Rent Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep for PSP Games
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
8.4

2384 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Birth by sleep was worth the wait!

posted by iKnowGames (DALY CITY, CA) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

43 out of 46 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I recently got the game early and had fun every bit of the way. I don't want to go into depth of story due to the fact that not alot of people like spoilers. However here are some of the pros and cons of the game.

Pros:
-The best combat system to date.
-The boss battles are still the highlight of the game.
-Great Graphics for the PSP.
-Alot of replay value. 3 Full Campaigns and more enjoyable mini games. It's replay value is great for the buck.
-Good story as usual.
-SUPER FUN

Cons:
-Very very linear however if you're a kingdom hearts fan you're used to this and just interested in the battles.
-The camera is just as bad as the first game.
-The lock on command is very flawed.
-REALLY long load times

Overall it's a GREAT game. Each campaign will run you around 8-9 hours and you'll have tons of stuff to do in mini games, and finding all those reports(Which leads to a secret boss, just sayin).

However considering it has some of the same problems from the first game and its long load times will lower the score of the game by a bit, but it's still an overall great game. It's very fun and it's a great value for your money.

A must get for any kingdom hearts fans out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Fantastic PSP Game

posted by wytebud (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

38 out of 41 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I just bought this game. I've only bought a few PSP games but this one ROCKS! I never really liked playing as Sora. Now you get 3 different characters to choose from. The game play is better, I thought, than that of the PS2. On the highest difficulty level I am having such a blast. It's funny because I'm 21 and this is my favorite game right now (over Madden 11 and Mafia on the PS3)
The story is great, and I like that on Very Hard - boss fights are a good challenge. This is probably the best game out there graphically for the PSP as well. Some new features but still a lot of mashing the X button and pressing Triangle every now and again. I'm really glad they didn't go to far in re-vamping the battle system.
The online features are great. If you have friends that have this game, make sure to try it out. I especially like that it Ad-Hocs. I have always liked how a character will show up on a level and I get super excited. Because it's somebody I recognize and they always manage to incorporate everybody from Disney to Final Fantasy characters very well.
In closing this game is a 10/10 MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best game i have played in a long time

posted by khbbs124 (MANASSAS, VA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was so much fun. the only thing i hate, is that is it sooo slow. I installed it, and it still took forever to load...in mid battle, you would charge up and sometimes itd take 10-15 seconds to resume the battle. Multiplayer was fun though! Me and my friend linked up every day and finally got to level 30 in arena mode (took a while, but fun!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST MUST BUY KINGDOM HEARTS FANS WILL LOVE IT

posted by zelda1300 (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

i am a big fan of kingdom hearts and this game is great the new battle system is good it has some thing for every one in get the boss fights are great you all so get a lot of back story i have to say this is the only psp game i have got this year and it is the only psp game you will need i love the 3 storys you can play this game gets a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Sep 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a great tribute to the Kingdom Hearts series. You don't just get to play is one, not even two, but three different characters known as Terra, Ventus, and Aqua each coming with their own unique abillities and own story modes.

First of all, the graphics are incredible. The music is as great as it's always been. Combat is very fun. Moves that took magic before (fire, blizzard, thunder) now only take time to regenerate. Now, there's a new move that lets you paint targets over your opponent (think Red Dead Redemption) and do an ultimate destructive move.New mini games in a place known as disney town are a great new addition, including racing (yes, you get cars that come from your keyblade), an ice cream launcher game that requires you to keep the beat, and Fruit ball, an ultimate version of volleyball against the new enemies known as the Unversed. Plus, being able to merge two abillities togethter to create a new and more powerfull one is very usefull.

Unfortunately, there is constant loading, that will take a good thirty seconds while playing the game for the first time. It stops after a while, but it's still a nuisance. And, all areas are divided into three parts, a story mode for each character, but that makes them incredibly small. And the cool armor that the three characters wear will only be used once in the game. Flying enemies are very annoying. The new targeting move is practically useless against a fast moving enemy, as you won't land a single blow, and even though racing is a fun new feature, the controls strain your thumb.

Luckily, the story clears everything up. It tells you what the connection between this Xeanort and the one in Kingdom Hearts 2 is as well as why Riku can weild a keyblade. It also explains why Kairi is a princess of light and why Pete is working for Maleficient. And, it also explains why Ventus and Roxas look identical.

Overall, the game is amazing and very fun. All the characters are fun to play as. Play it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome.

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a must-have for Final Fantasy, Disney, and/or Kingdom Hearts fans. I bought the PSP Entertainment Pack at Gamestop, and let me tell you, there is N-O malfuction. There may be a rumor, but it's not true. Anyway, I was blown away by the graphics, music, and storyline. The ideal prequel is this game. I just love it.

Good: Graphics+3; Storyline+5; Music+2

Bottom Line: A beautiful game, with nothing bad. A buy, not rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best!

posted by AquaRox (DEXTER, MI) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What I love about this game is how it fits with the first and second kingdom hearts games. I have been waiting forever for this game and pre-orderd it and played it all day the day it came out. The controls are like the PS2 and I am one of the people who love the button smashing fight style where you press X rapidly to keep fighting. The commands are cool looking and the story is interesting and I want to keep playing. It isn't repetitive like 358/2 days and I was hard enough from me to not get mad but just want to spend time at the mirage arena to level up.If you like kingdom hearts you have to get Birth By Sleep, it is one of the best things I have ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth the wait.

posted by JelloKing (CUDAHY, WI) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was hard to put down from start to finish. The game's combat is a great combination of all the previous games. And just like previous installments the "Secret Ending" will keep you wanting more. The fact that this was a prequel made me excited to learn about the past of the games I loved so much. With that being said, it is a great starting point for those who have never picked up a Kingdom Hearts game. Even though its not on a major console, this game delivered great gameplay and my much needed Kingdom Hearts fix until this next title comes along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep=Epic

posted by Chris2215 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow kingdom hearts birth by sleep is a amazing game it has a great story line awsome characters i loved playing as sora but now we get to play as 3 character's it makes the game even more fun and more longer. if everyone got this game im 100% sure they'll love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Begining

posted by Ultimate9 (MILTON, DE) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The KH series is a long deep story about light vs. darkness and about friendships being tested to the limits. This new instalment explains the begining of the four game struggle through classic Disney worlds battling the forces of darkness. This game involves three protaginist; Terra, Ventus, and Aqua, they like all the protaginists of this series travel through classic Disney worlds. The worlds are better and you get to visit parts of worlds that you haven't yet seen and new worlds entirley. This story is the prolouge to the sreies we KH fans have come to love. The three characters of the game are precursors to the characters we know; Terra=Riku, Ventus=Sora, and Aqua=Kairi. These three must fight a new enemy known as the unversed and the evil person who controls them, and his master. You will spend 11-15 hours to beat each story and personal advice is to level up your character and their skills. Now then if you want to know more for those of you who haven't given this masterpiece a try you'll have to go out and buy or rent it.
I will tell you this there is one closing fill in character that to unlock you must collect all of Xehonarts Reports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kingdom Hearts Series makes a strong debut on PSP

posted by cottleb (ELLINGTON, CT) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For fans of the series (like myself) Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep is a game the fans have been waiting for since the release of Kingdom Hearts II and even more so after that oh so tantalizing secret trailer form Kingdom Hearts II: Final Mix+.

Birth By Sleep combines the positives of the classic console versions while adding the more in depth command systems of the hand held games like Days, Chain of Memories, etc. You can still smash that X button but now there's a little bit of strategy created by all the command melding and synthesis used to create the Triangle commands.

The story of Birth By Sleep is well done, if a bit slow due to the splitting into three parts. Terra, Aqua, Ventus, Eraqus and more are all interesting, albeit a bit confusing as you're dropped into the game without a real explanation of who the trio are, or who their master is. They're students, hes the master. We don't seem to know much about their backgrounds. But I'm sure Square-Enix will tell us all about it in at least 3 more spin offs of the spin off.

Overall, BBS is a great game, but falls just short of a 10 rating for me for it's awkward camera controls, and slight story flaws. It's definately a must buy for any Kingdom Hearts fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kingdom hearts: birth by sleep

posted by jbry22 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought kingdom hearts: birth by sleep was a really good game but, the story line was hard to follow. The graphics were really good but, it's a little bit hard to remember what you have to find in some levels like the cinderreala level but other then that the game was really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for the most part...

posted by coffeecat (FORT HOOD, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only negative I can find is that there is a ton of load time between playing. I would much rather have more playing time instead of the tons of black screens and mini movies.
If you are a fairly patient person than I would highly recommend this game...If you're like me and have a more impatient personality then I would skip this game altogether.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wish there was a ps3 version

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is very good but I found myself always loseing reguardless of difficulty because of the controls. PLEASE make a system version!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOMENESS

posted by jtn1231 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS PURE EPIC ALL THE WAY.
FILLED WITH AWSOME SAUSE TO THE MAX.
GET IT QUICKLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not an RPG

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is only for hardcore fans of the series. If you are unfamiliar with Kingdom Hearts and begin playing this almost the entire game is filled with its own jargon. Characters often cite terminology that makes no sense, the story becomes a mess.

This isn't really an RPG at all. This is an action game with stat based progression. You make zero choices that affect the story. Your essentially watching a character travel through a TERRIBLE story in an entirely too boring universe.

None of the characters are all that interesting and none of them have any real motivations for anything they do other than "I don't want to be evil." Why not? Why can't we be evil, why couldn't we as players go through the disney worlds and mess them all up? This is the problem of the game, its entirely too linear with its choices and where to go. There is no freedom of choice other than "If I don't go there, then I can't beat the game."

I said this game is for fans and that's it. This is the same average trash that square puts out all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by tacticsofficer (TEMPLE TERRACE, FL) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This game is well worth the play. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I'll admit I did not get to play the last portion of the game as my PSP card reader stopped working. However, it is an amazing experience and one of the best Kingdom Hearts games I've played.
I love the feel of a Kingdom Hearts game. Lots of imagination. The characters are so well developed and you really feel for each one in your own way.
Some of you may read the summary, so you probably may know quite a bit on the storyline, so I won't need to cover too much of that for you.
Guys, if you're here on gamefly to try games you like, this is one I really recommend.
The gameplay is very impressive. There are three characters you get to play as: Ventus, Terra, and Aqua.
Each has their own abilities and strengths.
I'll tell you that, for those familiar with combining keyblade techniques, either physical or magical, the way they did it here was great. There are also abilities you can gain when you combine techniques besides just reloading speed and the usual.
For those of you wondering, this is the first game in the series, chronologically.
Can you play it and fit in with the storyline if you've already played ahead? Yep.
I know some of you may be like, "of course, it's the first game."
True enough.
It's pretty easy to get along with, and like any other KH game there's an adjust period where you adjust to the new abilities and differences.
It's all a very new experience, full of great new relations to the world.
You probably will notice some characters you know along the way. However, realize this is before KH1 so this is several years before Sora and Riku are grown up a bit.
For anyone wondering, to give a glimpse into the game here (not spoilers), Terra is your guy similar to Riku in the darkness way. However, he isn't as dark. Aqua is the opposite. Ventus, well, he's his own man.
Well, I'll close up guys by saying try it for yourselves. It's totally worth it.
Enjoy all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother

posted by Kemix1006 (HUBBARD, OR) Apr 24, 2013

Member since May 2012

Seriously. Don't bother. The cutscenes barely load and all you get is loading screens between all that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Um...Gamefly?

posted by Joker4479 (SALEM, IL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'd seriously LOVE to play this game. I'm a HUGE Kingdom Hearts fan.
But I got this game and surprise surprise Gamefly.
IT DOESN'T WORK.
I picked it up and the plastic cover of the game literally fell apart.
You sending me an e-mail saying you guys personally check the games before shipment is BS.
Look.
Tell the monkies to quit shipping your games into space before delivery okay?
The game ?/10
Gamefly 1/10
Also, PLEASE for the love of Darkness, get some better games on your Unlimited PC Play.
And the good ones...
PLEASE MAKE SURE THEY WORK.
I've gotten several errors because files were missing from your downloads. -_-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game minor problem

posted by KyoSeraph (LITTLETON, CO) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was great when I played it the first time and when I didn't get to finish it I rented it from Gamefly when I got it the game played through the beginning intro but then when it tried to get passed the main screen it didn't play passed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Game/The Disk

posted by Ch_kay_ir (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I like this game and I'm very sure I'd LOVE it if the disk actually WORKED!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best KH Handheld Out There!

posted by FanBoy101 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Out of all the Kingdom Hearts handhelds out there, this is perhaps the BEST! The gameplay is so addicting that you'd be playing until the battery runs low, the story is intriguing and easy to follow, and voice acting is great! If you're a Kingdom Hearts fan or a gamer who loves action/adventure, this is definitely the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

game review for one the best games every.

posted by immit (WILLINGBORO, NJ) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game was alright i like the graphics and the new charters it like kingdom hearts 1 so whoever is a kingdom hearts fan should give this game a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i like this game

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it fun and easy but not too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun and has a good ez mode

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

it was good all around but I never did like the meld system fun and had an ez mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse