Rent King of Fighters XII for Xbox 360
view large frontback

King of Fighters XII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.8

957 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A casual fighting game fan review

posted by NutMan (EAST PEORIA, IL) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like fighting games, but I'm not super hardcore. King of Fighters has always been a series I enjoyed and this was somewhat of a letdown, but it's still worth playing.

The main gripes I have with KOF XII are that there are only about 20 characters and around 5 or 6 stages to fight on. They also left out fan favorite characters like Mai which I think is a huge mistake on their part. With a such a small number of stages the game gets stale fast. To make things worse the Arcade mode will only take you 10 min to beat. So that seems to make the main draw of the game the online play, but here's the problem: THE ONLINE IS TERRIBLE. I love the idea of 3v3 teams, but when the game is this slow and laggy it's just unplayable. They patched the game, but it didn't really fix the lag. It seems to just slow the game down so that it looks like it's moving at 15 frames-per-second to hide the rubber banding lag.

Do not spend $60 on this. Do not spend $30 on this. At $20 I'd pick it up, and it's worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Solid Fighter That Isn't Complete

posted by Ninjhetto (DURHAM, NC) Aug 30, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although a long existing series, King of Fighters XII is simply a game with great graphics and gameplay, but lacks in other departments.

The character roster is only 22 characters, which is small for a KOF game, but is a solid amount compared to other fighters with less. Although popular characters are missiong, like Mai, K', Yuri, etc., it's roster is still plentiful.

The gameplay itself is solid and does require some skill, but according the moves list (not in the book, but in the pause menu), everybody has fewer moves than usual, and only one super. Although disappointing to many, it is a solid fighter that is fun to play and is deep in the mechanics.

The thing that is really lacking is the levels. Although it has nothing to do with gameplay, there are only 6 levels, and 2 are a day/nigh difference. Artistically well done, but it is very lack luster.

Because of the lack of levels, you also only get 5 stages in Arcade mode. Also, arcade mode is simply a time attack mode with no story line for the characters or a boss battle at the end. Not really something to get into multiple times.

I will admit to not playing the online feature, but many say it has the simple modes that anybody can play. However, it's also noted that it may be very laggy.

The game could have been much better, but it's still a solid game to play. If you are a KOF fan and had high expectations, this may not attract you at all. But if you like fighting games simply because of the gameplay, then get it when the price drops to under $40.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

KOF

posted by demonrei (COLUMBUS, GA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well in all the kof games i have played this one has better graphics and background music just there is no story line in this one which is sad. Whats the point of making a brand new kof with new characters, and it has no story line, what happen to some characters and where the new ones come from, besides all that the game is awsome, better combo and im digging the counter combos alot, so i gave it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What the...?

posted by hotboy (GONZALES, LA) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is like watching a dream die. SNK has severly handicap KOF 12. They have removed moves from characters, there's no storyline, and no extra modes. The graphics is the only thing good about this game. I have always loved SNK games, but this is ridiculous. They have given us graphics with no substance. Now i have to play Capcom and I hate Capcom imbalanced fighters. You can rent it, but dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Aug 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Recently theres been a bunch of really good fighting games coming out. Some of them are Street Fighter IV and Soul Calibur IV. I havnt really ever heard much of this game, but i wanted to see how it ranked up against its contendors. This game is pretty much your average 2D fighting game. The story mode is somewhat ok, but nothing special. The most important thing about this game is online which is good, but not quite as good as online for Street Fighter IV. The graphics arent really amazing, but theyre good. The graphics in this game kind of remind me of the graphics in Grand Theft Auto IV. But thats about it in this game. Online is whats the main feature of this game. So overall this game is pretty good, but Street Fighter IV and Soul Calibur IV are better. Try it out if you like 2D fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could be better

posted by joshy0o (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 5 out of 10 because I was well informed of this game ahead of time so I already knew about how bare bones this game was going to be and the small roster for a kof game.

the graphics are beautiful pixelated but nevertheless beautiful. The animation of each character is great since every character will be redrawn at some point. XII is just the beginning of this reborn series as more characters will be redrawned in the future.

as for the the gameplay it is fun and i admit that i had more fun with this combat system that kof XII has that what I had with sf4's system.

I hear people complaining about the horrible controls but I think its the dpad to blame as I performed alot better with the analog stick or with my arcadestick.

oh yes kof xii features a new counter system when your meter fills and you counter with a hard punch or kick your character goes into a mini custom combo chain which I thought was a cool addition but it could have been done better if you could do it from the air or even juggle.

the online is laggy .... i thought this game had potential even if it did not have a story or a boss only if the online gameplay would be smooth and flawless like sf4's online then kof's xii bare bones core solid fighting system would be just enough to make it a solid fighting game in my opinion.

I guess we would have to hope that snkp will patch up the netcode soon. so on the mean time if you have friends that like 2d fighters give it a rent and have some local matches with your buddies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

KoF Fan Disappointed

posted by AuronsSon (DELTONA, FL) Jul 31, 2009

Member since May 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I have been a KoF fan for a long time, i was excited to play this but when i put it in the 360 and started playing i wish i never did. What a real disappointment. Lots of characters are gone like Rugal and Geese to name a couple and the game play is boring. Just stick with SFIV and BlazBlue. Don't Waste your time like i have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not King Of Fighters....

posted by Donut212 (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely NOT what KoF is supposed to be. Only 5 matches, everything is freaking based on how FAST you can beat your opponents, no last boss, no story mode involved whatsoever, achievements for this game in general are dumb. Do yourself a favor and avoid this game like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much potential, yet so much dissapointment.

posted by Calcos323 (NORTH WATERBORO, ME) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

KoF is a wonderful series, and I was looking forward to this game for a while. Now I realize that my hopes were not very well founded.

The game does do a good job with the actual fighting, doing a good job with counters and dodging. Everything flows smoothly, and the characters are very well-balanced. Grabs, though, can be hard to pull off, mostly because there isn't a dedicated button(s). The lack of any sort of moves list is bad as well, because you're forced to either try and figure out all of the moves, most likely missing a few, or go on the Internet to find an unreliable list.

The roster of 22 characters, while a solid #, is quite low for a KoF game. They also axed many fan-favorites, like Mai and Rugel.

Online would be a lot of fun. It implements some basic modes, along with 3v3 teams, which should be fun. However, it's marred by one problem. Online play is the laggiest that I've ever seen in any game I've ever played. Constant disconnects and slow gameplay take the fun out of what should be a good experience.

Ultimately, what kills the game is the bad online service, but the addition of a lack of modes, removal of popular characters, and no moves list dent what should have been the glorious return of the KoF series. As it stands now, it's nothing more than a major disapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It is all about the money

posted by Minus16 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Don't buy this game or rent it. If you do, once you spend 17 minutes trying to do your super move you are welcome to continue to try playing the game or send it back. I would recommend sending it back. This is just another attempt by game companies to play on our feelings of nostalgia and make us go further into debt. The control is so bad you might as well watch the demo fight or a preview video with a controller in your hand and act like you are playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Long time KOF fan disappointed

posted by Gizmosan (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game expecting a new improved version to the popular series that I have been playing since KOF94. The hand drawn graphics look great on an HDTV, but if your not a fan of pixels then this will contain plenty for you to see. The moves for each character are similar with a few changes to some characters. The roster has definitely shrunk compared to previous KOF games but there's enough characters to choose from for new and season players.

The game uses 4 buttons, weak & strong punch and weak & strong kick, pressing the 2 strong punches will enable the counter, a blue shield that is in close proximity to you. Its occasionally works, but isn't as refined as the parry in Third Strike.

The online menus are clunky and badly designed you'd think that they gave this portion of the game to a new developer, not SNK. Having played about an hour in online matches with other players, the game laggg is horrible, I averaged about 5-10 frames per second. Even the people I was playing against said this is normal! I have been hearing great things about Blue Blaze so I'll have to rent that next, but unfortunately KOF13 isn't gonna keep my attention like the previous games once did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top-notch graphics and gameplay

posted by Squishy3 (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are considering this game for single-player and story, stay away already. This game is meant for the fighter fans. If you are considering this game for single-player and story, stay away already. It does not cater to you. Instead, it makes up for that with beautifully drawn PIXEL-art (I only emphasize this because everyone complains that it's pixelized), it's beautifully animated, the gameplay is top-notch. a lot of care has gone into this game to make it what it is. Yes, it is not what you've come to known in previous KoF games. But that's because this is essentially an entire reboot of the King of Fighters series. It's a fresh start. We're all the way back to the beginning of King of Fighters. They did this to get rid of all the junk that's been added over the years. Nearly every fighter in King of Fighters XI and 98 Ultimate Match had anywhere from 5 special moves, and it went up to 10 for some characters. Not including super moves. Quite daunting really. However, that does not mean a lot of characters being stripped of what they had in the latest installments before this one being a bad thing. Look at SFIV. An average character in that has 3-4 moves. An average KOF character had 5 or 6. Anyway, back to the gameplay. The gameplay is as tight as it has been in any King of Fighters ever. The Deadlock (Clash) system is really nifty. When two attacks of equal strength collide, each character gets knocked back and they take a little damage. However, if you react fast enough you can follow up with another move and hurt your opponent. The Critical Counter system is nifty as well. It allows you to create your own combos for a small amount of time. It makes this easier by making the opponent fall slower during a juggle. However, to make this balanced, it has it's own separate meter that drains after it fills up. Any fighter fan, give this a try at least. The netcode is bad right now, it lags quite a bit. However, there is an announcement coming this week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Classics are better.......

posted by Kyubi91 (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Everytime they make a remake of a classic arcade game, they make it boring but, this new King of Fighters is so bad that i wanna buy it and burn it.seriously do not rent this game just download Marvel Vs Capcom2 u'll have endless fun..........believe me king of fighters 12 is a disgrace to all classic arcade games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So Sad...

posted by CptKeyes (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Im a huge fan of fighting games, started on SF2 before the hyper turbo super... whatever editions, but this game was amusing for all of about 15 minutes. Small roster, few backgrounds, and unoriginal game dynamics make this one not worth your time.

The arcade mode is a joke, I was constantly telling my friend that he must have accidentaly picked time trial mode, but i was wrong, it was that arcade mode. No story to go with any of the characters. Was nice to see some of the old characters, but same combos worked from KOF II...

Graphics were nice, but nothing we havnt seen before.

Sounds were repetitive. Every male character shouted some phrase in the same english voice, when hit hard enough...

I'm sorry, but even playing vs mode with friends this game is just not very good at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Return of the King

posted by Sindarus (LEWISVILLE, TX) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Return to its roots, that is.
King of Fighters XII abandons the 3D style of Maximum Impact and KoF 2003 in favor of the 2D sprites of its predecessors.

However, don't let that fool you! SNK isn't being lazy and just recycling old sprites like the Street Fighter Alpha series and several of Capcom's spin-off games of the time.
The new Sprites are beautifully fluid and well detailed while retaining the visual spirit of the classic KoF games.

Gameplay is for the most part unchanged from previous games, but in all the right ways.
Similar to what Capcom figured out with Street Fighter IV, SNK figured out that sequels should have the classic fast-paced 2D gameplay with only Graphical updates and limited bells and whistles, and that this style is vastly preferred by Old-School Fighter Gamers leagues above the side-stepping 3D Tekken clones.
The new Clash system is a great example of an update in gameplay that is just new enough without changing the soul of the game. Essentially, when both fighters attack at the exact same time in the same basic location (e.g. - high, low, or airborne), the attacks cause a "Clash" where both attacks are negated, and instead both fighters are repelled accompanied by a burst effect on screen (Dragonball, anyone?).

The part of the game that is perhaps my favorite feature is nothing revolutionary at all, but simply a well executed logical next step for the KoF saga: Fast and Furious Online Play.
Matches are quickly found, paired and started.
The only downside is a flaw shared with all online fighters including Soul Calibur IV and Street Fighter IV: if your opponent has a poor internet connection, your game is slowed as well. But again, that should not be held against the game as much as X-Box Live and the Playstation network.

Overall, the game is superb. If you are familiar with amazing SNK fighters like King of Fighters, Fatal Fury, Art of Fighting, etc., then you will LOVE KoF XII.
Even if you are new to SNK, give it a rental and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!

posted by halogears1 (CORONA, CA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It does not give the meaning of fun, i just started playing for five minutes, and all ready i got bored, the controls are horrible as well, press the button and the character punches slow, the graphics are not good as well, im not saying its hard, its boring.......... even the screen is small, so rent the game if you dont believe me, i returned the game the first day i received it. I want to play a fun game thats fast and looks good with graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

For a KoF gan girl, this is worse than bad

posted by SandyAJ (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

For the most part, I totally love SNK and KoF, i have every game from Fatal Fury (First appearance of the KoF tournament) to KoF 13. and in a nutshell, even The two Maximum Impact games were better than this junk.
1) they left out too many fan favorites. (Leaving King out of kof 2002 was bad enough but leaving all of the women's team out wth!)
2) no storyline, kof 11 left with a heck of a cliffhanger, and we had to wait till kof 13 to see what happened next.
3) graphic overhaul looks ugh.
I tried to be lienient on this one, but come on! Ralf and clark look like they are on steroids!
4) over too quick! Seriously where was the challenging boss that would make me curse SNK's name for weeks untill i finnally beat them....by luck of course.
5) no incentive to keep playing. Since there was no story ending it with leona or ending it with kyo mean nothing. So i was not curious to see how other players would turn out
6). Were there any teams? Seriously i dont even remember even seeing any of the established teams to play as, just individual characters. If i wanted a solo kof tournament, id go back to playing fatal fury.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No mai shiranui!!!!

posted by Occlos (LA HABRA, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

That killed it for me wheres Mai?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The King has lost his crown.YEAH,REALLY!

posted by Loveabul (STATEN ISLAND, NY) May 13, 2011

Member since May 2010

Hmm..how could I say this,HORRIBLE!but as a long time KOF
fan,this incomplete wannabe made me very angry. nice hand drawn art and voices,but it does'nt rub away the disaster,heartbreak and irreparable mess SNK
made of their flagship series!enjoyed it for a week,but realized how
pathetic the"game"really was and stopped playing.once I got Blazblue of course.
what I find ridiculous that they warn you about the fictional so called
story that is nonexistent!it's a waste of time money and PAPER!!!what
a disaster!and I hope that KOF 13 is NOTHING like this game!Cause
if it is,I will get the newest Blazblue before I burn my cash on that.
It does look promising on the SNK official website.I'll just wait it out.
and to those who DO like this game,good for you,cause I'd rather
play Blazblue!Take that SNK!such a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by tymertfer (SPRING LAKE, NC) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game freakin sucks like I'm sorry i aint even look at the rating before i rented this and the cover makes it look kind of interesting but this is one of the worst games ever, i do not encourage anyone to buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Oh My where Is MAI!!!!

posted by EbonyC (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Well I think personally this could have been a better KOF. After getting it in the mail I took sometime before playing it (about 3 days ). Wanted to be fresh and focus because I had been working so much. So the day came. I sat aside DOA 4 and Tekkan 6. Turn on the Xbox 360 and started the game. Well I could say at first I was somewhat surprised with the arcade presentation. Its like a television show..."basically as you progress thru the arcade which there is only 5 stages you get a brief "news update". Letting you know about your progress so far. Also when doing the arcade time trial if you want to improve on your time score after a stage you are given a second chance sort of like a "do over". But what I didnt like after using this option you are not allowed to keep the old time score if the new time score is bad. So basically its like a roll of the dice. Now what I didnt like is the graphics. MY GOD THIS IS A XBOX 360 GAME AND IT LOOKS LIKE A PLAYSTION 2 GAME!!!! So sad was I to see Terry Bogard look so terrible. So many PIXELS!!! Also You think by now the Fighter Roster would have been bigger and better. And lets not forget Mai is missing. "Poor Andy"!! Now I love a game with a litte speed and grace to it especially a fighter. But This DEAR LORD moves so slow and stiff. It takes a while to get use to the fact that you are moving 3 miles an hour. I tried several times to go online and play rank matches. But much to no surprise there is no Community for this game. And then I remembered everyone is on SSF4 and DOA 4. Its amazing that there are still people playing DOA 4 and its been out for almost 5 years. I tried so hard to play KOF 12 I really did. But I couldnt. I mean I love 2D fighters and there are some great ones out. BlazeBlue and even Guilty Gear. But there was so much that could have been and so much that was done wrong. The biggest thing for me was the fighter roster and the slowness of the game. But the big thing is no MAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

king of fighters 12

posted by jesseshine (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Im not a king of fighters fan as i am to streetfighter but i can tell when a game is garbage by playing it. king of fighters 12 lets you play time attackmode vs mode and online which sucks because if you dont even have xboxlive then you will cry out why did they make this game.to top it of they dont have a movelist for you. thats money and respect lost for the people who makes king of fighters games everyone in general who likes fighting games period will know that not even another capcom vs snk can make us forget this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

King of Fighters XII

posted by Rictor3 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The graphics are so pix-elated that I thought I was playing a super Nintendo on a Xbox, not a Xbox game on the Xbox. The is no story line, the moves are standard but still are nice to see. the updated looks for the character's is nice but like I said earlier is pix-elated like no other. All in all play it if you are a lover of the seris like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

As bad as they get...KOF XII will disappoint you

posted by lpfan191 (READING, PA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I had pretty good expectations about this game. I thought about buying it a couple of times, and passed on it for other games. Fortunately I didn't waste my money on such a bad designed game. The roster and game modes are limited, the online mode is a joke, and the game plays like a granny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

King Of the What.

posted by walldoc99 (ORWELL, OH) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I will open this by saying i have a wall scroll of terry bogard on my wall. Snk really should abandon their venture into 3-d gaming and stick with whats always worked for them. There hasn't been a great King of Fighters game since Dream match 99 on the sega Dreamcast. The controls are clunky and the look of the game is dreadful. if your looking for a great snk fight game try buy yourself a dreamcast and ebay dream match 99.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse