Rent King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga for Wii
view large frontback

King of Fighters Collection: The Orochi Saga

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.8

117 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

No longer the "King" of fighting games

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For those looking for old school fighting games, you're in luck; King of Fighters: the Orochi Saga is a collection of five arcade games in the King of Fighters franchise.
There's King of Fighters '94, '95, '96, '97 and '98. Each game is graphically faithful to the arcade version (which is just a nice way to say they're really ugly), and they have all the characters from those games.
The controls are okay - it's hard to pull of a diagonal jump and some moves, but nothing too terrible.
But there's really no difference between the five arcade games except for a few more fighters show up in later editions. They play out exactly the same.
The game makers try to pad out the package with a large selection of challenges (fighting without seeing your health bar, attack/defend when prompted, use only 3 or more hit combos, or use one attack button.)
Winning these challenges gets you a lot of artwork and music. Fans of the King of Fighters series will like that.
But for those not interested in this genre, this game's not for you at all.
One last problem is the thrill I get from playing the game don't last very long due to bad graphics, repetitive action, and poor presentation. Nostalgia can go only so far. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Relive The King of Fighters '94-'98.

posted by GameBo1 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

SNK has released many compilations based off their arcade classics such as Fatal Fury Archives Vol. 1 & Vol. 2, & Art of Fighting Anthology. The King of Fighters is SNK’s biggest fighting game series, and possibly their best game series next to Metal Slug. Now on to the Review.

Compilation: The KOF Collection contains 5 KOF games, which are KOF ’94-‘98. They all play out to be like their arcade classics, and they remain true to the classics with the Neo-Geo intro for each game. There is also a challenge mode where the player has to fight with certain requirements in the game to unlock music, art, etc. in the extra mode.

Controls: The games all use a 4 button control scheme, with 2 punches , & 2 kicks. In KOF ’94-’96, you can charge your character’s super bar by holding down both strong buttons. In KOF ’94, the controls felt a little clunky, and somewhat unresponsive. However, in KOF ’95-’98, the controls felt fluid and right. Also, on the Wii version, you are given 4 ways to use a controller. The player may use the Wiimote, Wiimote/Nunchucks, Classic Controller, or the Gamecube controller to play. The best way to play hands down is the Classic Controller because it is fitting to the games’ 4 button control scheme.

Characters: The characters in the games span across three different games from SNK, which are Art of Fighting, Fatal Fury, and Ikari Warriors. There are also original characters made for the KOF series such as Kyo, Iori, and Rugal.

Gameplay: Other than KOF ‘94, before playing, the player can create a 3 man team. Before each fight, the player can select the order of each character, and they switch out when the fighter before them gets knocked out. The 4 button control scheme works very well, and the special moves come naturally once you manage to master them.

Overall: KOF Collection: Orochi Saga maintains to be very fun and enjoyable. Grab your friends and huddle around the Wii. You can now even pick it up for only $10.

Score: 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SNK RULES

posted by danielb (Odessa, TX) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I love SNK games. I particularly love SNK fighting games. I've been playing them constantly for years. No-one will even play me at them because I am so experienced they can't win. So, it kind of sucks this game has no internet. It would be nice to play that way.

Anyway, I think the reviews on this site have been unfair to this game and to the KOF series. If you grew up on it like I did, you will love the sprites and know that they are not "ugly" but rather very effective and well done for their time in many of the games. Also, the gameplay is flawless... especially if, like me, you own the Wii Arcade Fight Stick by Hori.

I also like hwo they threw in the challenge mode where you can fight matches with special (often very difficult) conditions in order to unlock in-game music, artwork, and other goodies.

Overall if you don't like 2-d fighters and can't appreciate SNK games you shouldn't play it. But, if you have yet to experience SNK or if you love them like I do, you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's alright, but........

posted by Dazzlestar (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

First off, let me say that i never really played any KoF fighting game ever, no matter what platform it was on. I really did like the characters, Really fell in love with five specific characters. Some of the collection had good storylines. My couple of downreviews are the controls to the hard to excute Super Moves. i really good at pull off the same type of moves for some other games, but i had a hard time with this game and it need more wicked cool combos. I love the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If this is a 10, it needs more of those USA people

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

All the charecters are in the 98 version and I think team USA is a good team to play since the 94 adition so this is a good game with a good collection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »