Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
7.8

13141 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Depending on the person

posted by Mightyman (JESSUP, MD) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I have only played part of single player and it was ehh. I thought where they were trying to make the scene EPIC it was kinda bland for me. But the online of this game is atrocious. The camping in this game is too much to handle. All this extra stuff like drones, sentry, they kill you instead of the other persons gun. You don't know how many times ai have running out of somewhere and a sniper caps me. With no killcam and the zoom in feature is not good because obstacles can still block where your killer is. LOTS OF BS in this game! But this does not mean you can't get lucky and find your self some good matches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

COD Fans can keep their COD

posted by PS3fun (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, anyone that says otherwise is too focused on games past. Great programming, great graphics, great control. THIS IS A DIFFERENT GAME! It's not COD, so it won't control with the same plastic toy physics as COD. Some have found this bad, I like the weight of everything so to me its perfect. A few people posted bad reviews so I'm trying to even things out. If your looking for another COD or Halo I got bad news, both of those games are not that great, you just think they are because that's what you're used too. Time to try something different!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average

posted by hurryup123 (DELHI, NY) May 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Story isn't that interesting. The multiplayer could have also been better.
:[

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nice to look at, boring to play.

posted by CTaylo (MACOMB, IL) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game looks good. I like the feel of going into cover and even the fact that it is realistic in that you're never 100% behind it. Hit detection seems a bit off. Sometimes I'd kill in one shot and other times it would take almost a full clip to drop somebody when aiming at the head.

The characters are throw away and none of them likable. I actually can't even remember why you're fighting the Helghast other than the fact that they are space Nazis. I hated my npc characters so much that I'd actually just down them at the beginning of a level and leave them there. Sparing me tons of stupid bromance dialoge. Also, having one of them die might actually help. The fact that 5 guys can take out a whole army is pretty stupid in anything other than James Bond or Commando. You can't feel anything for meatheads that can survive anything and not even sprain their ankle.

Gameplay is the main reason I wouldn't recommend this game. About 4 hours in I realized I was bored with the 20th "fight your way down a long corridor" gunfight. By then, I was too time invested to not beat it. Rail shooting sections are a nice diversion, but then it's back to "go into cover blam blam move up" rinse repeat. Realistic? Yes. Fun? No.

Take it for what it's worth, but even if they make more, I'm not interested anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3 the best shooter on PS3

posted by WEAD34 (EARLVILLE, IL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Wow what a game. The graphics will make any COD fanboy drool, the story is lacking however and is the only reason that I didn't give this game a 10. I usually don't play multiplayer but I absolutely love the multiplayer for this game. It kills anything COD multiplayer could ever do. Take that fanboys. I definitely recommend this title to anyone who wants to try a real shooter. Peace out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Nice

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Feb 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Cant say Enough how tired i am of war shooters its like been there done that 5000 times- But i must say Killzone 3 is alot of fun Gun battles are fun and the hand too Hand battles are Great- Some Cool Weapons- The Helghast are very cool looking and awsome too fight- But they could of done so so much more too open up this Game too Awsome- How about some Awsome Weird Looking Boss Battles Do you have that NOOOOOOOOOOOOO- More of the Same Kill 100 Helghast then move on too the next chapter and thats it- How about a one Player Hord Mode Mini Game - Are better Yet how about a Helghast Zombie Mode- Come on People THINK- STop Giving Us the Same Hash in War Games- Killzone 3 Looks Great Plays Great the Helghast are a Great Foe- But Come on Think Outside the Box Game Makers'''''''' Like they did Bulltstorm'' Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocrity

posted by NitroMidgets (CIBOLO, TX) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I heard all of the hype, played Killzone 2 and finally got a chance to play this game and I was completely underwhelmed. More of the same old cookie cutter Killzone/COD/BFBC shooter. Lather, rinse and repeat as needed until you have soaked every last dime of profit from the series.

Ever play a game and just as you get to the end you just lose interest in it completely? That would be a good way to describe this game. I didn't play it in multiplayer because the console multiplayers are a waste of time. I get my multiplayer fun in on the pc.

Underwhelmed, unimpressed and not ever worth purchasing. Barely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing you havent seen before

posted by Greener (SATANTA, KS) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I got to play about an hour into Killzone 3 before my copy froze in combat, but i was already ready for it to be over. I waited a week for my copy to get here and had no idea it would be this boring. Maybe im spoiled after just playing the outstanding Bulletstorm but this title has nothing new to offer FPS fans. Combat is heavy and clunky, grenades explode way too fast, the visuals are B- at best compared to Bulletstorm and even Black Ops. If you have a playstation move there might be some entertainment found here but otherwise its a snorefest. Online is pretty good however and not being an EA game you have full access from day one. There is co-op campaign which i guess is a plus for killzone fanatics but if youre looking for a good PS3 exclusive killzone 3 is hardly worth a rent. It didnt keep my attention and unless you find it dirt cheap or have been following the entire series i recommend you skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ehhhhh

posted by catkins7 (CANTONMENT, FL) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it OK not good not badd but OK the controls are basicly the same as call of duty but the game is not for me and my brother this is a ps3 version of halo and i asked my friends and they agree too because in online it took me 35 shots from an LMG to kill somone so if ur looking for a more realistic game then i would not suggest this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No...Just, no...

posted by GamePRO620 (MINNETONKA, MN) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game, overall, is not good. the controls are janky, the graphics kinda suck, the campaign is monotonous, and the online is extremely biased towards the lifeless losers that have already achieved higher levels. the guns are cool though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Killzone 3

posted by Towdaddy927 (POMPEY, NY) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game refused to load. The part that tried to load was scratched and keep pausing and skipping. I expected better game disc quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ps Move Sharpshooter

posted by Funktastic (BEACH PARK, IL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Decent storyline, I never played the first two games. The Story mode is short but is action packed. Ps Move Sharpshooter is awesome with this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

terrible

posted by sak840 (MONTVILLE, NJ) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is too hard to be any fun single player...infuriating beyond belief the inability to actually be in cover and getting shot twice kills you while an entire clip is necessary to kill an enemy....horrid game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must have for any ps move owner.

posted by jkendle (FOUNTAIN, CO) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lets keep it simple, this is the best fps I have played in a long time. Graphics are great, the enemies even on easy are ruthless, multiplayer is a blast. I honestly can’t find anything bad to say about this game. However, the main highlight I would have to say is It finally makes me feel like the playstation move might actually make it in the long run. I bought it when I was drunk a few days after launch, and with the lack-luster game line up so far I was ready to trade it in before it becomes completely obsolete. Pair this with the new sony sharpshooter accessory makes this a must have for any fps player. A word of advice though, play for awhile with the move before trying this1 online, or just use the controller, the fact that the cursor moves a bit makes aiming a little bit of a pain till you get used to it, and people online using the standard controller will just pick you off before you get a second shot. So in conclusion, this game rocks, rent it, buy it, steal it of you have to, you won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TIRED OF THE NICK PICKERS GO PLAY BLACK OPS

posted by dogboy1234 (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

FOR THE PEOPLE COMPLAINING BOUT THE STORY AND THE FRAM RATE DROP I DONT KNOW WHAT KIND OF PS3 U HAVE BUT I HAVE NO ISSUE WITH MY KILLZONE 3 AND THE STORY IS GOOD I DONT SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH IT I DIDNT SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH KILLZONE 2 THE ONLINE IS GREAT U HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THAT SOME PEOPLE PLAY NONE STOP AND HAVE ALL THE WEAPONS SO STARTERS BEWARE TO GET ABUSED THE ONLY THING I WISH IS THAT THEY HAD MORE MAPS AND MORE WEAPON CUSTOMIZING LIKE BLACK OPS THEN IT WOULD BE PERFECT BUT STILL FAR BETTER THEN BLACK OPS AND HARDER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Steamy Pile of Poo

posted by HindenPeter (MOSES LAKE, WA) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Man, where to start... the dialogue and voice-acting is awful, the sounds seem like they were mixed and produced by a deaf person, and the models are all very much last-gen. Nothing about this game is smooth or tactile.

The biggest let-down is the incredible lack of a story. I seriously can't figure out what's going on the whole time, and for people like me who value the story over just about everything else, suffice it to say this gives a bad name to the previous 2 Killzones, which is kind of saying something.

And the dialogue! Oh the dialogue... I'm fairly certain they just pulled random people off the street, handed them $20 and a script, and said, "Now read that into the microphone." There's no feeling in any of the dialogue, save the Helghast leader (whose name I couldn't be bothered to remember), and even then it's all just yelling.

As far as the sounds go... God. I don't even know how you can screw up this badly. I'm led to believe that the sound designer is in fact deaf. There are no explosions, no sounds to indicate that that giant ship you're watching slam into the ground is in fact slamming into anything other than pure vacuum. Sound designer, whoever you are, I hate you.

Skipping everything else wrong with the single-player, lets move on to the multi-player, specifically the online experience. When you shoot someone in the face with a sniper rifle, you generally expect them to die right away. The designers thought this was wrong, so they give you enough time to replace your enemy's face with actual bullets before they die from the effects of the first one. Basically there's so much lag between when your bullets hit someone and they die that the game becomes unplayable.

Bottom line? This game isn't even worth renting, let alone buying. I can't believe it was even considered for best shooter/best PS3 game. The fact that it won both of those goes to show how easy it is to pay off Gamestop. Seriously, just skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hey

posted by oodparent (PATERSON, NJ) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

game did not work...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DISSAPOINTING 3D!! OK ONLY "OK" IN 2D

posted by SHAMAN (SOUTH MIAMI, FL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

OK, I WAS REALLY REALLY LOOKING FOWARD TO THIS GAME SO I COULD FINALLY TAKE ADVANTAGE OF MY NEW 3D TV THAT I BOUGHT WITH SOOOO MUCH EXCITEMENT!! YEAH...THAT BLEW UP IN MY FACE!!
3D...ITS GOING DOWN THE DRAIN AS NOTHING EXTRA IS RECEIVED (OTHER THAN A SLIGHT HEADACHE FROM THE GLASSES AFTER AN HOUR OR SO) FROM USING THE 3D IN THIS GAME (OR ANYTHING ELSE FOR THAT MATTER).
THE GAME ITSELF IS "OK", PRETTY MUCH SAME AS THE OTHER 2 VERSIONS WITH SOME NICE UP-DATES IN THE GAMING MODES AND GRAPHICS WHICH ARE PRETTY COOL!!
PLAY IT IN "2D" AND YOU WILL GET THE EXPIRIENCE THAT THE GAME DEVELOPERS WANTED YOU TO HAVE. ITS A GOOD GAME BUT NOT GREAT. COD: BLK OPS HAS NOTHING TO BE CONCERNED ABOUT WHEN IT COMES TO RIVALING IT IN THE "SHOOTER" GENRE.
HAVE FUN BUT DONT GO BUYING A FREAKING "3D" TV!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont write a review just to be seen

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I love how people write reviews the day it comes out and say "I havnt had a chance to play online or coop but so far.....

After playing it ALL, the truth is...

This game is the same old same old and not even a good same old. You cant tell where your being shot from half the time. You still get shot up while taking cover. the game was just boring. I dont care if the graphics are "tight". who cares as long as its fun. People put why to much stock into graphics and storyline. I just want the game play to be fun. I really hope SOCOM turns out much better. This was yet again a waste of a buy and woulda been a disapointing rental also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Truth

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 31 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Well, let me be the first to say... this games blows. Good graphics???... COME ON! There are so many color arrangements, I have no idea what I'm looking at half the time. The shooting controls are horrible and and characters are very outdated. I hope SOCOM doesn't turn out to be a flop as well.

These folks who are scoring this game a 10 must still be in grade school. I don't even remember Killzone 2 being this bad.

Maybe it's me but running around trying not to die while hundreds of bullets are coming at you ALL THE TIME gets old real quick.

One last note: hire some better voice actors. These guys sound like thier reading from a script that's written down on sticky notes.

Man... games these days are a joke. No detail anymore. Let's just throw a big pile of junk together and see how much money we can make.

EA Sports, Rockstar, Infinity Ward and Activision; nothing else is worth your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I expected more...

posted by mgroman (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Sadly, Killzone 3 was the worst one in the series. What once started out as a great game franchise has deteriorated into a game with poor graphics, even worse character dialogue as if they are reading from a script, and a shabby storyline that appears to have just thrown a bunch of levels in before the story was created. I know alot of people will enjoy the constant action of the game, and maybe choose to overlook story flaws and such but I tried it out and didnt like it. Maybe this will help someone else make a decision.

Time to rent out Uncharted :) Always a great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh

posted by LocoForte (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Lots of great reviews, and yes it is a pretty nice looking game in general. And that's about all the good i can say about it. Even the 'nice looking' wasn't so impressive to me. Additionally, I personally had some technical issues: Move controller wouldn't work, online matchmaking was quite slow, and the game froze on me several times (Disc is mint condition). The sound also falls well short of expectations, i mean the guns all sound nearly the same! Melee is annoying and doesn't actually kill anyone - this was probably on-purpose but it's still annoying. Basically, this PS exclusive merely confirms, yet again, that i hate shooters on the playstation. Discount my 1 for whatever reason you want; for me it's reasonable as the game was back in the mailbox the very next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is no one else's game broken?

posted by BallzyDAN (PALM BAY, FL) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

As of version 1.03, Multiplayer just loads endlessly and nothing happens, single player, i fall thru the map, cant do anything but pause and retry. why would they even put this game out? 3 patches and it still sucks, are you kidding me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Is Why You Get GameFly

posted by MrCardBoad (ARLINGTON, TX) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage. Looks like garbage, sounds like garbage, plays like garbage. You cannot get %100 behind cover. There is a space battle in which you cannot control the ship and it is very very annoying. There are like -5 guns you can use. Every cliche in the book was used as far as characters go in a battle game. White main character, black partner, a sergeant who only obeys orders, and a random chic named Jammer who just pops out of nowhere to ease that 15 year old sexual tension. I had to check twice to make sure my PS3 HD setting were on right, thats how bad this game looks. The story line is completely absent of time. its just garbage. I cant believe games like this are made and its already 2011. Have fun playing for 4 hours. $67 well saved. Thank You Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game SUCKS

posted by Commanderkillz (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

just wat the title says

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse