Rent Kingdom Hearts for PS2
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.9

6127 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest Surprise Hit in Video Game History

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

69 out of 72 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When people first heard of the original Kingdom Hearts they thought "Oh God Square Enix. WHY!?" Thay's what I thought. Than I start reading reviews than I'm like "what the-". So I try it and WOW I can't believe I thought this game was dumb. It has a great story, alot of Disney and Final Fantasy characters, and it's just plain fun to play. You realy get the feel of the game and get into the story. It's a game that noone ever thought of doing and became one of the best RPGs ever. Please do yourself a favor and play his game before you die. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts

posted by SkelePen (MILLBROOK, AL) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First off,you'll be interested in this game only if you are fond of the RPG type,Final Fantasy designs,and Disney movies. I think that this is the most imaginative thing created,and they need to transfer it to the wii. I hope that Kingdom Hearts will grow as Final Fantasy did as it is in the X's. I absolutely love this game and keep them coming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game Rules

posted by Beambeam (BELINGTON, WV) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

OK im a normal 16 year old boy who enjoys a good game to pass by the time right and well i was searching through the world wide web for good games to play and kingdom hearts kept popping up and i was like no way man goofy donald in a final fantsy type game man its bound to suck I WAS WRONG o my god was i wrong this is the greatest game ever well ok maybe you have to play this game i mean its awesome and thats all that needs to be said awesome thats it awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I <3 it

posted by SlyCooper1 (FORT THOMAS, KY) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great for grown ups and kids. I love the Disney characters and their worlds. It is super fun with twists and turns. It is also full of looking for things and fighting but, don't worry parents there is no blood. It shows friendship, love, competiton, and action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game i Highly Advise Buying this Game

posted by SavageMonkey360 (CONCORD, CA) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was one of my Absolute favorite games as a kid. Combining both Final Fantasy and Disney you think it would be bad but it somehow works! Sora is one of my most favorite Characters in the Gaming world and he backs it up with being a total boss! Riku will always be cool and Mickey is a BEAST!!! Donald and Goofy may be annoying sometimes but allways buff up sora not Donal and Goofy because as long as you can destroy you'll be fine. Overall One of the Best Games that is out for the PS2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way to go Sora

posted by SoraSonic1 (IRVINGTON, NJ) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Amazing game. I loved it. I literally spent 13 hrs straight on the first day I rented it. I love the cutscenes and Hayley Joel Osment is superb as Sora. A unique fighting experience that doesn't get old. My opinion, the story is just amazing. Really makes you feel as sad as Sora does sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Collaboration

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The thought that mixing Final Fantasy with Disney would create a wonderful world of adventure would not have been dreamed if not for Kingdom Hearts.
Although the game is marketed to kids, I was able to get my fiancé and several friends hooked on video games due to this title. If you are a final fantasy junkie you will love the cameo appearances of beloved characters, battling Sephiroth for example. Kids will be enticed with the Disney characters and intriguing familiar Disney worlds that offer many secrets and familiarity. The true heart of the game is the story. It is a very sweet and intriguing story of friendship. It sends a good message, but anyone can get hooked in to this game by it. With the entire mix of story, Disney, Final Fantasy and game play this will be a title the entire family can get in to and love. A must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kingdom hearts review

posted by masterj (MOOREFIELD, WV) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Story:
You start out as a 14 year old boy named Sora, who lives on Destiny Islands with his 2 best friends, Kairi and Riku. They all dream of leaving the islands, wondering if there are other worlds out there, and if so, why are they stuck on this one. On a storming night, Sora gets separated from his friends and meets Donald Duck and Goofy, who explains that they are looking for their king. Later you will discover that your enemy is called the Heartless. Sora finds out that he is the keyblade master and together, they set out to find Riku, Kairi and the king.

Over all gameplay:
Now the over all gameplay is O.K. This is a "button smashing" game so you spend most of the time smashing the square button. The camera isn't the BEST but it is still pretty good, you might have a couple times in the game where you are stuck because you can't get the camera to do what you want.

Game Review:
So at first glance, your probley thinking that this is a kids game and that any game with Disney characters cant possibly be any fun, well, you are WRONG. Kingdom Hearts has, in my opinion, the BEST story ever. Some parts make you want to laugh/smile and some parts make you just want to cry.
Later in the game you will learn to use magic and fly the Gumi Ship. With the unique Gumi Ship options, you can customize your own ship and in order to get to the next world, you are required to fly between the worlds. You will have to shoot the heartless ships and dodge attacks.
Once you explore different worlds, you will discover Final Fantasy characters play an important part of the game, ranging from Cloud to Sephiroth.
Every world means different partners such as Jack Skellington from A Nightmare Before Christmas and Beast from The Beauty and the Beast.

My Opinion:
This is probley the best, or one of the best RPGs i have ever played. It will keep you busy for quite a long time with all the extra features the game offers, like bosses or minigame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LONG FUN AND ADDICTING

posted by sergio (LEBANON, NH) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game I was 7 years old. I understood it and thought that it was excellent. It had great action, great story, and great graphics. Well most games now have great graphics but Kingdom Hearts was great for its time. I never really liked the final fantasy games but this stratagy game was really different! I loved how they mixed up final fantasy with disney and a made up story. In the middle of that year 2002 all my friends had played the game and loved it. We would draw pictures and always pretend that we were characters from the game. Soon we wanted to make a movie of Kingdom Hearts. But now I am 11 and my friends and I had grown out of this nonsence of making a movie! I really hope KH is as great as everyone says it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply Amazing

posted by Joshua (SUNRISE, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great, but some graphical errors, it takes a huge amount of time to get through this game, but this game is just plain amazing, if anyone likes Square or Disney or both, I would say get it and play it. If you do NOT like Disney or Square, I would still say, go for it. Its an action packed game with excitement and a few spots where you just have to saw "Awww".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game

posted by JJ042362 (WEST HILLS, CA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the greatest game ever made. If you like video games you have to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Never Grows Old

posted by hoa2001 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think Kingdom Hearts will never grow old because it will be a one in a lifetime experience. I even bet people will play this until they're 30 and this is why. There's an awesome story to the game, major graphics, and a bunch skills, levels, and characters in the game. You guys will get to see bunch of stuff and see major Disney Worlds and Final Fantasy Characters. Kingdom Hearts will be awesome but you'll find out only if you play. And you guys REALLY NEED TO RENT THIS or you guys will be WASTING YOUR LIFE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than given credit for!

posted by RPGamer (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about this game, I thought Square had gone mad. Disney meets Final Fantasy!
But, Square proved me wrong. This one of Square`s best games ever. And for Square, that`s saying a lot.

STORY:
Sora, a 14 year old boy, lives on Destiny Islands with his friends Riku and Kairi. They dream of building a raft and leaving there island to explore distant worlds. But, when things don`t go as planned, the three are separated. Sora is, then, given a keyblade. He, then, meets up with Donald and Goofy who are searching for their king. Together, the trio set out on a journey.

GAMEPLAY:
This game`s gameplay is great because, it will please hardcore role players and people who are turned off by RPGs. It has an active time battle system which will be certain to please non-role players. And it still has all the RPG trademarks such as gaining levels, using magic skills, and more. So, there is everything necessary for role players to enjoy the game as well. However, there has been some complaints about the gummi ship levels which are levels you must do inbetween worlds. In these levels, you are in a spaceship and must dodge obstacles and also, destroy enemy ships. But, people will be able to live through these levels and besides, halfway through the game you receive the ability to warp to levels without doing the gummi missions over again. The camera in this game is not too great. It is often jumping around but, can be controlled with the L and R buttons. The camera can be bad but, the game will still be enjoyable.

LASTING APPEAL:
You probably won`t play through the game again but, it certainly lasts long enough because I beat after playing for sixty hours! Also, there is plenty of extras to do. (Mini games, tournaments, weapon upgrades, hidden bosses) Not to mention, one of the hidden bosses, Sephiroth, is one of the hardest bosses I have ever fought out of every game I have played.

I recommend buying this game to anyone, RPG fan or not!

Overall:9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts is Totally wicked

posted by shaggydog (WARETOWN, NJ) May 31, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is an unlikely success or its the biggest thing in generation of video games.lets talk about concept its one that raises a few eyebrows at first glance.A Fantasy Adventure with almost nothig but disney cartoon Character's.this is a game that succeeds in spite of its flaws. it
has a 3D camera that has to be seen to be beleived
plus the difficulty level titled well beyond what players are probably exspecting from a kids rpg game but what great designs are brought to life by brilliant modeling and animation and while theres plent of humor in evidence the subjected matter is often pitched at quite a serious level the graphics and evnviroment are great and filled with fun and fantasy.now lets get onto gameplay combat and adventure in this game is presented by lead character soras back at default. when locked on to the target or rotating set of semi automatic targets soft lock on that fixes soras attention on the nearest enemy the game isnt just a solo adventure sora has donald and goofy as well as a cast of other supporting characters to help him kick some butt.The combat ramps up nicely as the game goes one with the gradual addition of spells and character abilities that substantially alter the character of battles this game is just like a final fantasy game just with disney characters my rateing on this game is a 5 out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A jaw dropping experience

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Sep 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

How often do you think of someone combining the amazing ideas of Final Fantasy with the childish antics of Disney. Well I haven't but obviously Squaresoft did and the did it excellently. Kingdom Hearts put you as a young boy named Sora, An Eager boy who wants to go see other worlds with Riku, His long time buddy and thrill seeker, and Kairi a girl who once mysteriously came to this island not knowing where her past had lead her. After his world was swallowed up he soon embarks on a great adventure with Donald Duck and Goofy to search for his friends.
This game looks spectacular for its time and with interaction with many other disney characters and villains alike. With amazing likeness and the exact sound coming like straight out of the movies themselves. Also Utada is a great singer because the theme song is one of my most favorites of all time. Now on a negitive not the camera controls were a little bit of a hassle but it wasn't that bad and you were able to get used to it after a while.
Back on a positive slide the fighting gameface is excellently done because you actually had a lot of control with your attack and many different variety when it came to using you magical attacks. Another good thing is that someone is finally listening to me and making these games a lot longer then they should be. This game is a game that if you are not playing for several hours a day it will take you a little bit longer then everybody else.
With an ending that leaves you with many questions to ask and a lot of confusion that makes you anxious a lot of fans will not be able to wait for a sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts Review

posted by iAntiDark (IRVINE, CA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would have to say it was probably the best game I've ever been on before xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing, Magical, One to remember

posted by absolutkng (MIAMI, FL) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kingdom Hearts is truly one of a kind. Who would have ever imagined such an absurd combination of Disney and Square. I was a skeptic when I heard the news. I wasn't a fan of either Disney games or Square. But wow, when I popped KH into my ps2 I was speechless. Being a big fan of Disney movies growing up, this game let me revisit all my favorite movies. The creators left out no details, flawless game with an amazing storyline. Who ever wrote the script deserves every award out there for storytelling. If you have never played this game no matter what age, do it now. Go out and buy a ps2 or 3 and play this unforgettable game. Top ten best games of all time and the great part about it is that they are still adding to the story. I don't have to say much about the sequel because I'm sure if you play the first you'll be craving for the second and hopefully the third (which should be coming out in late 2011.) Don't miss out! It's just a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not As Good As 2nd

posted by PhilRulz (LYNBROOK, NY) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Its not as good as the second one but its really up there....its one of the best games of its time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kingdom hearts

posted by Fatboy21 (MENIFEE, CA) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was pretty good if you guys dont have it buy a.s.a.p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

KH is quite good: some strategy is needed

posted by doomlord12 (ARLINGTON, MA) Jan 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Kingdom Hearts is quite a fun game and there is a good amount of strategy involved, but the last few stages of the final boss were kind of wimpy. Most of the rest of the game was very entertaining, there were items and characters you could unlock and you were able to upgrade your abilities and stats. A few of the earlier bosses were pretty easy and some were annoying(mainly because you had to sit through the intro movies over and over again). But other than that the basic game was interesting. You had to figure out small puzzles while keeping yourself alive. Hope this helps. Doomlord12 over and out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but not as good as the second KH

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 18, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: its like your typical FF game. You can gain new moves ang magic spells but it doesn't really add anything really awsome like it does in KH2. Mostly you just gain things like.."draw", "jackpot", and whatnot, you dont really gain any new combos and teqniques like you do in KH2. You do get alot of magic spells though, so i guess if your more a fan of magic then KH1 would be a better choice than KH2, but if your more into the amount of combos you can pull of and how many different moves you can get, like i am, than KH2 is a better choice.
STORY: Im only about half way through KH1, but i think the strong point of the game is its story. I had beaten KH2 before KH1 so i wanted to see what led up to KH2, so the only real reason im playing KH1 is too see what leads up to KH2 so i can have a better picture of whats going on in KH2 ( even though i think i already knew without having to play KH1 from Ansem's secret reports). So the real strongpoint of KH1 is its story.
DESIGN & GRAPHICS: KH1 also has impressive graphics as does KH2. The environments are bigger than they are in KH2, but alittle more confusing.
OVERALL: A good game but not nearly as good as KH2 is.
RATING:7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kingdom Hearts.... BEST GAME EVER

posted by meister (TRENTON, NJ) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Kingdom Hearts is the best game ever tome. It has a compelling story mode, followed by stunning gameplay, graphics may not be "xbox 360/ps3" but everything else makes up for it. TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dull

posted by tunola (MONROE, LA) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The graphics and storyline were decent, but it was one of the most boring games I've played. Fighting is always the same, and there are so many long cutscenes (with no option to skip through). Very shallow and not very complex; I kept waiting for it to pick up the pace and get interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

great for big fans of bad camera angles

posted by Highlifeis (HILLIARD, OH) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 24 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is strange.
it tells you very little and then it puts you into a weird town then you have to go and get a bunch of supplies and things....battling in your sleep. it makes little to no sence from square one. to make things worse, the camera cant be changed unless you first go into 1st person view and then out, which is hard to deal with

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

terrible game

posted by splintcell (LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN, GA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 63 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

its really boring once u start to fight alot, like the same thing over and over, and when u have to build a raft its boring, i took it back the first day i got it and got really far in it and it stinks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse