Rent Kingdom Under Fire: Circle of Doom for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kingdom Under Fire: Circle of Doom

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.9

4600 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

RPG has never been like this before...

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jan 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

51 out of 58 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Well... that may be true, but that's not always a good thing. This game isn't outright bad, but it is missing something to be a recommended game. I would suggest renting it when you have gone through all the great games that are on the shelf waiting for your enjoyment. Only then would I suggest trying this one out.

I have played through the beginning levels with several of the available characters and have the same impression with each: where's the story? Why do I have such a tiny, linear path to travel, and why does this game feel so similar to Ninety-nine Nights (which also had potential but was held back with a heaping helping of flawed concepts).

Gameplay consists mostly of running down what amounts to an outdoor hallway, encountering a large group of enemies, and then wailing at them with a few attack options. You can equip different weapons and armor. It will change the attacks slightly, but not much. You level up with experience gained from killing these roving gangs of monsters and can add new abilities like leaping, firing flaming missiles, etc. In order to gain an ability, however, you must not only level up and select it, but meet certain criteria like "has killed 3 jumbo baddies" and "has killed 6 of some other type of baddie." That's not such a bad thing, but after finally finding something to be excited about, I was disappointed that I wouldn't actually gain the new ability until after I progressed further with the blindly moving forward and killing.

When you have the opportunity to see characters up close, the textures look great. The art is quite nice. But you usually see everything (meaning group fights repeatedly) from a distance so it's not usually as impressive looking as it could be.

There's some fun to be had here, and I'll keep toying with it for a while, but it will probably be sent back after about a 2 week stay. I like killing things and collecting the loot, so I can stand to play this game for a little longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is a descent game

posted by Djperson1 (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok well some people gave it horrible ratings... which i can relate to but, this game is'nt very fun from the start... unless your online... but once you get higher in the game... its a blast to play it again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected

posted by Ragnar (FARMINGTON, NY) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

65 out of 76 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I brought my little brother to the mall to buy a new game with some of his Christmas money. He was torn between this game and Oblivion GOTY. I told him he couldnt go wrong with Obliv. since i was still a little skeptical about this game. But I wasnt about to tell him what to do with his money and so he got this. We brought it home and the game turned out be be...suprisingly good. Its an action RPG where you run around doing quests, killing things and leveling up while trying to get the best gear possible. The controls are pretty simple and easy to learn after a brief tutorial in the begining. I only played for a little while but this is what I can tell you about the game so far. The game play is fun and challenging. only if you enjoy endless hack and slash games. If those dont appeal to you then you probably wont enjoy this. One flaw with combat is there is no block and no jump. The camera can also be a pain during combat, but you quickly get used to it. There is virtually and endless amount of loot that you can sell to idols randomlly located throughout that maps that are also randomlly generated. the maps although large are very linear but beautifully designed. at the idols you you can buy, sell and store items. you can also use and option called synthesis. I havent quite figured it out yet but basically you combine 2 or more items to make a better one. There are 4 characters at the start with 2 unlocable. Each has own skills and traits and attack styles. You can also learn new skills and recieve quests in your dream world. Depending on what character you are there will be someone there to help you. As oppsed to buy new skills like in many other games in this one you have to kill a certain enemy so many times and then you can get the skill or spell from your dreamworld person. kinda cool actually. The mutiplayer is a blast. With a max of four to a room. everything is the same as single player except enemies get stonger each time a player joins. Long, solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Playable, but just not engaging enough...

posted by PianoMan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I admit it: I'm a KUF fan. Played both Crusaders and Heroes, and really looked forward to this game. While approachable and playable, the gameplay isn't at all polished and the characters don't really flesh out thru the plot. Definitely a rental, and for fans of the KUF series, hopefully KUFII comes out as planned in 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but not great.

posted by herostyle (MISSOULA, MT) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoy games like Dynasty Warriors, where it's one hero against an army. I like the mindless hack n'slash if I know what I"m getting in to. That said, this game is good enough for what it is but the lack of cohesion and immersion in the story makes it kind of hard to deal with.

First, you play a hero who, for whatever reason, is killing hordes of enemies. There is no real description of why you are fighting but that's what you're there to do. There are bits of story tossed in while you sleep, but it really serves no purpose and is more cryptic than engaging. This is the game's only real drawback in my opinion.

The combat is fast paced and while many complain about the camera I have yet to have an issue with it. The controls are simplistic, the synthesis system is a bit complicated but just takes a little research online to get figured out...

All in all this is a good game for some mindless co-op hack n'slash, but I wouldn't even try to get involved in the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad! Really!

posted by GameflyGod (MULLICA HILL, NJ) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is plays much like diablo II (And probably what Too Human will be like) IT's really good, really! Try it! I mean you have gamefly!

The Goods: It plays much like a diablo loot-and-stab fest. Actually its really fun getting new armor and weapons and such. You have many different selections of Hero to choose from, all from the Whiny Elven Maiden, to the Fully-Armored giant man. The boss battles take awhile, but they are actually pretty fun, Gigantic plant-demon bosses are always fun to kill!

Also, the multiplayer is quite good, you can have 4 players in one game, (The enemies get stronger, just like in Diablo, when more people join)

The Bad: TEARING! Screen and map tearing is insane, it pops around every corner, seeing that shiny white line in between a rock or wall. Also, the game COULD be much better in many aspects, like the story (fragmented) and the ranged combat, which IMO is incredibly annoying. You can be 20 feet from a group of enemies, through a shuriken at them, and it wont hurt them at all, move closer, and they notice you.

Bottom Line: PLAY THIS GAME if you enjoyed diablo, or if you THINK you will enjoy Too Human.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average for a renter but do not buy

posted by OmahaSteve (OMAHA, NE) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun for a few hours but then it gets repetitive. The character selection doesn't add much length to the game because you go through the same paths. The two slow characters are way too slow, so there is really only 3 to choose from. Fun for a few hours but not much replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Similar, but very good

posted by Senkasa (WATERLOO, IA) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game takes a spin off a similar game called Ninety Nine Nights (N3) But it's not necessarily bad, they actually improved upon the hack n' slash formula, now with online co-op which makes the game even funner and you'll never have a lonely moment. It's also useful if you're a low level and there's a high leveled character with you, you can both sort of share the experience, loot, etc. All in all i give this game an 8 because it reminds me of Ninety Nine Nights, which was somewhat good but lacked online co-op and customizable weapons/armors.

If you loved N3, you won't have too much of a problem with this game, the only difference is that you can't jump except with certain skills, but again. That's a good thing, Anyways if you love hack n' slash RPGs with on-line co-op, I'd recommend this game. If you aren't much a fan, then you might wanna search elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DONT NOT PLAY, RENT, OR BUY

posted by MDALLSTAR (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Dont even play if someone pays you, i played kingdom under fire for xbox and it was great, one of those hidden gems kind of games, so when people said this game sucks i couldnt believe it, i thought maybe thats just their opinion, and it would be great to a least me but i was wrong. I was terribly wrong. I played with the vampire guy and first off you have no armys to control like the first one, its just you and tons of wack monsters. it did have alot of different monsters like lizard warrior, lizard wizard, and lizard archer, and o i almost forgot to say that they come in red or blue lol , and every single boss was lame. weapons are repetative which i have never seen in a game, its the sames dam thing just stronger, and magic that is dam near impossible to get, and when you get it it's weak and only hit one of the 40 monsters you fight at a time........... Ive had gamefly for a while and i never wrote a review b4 but this needed to come out, if you get this you are a fool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hack n' Slahers heaven

posted by Aurkayne (MECHANIC FALLS, ME) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When you want a light RPG, with massive hack n slash, this is your game. The item drops are random and the maps are too. That may be annoying to some, exciting for others. I think of it as variety. It's fun to pick up when you want some mindless fun, but you can also engage your brain with the RPG elements. Not too complicated but very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game

posted by Amenjah (WEST HAVEN, CT) May 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will not say that this is the greatest game ever made, but I will say that it is a pretty good hack n slash game that I enjoy very much. It's a good game to pick up and play in spurts. For those who like these type of game should give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Do not be quick to judge.

posted by Agumon71 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

At first this game to me was a waste of time when I first started playing. I said to myself, wow what a waste of time. But after I began to lvl up and play online with 4 other people, my opinion changed. The Graphics are probably not as next gen as some may hope, but the graphics are still pretty good. The classic button-mashing hack and slash can get repetitive but it makes up by the very cool animations your character does as they attack. My suggestion to first time players, play as celine and you wont be dissappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ick! Someone rushed this through for sure!

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

17 out of 26 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

That is the only thing that I can think of after playing this game. There are some things that are nice and standard about it, but there are some flaws that should have prevented this from releasing until they were fixed.

Gameplay is the same as any Dynasty Warriors styled beat em up is; smash buttons and hack your way through spurts of enemies until you reach the end. The sad part is that most of those other games allow for combos of varying types. KuF:CoD has a simple press "x" button over and over and you get something like a combo.

The other issue is lag, not with enemies but in transition. I expect lag when lots of enemies are on the screen, but when I am walking across a brook and there isn't an enemy in site? That is not a good idea.

Inventory is simple, walk up to something that is dropped and press "y" to pick it up. This is another flaw that is guised as an attempt to be different, most of these games are fast and furious with the button mashing. Adding in another button to collect items that could have been used for a weaker or stronger attack was sort of pointless.

You can forge your own items as well in this game, just don't ask me what the benefit of it is. Yes, it gives an element of RPG, but it shouldn't exist at all.

Story is sort of empty and flawed, I certainly don't care about the characters and I am a hardcore KuF fan. That says something about how bad this game really is inside.

All in all, if you can get past the mindless button mashing and the flaws in the presentation, you might have something you can play for an hour or so to relieve stress or do something mindless indeed. If you are looking for something in depth or even something that sheds light on the current story arc, you might as well be asleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hack & Slash

posted by aDingo (CLAYTON, CA) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing Assassins Creed and Mass Effect, it was very painful trying to get through even the beginning of this game. The graphic are not very good, the story line is absent, the character management is horrible, and the fighting just ok. This game is definitely what Gamefly was created for. It allows this to be a rental instead of a $60 mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Such a let down...

posted by Project7 (STREETSBORO, OH) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

After watching many trailers and reading about this game, I ended up buying it. And I must say, I wish I hadn't.

This is one of the most linear, unexciting, story-lacking, poorly constructed game I have ever played. And I'm not exaggerating, although I wish I was. I wanted so badly for this game to be fun, that after my first evening playing it, I forced myself for the next 4 days to play it some more with hopes that it would eventually get better. The sad part is, I convinced my friends to rent it too so that we could play together.

I thought this would have ended up being the RPG online game that would pull me away from my Call of Duty 4 killing. But I ended up trading it in for store credit instead.

Since you aren't buying this and only renting it, I am not going to tell you what to do. But I will tell you this, once you get this game there is a high chance that you will be so bored that you seal it and mail it back within hours of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game needs work... badly

posted by Fullerg (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game feels like a gauntlet clone. Previews of this game did not accurately display what it was, probably because had they shown this husk of a game most people wouldn't have troubled themselves with it.

The most uninspiring part of this game is the story. A lot of what makes a game memorable is the story and the characters involved and this game simply fails on all fronts with that. I had no desire to press on in the game because I simply didn't care what happened. You don't even have to see what little there is of the story because you can just... not go to sleep and trudge on, slaying monster after monster, collecting random items. Sleeping is what presses the story as long as you actually talk to the NPC there. There is more depth of story in most Adult Films.

The graphics were fine. There were some lighting issues in the first area that bothered me. The camera is less than pleasing as well. You can control it but it jerks very badly if you move it while moving vertically (most specifically in the 3rd area running up staircases). Framerates dropped considerably in large fights, as one might suspect.

Controls are what hammer this game the second most. Trying to use the first person aiming is just terrible if you're moving at all. The left trigger goes into the first person targeting mode, the right analog stick moves your reticle, and the A or X button fire your ranged weapon. Not making the controls switch on the fly to the right trigger to fire was a great oversite. Basically its like an infant FPS (not that you do it a ton, but it still was aggravating for me). There is none of the following: block, dodge, varied combos. The only way you evade attacks is by the armor or accessories you wear that have a % chance to block a certain type of damage, of which there are a lot.

The alchemy system (Synthing) is confusing. Basically Orange and Blue potions for Weapons and Armor respectively is about all you need to know.

Bad game. Stay away at all costs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not amazing but worth a shot.

posted by littlefish (EASTPOINTE, MI) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Kingdom of fire is very unique in many ways, namely its weapon upgrade system. Anything can be synthesized with anything in this game creating all kinds of powerful weapons, unfortunately i didn't have the slightest effing clue as to how to USE this system. A how to guide on THAT should have been included in the very very brief completely unhelpful tutorial. There are a wide range of weapons and different kinds of characters to choose from so you get to try out all kinds of action, this is important because the battles are repetitive and lacking any real need for strategy. (You can do some strategy based on weapons and energy usage of magic and what not though). I didn't even beat this game, I was so bored by the end of the game i had no desire to. IT was fun and definitely worth a try, the reason i give this game a seven is due to it's originality and many storylines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by keefter (DAYTON, OH) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game.
Graphics good, scenario good.
Purpose of the game is a little confusing without a book.
If you play as the elf chick, WOW!! what a hottie.
I went thru it twice as 2 different characters. the bosses are hard, as should be but some of the baddies, (like the flesh men) are a little tedious.
All in all not bad but they could have made it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dynasty warriors meets Phantasy star?!

posted by safaa09 (DETROIT, MI) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Kingdom under fire: Circle of doom is features good gameplay, but does not pass well on the story. Get this game if you want to have a good time with 3 or less of your friends in Co-op, which is mainly one of the best parts of KUF:COD. Dont get me wrong, this game is good to rent, just dont think of yourself playing it again and again, even with the random generated maps everytime you play the levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cure for Insomnia

posted by Dacius1 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The anticipation and excitement my son and I shared when we heard about Kingdom under Fire making a third installment to their highly successful duo, was great. We closely followed the progress over the past year.

It is truly the most disappointed I have ever been with a sequel to a game. The switch from a RTS to a standard hack n slash (which I love a good ol'hack n slash) was managed so poorly that I question whether the developers are snickering on the fact that people actually bought this game. I have a few choice, rated PG, words I would like to share

Abysmal
Mundane
Lethargic
Chinese Water Torture (only faster)

If you are needing guaranteed cure for Insomnia. This game literally made me take a nap the first saturday afternoon I played it.

The only condolence I can give anyone is to take the money you would spend for this game and get the original two, which are both very well thought out games.

This game made me throw up a little in my mouth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

both that bad..

posted by shadow94 (KNOXVILLE, IL) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I personaly alway have love the kuf games and this is the weakest there nearly nothing the same the stratgey is all gone and for a couple hours i felt like sending it back then i started to play co-op and it gets a quite a bit better the graphics are ok, story barley there and it is repeditive but over all a good solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a rent and some time

posted by zoepop (Columbus, OH) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After reading all of the horrid reviews this poor game is getting I was totally biased when I started to play and I thought it sucked. But after putting a few more hours in and digging a bit deeper I am totally starting to dig it.

Its not a deep game, at all, not even almost a little bit. That is Ok though, I don't want deep out of it, I want mindless kick butt, kill everything in sight mayhem. It has that in spades.

Some of the decisions they made do not always make a whole lot of sense to me. The text being so small and difficult to read is a bit of a bother but it is something I can overlook. I also would have liked a better way to aquire skills than the current one. It is not a dreadful way to do it but it could have been done better. And the synth part of the game is pretty cool but very poorly explained in game.

I am not sure why people say its an ugly game, I have played much less pretty games on the 360 recently. And the combat takes a bit of getting used to but it has not been quite the one button wonder that everyone is saying. There is a bit of finesse and thought required to truly rock.

If you were excited about this game before it came out but have lost your enthusiasm from all the bad reviews then you should still rent it and give it at least a few hours to pull you in. Treat it like it was made, mindless fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game

posted by Bmoney1508 (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

great game if you want to relax and just have fun very repetative but that really does not get in the way even a button masher could play this game good story cool weapons and armor would have been dope if it was a free roam game oh well def would rent try it out --gamer tag "B MONEY 1508" HIT ME UP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Circle of Yawn

posted by Semyon (DALLAS, TX) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There's very little that can be said about a game whose depth is shallower than the original Diablo released a decade before it. This game was an absolute bore from start to finish and only the extremely RPG starved should suffer through it.

The Circle of Doom experience can be summed up thusly: Run forward mashing the X button. Every ten minutes or so you may have the option to go left or right. Choose a direction and resume mashing X. Game over.

The AI is abysmal at best and for the most part the enemies are content to stand idle and watch you commit mass genocide. Occasionally one might fling an arrow or take a swipe at you but you could play the game completely blind-folded without suffering much damage.

I'm told co-operative play redeems some of the boredom of this game but I can't frankly think of anyone I know who'd want to suffer through a game this boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by Chinxky (LINDENHURST, NY) Jan 12, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had believed that this game would be a Strategy game with RPG elements and what I got in the mail was a sub-par H&S. Waste of time, boring, and confusing. Don't try it, it indeed is a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse