Rent Kinect Star Wars for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kinect Star Wars

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
6.2

1655 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Game

posted by usmcFerret (ORANGE, CA) May 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Really enjoyed this game might take a look into keeping it. if u like star wars i recommend it. fun for teens and up, definitely not for kids too hard for little kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Most Ridiculous Kinect Game To Play Drunk

posted by GameGuy59 (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I knew this game was going to be mediocre. Every preview and video showed it's mediocrity. So why did I rent it? Because any chance to play as a Jedi is worth it to me. My love for Star Wars makes me want to play any game within the brand, regardless of it's value or not.

Here's the thing. Kinect Star Wars is actually a decent game. Sure, it's use of the Kinect isn't as solid as Child of Eden or Kinect Sports, but those games don't have lightsabers do they? If you are looking for an adequate title that makes you feel like a Jedi, then this game is for you.

Granted, I got a little bit loaded while I was playing this title. I figured the more booze the better considering the reviews called this title "clunky and boring". This game is actually a solid title if you get past the cheesy dialogue, mediocre graphics, and standard use of the kinect. Sure, the kinect isn't always responsive, but the game sure is fun. Swinging lightsabers, blasting ships, and piloting podracers makes you feel like your in the Star Wars universe.

The game is obviously geared towards kids. If you can get over that then you will enjoy this title. Don't take the story seriously. Look past the graphics. Get used to the controls. This game is actually a pretty solid title that lets you strike foes down with a lightsaber, gun down ships, control a rancor, and even dance your way to victory.

It's not the most polished title and it's certainly not a game of the year contender. What it is though is a solid Gamefly rental and a great game for those still hoping for another Star Wars flick.

Have a few beers and enjoy this ridiculous title that maybe a little cheesy, but overall, has a whole lot of heart.

7 / 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely a different experience

posted by steelcity2739 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game provides an interesting and new experience with Xbox Kinect. The controls are kind of difficult to pick up quickly, but once you get the hang of it, it kind of just comes naturally.

The Kinect is very smooth in reading your movements as the user and the game is really interactive and fun to play. There are various types of game modes that you can play in addition to the main campaign like pod racing, duel mode, etc.

If you like star wars you will love this game because it takes you through all different battle scenes that are similar to the movie, like speeder bike battles through a forest while avoiding trees, to being in up front combat against various types of droids, etc.

This seems to be more of a game for the younger audience as well so if you are older I wouldn't recommend it as much.

As of now I give this game a 7 out of 10 because it is not quite as much as i expected because of all the hype, but it is still a fun game and involves more Kinect usage than any other game I have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OMG!

posted by Wrathchylde (WALBRIDGE, OH) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one heck of a work out. At 36 and completely out of shape, this old dude couldn't even make it past the intro training - lol. However, the pure joy of watching my 10 year old wear herself out for hours of full body aerobic exercise while gaming makes it out of this world fun for the whole family!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for the kids

posted by HappyNhigh (LOGANVILLE, GA) May 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I know atleast my youngest is in love with this game. I love watching and sometimes playing along. Great for hours on end!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good

posted by BOB_JAMS (ATTICA, NY) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Was fun, liked it. A little bit confusing, but was a good Kinect Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Crash

posted by bstaff1986 (WICHITA, KS) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Initially, you think this is going to be awesome, but wait it meets the Kinect standards for failing to exceed expectations, the "turn base" light saber duels, along with they character only preforming half the moves you complete. Star wars Kinect is another shoddy attempt to pool resources by Lucas arts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Terrible controls make this a huge disappointment

posted by Denton (CEDAR PARK, TX) Apr 4, 2012

Member since May 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

On paper this game sounds great: get to be a Jedi, swinging your lightsaber and using Force powers, plus some podracing, dueling, some rancor smash-em-up, and even a Dance Central-style mode.

Unfortunately, the controls are awful in everything except the dancing. There's at best a 50% chance that whatever you do will be reflected on-screen. Combat ends up being the Kinect version of button-mashing: just flail around and hope something sticks. By the time I made it through the first act of the game, probably at least an hour in, I wasn't any better at it than when I started.

The podracing controls are complicated and get tiring. Even a one-lap race is way too long.

The rancor Rampage-style game is tedious and repetitive. The controls also stink but it's hard to go wrong in it: just flail your arms around and you'll smash stuff up and win.

The dueling is crazy long and is just the same thing over and over again: block a few times, attack a few times, repeat that cycle about 50 times. If there's any skill involved beyond holding your arm up for 15 seconds and then flailing around, I missed it.

The dancing is okay and the songs are popular ones with Star Wars-themed lyrics. I'm not much into dancing games, though, so only played a couple rounds.

If you really love both dancing games and Star Wars, this might be worth a rental just for that mode. For everyone else, stay far, far away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

kinect star wars

posted by laeyenya (NOLENSVILLE, TN) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is so awsome its the best kinect game i played yet the is story is good the gameplay is great its fun for the whole family it brings your jedi fantasy to life its worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not As Bad As People are Saying

posted by barneyrubble (CANTON, GA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yes, the controls and response are a bit lacking, but overall, the game is actully very fun to play. The first time I played it I would have given it a 6, but now after about 3 weeks, I actually will give it a 8. Fun for kids as well, as they can go crazy with lightsaber, kick, flips and force attacks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's a kinect game...

posted by SirUbernoobpwnr (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After reading the reviews I was skeptical to even rent this title but I did anyway. I must say that I am glad I did. I am a huge star wars fan and this game gives you the opportunity to BE in the experience. As corney as it may be there is no other experience like this for star wars other than the Disney ride. This is a kinect title and for those of us that are true gamers we should know what we are getting when renting something kinect compatable. My suggestion... Rent it, play it, return it. You have nothing to lose other than some frustrations about the minor kinect movement detection problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Haters

posted by jebus187 (ORLANDO, FL) May 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is fine. I don't understand why everyone is being so critical.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolute greatest!

posted by Cole22 (HENRICO, VA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First of all, let me get something straight. These other reviews are not the droids you're looking for. Not even IGN's. If anyone would just take the time to keep it for a long while, like I am planning to do now as I already rented it, then they would love it to its fullest. First off, in the campaign, you pick from 8 jedi and even get to pick your partner! Slice through droids, fly in a starship, and even duel some of the Star Wars universe's worst villains. Jump while attacking to flip and attack from behind. Also, you can go podracing, and even start a destiny there! The controls are a bit difficult, so I highly suggest the race assists. Seriously, though, do you think that Lucasarts and Microsoft went to the trouble of moving the release date from 12-31-11 to 4-3-12 for nothing? They had some problems that they fixed up greatly. Play as a giant hulky Rancor and eat, throw, and destroy people in villages and droids. There's also a Galactic Dance-Off mode in a Dance Central type gameplay, and that's where the fun REALLY kicks off. Choose from many Star Wars songs, such as Stronger. And finally, Duels of Fates. One reviewer said he missed the skill involved in this mode, if there was any at all. Well, he was right. You have to predict your opponent's moves using the knowledge of his first few moves. Jump, headbutt, clash, and even use the force to throw objects at your enemy, who can be a MagnaGuard, a Sun Guard, Count Dooku, Ror, and even Darth Vader. Plus, most the modes can have another player join in and fight with you. In campaign, slice through droids and ride on speeders and starships with your partner playing with you. In duels of fates, you are able to fight other opponents and battle them to the first finish in a shorter time than your partner does finish his opponent. So forget all those reviews out there, it's YOUR opinion that matters, not someone else's. So rent, buy, and may the force be with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Hate

posted by powner (BROADLANDS, VA) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Recently i have received Kinect Star Wars, and needless to say it wasn't the greatest game but definitively fun. Using the force and wielding the saber were a little laggy at first but then again you shouldn't be swinging your arms like a crazy person. try to keep control with simple motions the Kinect can understand and the game turns out to be lots of fun. A good story line that ties in the with movies and plenty of of fun game play make Kinect Star Wars a game for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!!

posted by mykeyB (ROYERSFORD, PA) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man, i read the review for this game and I thought they were just bashing it to bash it but seriously it was boring. All I did was move my arm back and forth and THATS IT!!! ....Stay away, or just rent to see how bad it is...such a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Didn't give it enough play time

posted by vashley2000 (COSTA MESA, CA) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I skimmed thru some of the games. Not as exciting as I thought it was going to be. The story line was better than the games themselves. My favorite game was Galaxy dance off but couldn't get the last song to unlock even though I got 5 stars on all extended songs. That was quite annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is glitchy & oversimplified!

posted by Smartfun (TACOMA, WA) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game doesn't work that well with the Kinect plaform, that it was seemingly made for. This game would be great for teen girls and "younglings". Anybody expecting to really play as a Jedi Knight should say good-night to this game! As G4's X-Play said best, "This game SUCKS!!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty alright

posted by Soul_Well (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story was good, the moves are slick (In a way) But the controls were a little wonky (But all Kinect games are like that). The mini games were fun, i beat the story in like 1 1/2 days though, pod racing was trieding. Rancor rampage was fun, i give it a 7 because it is not free roam. Overall a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kinect Star Wars

posted by Fenix420 (VALPARAISO, IN) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about this since most other kinect titles have been lacking, but this game has turned out to be pretty solid. the campaign is short, but the side activites are well done. was decent. i wouldnt pay 60$ but great for the gamefly :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

100% Horrible

posted by gosssct (PALATINE, IL) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The only place to begin is that the Kinect wouldnt even pick up my arm movements during the training duel. I put the game back in the mail aftet that. I'm a huge Star Wars fan, but once again the Kinect proves worthless for other than for my girlfriends dancing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kinnect Star Wars falls flat!!!

posted by Cofig (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The difficult controls ruin this game. My son and I were looking forward to this game and were both disappointed. He is much more forgiving than I am and even he wanted no part of it. It's a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Huge star wars fan but not that sensitive.

posted by jforte (WEST CHESTER, PA) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It's a fun game and worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

star wars kinect

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing all the haters can suck it. i can't wait for star wars kinect vol 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by Flyersphan94 (WARMINSTER, PA) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It took me legit a half an hour just to get past 1 of the tutorials. All you do is swing you arm back and forth for hours and nothing else just terrible. Lucas arts just please stop you are killing star wars!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another kinect game

posted by JeSSter (CHICO, CA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is a good kinect game, but I generally dislike the kinect just like I generally dislike the wii. The idea is great but when put into video games it's ok fun. The only great game was on the wii and it was wii sports. The kinect can be the next great thing I just haven't found how what is ever going to happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse