Rent Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance for 3DS
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

867 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One Of The Better Kingdom Hearts Games

posted by Ninjanomyx (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Just to get it out of the way, I am a big Kingdom Hearts fan. I've at least tried out every single game in the series, and I can assure you this isnt one to pass up. Going into this game, I had pretty low expectations. The other two Kingdom Hearts games on a Nintendo handheld were pretty lackluster. They conveluded the story even more and in total were both just messes, but that's another review. One the subject of KH:3D, its a very good game. The story is fairly simple. (can't beleive I just said that.) Sora and Riku are going through the Mark of Mastery Exam in order to become true Keyblade Masters. In order to complete this large quest, our hereos must awaken seven sleeping worlds from Dream Eaters, this games main enemies. Now because Donald and Goofy aren't here to help you, you have good Dream Eaters known as spirits to help you. Now here comes big change number 1, the Spirits. This in my opinion is a high point in this game. It adds a lot customizible features to an already good game. There are tons of spirits to choose from and you can have a different experience each time you play. My favorites are Lord Kyroo and Aura Lion. You can also feed spirits to raise their stats, play with them to give them experience and Link Points, ( Which I'll talk about in a second) and even change their color. These spirits arent only allies in battle, they're gateways to new abilities. Yeah you can play with your spirit's attacks and stats, but a feature called the Ability Link can change Sora and Riku's attacks and stats. The more Link Points a spirit has, the more attacks and spells your character can have. For example, my Yoggy Ram (A spirit in the game) gave me the attack Fire Windmill and the spell Firaga. Big change number 2 is the Drop function in the game. In order to play as both Sora and Riku, theres a drop meter that'll cut you loose. It'll take a bit of getting used to, but its a fun addition in the end. In a nutshell, this game is worth picking up, take my word!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

They did it again.

posted by MCstorm (NEW CITY, NY) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

KH 3DS is truly a magnificent game. Not only does it answer many unanswered questions it further develops the story without making it confusing. One review here states that the story is cluttered I'm here to say it isn't. If you pay attention you won't be confused in the least. The new game elements such as Flow motion are a very nice touch. They also manged to fix the speed problem since both Riku and Sora run like they're lives depend on it. However they did add some new features that prove to be more annoying then anything else. The main one being the Drop feature. You have a Drop gauge when time runs out you Drop into the other character. I have Droped while I was near the end of a Boss fight , and was greatly annoyed. Another annoying feature are the Spirits. The act as Donald and goofy in this game , but aren't really helpful until later when you get the stronger ones. Unlike BBS in this game you cannot meld commands together rather you get them by training your Sprites. Witch takes an incredible amount of time. There is also another kind of Drop where you drop into other worlds. This is a lot of fun its basically like a vertical gummi ship ride. The graphics are astonishing for a hand held system especially in the opening credits. Also if You have never played a KH game before I recommend this one. Throughout the game you get glossary entries of each game giving a brief summary of what happened in the prior games. Another thing that is annoying is the key blades. While in the past most looked epic I can only say that about a select few in this game. Most of my complaints are just being a little nit picky.
Overall: Story 10/10 ,Graphics 10/10, Game-play 8/10, Music 10/10,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Wasn't a Kingdom Hearts Fan Before this

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I played the original Kingdom Hearts on PS2 when it was first released. I was too young back then to appreciate a really good game apparently because I thought it was mediocre and way over-hyped. When I seen that this game held a 9.7 on Gamefly a day before it was even released I thought to myself "pfft, Kingdom Hearts fanboys are giving this a 10/10 before even playing it." I try to rent all of the major games that are released on the consoles and handhelds that I got, so of course I wasn't going to pass up one of the most anticipated 3DS titles of 2012. I'm glad I didn't because it completely changed my mind about the series. I remember the gameplay of the original just being a bunch of hitting enemies with a giant key. It got repetitive, fast. Either I was horrible at the game ten years ago or Square Enix has really stepped up their game, because I really enjoyed the combat in this game. There's a lot to do aside from that like create and take care of Pokemon-like creatures called "Dream Eaters." The NintenDogs-esque handling of taking care of these creatures was actually pretty fun, so much that I hope they add a element like this to the next Pokemon game. The graphics are great for a handheld but the story is still kind of convoluted. t reminded me of a children's version of the movie Inception. That's not really a bad thing, but it definitely assumes you've played the older games and have them fresh in your memory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts 3D

posted by temarifangirl12 (SUMNER, WA) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The best game ever!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

its a little short but its a all in all awesome game with not just playing 1 character but 2 plus with the new movements i really enjoyed getting the hang of the new style but its still hard to master

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3ds game out there right now

posted by halo2525 (EUGENE, OR) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this game for 5 day's now and i can say that this is the i have wanted to play seen's the ending of kingdom hearts 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

New worlds, same nonsensical story

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 25 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of the original Kingdom Hearts. It was a perfect blend of Disney and Final Fantasy. The story at that time also made sense. Ever since the original game, the story has become more and more cluttered and confusing. This is the 7th entry into the Kingdom Hearts series, and it introduces some new Disney worlds, some new characters and some new gameplay elements (like Spirit pets), but the story is still a complete mess. I hope you have the extra 2nd analog circle pad, because the default camera is worthless. If you really like the KH series, go ahead and rent it, but most of us are better off waiting for Kingdom Hearts 3 and hopefully by then the story will make some sense. Wrap up: Graphics 7/10, Sound 9/10, Gameplay 5/10, Story 3/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by bigdaddy100 (MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

very fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

New worlds, same look and feel

posted by Zamson (HARKER HEIGHTS, TX) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game still has the same look and feel to it nothing truly changed it feels like its the same thing as all the other kingdom hearts games all they did was put in new worlds and remade the story it didn't have much of an update as you would think a a game made in 2012 would have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

flawless

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

white boys with giant shoes and chains on their clothes doing acrobatic ninja moves in Disney movie-themed worlds... IN 3D!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Kingdom Hearts

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The graphics are great, the Disney cameos are pretty awesome, and the familiar and new features make for one great bridge title. Don't be fooled, this isn't Kingdom Hearts III, it's merely the bridge between II and III, taking place in worlds that are either lost worlds in a dream state or a dream version of some familiar worlds already saved by Sora previously. The use of Dream Eaters is awesome, it adds a bit of a Pokemon element to the game, which is really awesome. I don't know what else to say about this one except that it's worth playing if you're a Kingdom Hearts fan, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just awesome

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

love everything about ths game if u know the history of the game n play it all u will want it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Key to the Kingdom

posted by riku2112 (LAGRANGE, GA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

In my opinion, this is about, um, 9999999999x better than 358/2 Days. Being able to play as Sora and Riku is a very good addition. The battle system is very fluid with many special magic attacks. The enemy variation is much better than Heartless. That brings me to Spirits. They're the best part. I've spent 9 hrs working with them, making them, and linking their abilities. The only flaw is it's too short. Long story short: AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dream Drop

posted by HAZ3L_3Y3Z_21 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I loved this game. I only used the 3D for the story scenes. I loved the part where you can make spirits.. this is the first time I've played kingdom hearts so that might not be new to anyone else lol. I don't really have anything negative to say about the game. I was hooked and got pretty close to the end before i lost interest... because i found another game i want to try out and I'll just re-rent dream drop when i want to finish it. ENJOY! (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OH YEAH!!!

posted by Kittencat21 (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is the best Kingdom Hearts game on a Nintendo handheld! Sure, the other versions have a more complex and complete storyline, but for a person on the go, it is great! One thing, however, you should play the other games before playing this, as you will probably be a little confused with the plot if you don't. Great game overall! Ten out of ten!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I like it, but..

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Its not the best kingdom hearts game but its ok. I like the fact that they used new worlds. However, my question is how long can they keep the game going before they use all of the logical Disney worlds. I mean in past kingdom hearts games they have been to some pretty pointless worlds like Lion King, (although I love the movie, Sora visiting it was pointless) or Under the sea (The little Mermaid was not that great and once again pointless to the series). With Kingdom hearts I no longer play for the Disney world parts, cause they're really pointless. I play for the scenes that involves such worlds like The world that never was or Twilight town. I mean if Square Enix keeps these Disney worlds here we're either gonna keep visiting the same worlds or the new worlds that we visit would just get worse and worse. Like Sora visiting Bambi and turns into a deer. Or Sora goes to the world of Fox and the hound and turns into a dog. LOL those are pretty bad ideas but Square Enix might just use them. My suggestion is, make Sora age up, Drop the Disney characters and worlds except for King Mickey, and give the fans that have been following this game since they were kids, the rated T game we've been waiting for!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

stale

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

I was generous with the score, but frankly I didn't finish the game. The story was so long winded and boring and the scenery had no life. the combat was the only saving grace. I was just simply bored with it and perhaps the franchise. We have been getting a bunch of 'ok' side games but never a true sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

read before clicking rent

posted by neverdieonce (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this is not the best kingdom hearts game but its not the worst i didnt like the drop meter going down while im in a boss fight and my other character is in the world map forcing me to go drop again and start the boss fight over. i do like the story and game play i feel the dream eaters do nothing unless you are using them for a combo. in the end i got very ticked off at this games drop flaws and useless partners and very painfully similar cut scenes. also i did not like how the leveling up is a very long process you can stat a level at 10 and finish at 10 and move on to the next world which has a recommended level of 17 i dont think it is very fair to the player to force them to play on the same world for an hour just to get to level 17 and the world after recommends a level of 22 while you are still on 17. in conclusion it is very stressful and time consuming but this is a game is not worth playing or buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of my favorite games on the 3ds

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

To start it off this is my first kingdom hearts game and i was expecting turn based RPG in this game but i am a bigger of battle based RPG. The story line to me made no sense but i just started the, the story is that sora and riku are about to go through a series of worlds and stopping some sort time paradox from happening in the worlds. the game play is amazing the only problem I have with this is when your trying to find the most powerful attack of your deck you have to stop and use the d-pad to move the menu for magical attacks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best KH game since kh2

posted by Joseverdin (RICHMOND, CA) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

Game was a blast to play. Loved the added flow motion game play and the combat. A bit annoying having to sink time to unlock new moves by playing repetitive mini games with your pet dream eaters. Packed with content and worth the buy if you're a completionist. 9/10 for story twists and game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A lot of changes that don't work

posted by yomama12 (CHINO HILLS, CA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I am the biggest fan of kingdom hearts, but there are so many red flags. You don't get to play with the disney characters, the bosses have way too much of the same. The combat feels like the first one, except that you don't get the cool powers, three hits and then you are done. The layout is poor too. you have all your magic and potions on the bottom left, that means that if you have to scroll to find the right power that you want to use. So if you want to use cure you have to wait and scroll until you find the one that you want, then you die. One more thing is the Drop feature. If you are playing as Sora for a amount of time you then get to play as Riku. This feature is cool, but Bosses are so hard because after you drop the boss gets full health. I did enjoy this game throughout the worlds, but the very end i did not. It was fun for a couple hours and if you are a really big kingdom hearts fan I think you should rent it, but I would not recommend buying it. Last Thing. YOU WILL NOT SURVIVE THIS GAME. IT IS LIKE DARK SOULS FOR KIDS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ah- MAZING!

posted by Questionairre (MONTGOMERY CENTER, VT) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i only had to download a demo of this game from the Nintendo eShop to realize how amazing this game was. i wasn't a kingdom hearts fan at ALL before this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3-D gaming was made for cutscenes....

posted by jtizzle136 (YPSILANTI, MI) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I really can't describe how incredible this game is, i really had low expectations for the hand held spin offs til birth by sleep then this. the only tiny qualm i had with it was Sora and riku lookin like kids, but aside from that this game had one of the best features ive ever dealt with in any video which was the Fantasia Stage, Everything about it just gave me chills, beautiful music, detailed backgrounds, and ofcourse having Sora's annoying battlecries muted with music!!!! that has to be the smartest thing anyone has ever accomplished. this game deserves so much more rep

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance

posted by ventus19 (MABANK, TX) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

when i first heard about this game i was incredibly ectstatic about it, I've been a kingdom hearts fan ever since i played the first one and this shouldn't any kingdom hearts fan it's new, it's addicting, and they even slightly made a part of it seem a little like pokemon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a real kingdom heart sequel

posted by ixiterrorixi (GAINESVILLE, GA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is pretty much same but different from kingdom hearts 1 and 2 with different combat style I like it if your looking for a good 3ds rpg games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse