Rent Kirby's Return to Dreamland for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2705 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!!!

posted by jusswaitin (AUGUSTA, GA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

My kids loved this game, they are 8 & 6 and they could play this game together and it was easy enouogh they didnt have to call me every few minutes. It reminds me of super mario brothers but an easier version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun but basic and easy.

posted by CasualGamerWii (LARGO, FL) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I never played the original Kirby (NES or SNES); but I will download them on the VC this summer. Anyway; after playing Kirby's Epic Yarn (which was pretty fun); this is the same basic amount of fun. The levels are too easy and you can beat the game in a day. The bosses can be beat with just a few hits. The addition of different Kirby's are cool but the addition of 4 players sounded like a good concept but unnecessary and made it too wild. The design and levels are beautiful. This is a mixed bag; it is a must play but not really a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A little repetitive..

posted by mymysharona (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Overall I thought the game was okay. By the end of the game, I was tired of the constant repetition. I wish there could have been a progress of new abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Coolest Bosses in Kirby

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

The only reason this doesn't deserve a perfect 10/10 is because Story mode is somewhat lacking content. Kirby Super Star Ultra DS has quite a bit more game play.

Other than that, video gaming doesn't get much better than this.

The new Ultra abilities are very cool. It's like a Final Smash in Smash Bros Brawl, except in a Kirby game.

Music is wonderful. Bosses are intense. Puzzles and levels are challenging.

If you were disappointed with Squeak Squad like I was, you should try this new Kirby Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Family Fun

posted by adj2leps (AKRON, OH) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I LOVE this game. It is great for everyone. My self, my husband, and our 5 year old sit down and will play this for hours. GREAT FUN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

KISSmyNUGGETsuperSAUCE's Review = 7.5/8

posted by KISSmyNUGGET1 (LAKE STEVENS, WA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

its alot like Super Mario Bros Wii, and it was also a little difficult, but with practice it became easier to play. It was difficult because Return To Dream Land is much different than Kirby Super Star Ultra (for DS), which was our first Kirby video game. The graphics are are outstanding! And the audio is perfect for this game, i really do think so. On a scale of 1-10, i rate Kirby's Return to Dream Land 7.5/8. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All's left is Yoshi's Island [baby free pl

posted by ninatoyz (MIAMISBURG, OH) Dec 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have plans for it too! Anyways, I enjoyed Epic Yarn and HATED Mass Attack. But,so far,this takes the cake by far! My fav part were the backgrounds and music[Nutty Noon and White Wafers and maybe Rasin Ruins] I only tried 2 player and liked it. I beat it all in 3 days[bedtimes AAAARRRRRGGGGGGHHHHHH] Should've came on Dolphin a centry ago. Sort of Kirby 64 V2. Once, instead of a sword, I got a fan and a fish!!!!!!!! I also hope someday the Dreamland animals come back! Have you noticed there are ruins everywhere on Popstar? CHECK! There are. It was easy too. Games like this helps the Wii's last stand go out a lot more stronger. Rent for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kirby return to dream land

posted by iansmomtoo (GRANTS PASS, OR) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

we are giving kirby a 9 they had alot of fun with it and was worth putting on santas list

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My 9 year old loved this game.

posted by lissanoblin (LINDEN, MI) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

We rented this game for my 9 year old. She loved it. It was so hard to get her to stop playing. Its a very cute game, however it gets a little confusing when more then one player are playing. But overall it is an excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT VERY FUN

posted by princess101 (CANTON, GA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game is fun,but after a few days it gets boring and it seems like your playing different versions of the same level.So if your the kind of guy who likes adventure,I would not recomend this to you instead try Mario Galaxy 2 and not waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Epic than Epic Yarn

posted by EmpathNaga (GOLDSBORO, NC) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

In my reviews, I give 5 stars for how fun a game is and another 5 for the overall quality.

This game is very enjoyable, yet challenging where it needs to be. I'll admit, getting all of the Energy Spheres seemed nigh-impossible as I played, and I didn't even attempt it since this was a rental, after all, and I needed to return the game eventually. If you loved the classic Kirby platformer titles that came out, including Kirby 64, and Kirby Squeak Squad, you'll definitely love this game. That said, the later levels were frustrating, but that keeps it from being too easy, and the game doesn't really suffer from it. Fun Score: 5/5

The graphics are all fantastic, and the music is just what I'd expect from a Kirby game: fun but dramatic when it has to be, and a wonderful listen. The enemy and boss design is great, varied, and keeps you on your toes during the boss fights. And the inclusion of the new 'Guard' move is a great idea. However, there are minor problems with level design. In the older games, if you walk far enough off screen, enemies that give copy abilities respawn. Fair enough, but here it's with every kind of enemy you can find. I'm not sure what the point of that was, since the plain enemies don't really do anything for you. And finally, I don't think the inclusion of the ability-containing crystal balls was necessary for the actual levels with enemies in them. Jut put the enemies in there instead. The boss levels and the ability rooms on the Starcutter I can understand. But these are more like annoyances than actual hindrances. Quality Score: 4/5

Overall, this is a great game to play, a great rental, and maybe even a great buy if you're a big Kirby fan. Final Score: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved by all

posted by cmwordell (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I have 3 kids ages 11, 9, and 5 and they all enjoyed playing this game .. didn't want to send it back :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KIRBY's REAL WII DEBUT!!!

posted by Oldskoolgamer (DALLAS, TX) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Kirby's Return to Dreamland is a breath of fresh air!! Honestly his previous Epic Yarn was not was real fans wanted, thus the cheep price on ebay for the used buy! Return to Dreamland basicly places you as Kirby but i couldn't help the New Super Mario Bros. WII Playalike with the addition of the 3 extra friends that are there to make this the first multi player Kirby game!! There are a lot of suprizes in this game and honestly don't take it lightly, no matter how you play, unless you get 100% you are not complete!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Xero15 (MURRAYVILLE, GA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

like reto kirby thats just awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

classic kirby is back

posted by lilpaul (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Finally calssic kirby is back the last kirby i played was kirby epic yarn and it's nothing like oringnal kirby no sucking up enims to steal their powers there is nothing oringlnal in kirbys epic yarn kirby return to dreamland is a great game you can steal powers my favorite power is the sword the game is really easy but when your collecting all of the small pieces it's a chalnge this game is so great it's worth a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby's Return to Greatness

posted by OswaldRabbitFan (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game was a sheer delight. It entertained me, my brother, my little cousin, my Uncle, everybody. This game is literal fun for the whole family, and fun for all ages. It was refreshing in the first place to see a return of Kirby to console. It's been a while since we've been able to play a console game as Kirby where he wasn't fighting, racing, or made of string. The platformer game play was quite enjoyable, especially with the new powers. Nature Kirby, Water Kirby, and the upgraded classics, not to mention the monster powers. The multiplayer ability is fun, as it's always a treat to be able to play as King DeDeDe and Metaknight. Throwing in the new Waddle Dee character just makes it all the more enjoyable, as you get to play as one of the minions that you've been beating, drowning, and eating since the very beginning. The graphics in this game were better than expected from a Kirby game, although anything that has Kirby back in his regular form means better graphics than 'Kirby's Epic Yarn'. Don't get me wrong, I loved 'Epic Yarn', but I really began to miss the old Kirby controls quite early on in the game. Hopefully, this won't be the last time we see Kirby come to console, as this game has proven that Kirby can still entertain in games that aren't on a handheld system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Easy

posted by oharden (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I Like the character but game is too easy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty meh

posted by GunslingerFox (KINGWOOD, TX) Oct 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

What can I say, its Kirby. It is pretty middle of the road by the numbers Kirby. I actually really enjoyed Epic Yarn, that just brought some great visuals and added some nice new gameplay elements. Return to Dreamland just feels like every other Kirby game, there is no reason this couldn't have come out 10 years ago on the Gamecube. Not a bad game, but it is pretty meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse