Rent Kirby's Epic Yarn for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Epic Yarn

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

4766 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way Better Than Speculated

posted by CousinReactGame (SAN BRUNO, CA) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of people I know says that this game's for kids. I say no to that, as I had tons of fun with this game and it's different mechanics. I would say that the only problem I have with it is it's rocky UFO flying controls, it's just a little too finicky, but I think it's overall a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun a Must Play game

posted by Bluetooth (STREET, MD) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

So when i first saw this game i was like... Oh it's Kirby same old same old, that was until i pick it up, right off the bat i was taken away by how nice the game looked and controlled. Also after playing the game for an hour or more and i lost myself in this game it is so fun and so cute, Anyway this is a must play for anyone who likes Kirby games, Very fun game a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

weak

posted by yobob (MANSFIELD CENTER, CT) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This might be a good game for anyone under 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kirby's Epic Y-awwwww-n

posted by gamer135 (MINNETONKA, MN) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

As a Kirby veteran (not as cool as it sounds), I was quite excited about the new chapter in the Kirby saga. This quickly changed when I realized I could no longer float. That's right; one of Kirby's only abilities that he actually has going for himself has been taken away by some bizarre yarn-related accident. I was willing to overlook that...until Kirby lost more things. Instead of sucking things up, now he whips things with his "yarn". THAT IS THE BASE OF KIRBY GAMES. Why take that out? But the one thing that really made me mad was the gameplay and new elements that our good "friends" at Nintendo added. Now adding a "bead collecting" option is a daring venture into more run-of-the-mill adventure-platformers like mario bros. games. Unfortunately, this fails epically. I didn't even play long enough to fully understand what the beads even did. This game's only true redeeming quality is that it is utterly adorable. The new transformations Kirby undergoes are giggle-inducing, even in a gamer like me that laughed while playing Amnesia: the Dark Descent. when Kirby starts sprinting, he turns into a little car that starts making little car noises. That mixed with the new plush environment and the TeleTubies music makes me feel like everything is going to be all right. But it is not all right. Kirby died in Dream Land a LONG time ago and will never be the same, but I will stand strong and will always pick my favorite creampuff in a round of Smash Bros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skeptical, but Pleasantly surprised

posted by Box_Head (EAST GREENWICH, RI) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

As long as I can remember Kirby has always been around in my life. So when I heard about Epic Yarn I was skeptical, but willing to put aside all of the supposed negativity and give it a shot. I'll admit, when I first turned on my wii, heard the opening dialog, and played the first couple of levels, I almost cried from laughter and embarrassment from how easy and childlike it was. It is narrated like a book on tape and the difficulty is dumb downed substantially to a point where you literally cannot die. After putting the game down, I was debating on shipping it back from only playing it for 35 minutes. Then I gave it another shot. Then I was pleasantly surprised.
The thing about this game is that it still is able to be a great kirby game and a good stand out game. Even though kirby doesn't have his copy ability because he is literally yarn, You still have the satisfaction of killing enemies and using them as weapons or keys for puzzles. Even if you do miss kirby's old features, have no fear because he still transforms for certain moves such as a car. They also still kept all of the main characters intact and made this really seem like kirby even though his identity seemed to be stripped. De De De is still defeated like how he always is and meta knight has his challenge and throws you a power up during the last boss fight.
It is comedic but corny, easy but there still is challenge. Yup, even though it is impossible to die there is a challenge factor. The levels are more built around collectables and a bronze, silver, gold score depending how much gems you collect. For a kirby game that sound ridiculous, but if it wasn't for this then there would be absolutely no purpose for the game. On a side note let's be honest, kirby games never were the hardest in the first place.
The music is light with percussion and piano, the enemies don't give you an ability or damage, and the game has side missions with collectables. And yet It's not just a good kirby, its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby Epic Yarn

posted by adrojeda (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was iffy about getting this game because it looked so cheesy... I just said why not and rented the game. The game was awesome. 2 Player mode and its full of endless possibilities. TWO WORDS RENT IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fun

posted by mihopkins (STRATTON, CO) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Had a blast playing this with the kids! Very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Proproly Stitched

posted by Skymaster (MOUNT HOREB, WI) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I really loved this game.
The graphics are great and so is the gameplay. The fact you can't die in this game mitght make it sound like there is no challenge in the levels or that the whole game is no fun. But don't wory this game is still plenty of fun and there is some challenge to it. The new forms Kirby can take on each help make the game unique. Unfortunutly there are some errors in the game such as the fact that in co-op mode it can be hard for some people(myself included) to tell who's who, and that your partner might acidentelly pick you up wich can get really anoying. It could also be a bit too easy for some people. None the less this is definetly a game worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by CactusJohn5 (PLYMOUTH, NH) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is just fun. Multi-player with my girlfriend, made renting this game even more enjoyable. It is rather easy to play, but to master it takes time! Is worth a rent, and even a buy if you are a perfectionist!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by HailMary (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Oh my god..this is a terrific game....i have been playing this for 3 continuous days now and there are still lots of levels left. These guys are so creative that you keep waiting to see what is gonna come next. Superb game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by GameBros (CUSTER, SD) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is fun, has cute graphics, and is overall a great game. The one complaint I have is the only 2 player gameplay. I have a younger brother and an even younger sister who both enjoy gaming, but it's hard to get them to cooperate. I'm getting Kirby's Return To Dreamland next. I know it'll be 3 or 4 player gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Actually a pretty great game

posted by Slysedog (UPPER DARBY, PA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I gotta admit, I really enjoyed this game. It looks great, plays nicely, and is all around enjoyable. While it is geared primarily towards a younger audience, older gamers can still enjoy this relaxing and stress free game. One of the best Kirby titles to date.

The only thing keeping me from giving it a solid 10 is the new power system. It's no longer "swallow enemies and gain their power" now it's "find special powers made for the stage in certain areas". Now don't get me wrong, i think some of the powers are pretty cool, i just missed the old power system.

All in all, it is a great game. Now i've just got to try out Return To Dreamland! :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Proof that art style isn't everything.

posted by Slade_O_Niel (BURIEN, WA) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

A classic Kirby game with an adorable story to boot. Kirby is pulled into a world of cloth through a magic sock by the evil wizard Yin-Yarn, Now Kirby must retrieve the magical thread to so the cloth world back together before Yin-Yarn turns all of Dreamland into one giant blanket!

A calssic platformer Kirby style with one exception, Kirby no longer inhales his enemies but snags their thread with his button. You can either unravel enemies or roll them into a ball of yarn to toss into other foes. Plus extra power like turning into a giant mech that burps rockets or a go kart or even a UFO! Over all the gameplay is very easy but well worth a play, co-op is nearly seamless and only adds to the fun.

The art style can be a draw back for some, I know I have some explaining to do whenever I'm seen playing this. Seriously, this game is so sweet you could go into a sugar coma if you don't put it down every so often. But overall a great game and a fun way to pass the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worthy

posted by Superninjamommy (HURLEY, SD) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game was rented so that my four year old could have a game to play while the older ones were playing halo/skyrim/etc. This game provided so much fun that we kept it for two months and they(yes, the older ones -6 and 8- fell in love with it also) were sad to see it go. The game play is simple but with just enough challenge to make it fun.

It is one or two player (yay no fighting) and while there is words to read, its not really necessarily that your child be able to read to continue on with playing since they have visual examples also. The control is simple enough and after two months my four year old still had levels to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic worthy of the title

posted by Sonicfan78907 (FERRIS, TX) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

sure the game is childish but is brings back the old levels green greens the halbred and many other favorites and that's why i rate this game a 10/10 a must buy and rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10/10 i love this game

posted by SamandDean (MANNING, SC) May 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

cutest kirby game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by gboudx (ROCKWALL, TX) May 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It is extremely fun and I would recommend it but when you get to the last worlds it gets kinda boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun game

posted by TinkandLance (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

My son and I played this game every evening for the month period that we had it and it was a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not Spinning Yarns!

posted by kschuWii (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is a lot of fun. I used to play Kirby games on Super Nintendo and bought this on a whim. I'm glad I did because the graphics and story are excellent. It is easy to control Kirby, and the game suits children and adults alike. There are many secret panels on the screen that Kirby must untie or unzip. Great fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kirbys epic yarn

posted by tyler45 (MONTROSE, IA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Played this game only a few minutes and sent it back. Nothing like the original Kirby. Not worth 5 minutes of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, bad Kirby title

posted by shinigamimirror (SPENCER, MA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game was very good all-in-all, but it wasn't a very good Kirby title. As a big Kirby fan, I was disappointed. There are no copy abilities, kirby can't fly, and really, it could have had any character. I'm hoping Return to Dreamland will redeem this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun For Kids

posted by jcgilmore1 (MANCHESTER, NJ) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

As an adult, I had a little fun playing this game with the kids. It kept my 7 yr old's interest because it was challenging enough for him to not get bored. Most games like these are in and out in 10 minutes or less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game for kids

posted by jusswaitin (AUGUSTA, GA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

kirby is an awesome game for kids very similar to mario brothers but sooooo much easier

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SHOULD BE RATED T FOR TODDLAR

posted by princess101 (CANTON, GA) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game is not very fun unless you are a four year old.This game is VERY boring to me and the levels are EXTREMELY easy to beat and are not fun.All you get to do is play levels that take like six minutes (not kidding)and buy stuff to put in Kirbie's tiny little home.Don't get this game unless there's toddlars in your family who will actually enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!!!

posted by vanhuisb18 (HAMILTON, MI) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I love this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse