Rent Killzone: Shadow Fall for PS4
view large frontback

Killzone: Shadow Fall

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

GF Rating
6.3

1784 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid FPS

posted by robertonycr (DALLAS, TX) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

As seen on every other review website, this game is gorgeous! Don;t pay any attention to the folks nitpicking some of the melee complications, they are almost non existent and only had this happen once in the entire campaign. My ONLY gripe about this title are the rail sequences... they are a nightmare and unnecessary. A must rent as a launch title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beatutiful Shooter

posted by JomelS (CARSON, CA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

It's a beautiful shooter, but it's as generic as they can come. The pacing is also the worst in the series. It's a rental through and through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Vanilla pudding

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game isn't great and it isn't bad. It's vanilla pudding. It can do something for you. It likely won't thrill you though. It gets the job done, but only just. Graphics are insanely beautiful and the campaign is insanely awful. Coming from mercenaries I expected much more. It's hard to explain but the campaign just feels off and exhausting. Multiplayer is better but can't stand up to bf4 and as an adult I don't have time to level more than one shooter a year anymore. Wish they'd move away from the Skinner box business model a bit more but hey if it works it works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It looked nice..

posted by Opedia (SEATAC, WA) Jan 10, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Positives:
-the game looks great and the environments are really well done

Negatives:
-the field of view is terrible
-multiplayer suffers from the same claustrophobic feeling as singleplayer because of the FOV
-the single player is filled with quick time events and doesn't present anything that says "YES! THIS IS NEXT GEN!"
-audio bugs
-FPS drops

It really isn't worth grabbing, unless you're a hardcore Killzone fan. The gameplay just doesn't feel good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

generic

posted by bucko96 (OVIEDO, FL) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the most boring, generic, and on rails FPS games I have played. the only redeeming factor about this game is the the graphics are some of the best you will see on console, but that's it you will not find anything special with this game, and I was definitely expecting more from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Honest Review

posted by mjk6df (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Killzone has always been a series with a decent campaign and awesome multiplayer. Shadow Fall unfortunately carries the same status quoi of mediocre campaign with great multiplayer . First off the campaigns good: Graphically the game is awesome with top notch sound effects. The controls take advantage of dual shock 4 with one of the tightest controlled shooters to date. The story has great development with a nice mix of stealth vs heavy combat.
The campaign bad: Awkward design choice for free falling and free floating segments. The controls here are down right terrible and can make for a miserable experience. Some parts of the game are very slow and there never was many of the big time action sequences in previous games. I commence the developers for trying to freshen the series but overall it feels like a generic shooters campaign. There is fun to be had, but overall expectations have fallen short.
Multiplayer returns and controls great and feels better than ever. The maps are cleverly designed with some fun game modes including custom matches. The score menus however are terrible as you can't even find your K/D ratio. Also, some of the fun classes such as infiltrator and marksman are no longer there. You can no longer stay cloaked and snipe or run around assassinating targets in disguise. To some this may not be a big deal but to me it was disappointing. The hectic action and crazy guns are still there, it just doesn't feel like a killzone game.
Overall the game is a blast to play. It does have its issues but if your looking for fun multiplayer with a decent campaign this is work a shot! 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great title to buy for your new PS4

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Needless to say I won't go into too much detail about the single player campaign that you can't already find in the game description. I will address a few issues that you might have read in some of the other reviews that might have you on the fence about renting this beautiful game. For one thing, on the default difficulity setting, Killzone SF isn't as easy as some people (cough gamespot) might have led you to believe. I am a gamer that plays games on the hardest settings most often, and although I blew through the campaign in a little over 8 hours, it was not what you would call a cakewalk. You will have to make good use of your OWL, take cover often, use some strategy and tactics. Standing out in the open will get you killed over and over. On harder settings I would imagine taking 10+ hours as there are lots of collectibles (best collectibles in any game I've played in 32+ years of gaming). What is neat is that when you find like audio logs they will play from your dualshock 4 controller, which is very immersive. Also, some reviewers didn't like the fact that in some areas of the game you aren't fighting and just taking in the sights. Well with a game as gorgeous as this one why wouldn't you want to slow down and take it all in. it's one of the most beautiful games I've ever seen and once you play it, it is hard to go back to games on the PS3 or 360. To top it all off, the multiplayer has the same buttery smooth gameplay of the campaign, 10 maps, warzone which allows you to customize game types to your heart's content, and to top it all off, all maps will be FREE to download. Which is AWESOME. This game is the 2nd best launch title of all time (Halo 1 is the 1st to be as objective as possible). To sum it up, don't worry, put it in your Q. KZ borrows much from the Crysis series, I will say that. However, it is a unique game unto itself, and definitely worth a rental. I purchased this game day 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Killzone was...Meh.

posted by silver2533 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The environments were created beautifully. it was just very boring, AI was dreadful, the radar was pretty inconsistent and I just couldn't find anyway to stay interested. Online was very frustrating as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good graphics, boring gameplay

posted by blahblah67 (DEKALB, IL) Nov 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game just is just a glorified tech demo. Great graphics. However, the gameplay is boring and nothing next-gen. Also, even on the easiest setting, it is very easy to die. There is no real way to track your enemies. They just fire at you from everywhere. Maybe worth a rent. But there are better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Feb 17, 2014

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Looks good for the most part. Story is weak and gameplay is boring. No reason to buy this one...barely a feason to rent it. Some cool features but not enough to offset the rest of it. Just not a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by blink070810 (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very boring uninteresting game. Wat I really dislike is how you're not able to go prone. How are you going to be this stealth operative and not be able to go prone. Its also very annoying while trying to take cover behind something. The story is real boring and the characters have no emotions. I only got half way through the game before i was done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gets old fast!!

posted by sob2356 (MADERA, CA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought it was pretty cool at first but... i just lost interest very fast. with all the shooters out there that are available this one is different but not in a good way. after you play the up-tempo call of duty b o II.......and then go to this...... it makes you want to fall asleep. BUT ALSO NOTE: I HAVE NEVER REALLY PLAYED THE KILLZONE SERIES SO TAKE MY OPINION WITH A GRAIN OF SALT. I just feel like when I play an mmo, that I want to go were the party is........ This party is dead. like going to an empty bar for a drink. BORING!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

missed the mark

posted by GhettoEx (EL PASO, TX) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great grahpics, but thats really all it has, after chapter 2 u get the sence this is gana eb a repeater of the same thing level after level... worst off in chapter 8 the game wouldnt let me progress, i spent 2 hours not able to advance came back the next day and spent another hour and couldnt get the game to let me advance...

i guess ill jsut stick to battle feilds, deffinatly not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simply put

posted by giuseppesc (WARREN, MI) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The A. I. in this game killed any chance of it being fun or the combat making any sense. Not a good way to break out of the gate PS4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste of time

posted by 10001gamer (NAPLES, FL) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Alarm's keep going off, hard to find them, objectives not clear... very frustrating game where you pretty much lost as to what you're supposed to be doing.. 2 hours and I'm done...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

oh no its another bs clone of cod/bf,

posted by Valic_stone (TACOMA, WA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

thay went the wrong way again. its on rails the maps are small , no story coop unlike KZ 2or3 witch had huge levels good guns and the graphics awsome to bad its just another wannabe game.. i thought it looked good but i'd rather have ok looks grate game play and coop because the two before this one i will play for ever, this one not so much..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Was Hoping For More...

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I've not been sucked into the prior Killzone games immediately. I owned the first one on Playstation 2 for a year or more before I actually got around to beating it. That said, the entries in the series have progressively gotten better, both graphically and content-wise.

It's with a heavy heart that I found myself trading in my copy of 'Shadow Fall' after a few months. Not because the graphics were subpar and not because the multiplayer was broken, those were in fact, the saving graces of the game. It is gorgeous, don't get me wrong, but didn't quite live up to my expectation of a "next-gen launch title." If you're looking for the most graphically polished launch titles, I'd recommend Fifa 14, NBA 2k14, or the Tomb Raider DE that just released. Multiplayer is as fast and frantic as I'd hoped. The options and maps are great. Not to mention ALL the DLC for this game is FREE. (Huge kudos to the publisher for this!)

The weight of the guns has been fixed, following what felt like carrying a bullet firing horse in the third game we now have a more balanced feel, creating a more fluid experience all around.

My largest gripe with the game is the story (POSSIBLE SPOILERS): They give half their planet to the Helghast and expect everything to go okay? That's like France splitting their country to allow the circa-WWII Germans to operate in the Western half. It didn't make sense at the beginning and the ten or so hours that followed didn't alleviate my concerns. I get that FPS's aren't known for fantastic stories, but c'mon... really?

If you're looking for a different kind of shooter than the cut-and-paste annuals we're accustomed to, look no further. It will satisfy that need for now but may leave you craving more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very average first person shooter worth playing since there are not very many games for the PS4. The First person story is horrendous but does get a tad better towards the game. The gameplay is smooth for the most part with a few frame rate issues here and there. The graphics are pretty good. I would compare them to medium-high with some AA on a gaming pc. The in game sound is a little sub par and the voice acting was terrible. Don't let the open level talk fool you. This game is on rails. The check point system will break immersion due to changing your weapon load out in the middle of a chapter.

With all that said I did enjoy playing this game and retiring my PS3 with no regrets. For a launch game I am pleased because future iterations of PS4 games will only get better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken game!

posted by sandruu (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really looked forward to this game but was let down time after time. The graphics were not as expected, AI was poor, bad spawns, and there was a HUGE bug that would not allow me to finish the 2nd stage due to glitching me out of the evac carrier during the ending of the map movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What garbage!!!

posted by ShaggyOne (PENN, PA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the worst ending I have seen for a game series in a long time, so many glitches...... The gameplay was spotty, you would occassionally get caught up on the lip of a sheet of rock that you are supposed to "Walk" up, and that is just one problem. The problem with the story is that about 3/4 of the way through the game the story just evaporates, you have to pretty much guess what is going on are you fight Helgans or Vektans in Helgan armor, if you play it you will understand. As for the advertising that went with it, saying that it fully utilizes the engine is a joke. Killzone 3 looked better and played smoother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Say Cheese

posted by goonsquad (MILFORD, DE) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Terrrrible script and voice acting. Every cut screen is like being thrown into a bad sci-fi movie. Ruins the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it

posted by raananu (TYLER, TX) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I must say I have been playing a lot of games and this is one of the best one I ever played, smart original.
Way better then a lot of games that played
Defiantly will recommend to gamers to try this one , very hard games and lot of nice moves defiantly unpredictable finish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Your Basic Launch Title

posted by dforsee08 (BROOKVILLE, IN) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The beginning of the game starts out great. You're "oooohh's" and "aww's" captivate your senses from great graphics and crisp game-play and sound quality. Everything you'd expect from a launch title. But as you progress through the game it becomes apparent that this game needs some fine tuning. Checkpoints are confusing and near impossible to see whilst at some points in the game you want to break your controller and ask yourself "where the heck am I suppose to go?" Once again, just a basic launch title. Made more for looks than actual brains. . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game needs an in game map

posted by Adamj253 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The biggest issue i have with this game is the lack of a map. You have to constantly hit the triangle button for a little sometimes hard to see orange popup. Really frustrating. Other than that its a great fps with great graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent FPS

posted by CajunHEAT (IOTA, LA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all, this game looks outstanding. Some of the nit picky things other reviews mentioned were never a problem for me. Multiplayer is fun, and looks just as great as the campaign. And being an avid gamer, I will say the multiplayer can be challenging at times, but keeps you hooked giving you thousands of challenges to unlocks. This is definitely a game that should be in your Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse