unlockables? And to top that all of, Kirby Air Ride has a great soundtrack. This game will be great for you if you can open your mind to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PURE FUN FOR EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 31, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is....AMAZING! I think it is really easy plus fun! I always race race and RACE! My favorite mode is City Trial! Because you can destroy the other players with random machines that "happen" to be laying around! And many weird events happen. PLUS PUTTING TOGETHER RARE MACHINES!!!!!!!!!! YAAAAAAAAAAAY! I also like the Air Ride mode too! It's fun to race with other players! LOOK! Rent it and join THE FUN AMAZING RACE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by redsandman (HELOTES, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. You could play this for hours on end, as I do, and never get bored. Even my sister who always gets bored in like 2 seconds admits it is fun and actually plays it with me for awhile! My favorite mode is city trial. It is made a million times more fun with multi-player but is still really fun without anyone to play with. Also you should always have someone to play with because with only one button used, your parents could play easily. The air ride mode is really fun if you just want to race laps around a ever changing course and gain powers. The only draw back is the top ride mode, which is not fun in the least. It is hard to control and irritating. But you don't even have to play that one so don't bother. I cant wait to purchase this game rather than just renting it as I'm doing now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GO KIRBY!!!

posted by Maxman911 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just love this game I mean come on I've had it for like to months and I have both legendary boards!I just love this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ataii 2600 simple controls

posted by tfp1119 (FRANKLINTON, NC) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing from its looks to gameplay. the look for this game is great and cant get better kirby is a bright little pink puffball that lives in a bright city it does not need to get x-box 360 looking it keeps simple and fun it is unbelivablely fun to play whith or whith no freinds pluse you use the anolog stick and th a button

ATRARI 2600 SIMPLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Ever!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ALVYROCKS (COSHOCTON, OH) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the best game ever.I had this game for 1 month,that's how much I liked this game!You can also have more thn one player.You have to play with a friend because it's a blast on multiplayer.I really liked this game so if your anything like me your get it and love it!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game LOVE!!!!!!!

posted by gaaraguy54 (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok you have to play this game it is fun to play riding bards with your friends is fun this is a game to buy any time you see t it is that good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

take a birds eye view on your star

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not bad for a game. in the story you get to explor the view in the air. and it is not bad at fighting. go head and rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

do you like it?

posted by folksfam11 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I LIKED THIS GAME VERY MUCH AND MOSTLY BECAUSE OF THE SECRET CHARACTER AT THE END OF THE GAME BUT IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I EVER PLAYED IF YOU NEVER PLAYED GO HEAD TRY IT TRUST ME YOU WILL LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If u can't beat em..EAT EM!

posted by Camilla (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is great game for E (+ 10) because it's a bit hard..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

10yr old loved it

posted by phouk5614 (FOLSOM, LA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 10yr old loved this game. He wants it for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I've never had so much fun playing with one button

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Heavily underhyped game. Choose from 3 different modes, city mode being almost GTA style (without the violence and gore of course). I have no problem with the game being so blood free because the game wouldn't have gained anything if it had more gore.

Pros:
Easy to learn, fun, original racing system
Multiple modes for added fun
Lots of unlockables
Minigames
Lots of tracks with secrets to find
Most carts can take flight, and flying is fun.

Cons:
Some unlockables very very hard and fustrating to get
No real story to speak of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I don't know.

posted by exelent (NORTH PORT, FL) May 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I like the mini games but the game play is a bit slow. However I do think this is a good game for
the ages 5 through 9.You might want to rent it but you should probobly watch the video on it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For Multiplayer Only

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Kirby Air Ride continues Nintendo's tradition of making bizarre spinoffs for their popular game series. KAR is a racing game that only uses two buttons: A to boost/brake, and the control stick to steer. The control setup may sound strange, but it's actually very easy to use. The brake/boost combo for A is also used to give each of the ~30 "Machines" their own feel and driving style.

The game has 3 modes: Air Ride, City Trial, and Top Down.

Air ride is pretty much your standard racing game. You do some laps against up to 3 AI or human opponents and try to finish first. Like the other modes, it includes boost panels, jumps/gliding, and Kirby's famous transformation powers.

City Trial is easily the best mode in the game. The first part takes place in a "City" that has several distinct environments. The environment itself is fairly interactive, but the real draw here is the ability to power up your Machine as you play. For up to 7 minutes players will fly around the city looking for new and better Machines will also finding stat upgrades. These upgrades take effect immediately and do things like increasing your top speed, making turning easier, reducing the charge time for boosts, etc. At the end of the player-set time limit, all players are then sent to play some sort of a mini-challenge that focuses on one or more of the stats you had the chance to improve. CT, which also supports 4 players, is always different, so it can be played dozens of times without getting old.

The big let down to KAR is the Top Down mode. Even if its control scheme wasn't annoying, the track design and racing style still would be. Additionally, one of the two available Machines is an absolute mystery when it comes to control. Do yourself a favor and pretend Top Down doesn't exist.

All in all, Kirby Air Ride is one of the best multiplayer games available for GameCube, but has a relatively weak single player showing. Get it only if you frequently play games with others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is just a fun game. Nothin youll remember. Cause i dont

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kirby Air Ride

posted by wolfie1377 (LAYTON, UT) Aug 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i did not like this game. the only good part was the amount of unlockables, but it was not worth the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever.

posted by Ion671 (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 29 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This is seriously the worst game I've ever played. The racing is slow and unfun. Don't even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by yeayea103 (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i love kirby. ive been wondering when they would focus on his awesome warpstar. here it is. they have other machines besides the warpstar and legendary macines(no spoilers) i would recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for a rent!

posted by Zoidsfan (COLUMBUS, MS) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This game is great for a rent. If you're a completionist, you may want to find it somewhere. That said its a novelty racing game through and through. In a good way. Definitively worth a rent!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by dj4444 (PEORIA, AZ) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is the best game i have ever played. I play it with my family and we never get bored of it! unfortunately when i owned it it got broken. since the availability is very low, it hasnt come yet. i cant wait until it does though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect if riding is your thing

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

There is no accelerate which makes it awesome! Automatically accelerate and use the control stick to move, which makes it epic! It has awesome courses to race in!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard To Put Down

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I have not played this in a long time but I wish I still had it. Anyway its fun game for anyone who loves Kirby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waaaaaaaaaaaay to easy!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

"Kirby Air Ride", is so easy my little sister could play it(and she's three)! You have three modes to play in, my favorite one is "air ride". The only poblem with this game is you only use A and Control stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by LucasJA (WATSEKA, IL) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

this is the worst game i have ever played (and i have been a gamer since i was 3) if I could, i would give this game a big, fat, ZERO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse