Rent Kirby's Return to Dreamland for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2646 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Experience

posted by PKMN37 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) May 31, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It's interesting how Kirby hasn't had a game like this on the home console since Kirby 64 The Crystal Shards back in 2000. I did, however, like that one and Epic Yarn better. This game was fun but there wasn't really anything all that memorable. There were two things that were, though: The Super weapons, such as the empowered hammer and ice power, and the final boss. The graphics look really good, however, and the controls are fluent and easy to remember. If you're curious, I'd at least give it a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

posted by dianet (OAK LAWN, IL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

it is so cool thank you so mach hahahahalol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great update to a favorite classic.

posted by bpalma6193 (CHESHIRE, CT) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

When I first got Kirby 64 for my 9th birthday, I was so excited. To be able to play a pink blob that absorbed every power in the game and used it to kill them with it, talk about genocide, haha. But this remake, has all of my favorite compontents of the N64 game but with one really cool part. Allowing 4 player co-op! I think this is a fantasic idea. I was playing this game with my brother and his friends for countless hours. Its truly an addicting game. If there was one thing that I could complain about this game is that, there are no longer any multiplayer mini-game like in nintendo 64. Those mini games could be played with friends for hours as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good

posted by gboudx (ROCKWALL, TX) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It was ok, it was mainly original Kirby gameplay exept for the multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby Return To DreamLand

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Kirby Is Back... Nothing To Special Here Just The Old Basic Kirby Gameplay.. inhale your Enemies Spittem Out... Or use There Ability... If You Like Kirby And The Way It Plays As Usual... Then Rent It... But To Me Kirby Needs A Revamp... Kirby Is Getting Sour Or Steal... I Find Kirbys Epic Yarn Very Refreshing... and More Rewarding.. Anyway Kirby Fans Might As Well Check It Out,Beat It... As Usual Not A Long Game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My game had one flaw...

posted by caboose_eao (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

so i would start with saying the games decent. I liked it but didnt love it. Its your old school Kirby. You powers and go about. However my game disc did not work and i was forced to return it early and only got into the third door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shoulda been longer

posted by reetz86 (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

great game but only took me 5hrs to finished the main story now they do have arena and "extra mode" which is hard mode u have half the health and they do double the damage...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kirby's return to dreamland

posted by ilovemw3 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The game was ok i thought magalor was really easy after 5 tries. I don't like the game very much i thought there should have been more powers and that you should be able to have super powers like "Monster Flame" or "Ultra sword" to go on to the next level with. I thought that there should be more bosses and a lot harder bosses. This game wasn't my style i guess. If you get it, strongly suggest to beat all the levels first, then go back to get the energy spheres.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game but never ending.

posted by LeeZman4 (JASPER, GA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game is great for muti players not so much if your solo. Fun game but every time you think you have beaten it you have one more thing to do. start off as simple and fun as any other kirby game with five levels kirby goes through easly using powers to defeat foes. but in later levels up agingst stronger foes and bosses it become agverating when kirby losses his powers too easly he is worthless literly Powerless to defeat the boss at the end. you almost need a second player to win. all kirby can do is stay alive untill the finishing blow can be dealt. life are limitless so if you first don't succed try, try, and try agian.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by sonicfan5 (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

me and my sister had a lot of fun great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kirby's Dream Land

posted by oldschoolnes (OLYMPIA, WA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game is great my kids love it and it plays so much like the original that I played when I was a kid!
Recommended for kids 4 and up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sigh

posted by yanolis (LAROSE, LA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

i didnt play the game for to long but i didnt like it very much they lost the umph it had in the super nintendo version no wheely for starters and u couldnt do a double power like u could in the 64 version i was half expecting they would do a combo of the two games but i was sadly let down all in all i give it a 4 out of 10 better luck next time kirby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kirby return to dream land

posted by epic65 (CLEVELAND, TN) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

this game is an epic fail and is a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun,But I wouldnt Buy

posted by GameKingOFFICAL (PLANTATION, FL) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game was challenging and fun.Its really fun offering mini games and practice modes.but the actual gameplay is the funnest.The reason i would not buy the game because its too short i finished it in three days (I had school).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic Kirby!

posted by BadAnime (MIDLAND, MI) Feb 19, 2012

Member since May 2007

Nintendo restored most of what Kirby used to be into this game. They also took what they did with New Super Mario Brothers Wii and made it work a lot better. This is a great Kirby game. Best I have played in a long time. The first one I played was back on the Original Gameboy.

The story is a little weak and previous enemies of Kirby, like Dedede and Metaknight are all cutesy now. They help Kirby restore order to their world, then to a different character's world. Many of the old powers are back and some of them have some nice new flashy moves with the abilities.

Fun = 9 (One recurring boss makes it a little monotonous)
Gameplay=10
Sound=10 (Original sounds galore)
Story=6 (Weak)
Controls=7 (Having to shake the remote is a little hard to get used to)

Overall 8.4

Grab a friend or three and have a blast. Good luck and enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game, old school!

posted by pinkwerewolf (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I honestly would have bought this had I not been so broke at the time. It's the best of old school side scrollers and wonderful to play with a friend :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun

posted by Dahc (SALISBURY, MD) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This Kirby game is the one I've been waiting for. It brings back the classic feel of the original nes game but with spectacular graphics. For some hardcore fans it might be to easy but there is a sweet treat at the end for the hardcore gamers trust me. It's also easy enough for kids to enjoy. Multi player is phenomenal.

Very fun and cute like kirby is suppose to

Props to Nintendo for giving us this game to take us back

P.s. making it so you can only use the wii remote sideways was so awesome and retro made me feel like I was playing a nes with amazing graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kids enjoyed it

posted by browneyegravy (ALPHARETTA, GA) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It took 3 days to beat the game. They were like crackheads with it. Good for a rental, would not buy due to how quickly it can be beaten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kirby!!!!

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Feb 11, 2012

Member since May 2011

this game is awesome. really fun with multi player. love the different powers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool game

posted by ecyber2100 (COTTONWOOD, AZ) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game is a great family and adventure game perfect if you want some fighting games and you dont want to play a really violent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for adults.

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

Too Pokemon cute and simplistic. I played for an hour, eventually just flying over the stages. There is no motivation to collect anything or memorize what power to have when... and why is Kirby killing all these other cute creatures? It's just not fun for an adult. There was a Kirby on GameCube that was "tougher" I guess - this is not the same. Like most Wii games, it seems great for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby's Epic Adventure

posted by LightStarNexus (MEDIA, PA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The second I started playing Kirby's Return to Dreamland, I knew it would be just like New Super Mario Bros Wii.
By that I mean playing Solo can be a good challenge while testing your collection skills, while playing with multiple players can be super chaotic, and loads of fun!
I am disappointed to not see some of my favorite powers return in this game, such as Jet Kirby, UFO Kirby, and Wheel Kirby. However, the new power quickly peaked my interest, such as my new favorite power Leaf Kirby.
All in all, this was a fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!!!

posted by jusswaitin (AUGUSTA, GA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

My kids loved this game, they are 8 & 6 and they could play this game together and it was easy enouogh they didnt have to call me every few minutes. It reminds me of super mario brothers but an easier version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun but basic and easy.

posted by CasualGamerWii (LARGO, FL) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I never played the original Kirby (NES or SNES); but I will download them on the VC this summer. Anyway; after playing Kirby's Epic Yarn (which was pretty fun); this is the same basic amount of fun. The levels are too easy and you can beat the game in a day. The bosses can be beat with just a few hits. The addition of different Kirby's are cool but the addition of 4 players sounded like a good concept but unnecessary and made it too wild. The design and levels are beautiful. This is a mixed bag; it is a must play but not really a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A little repetitive..

posted by mymysharona (NEWPORT, MI) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Overall I thought the game was okay. By the end of the game, I was tired of the constant repetition. I wish there could have been a progress of new abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse