Rent Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days for DS
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

2792 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by DirtyGirl (GRESHAM, OR) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a great addition to the KH series. IF you have not played 1 and 2 i suggest playing those before you play this because you will be lost. The game play was really fun and the graphics were awesome for the DS. I have been a KH fan since the first one came out and this game reminds me of how great this series is and will keep me waiting for the next games to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kingdom Hearts 358/2

posted by cmdood (TAMPA, FL) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

31 out of 36 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Kingdom Hearts 358/2 days is a good game. I believe some of these reviewers are going overboard giving it a 10, though.

Pros:
Same old Kingdom hearts battle system
New panel system
fill in plot-holes
Graphics are excellent for a DS game
Play any of the 13 members of the Organization

Cons:
Can be a bit repetitive
Missions are basically all clones of themselves
A little easy

When I first heard you could play as ANY of the Organization members, i was thrilled! My excitement quickly died however, when i realized the difference between them all is minimal. Some use short range and others long. I found it a little ridiculous just how naive Roxas is in this game. The graphics match those of a ps1 game bordering on ps2. I was a bit skeptical about the panel system until i tried it out and realized it adds a great new part of customization to the game. One last thing that bothered me about this game is that i'm finding it rather easy. It could just be that I'm a veteran of the series, but still i find most of it to either be much too easy, boring, or even too stupidly hard at parts. Overall though, this is a great game, and is definitely worth a rent, and possibly a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the type of game the DS needed

posted by WolfWing (DEER PARK, IL) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely fantastic. apart from the DS graphics and boring tutorial this game has an incredibly gripping storyline starring Roxas during the time he spent in Organization XIII. this game takes place after chain of memories and before KH2 and helps understand KH2 as well. if you are new to KH make sure you at least play this and then KH2 and you will have a great experience. 9.7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best Ds games

posted by Kingofe3 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pros: Great Story
Easy Controls
Lots of replayablitiy(muiltiplayer,challenges,and treasure finding)
Lots of Characters to play
Panel System adds creativity
Gears all have different styles
Mission Mode
Graphics
Boss Battles
Great Music and Voice Acting
No useless cutscenes like pervious Kingdom Hearts

Cons: A little repeitive
Final Boss is a little disapointing

All and all a wonderful Ds game, a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game for a great series

posted by RoxasXIII (ALLENTOWN, PA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Now I'm a big Kingdom Hearts Fan. Heck, I'm a big Square Enix fan. But I'm sure my bias towards them isn't the reason I love this game.

Some will say,"Gameplay sucks you just hit the same button over and over again and graphics are like soooo pixelly!" but these are pretty wrong.

Gameplay: I've died a lot, so button mashing obviously isn't the way to win. There are a lot of things you will have to figure out to defeat bosses AND normal heartless.

Graphics: Yeah, there are a few pixelly things, very few actually, but you can imagine that for a DS game. Considering this, the graphics are amazing.

This is a great addition to your collection of DS(i) games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its Kingdom Hearts

posted by Kelvang (MORGANTOWN, WV) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you loved the other kingdom hearts games this is for you, but if you have never played one and don't know any of the story stay away from this game. The game is mostly story based, the missions are fairly repetitive so your not going to stay mainly for that unless you enjoy mission games.

The controls are okay but could have been made better. Navigating from attack magic and items gets a bit tedious and annoying, so shortcuts will save your life. The camera is terrible, even worse on A setting so make sure you use B! the L and R camera movement will save your life seeing as using the stylus is over sensitive even on low sensitivity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

And god said let there be light!

posted by HATEurFACE (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Oh thank goodness we are getting some decent games for the DS recently!

Kingdom hearts is a definite must buy or keep. you'll be having this game for a while so its more cost effective to keep and seriously so good to just give back for theres so much more to do once you beat the game.

Reply value is super high and the graphics border on PSP quality. Let's face it sometime our 3d DS games can only do so much in terms of quality.

Awesome, awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days

posted by Xion20 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Oct 1, 2009

Member since May 2007

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

First off, I'd like to start by clearing the pronunciation of the name up for those that haven't seen/heard the TV Spot; Kingdom Hearts: Three-Five-Eight-Days-Over-Two.

One of the best games of the Kingdom Hearts series--though, aren't they all the best? The gameplay is still the same old Kingdom Hearts we know and love, but just a bit of changes to adding items and abilities.

The Panel System:
The panel system--yes annoying at times--is a great way to add some form of challenge to the game. It makes you think, plan out how you want to use your abilities, items, and weapons. You will actually need to change some abilities for some missions.

Graphics:
THE best NDS graphics we will probably see for a long while. One of my favorite aspects is that they are using scenes from the original PS2 games--ah great nostalgia.

The Story:
At the time that I'm typing this, I'm at around Day 76-78. The story so far has filled in many holes, like as to why Axle was the only one able to survive C.O. What I'm most interest in is how Xion came to be. I know she's a second nobody of--SPOILER-- Sora, but why. I guess since I'm still early in the game, I'll find out later.

Gameplay:
For this handheld portion, they've decided to bring back the normal KH way of fighting that we all know and love. Nothing new with the touch screen besides dragging the camera around. So mostly just hacking, slashing, platforming, and now, examining your way around levels. The missions are a great way to go through the story. It makes it feel even more like you're true Organization XIII.

Overall:
10/10. Definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Next Kingdom Hearts future!

posted by RayAzulmon (GIBSONTON, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

15 out of 27 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

At first when I was playing kingdom hearts,I was so thrilled that it was a good game.Kingdom hearts 358/2 days is the best ds game ever!!!!You can go to mission mode and go to worlds from the first three games of KH.I bought this game in japan and it was tremendus,buy this game or rent it,IT WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best for the DS

posted by idi0tic (IRWIN, PA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have played through this game for a few hours and I alreay now this is one of the best games I have found for the DS.

It has:
-awesome gamplay broken up into mission that let you explore areas, fight bosses, kill certain heartless, ect.
-a good story, If you play game like Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories this might fill in some of the holes in that story
-multiplayer, this game lets you play missions with friends

Overall this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just what ive been waiting for!!!

posted by thewright (DEWEY, AZ) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was worth the three year wate from the previously made kingdom hearts 2

i enjoyed this game very much because kingdom hearts is my favorite game series has been since the very day the first oine came iout the gameplay is enjoyable and fun and creative slightly repetitive
and im betting that they will make a remake of this game as PS3 just like chain of memories the graphics in this were ok alot like ps-1 but i lvoe the experience it gives you of being a member of the orginization

GET THIS GAME
but not if you dont know the story because if you did the whole time you'd be like....."what?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DS GAME SO FAR

posted by xcosme24 (Fort Stewart, GA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is no doubt the best ds game out there yet. Once you start playing you get addicted. But unless you have friends to play multiplayer i suggest to rent it because once you finish it, it does get boring. And if youre like me you can finish it in 1 week or 2 weeks tops. Other than that the the story is awsome and the gameplay is just like KH1 and KH2 but you have to use these thing called panels to level up, improve your keyblade, use abilities, and magic. And lastly something that really shoked me was that they actually had cutscenes that looked just like the Playstation verion. So overall this is a really good DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic just fantastic

posted by Tyty14 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I finished the game today and the story line is awesome. Im going to keep this review short to avoid spoilers.
You play as roxas in this game between the time sora was getting his memories restored. There are 3 main people in this game sora axel and xion. Xion is number XIV and a new character.
I would have made this game 10 but i thought that some of the parts were very boring, i would only play this game for the story because the story is worth it alone. You play as roxas and go on missions with members of the orginization or alone, and there is also a nifty multiplayer mode. There is also a mission mode where you can play as many different characters ( xemnas xaldin roxas axel xion luxaeus riku donald goofy luxord marluxia demyx xaldin vexus larxene saix and lexion.
There is also in story mode various twists and turns that you would have never suspected

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i give it a 10

posted by jaxsandler (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

it is cool the graphics are killer and the never drop story line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DS GAME EVER!!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Kingdom Hearts and when I read rumors about this game in early 2008 I thought I have to get this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yay! No More Cards!

posted by Daisuke (DUNDALK, MD) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic, and I feel in no way that I wasted my money. The battle system is unique, keeping a lot from the original series, and yet staying true to the DS's style. The graphics make me forget I'm playing a DS game, and I feel like I'm bringing my PS2 with me everywhere. The replayability is vast, letting you play other missions again in a mode called "Holo-Missions" and letting you pick up where you left off and get all the extra chests and such. Everything is perfect! If I had to complain, I'd say that the missions are sometimes a bit confusing anmd the story drags a little, but other than that I'd give this game a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great story with annoying gameplay

posted by Memorexia (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First I'd like to say I've been a huge Kingdom Hearts fan sense the 2001. I have always been fond of the gameplay even though it has been annoying at times. Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days makes me want to throw my DS against a wall, and rip off my toetails. The gameplay is really repetitive.

Out of 358 days, there is a mission for each. And guess what? All the missions are annoying!! And every mission ends with Roxas, Axel, and Xion sitting on the clocktower in Twilight Town. The sit on the tower and chit-chat, and really no story is taking place untill around 100 days. Keep in mind it took me 12 hours to reach 150 days.

The thing about the gameplay that really pisses me off is the boss fights. THERE TO HARD, even on a normal dificulty! Also usually you and another Organization Member do a mission together. But the thing is, is that your partner is completly useless. Yea.

In conclusion, great story, annoying gameplay that is somewhat reasonable. Only rent this if you are a hardcore kingdom hearts fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

generic kingdom hearts

posted by ragerean (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if you like kingdom hearts, this is pretty much the same thing as the rest of them, im a fan so i liked it, its exactly what youd expect from the other ones, its a solid game, the gameplays like the rest of them very solid the cameras more zoomed out, my only issue with the game is the lack of a story, and the repetitiveness of the missions. theres alot to do i just dont particularly feel like doing it. the panel customizations a good add on and the mission things cool too, definitly rentable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

World's Greatest DS game

posted by tcchunn (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a great ds game with wonderful graphics. Multiple characters. Great storyline. This game shows that the DS does have the ability to show 3D graphics. This game gets a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not perfect but definitely worth a play.

posted by tehllama (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of the kingdom hearts series and have at one point or another played all the games, and loved them. and there is no exception with this game. It is most definitely one of the most graphically advanced ds games on the market, now mind you that measn the characters are about an average Playstation2 quality and everything else is on par with Playstation 1. still it does my heart good to finally get some new KH material. The story is compelling (but only if you have played the other games, otherwise it is just confusing as heck), the gameplay is fun, the panel system is really indepth, and while some people complain about the mission based gameplay, i found it really cool and more to the spirit of Org 13.

Now there are some definite kinks in this game:
the controls! God gave us a thumbstick for a reason! using the control pad for 3d movement still gives the best cramps known to mankind. so pace yourself! you'll be glad you did
It can feel repetitive. you are going to be going through the same area 20 times and doing whatever task you were mindlessly assigned then yay a new area more more tasks rinse lather repeat.
People have been complaining about is the recycling of levels. the maps are pretty much the same as they were in KH 2 which if this was released anytime sooner than 5 years apart would be problematic, but by this point it just feels oddly remniscent. for the old vets like me you intuitively know where to go and what to do.
Camera control is weird at first but with a little adjusting in the settings and a little pratice it is quickly resolved

Overall this game is great, the afforementioned problems are a bit of a crutch, but they don't stop this game from just being great. i highly recommend it, and with this recommendation i recommend some ice. seriously pace yourself! otherwise enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yawn!

posted by OldVidiot (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have played a Kingdom Hearts game. I am trying alot of different games because I really like the touch screen of my Nintendo DS.

Apparently Square/Enix doesn't get the touch screen so much. What a waste of the advanced technology. Granted I only played through the tutorial missions, but really the only thing that I could do with the touch screen was change my camera angles and drag items to my panel.

I really like the Legend of Zelda games where almost every thing you do is touch screen based.

Anyway, if you are a big fan of this franchise you will probably love it. The story seemed compelling and the NPCs were all unique in their approach to the main character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not the same kingdom hearts

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) Sep 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 22 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game is nothing like kingdom hearts one or two. If it did not have the worlds as KH1 and KH2 you would never know this is a kingdom hearts game.

This game is go do this and go do that type of missons and lacks the fun the previous kingdom hearts had

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A horrible fan-service pretending to be a game

posted by Eekthecat (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 22 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Graphics: Poor. While playing this game, I had trouble telling the characters apart because they all looked like amorphous blobs drawn by 2 year olds.

Sound: Poor. The soundtrack made me seriously consider tearing my own eardrums out... Then I just turned the volume off, and my eardrums could live another day.

Gameplay: Poor. It was probably designed for 4-year-olds who like to mash buttons for hours on end.

Replay value: Poor. You will want to send it back within 2 minutes renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Starts Off Way Too Slow

posted by thericky (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I've played all of the Kingdom Hearts games and I'm just totally over it. I chose the story mode and it starts off so slow that I didn't even want to continue playing the game. I played for 2 hours and didn't even get into the real gameplay yet. I just wanted to get to the fighting but it really didn't come. If you want to just get to the action or even see a Disney character within the first 2 hours don't bother renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

we bought it

posted by anikin1991 (LONGVIEW, WA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

i own it now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse