Rent King of Fighters XIII for PS3
view large frontback

King of Fighters XIII

Rent

Keep for: $21.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

271 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best fighter of 2011

posted by ironman2k70 (ROOSEVELT, NY) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

KOF is a great series(except XII) and XIII is no different. It has all your old school favorites and classic KOF game style. The combos are hard and extremely rewarding, if you are looking to mash buttons like SF this is not for you.

The only negative aspect is the online play is choppy. SNK has said they are fixing the netcode issues so hopefully it is better.

Offline has a lot of fun modes such as story, arcade, trials, time attack. Their is also a color edit mode that lets you edit the colors of every character in the game.
This game is by far the best fighter out right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best KOF yet

posted by ilovepixels (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will start off by saying that this is not a game you can just pick up and play and expect to be good at. If you don't already play fighting games, then KOF XIII may be a bit difficult to initially get into. Don't let that discourage you though, if you truly want to delve into a good fighter then this is it. Gorgeous sprite animations and stages, a great soundtrack, and challenging yet rewarding game-play mechanics all make this game a treat for old-school and new-school fighting game fans alike.

The only downside thus far has been the sub-par online experience. I have had quite a few good connections with people online, but overall it is kind of hit or miss. Hopefully there will be a netcode patch later on but even without it, KOF XIII is still the best 2D fighting game out right now.

-Update-
SNK recently sent out a statement saying that there will be a netcode patch released sometime soon. Great news for KOF fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

brilliant demo-nstrations

posted by sabintz (MOUNTAIN HOME, NC) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looks a lot better than it plays.
it looks like plaster of paris meets 3d cel-shading.
it sounds and plays and you push the buttons at lighning speeds like an arcade machine (even online).

but,
it doesn't really play as well as most KOF from the old school. seems like the moves --especially supermoves-- all require the exact same commands. so, like super street fighter 4, you feel like you are simon-says-ing animations rather than fighting your opponent.
storyline is text and avatar style, and the characters aren't quite as fantastical as somesuch as NeoGeoBattleColliseum for PS2.

all presentation and little gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

king of fighters

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Sep 30, 2012

Member since May 2011

this game was awesome had cool effects and i like how the charaters traveled in groups and inneract

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not For Me

posted by LoneSage (Saint Petersburg, FL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

I've never been a fan of KOF games but I've always been a fighting game fan. I read a lot of positive things about 13 so I wanted to give the series another chance. 13 has the same major problem all the other KOF games for me and that is, all the characters are just not enjoyable to play with and have a weak move set.

I tried with at least 15 different fighters and only 1 felt good to play as (Kyo) while all the others felt weak or just meh at best. I loved Capcom Vs SNK 2 and I remembered some fighters in KOF 13 who were in that as well like Kim and Joe, in 13 however they feel nerfed and slowed down to me. The best example is Iori who was fun to play as in Capcom Vs SNK 2 but he is really toned down a lot in KOF 13.

I played arcade and KOF does the same thing that every other fighting does and that is, have a really cheap and aggravating boss at the end who breaks the rules of the game to win. But keep in mind there isn't only just one cheap boss at the end there are actually 2. I will give SNK credit though, they implemented a continue service which puts the CPU in a handicap of your choice if you lose. In my opinion, the cheap and aggravating boss at the end of fighting games is a tradition that should be broken.

I would have loved to review online but every time I tried to play a ranked match the game told me I did not meet the requirements to do so. I did play 2 online player matches which were laggy and led to two defeats on my behalf because of it.

I only had this game for a few hours and I already packed it back in my GF sleeve. I love fighting games but King Of Fighters remains a series I cannot enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOF XIII

posted by Ultima619 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It still needs a character switch during battle, but I love the fighting. I had to adjust to it because it a bit different from capcom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KOF is back!

posted by Triracer19 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This game is just awesome I dig the graphics and fighting system. I also love the fact that a lot of the older characters are back especially Iori, Yuri, Mai, and King! The story mode is also pretty decent as well as the online mode. Overall this is one of the best King of Fighters to date!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hi

posted by Alex07 (Mesquite, TX) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

hello, it good game is King of fighters that's better more popular.. whoa.. i love it ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb.

posted by Rebelspark (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

KoF XIII is a vast improvemnt from its predecessors. The game-play is at a much faster pace than XII, making it feel more fluid and natural. So, it finally feels more KoF. The trial mode in missions makes even the worst noobs combo experts in no time. Do I need to say more? I'm getting the deluxe edition for sure, complete with all KoF sound tracks! There!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a shame...

posted by Ameel81 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

After seeing next gen games like Street Fighter 4 go polygon but still keep the traditional 2D style my first thought was how amazing this would be with KoF characters or a new SNK vs. Capcom 3 even. Alas these past few KoF's have been pretty bad... as in they haven't even tried. This game suffers from slow FPS and blockie character animations it looks like it should be on my SNES. Animated fighting games are far from dead as we see from games like Guilty Gear and BlazBlue but for some reason the KoF series hasn't received the love it so desperately deserves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Kovack (GREENBELT, MD) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Im sorry, after playing many king of fighters games, KOF XII and XIII does not live up to the hype. If you're a true fan, I'd avoid this game at all cost and stick with the original ones. Truly disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

king of fighters XIII

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

YOU STILL CANT DO ONE BUTTON SPECIAL MOVES WITH THE SHOLDER BUTTONS LIKE IN KING OF FIGHTERS 95

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

compared to XII this game is a god send!

posted by Rlmm24 (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

KOF XIII also known as KOF 2011 to die hard fans was intesapating the release for this game and after playing it i see why its almost on level with not only SSF4 but almost i hate to say it the growing popular Blazblue unlike the last installment in the series the game went through a overhaul in not only the sprites department but all so the animations limitations. but like last year new year eve's party this game capatilize off everything that went wrong in the last one and added in extra features that would make and fighting game fanatic do some double takes but enough about that everyone from the original series is back in except shingo, blue mary,yamazaki,and rugal but his signature is in the game of course theres the 3 on 3 matches, now the first thing you'll notice is the character select screen is huge (30+ people to choose from along with billy kane) and you battle it out on some of the old areans and new ones they have for the game now for the controls its the same as (gaps) 2002 now that alone for me put a smile on my face also everyone been given a neo-max aka super despration attack, and a secondary special not to include you can Ex a special certain level one special to take twice the damage and combine it with the neo-max if you time it right the music is just icing on the cake for this game. over all this game in my opinion is a great fighter to end the year off with, you have great drawn characters, great music, the combat can get crazy like blazblue and you even have a color edit instead of buying dlc colors (points at blazblue) not to mention iroi is getting a dlc on dec 5th for his flames so really i should rate this game higher on the scale o yeah and in closing this game has a combo learning tutoral and mission mode!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »