Rent Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix for PS3
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
8.3

772 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts Ultimate Collection

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a HUGE Kingdom Hearts fan , I would absolutely recommend this awesome collection to any KH fan or even Final Fantasy fan. This collection pieces the storyline really well and gives you information on missing key parts to the story through the 358/2 Days cut scenes. I really love that the Final Mix version of the first game is on here, cause i never got a chance to play it as it was only available in Japan, it gives us more bonus and extra stuff and thats's never a bad thing. This collection is so good to me that i'ts making me excited and really want the 2.5 Remix so that i have the whole entire story. I have so much to say about this game but i'll leave all the gamers with 3 words.... Buy This Game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent: Most Defiantly G.O.T.Y.

posted by StormDragon85 (EVANT, TX) Sep 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game day one, because I loved the series.
But, this game takes the original to a whole new level. The graphics are TEN times better, or maybe it was just my old tv, not sure. Anyhow, I just beat the game last night, but going to do it all over again tonight, can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definite GOTY

posted by PhiloticAlien (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Sep 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It is by far the best game I have ever played. This absolutely drowns anyone who has played the original with nostalgia. This is my #1 vote for GOTY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love the game, but where is the HD?

posted by Dterzic (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Kingdom Hearts has been in my top 2 favorite video game franchises since I played the first one. The HD improvements to this game however are very minimal. Granted, I've only played KH1 in this not the 2 sequels included, but it looks almost the same as on the PS2. It does give me an excuse to play it again and I never played either of the other two games included on the disc so that's a major plus. I would just rather have them drop the HD from the title as it's kind of misleading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is awsome if youve played the original versio

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

ive been waiting for either psn or they would do a remake for ps3 i loved the ps2 versions and i love these just as much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hcm2014

posted by Hcm2014 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Awesome Game can't wait for kingdom hearts 111 counting down the done days down til its realese also hope they release it for ps3 version as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by kenny_13 (ROCKLEDGE, FL) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

we need the old version....this one is lame and too difficult! Graphics are okay but you're always trying to change the camera angle around so you never actually get to see them! The ps2 version was better!- in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great niche game

posted by shoknawe (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Simply put, Kingdom Hearts is not a game for players who are not inner-child fans of disney, can't stand naive characters, not fans of 'comic-mischief and colorful violence'.

For a player who can embrace their bug-squashing kid at heart, Kingdom Hearts is everything you could hope for in a video game.

Gameplay -
The combat is simple and intuitive but still provides enough depth for someone who likes to string combos together to get a kick out of trying to master the 'tech' moves.
Item hoarding is at the core of every (j)RPG and Kingdom Hearts does not let you down. With secret items, different items for different situations and the synthesis shop, you wont run out of items to find and play with all the way till you beat the game!
The skills are also simple and intuitive but have enough depth in them to give you choices and actually allow for a few different 'builds'. Granted you are primarily forced into a warrior, mage or tank role, you can change up enough skills and equipable items to make your characters path not strictly dictate the path you want to play as.

Story -
'A hero's journey' at heart, Kingdom Hearts does its best storytelling the way all Disney movies to theirs, through character dialogues and monologues that are very childish, but when you think about the fact that the game is targeted towards kids, is that such a bad thing? The key thing to take away is that the story conveys good lessons to the player about friendship, sacrifice, and how to embrace changes in life.

Graphics -
It's an HD remaster of a PS2 game, so the graphics can only go so far, but for their time and era, they are very splendid. The game has brilliant art direction and the colorful nature of the game world reminds me of why I loved Squaresoft games from PS1. No matter how many people try to say that the game is too kiddy and colorful, they simply can't ignore that the Final Fantasy precursor kin, were for the most part, just as colorful and kiddy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As good as my memories

posted by Chase616 (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) May 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Great game. Graphics have been successfully updated, everything looks wonderful. Camera is a little funny sometimes but you make it work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game

posted by P3P3_8P (SALEM, OR) May 12, 2014

Member since May 2014

it brings back old memories when I play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic remaster

posted by venom1581 (EVA, AL) May 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2006

Having first played this game in 2003 when i was just 9 years old, I didn't know it would become a big franchise like it has today. Since SE lost all the data and pratically had to build this remaster from the groud up, I gotta hand it to em. They know how to make it work. The music is just as crisp and fun as it was, and the worlds and voice acting are still amazing.

Great remaster!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kingdom hearts

posted by jenny60 (MAYFIELD, KY) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

it is a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

3 in 1 game

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

first we have rechain of memories which i have always liked.

second we have the first kingdom hearts game on the ps2

third we have the ds kingdom hearts game 358/2 days

the games i played most were the rechain of memories ones the others were not that great i wish the kingdom hearts 2 and birth by sleep were on this disc instead of the first kingdom hearts and ds one.

not worth the rent sorta but decent remakes. i am gonna rent this again however for rechain of memories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

camera

posted by camera123 (CAMERON, NC) Feb 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The reason most of you are having trouble is because you are choosing manual and ps2 didn't have that option. It was set on auto automatically so do not choose manual and you will like the camera views better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgia overload + Lots of playtime

posted by Seagoblin (Kutztown, PA) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I remember originally getting Kingdom Hearts back when I was in 5th grade. Now I'm a 21 year old male and LOVED replaying this game. Not only that, but I got to play chain of memories as well, which I had never done. This single disc, if you count the Riku storyline in CoM as a separate game, is essentially FOUR games in one. And I love the Kingdom Hearts storyline. Other than it being a little bit cornier than I remember, this game is as much fun now as it was 10 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very fun

posted by ocdgamer (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

Just overall not a very fun game. The camera is not good and makes it hard to target enemies. Your party members stink in battle. And the story line is not good enough to keep you interested and fight through the short comings. Give it a shot if you want maybe you will like it but as someone said before me it's probably better for little kids because the only thing good in this game is if you get excited seeing the disney characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better for young kids

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Dec 21, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The game got rather frustrating because you could only follow a set path all the time. Great game for kids that love Disney movies and characters but if you want to play a good game that's kinda like this I would stick to the Final Fantasy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty and Busted

posted by IndigoAK (FAIRBANKS, AK) Dec 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Kingdom Hearts has not aged well. Its gameplay mechanics are the product of the era of its original release, when the PlayStation 2 was king and Japanese role-playing games were popular enough that said mechanics got a little more of a pass. As for those aged mechanics? The camera is rigid and barely functional; you'll find yourself fighting with it almost as much as your enemies, especially in close quarters. The camera causes issues with basic movement, wherein you'll often find yourself falling off of platforms or losing sight of enemies due to it simply refusing to cooperate. This can also make combat a chore since enemies will often get in free attacks while you struggle to coerce the camera in the right direction.

The only things Kingdom Hearts has going for it are the charms of its characters and the visual flair that seems to be the only thing that improved with the HD update. Both Disney and Final Fantasy characters alike will easily endear themselves if you manage to stick out the entire game and each world they inhabit is brought to life so vividly that visually, this HD treatment of Kingdom Hearts outstrips many of its current generation peers.

Recommend for those who played the original PlayStation 2 release or are truly dying to experience what they somehow missed out on the first time around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Camera Ruined It For Me :(

posted by HarleysBatman (POMONA, CA) Dec 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

I am doing this review entirely based on the PS3 version and not the original game itself, which was released on the PS2 originally. Now the thing about the PS3 version is that, for me, it's impossible to play without out having to stop to fix the camera every 5 seconds! I don't remember having this problem on the PS2 version. It's not that I do not like the game; I actually love the game and had gotten quite far on it on the PS2 version but the camera ruins the fun for me. I do not have fun playing because half the time I am fixing the camera; having to slow down and fix the camera or getting beat up by Heartless because of the horrible camera view. I was so excited to play this title and now I am glad I didn't buy it on impulse. Like I said, I actually like the game; so maybe I'll try to play once more before I send it back...

PS3: 5 out of 10

PS2: 8 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »