Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

13193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, need PS move to really enjoy.

posted by Copperhead (AUBURNDALE, FL) May 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this all the way through campaign and it seemed like every other FPS. Since PSN has been down I wasnt able to check out the multiplayer mode. Graphics were good, storyline was decent but nothing special. I didnt have a PS move so im sure this game would be alot better if you have this. You can still play the game like a normal FPS without the PS move. I would recommend renting this but so far I wouldnt recommend buying it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I'll make this quick.

posted by KrakenGrey (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played FPS games since when Wolf3D was new. Frankly, I'm getting sick of them. Nothing new has been introduced to the genre in years. K3 is no different. Looks pretty, but it's the same [enter area/kill/enter new area/kill - repeat].

Story? Whatever. Bland and average.

I'm sure FPS junkies will enjoy it. It's not for the gamer looking for something new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Basic Shooter Game

posted by megalatwo (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing more than your basic shooter game. Not a high selection of weapons and tactics. A weak story plot. Graphics and sound are good. Controls feel unnatural for a shooter game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well then

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

11 out of 24 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Killzone3 the Art work is exceptional but the game-play is unacceptable . This game brings absolutely nothing new to the table and for some reason reviewers seem to think if it looks good then game-play doesn't matter !

This game Shutters a lot online and offline ( GAME BRAKER ) multilayer modes are your basic FPS setup and if you played T.F.C or COD then this is it ..... Again ...........

Storyline seems less attractive then a Sunday morning cartoon , but hey you have nice looking graphics . Right ?

Sure this was worth a rent and hey you may look past the boring game-play and terrible storyline . Just take in the cool looking graphics . Aww yes the graphics , what more could you ask for :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FPS to date.

posted by LadysMan395 (COVINGTON, GA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok i have played and beat almost all the FPS and when i say all i mean all to date and let me tell you not one of them are as phenomenal as this one this is the way a FPS shooter should be people everything from the gorgeous graphics to the epic gameplay its all near perfect its beautiful even if your not a FPS kinnda guy you should still try it out im not a huge si-fi guy myself but this game changed that i played the other two and i have to say this one is by far the best so if you like an amazing FPS and gorgeous graphics and an epic story get KILLZONE 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!

posted by scotty_k (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was brilliantly addictive from beginning to end. So much, that it ended too soon (at least u feel that way).the controls were spot on. The a.I. was smart enough. All and all it was nearly perfect, a must rent for the ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Completely Unoriginal

posted by cn21 (WEST JORDAN, UT) May 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 has one major flaw: Every single 'gimmick' or 'feature' in this game has already been done to death before, and been done Better in the original game that made the concept notable. Cover System? Done extremely better in Gears or War/Rainbow Six: Vegas. Other World Plotline? The storyline here is basically WWII Halo edition. Speaking of WWII, if the Call of Duty series' were set in space, this would be it. The Guns/Multiplayer/Na.zi-looking enemies have all been exhausted in countless other series, and it's a wonder they would continue to try to get tread out of this tired idea. We get it. Nazis were iconic enemies. Grow some originality and portray your enemies as something that we haven't seen a million times before. In fact, there is not one single feature in Killzone 3 that I haven't already seen in multiple other video games/movies before. It's as if the developers for this game played every other top shooter and watched every top military/war film from the past decade, and picked the best aspect of each to include in this game. They've basically blended a handful of other games' feature list to try to create their blockbuster, and in my opinion, have ultimately failed. This game is worth of nothing more than a playthrough at best. Thank God for Gamefly for preventing me from wasting my money on CopyCat 3... or I mean Killzone 3. [Time spent with game at home - 4 days]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is AWESOME

posted by Awesome1ne (FRANKLIN, NC) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. Couldn't be better. The storyline,graphics,characters,and weapons are awesome. I seriously recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I didnt want it 2 end.

posted by tonymonges (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the game. I did not want it 2 end. Playboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty impressive

posted by Nach0Panch0 (THE COLONY, TX) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Visuals were stunning, gameplay was epic, but a bit on the short side. Just to keep it short and sweet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Killzone 2 is better

posted by melikegameing (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is something about Killzone 3 that is too over the top hollywood style. The game just not feel as intimate as Killzone 2.

You can blow through "3" in about 5-6 hours on "normal" setting and I'm not a speedie 18 year old gamer (I'm 40) , which I did and the battles just were too predictable this time around.

I'm glad I rented the game, I had it out for 4 days and finished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3 eye candy

posted by Tomamagic (MILPITAS, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Single player was overall pretty fun. The story itself is forgettable and there isn't much replay value there, unless you are going for all the trophies. My single play thru took anywhere from 6-8 hrs.

Multiplayer is where the bulk of your time will be spent, that is, if you care you play online. Finding a match is fairly quick. Here, the upgrade system is similar to CoD series. You earn xp by killing, completing objectives, capture territories, etc and then you would spend these "points" to unlock weapons, perks, etc. There's 5 different classes that you can play as, which creates a unique experience. The maps available are by the handful and players vote on which map to play on. During online gameplay, it did freeze on me once, but that was the only time thus far. It's pretty fun and intense online. It will keep me occupied until the next big shooter comes out. Rent it first if you are unsure but one thing is for sure . . . the eye candy! P.S.- This game supports 3-D tvs and the Playstation move but I had neither. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

action shooter

posted by LegionnaireZ (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If generally fast action shooters are your preference then you have the right game. Not my style at all. the rating is not a reflection of the game but most likely preference for ppl that prefer tactical espionage (splinter cell) style. However, for the levels i did play through there were one or two sneaking approaches but not enough for me.

graphics are good, gameplay incorporates some interesting and cool functions. the levels are a bit too linear IMHO. I prefer the options of free roam and puzzles to run and gun.

i didnt even finish the game due to the uninteresting plot and rather mindless shooter style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly Breathtaking

posted by mrfizz55 (ROYSE CITY, TX) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is so breathtaking. The graphics are amazing they look so good its like a movie. The story is perfect. The multiplayer never gets old with the brutal kills like eye gouging a helghast. I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Killzone 3

posted by kingkong10 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was so awsome. I never played 2 or 1, but you dont have to. the story is so easy to figure out. Its like terminator salvaton. You just need to know that the ISA is losing. The gamplay is great and smooth. I highly recamend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

LAME

posted by rdly_559 (REEDLEY, CA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the story looks pertty cool but wow i hate the online gaming!!!!!! BLACK OPS IS WAY BETTER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

short but sweet

posted by DaRkAtLaS (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

killzone 3 was a very nice game story line was good not the best but was good the grphaics where really crisp the only thing i hated was it was really to short i beat it in 3 seating only playing it for a max of 4 hrs but killzone was diff good i wouldnt buy it just rent it only cuz the game is so short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of our time

posted by Mistychan (FARMINGTON, MO) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Killzone from day one has always been one of the best games of all time, however Killzone 3 has really out done it's self. Splendid graphics and amazing levels, deep and twisting story line, and lots of guns and enemies for your killing pleasure! Both single player and multiplayer grab your attention so strongly that you sit down to play and a week later you realize that you forgot to sleep or eat. I got as far as Captain grade 2 in multiplayer so far and while the first couple of ranks are really easy to get the higher you go the longer it takes and the more effort you must give. If i had to choose 1 thing i didn't like about it, then it would be that you only get to carry 2 weapons (a main and a sub) and you can only choose from 3 main weapons and 3 sub weapons (they change depending on what class you choose) I would prefer to choose my weapons from a full list of weapons like in Red Faction 2. other then that there is not a single bad thing i can say about this game. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grrrrreat

posted by JonDenver (LEICESTER, NC) Mar 13, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a multiplayer junkie you'll love this game while single player is limited multiplayer more than makes up for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3

posted by RDsix3 (SANTA ANA, CA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am enjoying this game, lots of fun. I love the guns. Really fun game to co op. There are some cutscenes that just freaking suck cus the dialogue isnt executed with precision but other than that the writing is cool. lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yet another reason to buy a PS3.

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 2, 2011

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In full disclosure, I have all three consoles. I'm not a fanboy.

This game is another great reason to own a PS3. Does it have the sweeping, epic story of Halo? No. Does it have the gritty realism of Call of Duty, no. Folks, this game is a straight up hardcore shooter with great weapons and killer gameplay both in single player mode and online multiplayer.

KZ3 is superior in every way to KZ2. Better story, better voice talent, the visuals are improved in that the environments are more colorful and more varied. The controls are also much tighter than KZ2.

If you're an FPS fan, renting/buying KZ3 is a no-brainer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Decider (FLETCHER, NC) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game and all, but if I'm going to be honest the storyline/campaign could have been a whole lot better than it was. Plus, the ending was a major disappointment. However, the multiplayer is one of the best out there easily. The point/currency system works like a charm and everything else looks amazing. The graphics are very good, and it is a great game overall. They also have co-op campaign, which is really fun. One of the most annoying things was that they didn't ever explain why Natko from killzone 2 never shows up in the story. This bothered me alot , but other than that the game itself is very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3

posted by STR78974 (ANAHEIM, CA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let’s have a few words for the single player. It’s amazing Graphics are outstanding, best I have seen so far in a console and the game mechanic is great. Although the best part about this game is not the looks, or weapons handling, it’s the AI, I love it, on normal I died at least 10 to 20 times, because they flank you, imagine that the enemy pins you down and one or two try to flank you. The only problem with the game is that it won’t let you carry more than three weapons at a time. Now Multiplayer:,, It’s easier to compare with Halo Reach you have five Classes Medic, Infiltrator, Assault, Engineer, Tactician. The variety of weapons leaves something to be desired. Mostly you only have add on to same weapons. Example; Medic has Assault Rifle, Infiltrator has the same Assault Rifle as the Medic only difference is that it has a silencer. The Maps Are excellent. There are different game modes, the names are different but have the same game play. Like Team Death match, the maps are condensed and small, yet fun. The other mode is best described as a player being integrated into video footage. By the end of the game the best players will be featured in a clip. Then we have 24 player match up called War zone witch features different game plays like Capture the Flag, Domination, Team Deathmatch. Here you will see the true potential of the maps just as they were build BIG is the best word to described them. Now don’t think that you will lose yourself or you have to run to find enemies it doesn’t take long for the first Kill. Last Time it took me 15 seconds to get a Kill at the start of the match. To be Noted when your in the snow maps, turn around and you will see your foot prints, look down and you see how you turned around. The level of detail is amazing. So far it is the Best looking shooter out there, to me anyway. I hope this will help a little. Thank You and have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok

posted by migdivided (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

for the most part, i thought part two was more difficult, this game just fly by... it only took about a full day to beat which really surprised me. The game was to short basically, but very fun to play.. great action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dope!

posted by BeastinTwenTi11 (MESQUITE, TX) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Okay so this game is awesome!! This is why you need a ps3 hands down!

Pros:
Awesome Graphics
Effective Mechanics
Great Action
Great Multiplayer

Cons:
Okay story

As you can see the pros outweigh the cons. The story wasnt even that bad but it could have been better. The multiplayer was actually pretty good and rewarding, i played my first match and adapted quickly to the game and enjoyed the cutscenes, i forgot what mode that was called. It didn't feel too uneven as far as classes go as well. The graphics are top notch and the action is great taking you to the bomb ridden city, then the swamps of the Helghan, the breathtaking snowy mountains and finally into outer space! If your an action junky this game is a must BUY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse