Rent Kirby's Return to Dreamland for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2679 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kirby return to dream land

posted by epic65 (CLEVELAND, TN) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

this game is an epic fail and is a waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT VERY FUN

posted by princess101 (CANTON, GA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game is fun,but after a few days it gets boring and it seems like your playing different versions of the same level.So if your the kind of guy who likes adventure,I would not recomend this to you instead try Mario Galaxy 2 and not waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

kirby's return to dreamland

posted by ilovemw3 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The game was ok i thought magalor was really easy after 5 tries. I don't like the game very much i thought there should have been more powers and that you should be able to have super powers like "Monster Flame" or "Ultra sword" to go on to the next level with. I thought that there should be more bosses and a lot harder bosses. This game wasn't my style i guess. If you get it, strongly suggest to beat all the levels first, then go back to get the energy spheres.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sigh

posted by yanolis (LAROSE, LA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

i didnt play the game for to long but i didnt like it very much they lost the umph it had in the super nintendo version no wheely for starters and u couldnt do a double power like u could in the 64 version i was half expecting they would do a combo of the two games but i was sadly let down all in all i give it a 4 out of 10 better luck next time kirby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for adults.

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

Too Pokemon cute and simplistic. I played for an hour, eventually just flying over the stages. There is no motivation to collect anything or memorize what power to have when... and why is Kirby killing all these other cute creatures? It's just not fun for an adult. There was a Kirby on GameCube that was "tougher" I guess - this is not the same. Like most Wii games, it seems great for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A little repetitive..

posted by mymysharona (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Overall I thought the game was okay. By the end of the game, I was tired of the constant repetition. I wish there could have been a progress of new abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent for Wii

posted by pyrosexual (PORTLAND, OR) May 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Not the best modern side-scroller I've played recently, but way more playable than New Super Mario Bros. Mildly addicting, almost never frustrating. Sadly, this is one the best games I've played on Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good

posted by gboudx (ROCKWALL, TX) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It was ok, it was mainly original Kirby gameplay exept for the multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty meh

posted by GunslingerFox (KINGWOOD, TX) Oct 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

What can I say, its Kirby. It is pretty middle of the road by the numbers Kirby. I actually really enjoyed Epic Yarn, that just brought some great visuals and added some nice new gameplay elements. Return to Dreamland just feels like every other Kirby game, there is no reason this couldn't have come out 10 years ago on the Gamecube. Not a bad game, but it is pretty meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

why did this come

posted by jroman141206 (PLAINFIELD, NJ) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i rented skyrim and this gmae came please tell me why

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great

posted by fatal_frame (BETHLEHEM, PA) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

my daughter loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Experience

posted by PKMN37 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) May 31, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It's interesting how Kirby hasn't had a game like this on the home console since Kirby 64 The Crystal Shards back in 2000. I did, however, like that one and Epic Yarn better. This game was fun but there wasn't really anything all that memorable. There were two things that were, though: The Super weapons, such as the empowered hammer and ice power, and the final boss. The graphics look really good, however, and the controls are fluent and easy to remember. If you're curious, I'd at least give it a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kirby's Return to Dreamland

posted by dianet (OAK LAWN, IL) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

it is so cool thank you so mach hahahahalol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My game had one flaw...

posted by caboose_eao (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

so i would start with saying the games decent. I liked it but didnt love it. Its your old school Kirby. You powers and go about. However my game disc did not work and i was forced to return it early and only got into the third door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game but never ending.

posted by LeeZman4 (JASPER, GA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game is great for muti players not so much if your solo. Fun game but every time you think you have beaten it you have one more thing to do. start off as simple and fun as any other kirby game with five levels kirby goes through easly using powers to defeat foes. but in later levels up agingst stronger foes and bosses it become agverating when kirby losses his powers too easly he is worthless literly Powerless to defeat the boss at the end. you almost need a second player to win. all kirby can do is stay alive untill the finishing blow can be dealt. life are limitless so if you first don't succed try, try, and try agian.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Easy

posted by oharden (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I Like the character but game is too easy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but...

posted by crazyinthehouse (WEST ALEXANDER, PA) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

As you play you will have some good fun. The only thing is that as you play on you will get a feeling repetitiveness I would say if you like games like Mario and Kirby, it is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great update to a favorite classic.

posted by bpalma6193 (CHESHIRE, CT) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

When I first got Kirby 64 for my 9th birthday, I was so excited. To be able to play a pink blob that absorbed every power in the game and used it to kill them with it, talk about genocide, haha. But this remake, has all of my favorite compontents of the N64 game but with one really cool part. Allowing 4 player co-op! I think this is a fantasic idea. I was playing this game with my brother and his friends for countless hours. Its truly an addicting game. If there was one thing that I could complain about this game is that, there are no longer any multiplayer mini-game like in nintendo 64. Those mini games could be played with friends for hours as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby Return To DreamLand

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Kirby Is Back... Nothing To Special Here Just The Old Basic Kirby Gameplay.. inhale your Enemies Spittem Out... Or use There Ability... If You Like Kirby And The Way It Plays As Usual... Then Rent It... But To Me Kirby Needs A Revamp... Kirby Is Getting Sour Or Steal... I Find Kirbys Epic Yarn Very Refreshing... and More Rewarding.. Anyway Kirby Fans Might As Well Check It Out,Beat It... As Usual Not A Long Game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is what a Kirby game should be!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nintendo seems to be going through a trend of reviving old classics. With games such as New Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns. It only makes sense that they would take this trend to a franchise as classic as Kirby. Kirby's recent games like Epic Yarn and Mass Attack are both unique and entertaining in their own ways, but they lack the traditional Kirby style. The last traditional Kirby game we got was Kirby Super Star Ultra on the DS, which was a remake. Now we finally get to see a traditional style Kirby game on a home console that still manages to bring some fresh new ideas to the table. The biggest new addition is the four player co-op, where three other players can take control of Meta-Knight, King Dedede, and a Waddle Dee. Each of these partners have their respective weapons, as opposed to Kirby being able to copy the abilities of his foes, they're stuck with them. However Kirby can lose his copy ability when he gets hurt, the other players can't lose their weapons. But if you still prefer Kirby's copy ability, any of the three extra players have the option of playing as a clone of Kirby. The four player co-op is a great improvement over that of NSMBW. You spent most of the time bumping into the other characters and they were more of a hindrance than a help. Here you just walk through each other rather than bounce off of them. And you can jump on top of other players like in NSMBW, but the player carrying the other has all their attacks. As opposed to NSMBW where you were rendered defenseless. The Super abilities are also really fun to use, they're like the final smashes from Super Smash Bros. Brawl. They range from giant swords, to giant flaming dragons, to giant rolling snowballs, to giant hammers, to giant magic energy balls, and are a lot of fun to use. The only downside with this game is the easy difficulty. But this is Kirby, it's supposed to be for kids, it always has been. But it's still a classic nonetheless which is why I enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby goes back to his style of gameplay

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kirby’s going back to Dream Land (I wonder when his first visit there occurred), and this time he’s taking along three other characters: Meta Knight, King Dedede and one of King Dedede’s foot soldiers.
But before they go on that journey, they have to recover pieces from a ship that crashed. In order to do that, they go through several side-scrolling platform levels.
And this time around, Kirby has his, um, unusual ability to suck up enemies and use their powers against them. Fans of the series will know what’s to come: Needle Kirby, Fighter Kirby, Water Kirby, and so on.
But I found too little difference between the powered up Kirbys: They attack almost the same way. But when Kirby gets really powerful, then the attacks show some nice variation (from swinging a massive sword to unleashing a huge ball of electricity.)
Another thing that could use more variation are the levels: they have Kirby and Company wander about from point A to point B in almost the same fashion – and they face the same few types of mini bosses along the way.
There are also mini games where you hit targets or run through a course in a set time, but I wasn’t that trilled with them.
But that doesn’t mean this game is really dull; just like in Super Mario Brothers Wii, it’s a lot of fun if you can get four players to undertake the massive quest (there’s ten stages for more than ten hours of fun in this game.) Playing it single player – well, that’s not as much fun.
Kirby fans will want to run out and get Kirby’s Return to Dreamland – as well as some other players. But the not that stellar level design and power up attacks makes me want to say rent it first before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if you have a buddy to co-op, play this

posted by pipo_star (SAN BRUNO, CA) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

to be honest, I wanted to play this so I could share this. I love games that co-op at the same time, it makes makes it more funny sometimes. playing this, it made the game way more fun. you can choose which character to play through, there are four to choose from with different techniques. but theres a problem with the levels, they feel the same. and there are some mini bosses have the same strategy. but we have to remember that this is kids game, it shouldn't be too hard. but besides it being easy, somewhat repetitive, this game is a hidden gem. if it didn't have a co-op, id probably given it a 6-7. a nice treat to share.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, just not for me...

posted by Gonzy2013 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I enjoyed this game for the first few hours but after that I felt like I was forcing myself to play it...

As the title says, It's a great game! But just not for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but easy

posted by dragonmagicl (APOPKA, FL) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Great for young kids. I'm thinking in the 6+ range. Much easier than Mario. Soom very clever and funny "super weapons". The mega sword is hilarious as it eradicates everything on the screen. I think my favorite is the porcupine upgrade where you can spike your enemies from below. Light, funny, but don't expect it to take you too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lots of new stuff

posted by cherry420 (WALDORF, MD) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I loved playing this game.....you can be so many things and its always different and new! By far the best Kirby yet! Definitely buying this one when my birthday comes around!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse