Rent King of Fighters XII for PS3
view large frontback

King of Fighters XII

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.0

811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh!

posted by mannyloona (MORGANTOWN, WV) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I'm a pretty avid gamer, especially for fighting games... I love the King of Fighters series, Street Fighter, and the lot. I was sorely disappointed when I got this game. No options, the multi-player online is broken, and there's nothing to keep you going. It was too easy! The AI sucks. The only thing going for it was nostalgia and the graphics (even if there are jaggies)...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

waste of time, thank God for gamefly

posted by enya64 (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I got this game in the mail on Friday, and playing on the default medium difficulty, finished it in 9 minutes. Now I'm not remotely considered a KOF player. 5 fights before the game ends, and with now last boss, storyline, or endings. I have never seen such a lazy effort in making a fighting game. But I have a soft spot for 2d fighters (brought both BlazBlue and SF4 on day one), and I thought this game might make me a hardcore King of Fighters player. Very weak character list, and most of special moves have been stripped (This Terry Bogard is the Fatal Fury 2 version with no power dunk), and absolutely no extras or rewards. The online play is atrocious, trust me. Don't even try...

The absolute only thing positive about this game are the Backgrounds. They definitely astronomical standard in 2D art and beauty. Sadly, there are only 4 backgrounds total. Had the game since Friday and sending it back on Monday. That's only because 9 minutes after beating the game the mail man was already out of sight.

P.S. I feel bad for those who paid $65 for this game. I've downloaded longer demos than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very sad !

posted by davidzman9 (NEWARK, NJ) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I always played KoF since 94 ... and now they come with this joke graphics are OK, gameplay is not good anymore, no story no fun, they destroyed Iori which used to be a great character to play with and missing other good ones like K' Dash, Mai, Shingo etc ... This is the first time that I see an awesome franchise get worse in several ways like I said is very sad . Not recommended !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

King of Letdowns

posted by Pewter (ASTORIA, NY) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

We were promised gorgeous animations and graphics, but the sprites are so pixelated, you could use them to cut week-old bread.

Many characters' moves were stripped, making play feel not only unlike other KoFs but also rather bland. The critical counter isn't all that fun, feels very gimmicky. A lot of very popular characters are missing (K' & Mai) in order to put in others that are either unusable (Mature) or boring (Garcia). The game's also still very imbalanced.

Everyone has too much life. You time-up more than you KO, which is atrocious. Online play is choppy. My friends and I played for a while, and then went back to Blazblue, confident we wouldn't be picking up the disc again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A bad game

posted by bpickens1 (ENID, OK) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

A very terrible game, that is all I can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

King of bad games

posted by zerokool (HENRICO, VA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If I could give this game a 0/10 I would. Not only did it take 20 minutes to install on my system but the graphics look like I am playing a NES (not SNES, but NES). The fighting controls/moves are that of an NES controller (2 buttons). Overall game play was lacking everything you can imagine that makes a fighting game even remotely playable. The designers behind this mess should all be fired.

I do not recommend this game at all, not even as a spot holder while you wait on your other game. I received the game at 5pm last night and I had it wrapped up to be mailed back at 5:10pm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing games like street fighter 4 and blazblue on my PS3 this felt like a PS1 title. Clunky controls and poor graphics. Waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

king of fighters XII

posted by XXXXXX (Madison, WI) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

good graphics bad gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WTh

posted by greezy973 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

i swear to god this is the most wackest s.... i've ever played and i read the reviews and comments and i still didn't care and got it any way like a dumb a..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really really sad.

posted by Skinart (ARLINGTON, WA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

First: King of the Fighters is one of my favorite fighting game franchises. They have cool character designs, attractive moves, and a unique style of play. I've spent many many quarters on KoF 95 and 98.

But...They have consistently terrible ports to console. The last port I played before this one was destroyed by abysmal load times and lackluster presentation. This one isn't much better.

The load times at least have improved. They aren't snappy, but they don't require one to shave in between rounds either. However, they are ugly. They didn't spring for a pretty loading graphic, just a black screen with a crude gray box in the corner with 'Loading' written in it.

The rest is a mess. The primary arcade mode is a set of five matches as a time trial ending in a leaderboard of best times. This is followed by credits and a Congratulations! screen. There isn't even a pretense of a storyline. There is also no real sense of 'winning'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

king of fighters xill is a bad game

posted by umbrella543 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

it have no story mode it have no u i wish it could be a better game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible. A step back in fighting games.

posted by jpacs999 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I was prepared to give this game a chance. After all SNK has a soft spot with me. Fatal Fury was literally the first ever game I played and I was a fan of that game as well as World Heroes, Samurai Showdown, Art of Fighting, KOF '99, the list goes on.

This game was what should have happened sometime last gen. But forget all that. At least they have the core characters. It is dissapointing to not see some characters in there like Regal, Mr Karate, Geese. The main core is there but I was dissapointed at the character design too. Everyone looked the same. This game also lacked character as they all looked the same.

Overall a meh game. And it only has like 2 modes. Pretty pathetic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow......

posted by nickrm (BRANDON, MS) May 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

i didnt play this game for a full 10 mins. and it sucked badly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't do KOF justice

posted by gsuave67 (WAIPAHU, HI) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

A KOF fan since the very first time in went 3 on 3 in 1994, it's a shame that this title seems to take a step back. Sure, the graphics are sweet, but that's all there is. There are few characters compared to previous installments and completely no story whatsoever. Could have been a great game, but falls terribly short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BUT WHY!!!!

posted by jonblaze91 (EL PASO, TX) Apr 30, 2010

Member since May 2006

I been a KOF fan ever since KOF 94 came out and seriously this game is gonna be the death of KOF. Where are all the combos, what happened to the story line that ended on KOF X1? Its a waste of time and money, DONT RENT THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO GOOD!!!!!

posted by RoyalBlue (BRONX, NY) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is basura! I beat it on hard in 45 minutes, the challenges sucks, the control of the character was annoying and most importantly, NO GEESE! Do not waste your time or money. I would never put this of the rank of the old school KOF's or even on the ranks of other fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing i expected

posted by Eruiel (EL PASO, TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I know this is King of fighters and that it never had anything but meaningless fights, but this was just a waste of my time, this is a PS3 game and all it has its fights fights fights, no story, no new character unlocks, its the anniversary and it doesn't even have all the characters and the ones they have are either FAT or have so much muscle that they look fat. I know this is one of those games brought from the neo geo machine things, but come on this game is now on PS3 add something up, buying a game for just fighting is boring, unlocks, characters story mode those are the things that make a game long, not just fight fight fight.
The game is boring for me, i don't know anyone else who has played this game but for me it has no point, no purpose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

oldies are better.

posted by soulanima (MIAMI, FL) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game is good because of the online play, but some character's moves have been changed and basically i think snk can do better, better graphics and keep the old moves and better special moves like KOF 97-98 and snk vs capcom 1 these are the best games ever by snk in my opinion, loved the old 2D style but needs a lot of work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

When i got this game i was a little skeptical cause the PS2 games were fun but was not what i expected but this game redemed the PS2 versions dont get me wrong i like the King Of Fighters seires but i am more of a Street Fighter fan but this game is really fun i will be buying it when i get the money or asking for it for christmas wich ever comes first. So if you are looking for a good fighting game besides Street Fighter then this is the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i can not comprehend how bad this game is

posted by mattyclay (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

Do not even bother with this game i never liked this franchise but this one killed me. I have no idea how to do combos in this game the best i can do is kick till the enemy is dead. Which by all means could be fun for you but this just sucked. One thing that killed me was the update time it took 20 minutes. Yet the install time took about 30 seconds. I have never been more disappointed in my gaming life it was murder to all fighting games i played 2 matches before i had a headache and by the 10 match i was getting ready to pull out some beer and get wasted there is no excuse for this game and its difficulty. So all and all this was better left undone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

COMPLETE GARBAGE (graphics excluded)

posted by thescience (THOMASVILLE, NC) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Beat game in nine minutes on hardest level. Horrific game compared to even the first KOF. Its almost 2010 now. Like the gecko from geico say, "come on people"! Maybe it's ignition's fault. I really hope its not SNK'S!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What a Waste!

posted by pokegod (ONTARIO, CA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

To start off, I was really excited to play this game. the graphics were all hand-drawn, which was the high-point of the game. and this game made it to XII (aka 12), which was the fact that made me rent it. But then it went downhill from there. This game had one of the longest install times ever, which instantly gave me two things. High Hopes and disappointment. high hopes, because, if it took that long, the game should have been great. Disappointment because of the lack of any real option of gameplay. No story mode, which for some reason is something i really anticipated. Arcade mode seemed as a good replacement, but dam (intentionally misspelled), I was wrong. It ended up being a team of three (which is one of the few options they give you) of any characters you wanted. After that, a short cutscene explaining the rules is shown, and then you're thrown in a 3-on-3 fight. But, here's where i'm disappointed with in arcade (just say, i should've known when it said "Arcade"). it's a five match time trial, and, if you've competed more than once, you're basically just going against yourself. The english lines I overlooked because of my love for all things japan. And, there are 20 characters (at the most) to choose from. some characters look like they were thrown together, like Leona or Sie. and, for first time players of the series (such as myself), you're forced to learn on your own, with no real "How to Play"... anything. Unless of course they suck(ed) you into paying $60 and read the manual. however, they left the shoulder buttons untouched (I'm guessing) for you to combine buttons like HP and LP (the punches) and HP and HK, and, that's what i did. But what really sucks, is that when you're in versus mode, and you're having all this fun. But, most buttons in the character select either pick a costume, move the selection panel, or do nothing at all. Which means, when you want to quit, you have to wait for a whole other match to come up. and there are 5 stages. IT SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gamefly Rocks...

posted by ShaolinFu (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I played this game for roughly 20 seconds and I already wanted to return it. I gave it due diligence though, playing through the game and beat it --- in 15 minutes!!!

The pixel-ated character sprites and limited backgrounds (there are only 5) could all be forgiven, if the game was fun -- at least for me. There are so many things wrong with this game (i.e. it's missing some of my favorite characters) that I just couldn't play it anymore. Moreover it feels like this game was slapped together and pushed out the door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

King no more....

posted by Daistaar (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

This is the saddest version of KOF in it's long history. While easily the best looking KOF ever, the game fails terribly where it counts. To start, the game has NO STORYLINE! The story has always been crucial to KOF along with fast paced, over the top gameplay. BOTH are now gone. There is no story mode in KOF12. On top of that, the pace has really slowed and relies a lot more on physical attacks as the special moves per character have been reduced. Characters like Iori, a favorite, staple, and pivotal character to the KOF universe have been reduced to nothing more than 2 scratches. Iconic characters like Mai, Rugal and Geese are missing. There are very few stages (something like 4). You ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO TURN OFF ENGLISH VOICES for the game to be anywhere near player (Switch voices to Japanese and keep English subtitles). Online play is absolutely broken with lag, disconnects, and NO ONE THERE! There's too much so I'll just bullet these:

Pros:
-Beautiful art throughout.
-Animations done superbly.
-Play Music from the XMB while you play!
-Very good load times after install

Cons:
-Lack of characters. (Especially key characters)
-No Story mode (Game is 5-bout time trial)
-Characters have had move count reduced
-Broken Online play (Lag, no matchmaking, no players)
-Most trophies really on online play!
-Horrible English voice work
-NO TEAMS?! (Just any three people you want)
-Could've easily included KOF:Online on disc
-Long times before install

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok could have been better

posted by dark822 (PITTSBURG, CA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

it suck not alot of characters like the old ones but the graphics are great it takes along time to play online but im not going to play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse