Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

13193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

didnt like

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Too complicated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great shooter for the casual gamer

posted by CJC7575 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Easily, the most fun I ever had playing a shooter. What more can I say?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kill me

posted by urmommafool (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

controlls suck a s s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Killzone killed my game zone.

posted by Whodisun1 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 14, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Killzone 1, 2 and 3 all the same plot and lots of unrealistic movies. The game play was stay back and shoot. No good A.I. But I had to play them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is a fun and very short (7-9hr.) fps. The story line isn't the best but the action makes up for it. The over all sound of the game is good but the guns don't give off very good "umph" when firing. As of all PS3 exclusive titles the games color pallet is poor. The entire game seems grey with highlights of red or green splattered through out. You should not purchase this game for any price. If your bored over the weekend this is a great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

freezing skipping lag you name it

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

most people hate the campaign so i'll dedicate this review to the multiplayer unfortunately its not good either match making is quick but %80 of the time i would be paced in a game where im the only one on my team or the match would end as soon i a spawned most people say the hit detection is way off that couldn't be anymore accurate the hit detection is extremely annoying you hit people they dont die ever some people say the weapons and abilities are overpowered ok fair enough but whats worse is the lag you diminish someones health but it takes like 3 seconds for him to actually die major game breaker if thats not enough it freezes quite frequently or just skips to the point where you push the stick and he doesn't go anywhere but let go of it and it warps you 30 feat away its that bad after 3 days of the nonsense i decided to call it quits and return to killzone 2 speaking of killzone 2 its much better than the third just rent the second skip the third entirely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Vast improvement from Killzone 2!

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) May 1, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

Just like the title says this game is a large improvement from its predecessor, Killzone 2.

In the previous game one of my biggest gripes of course was the fact that everytime I was really getting into the game and running to the next objective a checkpoint would freeze me where I stood and feel like I just ran into a wall. This time around however they made it seamless and no more of the invisible wall of loading. They have also improved the aiming function in this game. For whatever reason the previous one had this issue where aiming (Which is pretty important in a FPS) just seemed off and never quite had a good flow of accuracy. But this time around they have greatly improved that so don't worry about having to retrain your brain on what is considered "dead-on".

I won't talk much about the graphics because you probably are already aware that THEY ARE GORGEOUS!!! Many FPS games will skimp on the graphics and leave the beautiful landscapes to adventure titles but Killzone 3 has made sure that is not the case. They are easily some of the best graphics you can find on the PS3 and ahead of their time in many respects. This game is also one of the few I've seen to support 3-D function!

Now on to the multiplayer/co-op. The co-op function is fun assuming you have another person to play with at your house because it is local only. It is a shame they didn't give that an option to do online but not a huge letdown. Multiplayer is no Call of Duty but is very fun and competitive all the same. This time you will have different classes and specialties that you can almost take advantage of right away.

The only complaints I have about Killzone 3 is that the story at times seems completely absurd and convoluted with the twists and turns and political turmoil/backstabbing. This left the story with plenty of plot holes.

Overall I give this game an 8 out of 10. I only deducted for a wonky story and lack of online co-op. However I still recommend as a rent and a buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and Action Packed

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

This game is pretty fun and has a-lot of action in the single player campaign, which makes it very fun and addicting. The problem is, is that the campaign is very short (I beat it in 6 hours on Hard Difficulty). I can't say much about the storyline since this is the only game I have played of the Killzone series.
I love the graphics in this game. It has a Gears of War type graphic engine, but not as dark and weird lighting effects like the GOW series does. The lighting and the detail of the environment makes the game more fun.
The sound of this game is very entertaining as well. The grenades, gunfire, explosions are very loud and realistic sounding and it makes you think you're actually in a war zone.
The gameplay is very good as well. The aiming is a little sensitive at first but you get used to it, and all the controls are very easy and make sense. I like the multiple vehicles and big weapons you get to use throughout the game against bosses or other big fights.
One aspect of the game I was most impressed/surprised with was the multiplayer. I thought it was not going to be good, but after playing several hours of it, I was addicted. The graphics are still great online, there is little to no lag, fun loadouts and weapon customization, and cool specials you can use like bots or camouflage that you don't see in the campaign.
Overall, I liked this game a-lot, but I wish the single player was longer because it was very fun and impressed me more than I thought this game would. The muliplayer is very fun too and way better than I thought. This game is a definite rent, and if you like multiplayer first person shooters, than a buy would be good as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kill Zone 3!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

First off I'd like to say this is the first Kill Zone game I've played and I really didn't think it lived up to the great reviews it wasn't a bad game but it wasn't great by any means, I also played it some with Move so I'll reflect that in my review.

Sound-good
Graphics-Great
Story-Pretty Cool
World- In middle of war
Controls- Easy to pick up on and they have alternate options for the set-up

Move-descent but not the best it gets aggravating at times

I gave this game a 7/10 because it was a good game I mainly played when there was nothing to do, I would recommend putting it in your Q and giving it a try you might like it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If I want a movie, I'll go to the theatre

posted by Showta (HOODSPORT, WA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I spent more time in stupid cutscenes then I did playing. WT bleep? Cannot BELIEVE the "higher ups" did not tell the devs..., "Uh......NO!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

would have rated it higher if it had been longer.

posted by chewie13 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I liked this game. Every thing about this game is really good. The graphics, the story line, the weapons, and the characters were all great. I was just a little disappointed with how many levels there were to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good game

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

halo has better graphics than killzone k bye hi imarandom187

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty sweet but needs some work

posted by greenmail33 (OSCEOLA, MO) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

i like the game but some things are not included into the game. they need more weapons and botzone needs to be at least 2 player. i like how they added so much detail and a nice, firm challenge. botzone allows you to get a little used to some of the maps in the campain. other than a few fixer uppers and add-ons, its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love this game

posted by Playher2wo (HAMMOND, IN) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

WOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Freezing

posted by Ponno (ELKTON, MD) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

game had a lot of freezing issues. I would get to a certain point and the game would freeze and I would have to exit out.

Unable to progress past that point. The disc looked fine, no scratches that I could see.

Took a few minutes to load also to the title screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not too bad.

posted by Protocol117 (PUEBLO, CO) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Honestly it wasn't any different than 2. The story was really the only difference. No graphical improvements or game mechanic improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad...

posted by dai83 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Mix one part Gears of War and one part Bulletstorm, add a dash of Black and voila, Killzone 3! Not a bad game, just didn't feel like anything I hadn't seen before. I also didn't like the cover system in Killzone nearly as much as Gears - it was harder to get into cover, and even when you are behind cover it kinda looks and feels like you aren't sometimes. On the upside, Killzone 3 had some cool guns, a decent single player storyline, and if you're a casual gamer like me and you don't always want to jump online to fight others, the AI skirmish matches (Botzone, I believed they're called) are both fun and challenging. Not much for re-playability, but a good quick entertaining FPS. I'd recommend renting rather than buying, but definitely a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Terrific game and story to match.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is a fantastic game with what I thought was a great story to continue on the Killzone franchise.

The graphics were top notch, including the game play, replay value, sound. Little to no loading times and in my experience no glitches. The game play is smooth and fluid. The online experience was very enjoyable for me, and I rarely play online because of all the kids out there that only have one game that memorize the maps and spawning areas make it too cheap to want to play. At least in the online mode you are awarded points based on how you play, so at times as a private I would acquire more points then some guy with 4 stars.

The only downside is that the path is way too linear, we all know that FPS games are linear, but it just too sad to have a wonderful game carved into a straight single path. I would have loved multiple levels of game play and gun fighting with multiple paths to accomplish the same task. It would be nice to be able to flank the enemy or outwit them, instead, like in most FPS games, there are these enemies that have hearing that is heavenly, especially in Killzone the Helghast wear heavy armor and helmets. It is highly improbable that the protagonist that sneaks into an enemy camp would alert so many enemies.

Apart from that, the story line is wonderful a nice transition from the other Killzone games. I didn't feel like I was forced to play catch up with the story of the previous games.

I would highly recommend this game to those that are familiar with Killzone and those that are new to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kill zone 3

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

great games 2 and 3 ..great story..3 picks up right after 2 ..only bad thing about 3 seemed a little short ..went by much faster ..but still great games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KILLZONE

posted by raulg (SEALY, TX) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this is the best killzone ever i hope they make a fourth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Strangely addicting

posted by yoda386 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Their is something about this game that keeps me coming back for more, the feeling of getting a head shot with my pistol and turning around to jam my knife in an enemies face. This game really means killzone, you can just slaughter your enemies with lovely visuals and just the right amount of challenge, truely recommended from yours truely!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

every thing is dragged

posted by BFELI12 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

the movements are dragged, just evey thing is dragged. I feel like I'm playing quake wars really. it's too unreal for me. I didn't even bother completing the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I Expected

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I played the demo to this and was not impressed. It felt like another Call of Duty or Battlefield clone. I put off playing the full game for a long time because of this. I found a used copy of Killzone 2 for dirt cheap at Gamestop and decided to give it a chance. Excellent game. After getting done with that I had higher hopes for this game and finally rented it. Killzone 3 doesn't disappoint either. It has far more likable characters and a deeper, more coherent story than any military FPS I've ever played. The levels are huge, epic sci-fi set pieces rather than the generic streets of a burning city that you're probably used to with these types of games. It even has unique weapons outside of the standard military ones. There are plenty of vehicle levels, including the particularly fun jet pack sequences. The campaign is actually fun to play through and not just a chore to help you ensure that your trophy percentage for the game isn't non-existent. There is a trade off though, the multiplayer isn't nearly as addicting as those other games I mentioned.

8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enter The Helghast!

posted by FPSVET85 (DAYTON, OH) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

KZ3 is without a doubt one of the best FPS games on PS3. The graphics with the 3D are visually stunning. The Campaign is linear but rather short for me. The MP is where this game is a ton of fun! Lots of weapons & unlocks. And tons of Ammo crates in place to reign in more kills & destruction. This game is a great blend of CoD/Halo in nearly every aspect. The only real complaint is the controls are a little slow & clunky compared to most FPS titles sold today. Overall a solid game & worth the buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by Hamadi (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Cool game its battar then first and secend one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse