Rent Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

6249 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyr...no Fabl...no...Reckoning!

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Feb 6, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

101 out of 117 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Who saw this game coming? Me neither, before i popped the demo in for my free Mass Effect stuff, i had no idea this game existed. The demo showed me signs of greatness, while buggy, it was a refreshing take on the good ol' Western RPG. Now that i finally have it im gonna break it down for ya:

The Good:
-Gameplay, Absolutely dominates every other WRPG in this department, combat, movements(minus jumping) and spell casting is fluid and works extremely well.

-Menus, while Skyrim has a clunky menu and makes you lose your mind at times, Reckoning's menu system is simple but filled with depth, whether it be the inventory or the skill trees, its nice and clean!

-Story, So your a dead guy who came back from the dead by a thing called the Well Of Souls made buy this awesome dagger wielding gnome scientist and you are basically trying to figure out who you are and what your destiny beholds. Its a very riveting tale and it will last you a long time!(I've beaten the main quest ONLY, i still haven't done side quests!)

-Depth: This game is as deep as the Pacific Ocean. Massive world, 3 skill trees with plenty of mixing around, enough gnomes to fill an old ladies yard and plenty of amazing gear to make your character powerful!

The MEH:

-Quests, while the main quest will be your main time killer, the majority of the side quests(that i've seen) are merely 'fetch' quests, which aren't worth your time. Unless you want to Lvl up quicker.

-Graphics, I really wanted to put this in the good, but i couldn't, the world looks incredible but the facial animations and characters look terrible!!!

The BAD:

-The fact that this might not be as popular as Skyrim or Fable, because this game excels where they don't. So please buy this!

Final Note: NO ONLINE PASS REQUIRED!!!! That is all, enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

posted by Andrew14 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

37 out of 43 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Kingdoms of Amalur: Recoking is an Action RPG.

Story - The story is about a "hero" that dies and comes back to life through a thing called the "Well of Souls". Once you come out of the "Well of Souls" you learn that you have no fate, so you're able to decide your own fate.
Pretty much, there is a war called the "Crystal War" that's between Mortals (Us) vs Immortal (The Fae). The Fae used to be peaceful race untill they're king made them evil.

Combat - The combat is great in this game, the combat is more like Action-based like God of War or Devil May Cry. It's fast paced action, with alot of chain-combos. While, most fights are easy, I did have some trouble while trying to find the right weapon for me. Also, there's a move called "Fateshift" and it's pretty much were all the enemies are slowed down and you're weapons and skill get a buff, making you do more damage.

Graphics - The graphics are good, except the people could of had a tune-up, as the backround visuals are stunning compared to the people, the artstyle is more comic book, not real-style as in a game like Skyrim. The shadowing and lighting are also very good in this game, as well as the water effects.

Quests/Items - Their are many Side/Guild quests in this game, around 200+ to be exact. While, the guild quests do take a while, I found them quiet intresting as they each have a diffrent motive. For Example, The Travels revolved around sneaking and stealing, which is good, because my guy is a Rogue-Based character. Their are various items in the game, each color-coded depending on their rarity. The only problem about the items is that, your don't find very good items while in dungeons, the items im using right now, I bought. Also, alot of the items are similar, they may have diffrent stats, but most of the items im running into are clones and look the same.

Overall - This is a great game, I would reccomend it too anyone who likes fast-paced RPG's.

Verdict - I would give this a 8.5/9 out of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow, RPG of the year?

posted by jacklop21 (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

35 out of 41 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I am twelve hours into this game and i really dont want to stop.

THE STORY- I haven't beat it yet but what i have played it is intresting, this game if different in a way from other RPG's though. It's like your being read a very intresting story instead of a decent story which you can slightly change. The side quests DO GET REPETITIVE, but what RPG doesn't, i played them anyway becuase the rest of the game was great.

COMBAT- This is the selling point of this game. The closest thing i can compare it to is the god of war series. Its fluid, smooth and enjoyable.

CUSTOMIZATION- I've started this game 3 times and all the loot in the beggining is different. I'm pretty sure it has a random stat generator so that your loot is always different, and i love that.

GRAPHICS- This may be the worst part of the game. The graphics aren't superb and are similar to the Fable series. I personally liked them, I didnt love them but they where okay with me, just look at a screenshot and see if YOU like them.

THE WORLD- Ah Amalur, what a beatiful place. Skyrim is pretty much forest, or a snow forest, if your like me and wanted diversity then you will like this game.

Review- Great game, must buy!

PROS:
-Combat
-Amalur itself
- LOOT
- Interesting, new story

Cons:
-Outdated graphics
-Repeating side quests

Hope this helper, and remember this is just my view!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid But Tired

posted by classicmints (MAYFIELD, PA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Kingdoms Of Amalur IS a solid game. With lots of area to explore, the game feels similar to Lord Of The Rings Online in its scope and exploration. Yet where Amalur succeeds in giving you a wide open world with nearly no restrictions (which is something that all RPG's should embrace, otherwise the game becomes an action/adventure instead of a true RPG), it fails to deliver in its combat.

After hitting level 30 and becoming way overpowered, no monster or boss could stand up to me. I ran through giants and trolls like they were cake. I also found that its repetitive combat system became very boring after a while. I ended up at times avoiding battles just to skip the same attack-attack-attack combo that became my bread and butter.

Amalur is a GREAT game for anyone interested in a TRUE RPG experience, those of us who were deeply disappointed in the so called "role playing" of The Witcher 2 found solace in Amalur or Skyrim. Yet Amalur has low replay value and just burns out after 15+ hours of game play. You find yourself doing the same mission in a different city, or taking on the same boss with a different name, being knocked back a thousand times, spamming health potions and hacking him away with the same three strike combo every time.

Overall a fantastic game to play while you're waiting for the next best RPG!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by EvilGDaddyX2L (ARVADA, CO) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game redefines the wrpg genre. Everything about this game is wonderful. The graphics are amazing. The graphics do seem to be more Fable like and less like Skyrim, thus opinions on graphics may vary. Moving on the voice acting was well done there is more than 5 people doing voices so I do not feel as if I have already talked to the same person 20 different times in 15 different towns. The real difference in this game comes in the game play. The combat mechanics are truly amazing. The game does start off feeling like any other wrpg mostly a hack and slash type game. The beginning of the game is where the combat mechanics are

introduced and the early enemies are easy to defeat as the game progresses though the enemies become more difficult and the combat mechanics become a must to survive. The game feels alive and wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mislabeled group section! Action RPG!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) May 6, 2012

Member since May 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great game, but it is not an action adventure game!!!
It is an action RPG!!!! Why does gamefly mess up like this?! It is NOT an action adventure, but instaed it is an action RPG!!! (sigh).....
If you like Oblivion, fallout 3, fable (the original), or Skyrim, then this is a game to try! Giving you unlimited choice in how you want to play! This is perhaps the highest rating I have ever given any gamefly game to date! However its weapon selection is limited to swords, daggers, faeblades(dual swords), Hammers, chakarams, staves, wands, and bows,yet you can also, of course, go unarmed(fists), using magic or try using traps(rogue ability)....
Characters are fully customizable. the problem is that the game also requires you to pump points into skills that you might not like just to get the skills you do... It is sad that they don't give you spears, axes, or crossbows.... I guess you can't have everything...
Thankfully the enemies do tend to respawn(for level grinding), but just not often though... It works for the most part! Then again some people don't like enemies that respawn too often, so that is highly underrstandable... Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Judge a Game By Its Cover

posted by xHershix (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game I was thinking, "oh great another shabby RPG that is going to follow along behind fable and Skyrim". I was completely mistaken by how this game surprised me. I originally wasn't planning on getting this game, but I had an open slot on my game fly so I was like wth, I minus well. This game in an overall category womps on skyrim and fable. Though it may not be as technical as skyrim or storybased as fable, its mixture of smooth combat and simplicity makes it amazing. Here are some pros and cons just to some up the game.

Pros:
- Very smooth combat with a variety of moves and abilities available to the user.
- Expansive world with much to discover.
-Simple story yet entertaining.
-Simple interface and menus.
-Lots of variety in weapons, armor, accessories, potions, ect...
-(For hardcore players) Difficult enough that makes it fun to have to strategically plan your attack.

Cons:
-Must save on a regular bases.
-Some of the mini-puzzles are too easy (lock picking) or too difficult (dispelling). May be personal opinion but hard locks are easy to unlock and easy to average dispelling can be a pain in the butt to do unless you have invested in it.
-If correct you need to purchase a pass to be able to play online pvp (not entirely certain of, only glanced at downloadable once).
-Cannot access quest menu from map to see where to go (inconvenient).

Overall it is a great game in my opinion and majority of the negatives I have found are more of personal preferences. If you are looking for a good addictive singple player RPG, this game is an awesome choice. I have played for about 23 hours and I haven't even seemed to really have scratched the surface of what there is to do or find in this game. I would recommend it definitely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by quinsey (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Since I honestly never understand user reviews Ive decided to write some that are easier to get. K.o.A. is good. Thats honestly the truth. Now every person is different so heres what you need to look for.
The graphics are cartoonish of sorts but far from bad. It gives the game a nice MMO tone to it. Many different creatures and Enemies and a great fighting system.
As far as gameplay its alott like Fable. Infact id say better. Tons of quests,towns,upgrading,houses to buy, and costomization.
I would not recomend this as a leisure game. If your going to play it you need time and patience to fullfill all the tasks and quests each with its own reward.
In the end the game is good. Its nice to spend time away from FPS games and adventure a long single player story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

koa: reckoning

posted by aj1292 (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

big fan of rpgs and this one was all right.

plenty of lore, loot, and quests to last for hours.
The action is pretty well done I got to admit but this game is so cheesy and simple.. As a judge I always tend to push games to be unique and special but this game is a perfect example of a game with no identity. Nothing really special that sets it apart.

Pros-
1. Good loot
2. Great lore and plenty of it
3. Skills are balanced and strong

Cons-
1. Graphics aren't the nicest
2. In game audio is horrible I had to adjust it a lot inorder to hear.
3. Most quests are fetch and return...
4. Enemies types are very limited

worth the rent
final verdict- 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love It!

posted by MrMrsRebellion (GAFFNEY, SC) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I aboslutely love these type of games. It's got a Fable 3/Skyrim feel too it.
I love how many weapons you can choose from, all the quests it gives you.
Main quest was a bit fast if that's all you work on but it's still a lot of fun to play, period.

Would recommend to everyone! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG ive played in a long time.

posted by mangoljr (DELMONT, PA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Reckoning, I believe is a game that has everything i look for in a RPG. But ill just start with the 1 negative thing so i can end with all the pros. The skill setup and level up menu is far to clustered and that can make it hard to progress throughout the game. when there is as much dialoge as there is in this game you tend to blow through things. But other than that i think the mapping design is fantastic and the story line is quick and to the point and i enjoy the occasional side mission as well. weapon availability,. Just to round it up it was by far the best RPG game i have played in a long long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slow descent

posted by Easytarget (TACOMA, WA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

To begin with I was really excited about playing this game I have always liked to play this type of game, and for the first maybe 15 or so hours it was ok, (granted thats a long time but this game is massive) but i completely lost interest after i couldn't engage the story and although its a cool idea for a game it feels both thin and also way too deep at the same time. At one end the names and charectars are hardly memorable and although the locations look different, i honestly couldn't recall the name of a single area. And on the other end of the spectrum its just too deep the lore is incredibly intricate and theres no primer if i didn't know better i would swear this was the fifth or sixth game in a series because they don't explain things without an hour long conversation with every single NPC it was ridiculous. Basically as i played the game i got less and less engrossed with the game, i really wanted to like this game but i got bored and it became a chore to play i wouldn't recommend it honestly but if you do be prepared to talk to a lot of useless npc's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by Sincitysouljah (HENDERSON, NV) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is literally the best RPG I have ever played its like if fable and dragon age had a baby and then Baldurs gate and God of war had a baby as well and neither of the kids inherited the bad parts of their "parents" then they attended private school together to hone the good parts they were born with and they also had a child and it's name as Kindoms of Amalur: Reckoning! In short this an RPG with a solid fighting system complete with fast paced juggling combos Mortal Kombat esqe!,and the magic attacks are quickly activated flawlessly.The story is just a little lack luster but it's definetly not recycled like almost every RPG that come out in the past 10-15 years.The lore and back story is extremely deep and well written and very creative. One other feature that deserves mention and great praise is the crafting,endless possibilities with gems for weapons armor and even the extra utility slot gems and that's not even half of the stuff that there is to play with,no joke you could happily spend an hour or more crafting new gear for your dude or chick so much attention to detail in all aspects of this game.And this isn't even a quater of the stuff that's packed into this game but I'm tired of typing now so all in all you might as well fo your self a favor and save time and just buy this game.
-SincitySouljah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Welcome to the World of Amálur

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Feb 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kingdoms Of Amalur: Reckoning is a third person action combat game set in a high fantasy universe. Kingdoms of Amalur's combat and character advancement are fantastic enough to overshadow how bland everything else is. This Role-Playing Game is top notch alongside other RPG's. The Story is Phenominal. Gameplay is cutting edge but the Combat speaks for itself. There is Great Character Advancement, the Creatures are good looking. Art Design may remind you of Fable or World of Warcraft but in the end its a well put game. Exploring a World with tons of Quests may get boring at times, but along the way you can kill a bunch of Monsters & meet different Creatures. All in all this a good game for ANY RPG Fan. Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning gets an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I played.

posted by HBLYNN777 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is simpler to Final Fantasy and Elder Scrolls combined truly a great game I give it a ten out of ten You give to pick your character and then you can power up different powers and skills like Baldur's Gate. You can craft weapons, armor, gems, and potions. The quests and graphics are good. The creators are similar many other games but still great. I am going to enjoy playing this game in the weeks to come since after playing it I brought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome action RPG, should be a MMO

posted by erraticarsonist (STEWARTSTOWN, PA) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Really, the only way to describe this is a single player MMO. It has all the aspects of it, in fact, if it was a MMO I think it'd be the best on the market. Cross-class combos and destinies, basically if you work on more than one class you get bonuses for it. The action is smooth and seemless, one of the best I've played in a action RPG. All in all I've just started the game and already want to replay it and use different combos. There are so many quests in this game and they aren't stale and repetitive, reminds me of Skyrim. I defiantly plan on keeping this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but has bugs

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has everything you need. Great skills, combos, graphics, upgrades, fully customizable armor and weapons, and hundreds of quests.

Pros:

1) Everything
2) Hundreds of quests
3) Fully customizable weapons, armor, and classes.
4) Skills
5) Combos
6) Very long game

Cons:

1) Buggy....you can get stuck on things, hit by invisible monsters, quests fail or you can't finish them for no reason.
2) Mage and Warrior are over-powering. Mage can 1 hit kill everything in a room with meteor skill. Warrior will never die and can 1 or 2 hit kill everything including bosses.
3) Some quests make you run a dungeon which could take 15-20 mins then after you get to the "objective" it makes you run all the way back to the beginning of the dungeon.
4) A lot of load screens, every door you go through triggers load time.
5) Most quests are go get something and come back but you have to go through 5-6 load screens.

Bottom line....this is a great game. The cons really mean nothing beside the bugs. After you customize your class they are over-powering and unstoppable, which can get boring since you can 1 hit kill about everything. Graphics are great, skill customs are great, combos are great, and the game is very very long. I think I've completed around 150 quests and still have several more to finish including the main quest.

This game is worth renting.....best game I've played in awhile beside Skyrim. If it wasn't so buggy I would have rated it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Generic RPG

posted by drjacks83 (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I hate to use the word "meh," but meh. This game isn't terrible, but it's also not very special, and I'm surprised the rating is so high.

You play as a blank slate who has died and has been ressurected through a device built by gnomes. The main plot has you following around a "fateweaver," a reimagined fortune teller of sorts, as you seek answers regarding your place in the universe.

The one attempted innovation is through the fateweavers, who you can pay to rewrite your destiny, essentially re-assigning the skills you've already picked out. I never tried to utilize this, and didn't see the appeal.

The game has a cartoonish art style, similar to Fable, but it lacks that game's charm and humor. The epic story calls to mind Dragon's Age or Skyrim, but it doesn't have the addictive gameplay elements of either.

Other reviews have said you should focus on the main story as much as possible while avoiding the sidequests. I agree, as most of these quests are slight tweaks to the generic "find-fetch-return" formula common in RPGs.

There's a crafting component to the game that I found extremely lackluster. Most of the enchantments that you can add onto contructed weapons are variations of fire, ice, lightning, or physical attacks, and there's no variation to the animation or anything that makes experimentation any fun. You can also craft your own potions, but I found this to be pretty boring as well.

Facial animations seemed buggy, and when dialogue is meant to convey an extremely deep and detailed description of the world in which the game takes place, it's a lot easier to endure when the voice acting is good.

This might be a good game to give to children who are interested in RPGs, as the game play is simple and not as dark or violent as Dragon Age or Skyrim. To anyone else who's used to the formula, you might want to give it a go, but don't be afriad to send it back before you finish it if you find it as tiring and uninteresting as I di

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this was a great game

posted by jordan2fly4u (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is a mix of skyrim with fable very great there could have been more different foes to fight but if you do not like the fable fighting system do not play also the story line was not so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Warning! Bug found on xbox360 version, please read

posted by Mercnasty510 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) May 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

KoA is a great game, however at about the 150 hour mark I was inside the firstsworn hall and thats when it started. Every 5 yards I ran, I ran in place or froze. I tried everythin to getrid of it i.e. fast travel, sneaking, auto save off but there is no other way to get rid of it other than returning before that point it happened with an old save. Me inparticular lost 8 hours of gameplay. Make sure you save often!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!

posted by keith96 (STOW, OH) May 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fun, similar gameplay to fable but the size of the game is immense!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funnest Rpg I've played in awhile

posted by Swentz18 (BELGRADE, MT) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics and story aren't the absolute best but I really enjoyed this game. It will provide you with over 40 hours of gameplay easily, depending on what quests you decide to do. I personally didn't get to even finish the game cuz the quests just kept going. It was really fun but I put somewhere around 50 hours in and am too busy to finish. Its pretty fun but I imagine the re-playability is almost 0 on this game. So its good for a rent for an rpg fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely fantastic

posted by ChuckNorris897 (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is easily one of my favorite games. I love everything about it. It has so many side quests that I sometime forget that there is a main quest. Get it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

REALLY GREAT/But somtimes boring

posted by dre2012 (BAYTOWN, TX) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

i really enjoyed this game, it was fun and loved the combat. it got repetitive my 3rd day into the game and with mass effect 3 on the way im afraid lots of ppl will be sending this game back to gamefly to make some room for ME3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, but... meh

posted by norse (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I couldn't get into the game, much as I would have liked to. The actors have no facial animations, and mostly I feel like I run around killing and looting aimlessly. It's hard to put a finger on why it doesn't work for me, but all the individual piece look good. Camera and lack of immersion are what I'd cite for the early return (gave it a chance for a day).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse