Rent Kirby's Dream Collection: Special Edition for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Dream Collection: Special Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

589 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Collection!

posted by Transience8985 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A great collection of essential games for any Kirby fan. Collection includes Kirby's Dream Land, Kirby's Dream Land 2, Kirby's Dream Land 3, Kirby's Adventure, Kirby Super Star, and Kirby 64. While I would have liked to see some of Kirby's less conventional games like Dream Course or Pinball Land included, everything that's here plays just as well as they did back in the day, though I'd recommend using a classic controller for some of them. Also included are some original challenge stages, and an interactive timeline of all Kirby releases, complete with videos and even three episodes of the Kirby TV show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Collection!

posted by monkey54 (MARTINSBURG, WV) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kirby is one of favorite Nintendo series and when I heard about a collection coming out I couldn't wait. After playing it I am glad to say it's a blast. You get to play 6 different Kirby games (Dream Land 1-3, Adventure, Super Star, and Kirby 64) And they are all very fun to play. All of them are short though, but have really good replay value. Besides the games there is a time line that shows the Kirby games as well as other important events. The final part are the challenge stages which are taken from Kirby's return to Dreamland, they are still a lot of fun and are good for speedrunners. In the end The Kirby Collection is a great collection for hardcore Kirby fans like me as well for newcomers of the series. I can't wait for the next 20 years of Kirby!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good collection – with some nice additions

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It’s Kirby’s 20th anniversary, which makes it a perfect time to come out with a collection of Kirby’s greatest games ever made. This game has six of Kirby’s games, starting from the original that’s on the Game Boy (which looks really old compared with today’s standards)
Fans of these games will really like replaying the games that they played all those years ago – these games are faithful renditions of those games.
But there’s also a mode telling the timeline of Kirby games, and hidden in that timeline are several episodes of the cartoon show “Kirby Right Back At Ya.” But I would’ve liked it if it were easier to find those cartoons.
But wait, there’s more; also included in this game are several new challenging levels similar to the ones found in Kirby’s Return to Dream Land.
If you haven’t played that game, here’s how it works. Each level has Kirby given a special power like Sword Kirby, Tornado Kirby, and so on. Pass a few levels within a set time and get a set number of points, and you get a race. Win the race, and you go on to more challenge levels.
This feature makes a big difference – this game isn’t just relying only on nostalgia to get players to pay up – and $40 is quite a price to pay up just to see a few older games. And some of the six older games just copy features from some of the other games.
But this game is a great history trip through Kirby’s achievements over the past 20 years. Kirby’s Dream Collection: Special Edition is a definite rent – and fans of the pink puff hero ought to go out and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby Kirby YEAH

posted by criticman95 (BRANDON, FL) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Kirby. One of my first GBA games was Kirby and the amazing miror and that is a tough Kirby game. also when i got my gamecube a got Kirby air ride. the collection has some games that you can get through the Wii and 3DS Eshop virtual console except Kirbys dream land 2. the inclusion of 3 episodes of Kirby right back at ya is like how they celebrated Kirby on the 3DS with a special 3d two part episode of Kirby right back at ya(personaly I think lord escargoo should be in the next smash bros game.)this is a great collection so take advantage and rent it now bye.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

adequate collection but no HD remixes

posted by sigmajt23 (LA CROSSE, WI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The old games that are included are all in their original form, no updating which was disappointing. The new "game" is interesting but solely a collection of timed challenges to complete, would appreciate a full on campaign. There's a timeline that gives insight into what happened each year from the inception of Kirby to the present (a combination of what game was released as well as current events from the year) Also most games have a condensed gameplay video of about 2-4 minutes that summarizes the gameplay of the entire game. I really liked that feature. All and all good to rent and watch once but I don't feel I need to start buying old Kirby's again until (if ever) they decide to do HD remixes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way Better than super Mario all stars

posted by kirby_player (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is my favorite. It's kinda better if you buy it from a store because you get a music disc.The races against Magolor are fun because you can try out which ability works best against him.I like the collection,especially Kirby's Dream Land 3.I also like Kirby's history because you can see what other Kirby games are like.If you like the Kirby series,you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by idnotimportant (SIDNEY, KY) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Excellent game Mario style very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kirby's Dreamland wii

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

really good platformer game never played it when i was younger know I'm and i love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must rent

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Be it nostalgia or just experiencing something new you should definitely play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best kirby games

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

The best kirby game next to air ride and return to dreamland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Music CD is nice, but sneaky marketing strategy

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

honestly you can download all the games in Dream Collection for free on the internet

Nintendo is getting cocky and seems to think it can resell it's decades-old games today

But honestly this is not going to work on seasoned gamers

However, if they had made a 3DS Kirby... Now that'll hook people in

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »