Rent Kirby's Return to Dreamland for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2688 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun platformer

posted by realdeal44 (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun little platformer, great if you have kids or you are a Kirby fan. The multiplayer has player 1 basically in control, so make sure whoever is player one is not someone who dies alot. This does make it easier when playing with small kids. As player one goes, the rest go too. So you wont have to wait for stragglers, they will automatically zip over to player one if player one starts moving.
The game has tight controls and fun multiplayer moments. It can also stand on its own as a single player game. Not the most challenging platformer though, it was greared towards the younger crown and the possibility of multiplayer.
Other Wii platformers are better - Mario Galaxy 1 & 2, Donkey Kong Country Returns, even New Super Mario Bros Wii. But if you have small kids or you just like Kirby, then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE IT!!!!!

posted by SionPhoenix (LIZELLA, GA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been a Kirby fan since Kirby's Dreamland on Nintendo, and this one does not disappoint. First off the graphics are amazing, smoothe and crisp, everything just flows together wonderfully. Second, if anyone has ever played Kirby Superstars on SNES, you'll feel a since of nostalgia, they brought back some of the favorite copy abilities and revamped them considerably. Although they took out some of my personal favorites, :(, I still thoroughly enjoy this game, a definite buy for any Kirby fan, or rent for a good jog of memory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun game for the family!!!!

posted by eyes5213 (BRIDGEVILLE, PA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my kids (2 girls 8,5 and a boy 4) and they love it!! I've had the game now for a couple months and they still wanna play it all the time. Its fun for myself also which is difficult to find a game that we all like to play. I highly recommend this game especially if you have younger children because it is a all round "fun" game for the whole family and it doesn't have any garbage (violence, ect.) in it that you may not want them to be exposed to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby' Dreamland

posted by wkrush1 (BROADVIEW, IL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Against my 8yr.-old nephew's advice. I rented this game for him based on the 8.2 rating at the time. He loved it.. He couldn't stop playing it, and I know he is in to it when I hear the yelling. A pink hero is going to get a young boy's attention, but he loved it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby returns with awesomeness

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play this game after i received it because i love the original nes kirby game. I was not disappointed. The gameplay in this game goes back to the controls of the original game which are easy to use. The graphics on this game are beautiful done you can see every detail from the petals on the plants, the clouds in the sky and facial expressions. The levels are long enough to keep u interested but not long enough to get bored. The boss are challenging but not so hard that you get frustrated. I like the addition of the costumes that give you different abilities such as fire, electricty, cowboy lasso and sword. The only con I have with this game is some of the puzzles are a little tricky to figure out. I would highly recommend this game to kirby fans and people just looking for a fun adventure game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby's back!

posted by Maynird (TACOMA, WA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If your like me, you've been playing kirby for a long time now. Putting up with kirby based games like epic yarn was hard. Where was that classic kirby game play? Kirby Return to Dreamland is what we've all been waiting for. The only complaints i've heard is that it is too easy, however kirby games were never very hard to begin with. Definitely recommend this if your wanting a good coop game, or just that classic kirby experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Like Old Times!

posted by yoshimetroid247 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For those of you who have played Kirby's Adventure and Kirby Superstar, you know what to expect. For those of you who haven't, you're going to fall in love with this game.
in this new Kirby installment, an alien ship crashes on Popstar and catches kirby's attention. inside, an alien(if you could call him that) gets crazy over how his ship is wrecked and you have to go find the oars, left and right wing, emblem, and mast.
This game is (almost) everything you should expect from a kirby game. It has variety, very diverse gameplay, and is fun for all ages. The downsides are the facts that it has some pretty difficult parts (note Onion Ocean) to the point where you'll be fuming in your seat while watching a pink ball fall to its death. It's also a pretty short game. it took me two days to complete with hour breaks in between.
To sum everything up, these are my ratings:

gameplay------9.6
graphics--------8.3
cooperation----8.0
controls--------10
overall----------------8.9
This is definetly a rent and mabye a buy. Hope you like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game looks really sharp and the levels play very well. The star of the game are the Super abilities with the stage devestating effects. Nice and relaxing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kirbys return to dreamland

posted by derfman1234 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

one of the best kirby games ive played it has good graphics and is easy n can be hard kinda at the same time but the game is a little repetitive but shouldnt stop you from playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby's Return to Dreamland.GREAT GAME FOR KID

posted by jovany04 (TRENTON, NJ) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

MY SON LOVE TIS GAME ANDI HAVE PLAY THIS GAME TO AND I LOVE THIS GAME ITSLIKE A FAMILY GAME ME AND MY SON PLAY THIS GAME AND WHY HAVE ALOT OF FUN ITS GREAT FORTHE FAMILY AND ITS A GAME THAT I ALWAYS PLAY WITH MY SON AND MY OTHER SON PLAY TO MY SON IS 4 YEARS OLD AND THE OTHER SON IS 8 AND THEY LOVE THE GAME THIS IS THE SECOND PART AND THE FIRST PART IS GREAT TO I HOPE THA THE FAMILY LOVE THIS GAME IS GREAT FOR YOUR SON HAVE A NICE DAY.GAMEFLY IS THE BEST YOU KEEP THE GAME AND SEND THEM BACK WHEN I FEEL LIKE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby is back

posted by Royon (BRENTWOOD, CA) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oh my gosh after year and years being Kirby friend they finally made one for the Wii i love it oh my gosh this game is so dam cool i hook to it right now but i have to go to college now but men if you ever play kirby before you will know how good this game is. if not for you they don't rent it but i give this game 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is how Kirby was meant to be!

posted by Justsomeguy (DANIELSVILLE, GA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kirby is back and better than ever. His old abilities like Needle have come back from the grave, the levels, characters, enemies, and abilities all have beautiful graphic design. The game moves at a very smooth rate, there are 120 energy spheres to collect, and to top it off, the difficulty is very progressive and balanced. It may seem easy at first but the final boss is freaking hard as heck. Kirby's Return to Dreamland is still easy like other kirby games (I beat it in 2 days, and got all energy spheres in 4 days) and some of kirby's techniques have returned, one of which people take for granted... It's a technique that has saved lives and is very second nature, like walking, to most players... Floating. Extra mode from Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland is back, so completists will love going through the game to get a total of 240 energy spheres, going through the game again at half your regular health... And that covers the single player. Now, multiplay is a whole different game out there. You can super inhale other Kirby's to steal their abilities, you can ride other players if your low on health or something like that, you can also super inhale more than one player and fire them like a star or with a star, and there is a little trick you can do with joining in and leaving, and it gets crazy when you have 2 or more players running around at once or making a mad dash towards a single foe just to get its ability. Bandanna Waddle Dee has a spear and is the same when Kirby uses it, Meta Knight has a sword and one extra slash with the multi-sword, can do a shuttle loop, and a head dive like wing ability, and the King is also the same, except that when he throws his hammer he won't lose it 'till the next Bonkers. All in all, this game deserves a perfect 10 and a buy. It's a great game with new abilities and a very good challenge that will keep you busy for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic

posted by kirbyhug (LOS ALTOS, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OMG this game is awsome. i like how there are new abilities

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is what a Kirby game should be!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nintendo seems to be going through a trend of reviving old classics. With games such as New Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns. It only makes sense that they would take this trend to a franchise as classic as Kirby. Kirby's recent games like Epic Yarn and Mass Attack are both unique and entertaining in their own ways, but they lack the traditional Kirby style. The last traditional Kirby game we got was Kirby Super Star Ultra on the DS, which was a remake. Now we finally get to see a traditional style Kirby game on a home console that still manages to bring some fresh new ideas to the table. The biggest new addition is the four player co-op, where three other players can take control of Meta-Knight, King Dedede, and a Waddle Dee. Each of these partners have their respective weapons, as opposed to Kirby being able to copy the abilities of his foes, they're stuck with them. However Kirby can lose his copy ability when he gets hurt, the other players can't lose their weapons. But if you still prefer Kirby's copy ability, any of the three extra players have the option of playing as a clone of Kirby. The four player co-op is a great improvement over that of NSMBW. You spent most of the time bumping into the other characters and they were more of a hindrance than a help. Here you just walk through each other rather than bounce off of them. And you can jump on top of other players like in NSMBW, but the player carrying the other has all their attacks. As opposed to NSMBW where you were rendered defenseless. The Super abilities are also really fun to use, they're like the final smashes from Super Smash Bros. Brawl. They range from giant swords, to giant flaming dragons, to giant rolling snowballs, to giant hammers, to giant magic energy balls, and are a lot of fun to use. The only downside with this game is the easy difficulty. But this is Kirby, it's supposed to be for kids, it always has been. But it's still a classic nonetheless which is why I enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby goes back to his style of gameplay

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kirby’s going back to Dream Land (I wonder when his first visit there occurred), and this time he’s taking along three other characters: Meta Knight, King Dedede and one of King Dedede’s foot soldiers.
But before they go on that journey, they have to recover pieces from a ship that crashed. In order to do that, they go through several side-scrolling platform levels.
And this time around, Kirby has his, um, unusual ability to suck up enemies and use their powers against them. Fans of the series will know what’s to come: Needle Kirby, Fighter Kirby, Water Kirby, and so on.
But I found too little difference between the powered up Kirbys: They attack almost the same way. But when Kirby gets really powerful, then the attacks show some nice variation (from swinging a massive sword to unleashing a huge ball of electricity.)
Another thing that could use more variation are the levels: they have Kirby and Company wander about from point A to point B in almost the same fashion – and they face the same few types of mini bosses along the way.
There are also mini games where you hit targets or run through a course in a set time, but I wasn’t that trilled with them.
But that doesn’t mean this game is really dull; just like in Super Mario Brothers Wii, it’s a lot of fun if you can get four players to undertake the massive quest (there’s ten stages for more than ten hours of fun in this game.) Playing it single player – well, that’s not as much fun.
Kirby fans will want to run out and get Kirby’s Return to Dreamland – as well as some other players. But the not that stellar level design and power up attacks makes me want to say rent it first before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Best kirby game I recommend you to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent for Wii

posted by pyrosexual (PORTLAND, OR) May 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Not the best modern side-scroller I've played recently, but way more playable than New Super Mario Bros. Mildly addicting, almost never frustrating. Sadly, this is one the best games I've played on Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if you have a buddy to co-op, play this

posted by pipo_star (SAN BRUNO, CA) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

to be honest, I wanted to play this so I could share this. I love games that co-op at the same time, it makes makes it more funny sometimes. playing this, it made the game way more fun. you can choose which character to play through, there are four to choose from with different techniques. but theres a problem with the levels, they feel the same. and there are some mini bosses have the same strategy. but we have to remember that this is kids game, it shouldn't be too hard. but besides it being easy, somewhat repetitive, this game is a hidden gem. if it didn't have a co-op, id probably given it a 6-7. a nice treat to share.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kirby's Return to Excellence

posted by SonyKL (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I have always loved Kirby Games. I've played Kirby's Adventure on NES several times, and have tried a handful of other games. I read about Return to Dreamland, and thought that I would give it a try. I was blown away!! The game-play is very similar to Kirby's Adventure, and the graphics and powers are amazing. This was an amazing game that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish. However, that isn't to say that this game didn't come with some cons.

The game was really easy. I died a few times mostly due to some last minute errors, and there are plenty of health items in each level. However, the last boss was fairly challenging. Also, the story is really cheesy. I eventually just ended up skipping most of the story cut-scenes toward the end of the game.

Overall, Kirby's Return to Dreamland is absolutely amazing, but it doesn't quite reach perfection. I would consider buying the game, but it is priced at close to $40, which is a little high for a game this short. If it lowers in price, I might consider buying it, but do not hesitate to try it out. If you have the opportunity to rent it or borrower it, take advantage of it. This game is really fun and they are several entertaining abilities to tryout through the levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, just not for me...

posted by Gonzy2013 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I enjoyed this game for the first few hours but after that I felt like I was forcing myself to play it...

As the title says, It's a great game! But just not for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

\o/

posted by xXXboxCrafterXx (LONGVIEW, WA) Jul 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

\o/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby and Gamefly

posted by simslover333 (LAKEWOOD, CO) May 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This review is not about the kirby game i haven't even got it THIS SITE IS WHAT IS THE PROBLEM!! i really want the sims 3 if they don't give it to me next after kirby dream land then i will delete all my games on the que so THEY HAVE TO GIVE IT TO ME i haven't ordered the sims 3 in a while because i bought the game and then i would play it till my ds died and then i lost it for 5 AND I MEAN 5 MONTHS i love that game so much so that is why i am SO UPSET!!! ugh please hurry whoever has the stuiped game Now!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love.!

posted by MSJR94 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Best KIRBY EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KIRBY DREAM LAND

posted by CEIRANNANA (ALLENTOWN, PA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

GRANDSON LOVED THIS GAME AGE 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is great

posted by BBgames (AURORA, CO) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I love this game. It is much better than the superstar ultra. I do wish Kirby had his hammer though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse