Rent Kingdom Hearts Re:coded for DS
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts Re:coded

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

1497 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Re : Made

posted by GreenThumb (SUMMERFIELD, NC) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I have been looking forward to this Kingdom Hearts for a while. In some ways I was disappointed but I was actually surprised on how some of the game play changes were. One point you could be playing an original kingdom hearts style then changes to a side scroller. The story is the same as the first one but has pretty interesting things hidden within. The DS graphics did lower the expectations but that shouldn't bother anyone. If you haven't played the first KH you should wait before playing this game so you know the entire story. This was a great filler for the series. The hints for the third on can also be found in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unexpected Knockout

posted by Nova1229 (MORRIS, AL) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, for starters, if you have not played the original 2 Kingdom Hearts games on PlayStation 2, do so ASAP and this story will slide in there perfectly. I have only played those 2 games, Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days, and this one, and it, in my opinion, is not the best, but it does a great job. I am a huge Kingdom Hearts fan as well.
This story takes place after Kingdom Hearts 2, and does little with the original story, but the original is vital to understand this one. If you liked 358/2 Days, this is also enjoyable. It throws out the card system in the Chain of Memories version, (thank GOD) and sticks to a similar style used in the PlayStation 2 version. A is attack, X is Deck commands like magic, items, etc., B is used to jump, and so on. You are entered as a piece of data to solve a mysterious message in Jiminy's journal, and familiar faces and places are all in this game. You play as Sora, and he is as awesome as always, and they change it up in-game to keep it fresh by using 2D levels, a constant-moving shooter-type mode, a Final Fantasy turn-based mode, and the original free-roam mode. So it is very hard to get bored with this, plus even though I'm not a huge Final Fantasy fan, they have a stronger influence of Final Fantasy with the Stat Matrix, which you use to enter abilities and use cheats. It's like a puzzle system and you place chips like HP+2 to upgrade your character.
Plus, the story also throws an awesome twist in the story, and if you played 358/2 Days, you will recognize something...well, without ruining the game, familiar.
The only complaints I have about this game is that there are "data blox" scattered throughout the worlds you destroy, and it seems like a desperate part of a storyline, but it is accomplished well, and the worlds are almost exactly the same as they are in 358/2 Days.
It took me 24 hours of game time to beat the game and get about 75% of the items, so this is worth your time. Play this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded

posted by EasyReviewBoy (LEWISTOWN, MT) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I highly recommend that you play 1 and 2 first to avoid confusion. So if you have played previouse games then its basically the same old song and dance. Something happens and Sora has to fix the problem. While meeting characters along the way the challenge increases rather fast probably the biggest problem of this game. It has some good concepts though mainly the way you mix/match spells, level up your character and the plot in general. Without previouse knowledge of Kingdom Hearts this game may get a bit confusing. The worst aspect of this game is that it has an increadibly fast increasing difficulty. Some boss battles are really challenging if your ill prepared. I highly suggest saving up hi potions. Though they cost a lot of moneys its worth it. The most challenging fights were in the colloseum when you get to this part of the story you will get really challenged. i had a few freak outs it really began to really anger me. If you get this problem take a break and play in an hour it helps. For a DS game the graphics and game play is amazing. So if your looking for a good DS game this is highly recommended. Enjoy playing and Have a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different but good

posted by Whales (SELLERSVILLE, PA) May 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first put in the game and found all these boxes and going in to sectors to fix things, I thought "What the heck is this? This is going to suck." I almost sent it back right away. I decided to give it another try, got a little further and realized it wasn't bad. I just got to the Hercules level and decided I could write a review now.

I for one, like Sora's story better than the rest. Since Sora's in this game and it pretty much follows the two original (mostly first) games, that makes me really happy.

It gets a little repetitive but not to the point where you can't stand to play anymore. It's not a really long story where it takes forever to figure out whats going on either. I like knowing whats happening.

Overall, I liked the game more than I thought and more than when I first played it. I'd say give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its fun.....For a little bit

posted by babyeater9 (KEYSER, WV) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This entry in the kingdom hearts is the most dissapointing im a HUGE kingdom hearts fan but this game has no story whatsoever but then throw in 5 very familiar worlds and the same bosses and enemies from those worlds its pretty bland but the leveling system is fun as is the battles which come with a few(very few) tweaks but they cant save this game from boring story,level design, also by the 3rd world you will feel like its just the same thing over and over again the only world that had my intrest was hercules' world as the battles are turn based rpg style which was a fun change of pace but i cant even reccomend this to die hard fans as i am one and this game got boring quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

:)

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is so much to do in this game, it will have you playing for months, best NDS game so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good but over all bland addition.

posted by negimafan7 (VENICE, FL) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this game has beautiful graphics almost ps2 with almost no slow down and how square managed I don't know but they're great. Also the combat is flawless even more so than the original KH ,but what goes up must come down. The combat is a boring as heck, yes its system is flawless but they make you fight so much it becomes tedious. And trust me the story won't be saving this one, Its really just a fancy rehash as usual but aside from tedious gameplay and boring story its perfect. So if you're new to the series and want a good portable game buy Birth by sleep instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kindom Hearts Re: Coded

posted by Guardions (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I found the entire game alot of fun and almost a remake of the first game. Any kingdom hearts fan will find this game really interesting and somewat challenging. The Storyline graphics may be low but the gameplay sure makes up for it. Can't wait for number three!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kingdom hearts recoded

posted by ronta (PANTEGO, NC) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

it was the worst game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, wrong console.

posted by Laurynl (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I think this game has amazing potential, but it just doesn't work for the DS. The screen is just too small, and I hate that the dialogue is comic-book-like, with no animation. Put this on the PS Vita or something and I think it would be much better. I just can't handle the tiny screen!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different but fun

posted by Rashaadsama (APOPKA, FL) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Great game. I loved how they put in aspects from the first Kingdom Hearts and was trying to find all of the entries in the journal. My only problem with the game was the auto jumping and the difficulty with the camera angle while in combat or trying to get around to certain areas. The story was pretty good in my opinion it did answer some questions that someone could ask. Throughout the whole game though the only thing i hated was the random powerful enemy that would basically destroy you by debuffing you continuously so you were usually stuck running out of the room as fast as you can despite one hitting everything else in the area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's a playful world!

posted by Dreamybluesky7 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

Kingdom Hearts: Re Coded is a DS remake of the original coded exclusively on the cell phone in Japan. The game takes place after kingdom hearts 2 (only like a few hours after), King Mickey and all his friends find a message in Jimminy Cricket's journal, so they send Data Sora to get rid of the bugs in the journal and find out what the message means, the game doesn't really move the story in a different direction other than the secret ending. The graphics are very much like 358/2 Days, during gameplay you of course play as Data Sora and no-brainer travel through other disney worlds from KH1, sometimes in a world (mega man battle network like music will play) and data sora will have to track down a ¨back door¨ that leads you into the data world were you have tp get rid of the bugs, and I have a problem with this idea, now onto the music it's not the best music in the Kingdom Hearts series considering all of it is a DS remix of KH1 or recycled from KH Days. In q conclusion Kingdom Hearts has always been my favorite video game series, but this game was not the best compared to the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but made me mad fighting the boss

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

the boss fight in this game made me give it an 8 if it was like the ps2 play it would of been a 9 (i dont give game ten)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good and Hard

posted by ObsidianOwen (CAMBRIDGE, OH) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Very fun game the combat was very nice. The stroy is good. However its was very hard on some of the boss battles and it just got hard, after some of the easy levels.
Im kinda mad that I didnt rent it first. This is a good game to rent I wouldnt suggest buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best kindom hearts game ever

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is awsome because of the new attacks and good contrls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Square did it again.

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

I've played all but dream drop distance and 3, this is a pretty good game. This is sorta of a re run of the first kingdom hearts game. Well buy the game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kingdom hearts re coded

posted by pauljr8 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbest game ever it super cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kingdom hearts is cool

posted by 254kerkpop (KENNEDALE, TX) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

It was a little disapointing in the graphics department but the gameplay was nice, i was glad it wasnt using cards this time, in a way it was like kingdom hearts 358/2 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

KingDom Hearts Re;coded Review

posted by atmcalpin13 (MARTINSVILLE, IN) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game was Good but it did have some problems. One was cause of their lack of cutscenes which would have made the game more Exciting.And another was that also had problems with lack of levels and was not much fun. but once you completed a world and later in the game you can go back to other old worlds where you can do quests , Replay Episodes , and do boss fights again.well that is pretty much what ihave to say. the game was still good i think it could have had a little more extras like extra worlds or replay stories from previous games.i give this a 7- Good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kingdom hearts recoded

posted by superdude264 (PRINCETON, WV) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well look what what we have here. A game to stall us till the next. Kingdom hearts recoded is a very shallow game with shallow gameplay to match. It basicly takes all the good things about the other games and flushes it down the toilet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucks

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

its the worst not even worth the time it takes to getto you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SMH!

posted by Lackofbrains500 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I thought that the game was going 2 be really cool but it really wasnt at all. The camera view sucked, there for not helping any in battle, and speaking of battle, the game wants you 2 fight litterelly a million enemies at once but unlike the other kingdom hearts games, you dont have any support characters 2 aid you in battle which makes it difficult to progress through. It could have been way better in my opinion. 358/2 days should have been the game disigners main influence when making the game. I hope that the next game is better. I rate the game 3/10. The only cool thing about the game is that the cut scenes were voice acted and the skill lvl up upgrading system chips were...interesting, but odd. 358/2 days system was way better and more efficient.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by wero890 (MICANOPY, FL) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

im a big fan of KH and this is a great game but i would much rather they made for a differint system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kingdom Hearts Re-Hashed

posted by Annuniel (CENTREVILLE, VA) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I started this game with high hopes and it actually managed to satisfy them... for a little while. But the game quickly became frustrating to the point where I ripped it out of the system, forced it back into its sleeve, and shoved it into the nearest mailbox. I really wanted to like this game and I truly thought I would.

Story: 4
The story starts out with a mystery that you're supposed to solve. Jiminy's journal has somehow been corrupted by bugs. The entire point of the game is to replay most of the levels of the first game while fixing the data within. They actually do a good job keeping it interesting, but it grew boring quickly. Why? Well, they present you with the same six worlds that you play through multiple times. You go through it once, then again, and then again. It felt like you were just going in circles and nothing was changing.

Character: 2
I suppose I shouldn't judge the characters too harshly, they were after all, just computer programs. Sadly, they acted like it. The characters added nothing to the game and Sora was just reiterating all that was said in the first KH. Dull, dull and more dull.

Game Play: 4
The battles were nothing new if you've played a KH game before. Even with the added special skills, battles involved mashing the A button and occasionally pressing X. The worst part about the game play was the camera, which was awkward and frustrating. There were a number of levels that felt claustrophobic as well. Even the interesting leveling system couldn't save the game play from the frustrating camera angles that prevented you from making it to the next platform before the one you were on disappeared.

Sound: 7
I don't remember anything new that was added to the soundtrack and the voice acting was good. So the sound quality gets a decent rating, only really knocked down because it wasn't anything new.

Graphics: 7
I didn't expect much from a DS game, but I'd hoped for something a bit more pleasing. Still, it was an average looking game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KH game for the DS done right

posted by darkwolf99 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

This was definetly a rather good Kingdom hearts game. the story was a bit ok very stumping at first, but it explained its self. I liked how that most of the endings of the worlds were like a mini game instead of a boss battle so that made it fun instead a normal and tedious boss battle. the level up system reminded me too much of the one in 365/2 and was rather boring. Overall I'd give this game a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse