Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
7.8

13141 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Tells its story

posted by Eightnine (LANSFORD, PA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

It's a pretty fun game. It looks good and the controls work, but outside of that you won't really find anything remarkable here. You follow a linear path on the way to completing your next objective pretty much holding the trigger button down. Most of the time, you don't even have to worry about dying as your partner is always right there with his magic stick to pick you up right away. Which brings me to the major problem I have with this game: there's no difficulty. Your basically immortal with no real punishment for death, ammo and guns are absolutely everywhere so you dont ever have to worry about that and there's no way that you can get lost or turned around on route to yur objective since your partner prods you the entire time and there's no real reason to play through it again.

Multiplayer extends Killzone 3's life a little bit. It's well executed shoot 'em up fun. Nothing game changing, but at least it's there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Basic run and gun

posted by Captn_Ballz (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Title says it all. It was nothing special and just a basic run and gun with a lot of cinematic clips throw in. The game was pretty short and could easily be finished in a day if it wasn't for all the cinematic clips.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game.

posted by Aluu101 (FRESNO, CA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Was expecting the game to be as fun as resident evil 4 for the wii due to me owning a playstation move controller. Wasn't that fun at all. Just felt like very other shooter out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just your everyday shooter

posted by Saoen (DAVIS JUNCTION, IL) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Now when you first put in Killzone 3 most people know they arent expecting anything new, cause well they havent done anything new with this series in a long long time except make it prettier. I enjoyed the game for its intensity and its overall feel. But compared to some other shooters Killzone 3 pales in comparison simply for the fact that nothing in it makes it stand out. To sum it up, its good, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

I can't say much more about this game that the review title dosen't say. This game is just crazy awesome. The graphics, gameplay and controls are great. If i wouldnt have just bought the show, i would buy this game. Once you rent it, you will want to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A dissapointment

posted by SCW1982 (POCATELLO, ID) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I am a very big fan of Killzone 1 and 2 so I was very much looking forward to 3. I have been completely bored by the campaign. Beautiful graphics are one thing but when there are explosions and guns going off all the time it becomes numbing very fast and nothing stays "special" as far as the experience is concerned. Do not like how they dumbed down the multiplayer aspect as well. Its fun but ultimately dissapointing. Rent first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Am I playing Gears of War Again?

posted by Blackzo6 (LAKE WALES, FL) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I'll be back to Battlefield 2 and Black Ops as soon as this review is done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth the rent.

posted by sbarnes17 (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Good Game. Real good graphics but lets be honest, it's Killzone® 2 with the PlaystationMove® controls and an extended multiplayer. I'm glad I played this game but even more glad that I did not purchase it for $60 plus tax. But like I said, worth the rent on GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Value No Major Great/weakness

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This has now become my BEst example of Why pay for Gamefly, Even though they Supply/demand for new games and general turnaround process by mail; S uck s. This Was a Great Game KZ# was nealry as good as kz2 for gameplay.
The storyline for Solo play ( Or Local) co-op was good but not Geat by any means. the co-op is not available online and that bums us all out!
The Multiplayer is Solid as compared with all good games even Cod's and Fps's alike. They lack in complete similarities Still so not a perfect 10, they solo game always has some great Big weapons and options like taking a Turret Gun with you in Solo and the Multiplayer Special abilities, ie. invinsable, Faster, Turrets and drones.

The 100% hunters out there will have a fair challange though itis Much easier overall than the KZ2 we all may be aware of already.

A good week or regular player 2-3 weeks dependign on time gives you a full experience and if you don't Have to keep it as I was tempted return it and get your New Game On!

Enjoy this 8-9 Quality & Fun Game In my opinion on a easy scale close to a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its alright

posted by xxtrada123 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

At first I liked this game I really did the campaign mode is really awesome.But when went into online at first its was really decent but after a while my stats got lost so I made another account then it did it again.I was really disappointed at how they would release it this early with bugs in it but overall it was pretty good while the campaing mode was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Killzone 3

posted by Sars0 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game has great single player and multie player. PS3 motion controllers are not all that when it comes to kill zone 3 unfortionatly even with the gun they still kinda suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no way

posted by ozzman1102000 (HARPURSVILLE, NY) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

to much like gears of war games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good story, but a struggling gameplay

posted by z28proximo (RUSTON, LA) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Pro: crouching against cover to hide from enemy fire safely
Con: difficult to tell if crouched or even if behind cover

Pro: can hit a button to bring up current destination
Con: constantly having to hit this button because of bad terrain graphics it's hard to tell where you are going or need to go, mission orders are very vague

Pro: when knocked out a friendly unit or co-op player can revive you
Con: struggling through campaign is a constant death-revive-death-revive chain. And you can't always be revived. The computer players have magic bullets. You ARE going down.

Pro: can pickup and use guns of enemies killed
Con: weapon changes do not carry through stages or even through most cut scenes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent

posted by Bain (LEBANON, TN) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game was decent. I got it a few days after it was released as I was one of the first who received it from GameFly right after release.

I didn't really enjoy the game as much as I do the COD games. I rated this an 8 out of 10. I should rate it lower but won't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overrated, but decent.

posted by Fatbum (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I was very excited to pick this up and unfortunately my excitement soon turned into general disappointment.

The single greatest part about Killzone 3 is it is levels. Not that they are special in a free roam since but more so the amount of realism portrayed and graphic quality is a step above any other FPS or shooter style of game.

The "cover" aspect of the game should have never been implemented. It should have been called "Hit this button if you want to receive a headshot from behind a wall".

The lighting made it difficult for certain enemies to be seen. Whether this was intended or not I do not know, however the AI sure as heck knew where I was regardless of any outside influence. There were levels of difference I noted in killing the same types of NPCs. You could shoot one guy in the head twice and take him out, and then kill his equally designed partner in 20 heat shots. Didn't make much sense. There was a general lack of direction in a lot of different places throughout the game that was disappointing.

Most of the levels, although beautiful, almost reminded me of a tunnel shooter, very confined.

The single player campaign was definitely a letdown and there was nothing special or unique about it. Gears of War, Call of Duty and Bad Company all have it beat in terms of play quality.

On the multi-player side of things Killzone 3 really does shine. It's a great change of pace comparatively speaking in regards to how matches are carried out. Paired with decent levels and excellent graphics, it's quite enjoyable. The single best aspect of the game was indeed the multiplayer. Other then that... it's just an average game that's a letdown in turns of hype. Anyone giving it a 9 or 10 is just drinking hypejuice or is a mega fanboy who is wearing his (or her respectfully) fanboi overhype glasses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good FPS...BUT Falls Short of Replacing COD

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
====================
I like FPS games and I end up trying most of them. I like the sense of weight that Killzone has (feels more like Gears of War than Call of Duty). Overall I think it is a good game....but misses in a few areas for being a must buy. For me it replaced COD....but for most people I think it falls short.

Pros
==============
1) gun play is satisfying (shooting and moving feels like battle)
2) graphics are good (not quite as good as I hoped though)

Cons
==============
1) campaign is short (and kinda lame story, but who plays FPS for story....and frankly most FPS campaigns are pretty short)
2) there are only 5 maps in the multiplayer (I'm sure more will be added....but not enough at launch)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

killzone 3

posted by AZEAZEL187 (ORANGE, VA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

love everything about the game except the controls thyre really ready complicated to use with 1 hand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get Into the Zone

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Pros: A strong and action packed campaign mode. Many different scenarios that occur that keep the game interesting instead of just shoot now, shoot some more, and shoot again. Multiplayer is very similar to that of Killzone 2 but leveling up and gameplay is much quicker. Botzone mode is a nice touch for those new players to practice before moving on to the real deal. Graphics are amazing to make you feel your in a true survival warfare. A must play game for anyone.

Cons: Co-op mode can only be done locally which brings the point, we are in an online age, who plays local co-op anymore. Vehicle missions in campaign cannot be controlled by player, so your always in the way of fire.

Note: I did beat the game on Elite difficulty. It can be done, Call of Duty's Veteran is more difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GARBAGE

posted by booyakasx2 (KEW GARDENS, NY) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game is utter garbage.you can stand there and shoot a guy for 5 minutes straight and you will end up dead first.no purpose in taking cover beacsue the AI aiming is ridiculous,,.,.theyll snipe your head off with a shotgun a jam a grenade down your throat from the other side of the map..please..same game all over again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Killzone 3

posted by DON18807 (NEWARK, IL) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game was a big step up from Killzone 2, but it still did not do enough in my book to be a great game. The story is decent but is a little poorly written. The graphics are really not up to par with 2011's graphics. The length of the game was bad. (I beat it in a little over 3 hours!) One of my biggest pet peeves with this game is that the accuracy of shooting is bad. There were times when I focused perfectly right on the head of a soldier three feet in front of me with a sniper rifle and shot and didn't hit them. In this day and age that is unacceptable. Multiplayer is a whole nother story. It feels slow as can be at times, the accuracy problem is 100 times worse, and it just felt like I was playing a multiplayer game from the early 2000's.

To sum up ... Killzone 3 was not my cup of tea, but in my opinion the game is worth a play through. If for nothing else you can see how this chapter of the saga ends. Unfortunately the game as a whole does not live up to the hype. I really had high hopes for this one since it reveal, but once again have been left disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but not amazing

posted by SmokeoutLd (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

Multiplayer Review

Pros: Great graphics, amazingly brutal melee animations, great maps. Lets you spend your unlock points how you want to not in a predetermined order

Cons: Controls are still not responsive enough for me, running and gunning is not an option as a result. No weapon customization at all. No character customization at all. Creating a squad is difficult as you'll run into connection issues occasionally.

It's still a very good game and I like it more than Killzone 2 by a lot but I still feel that there's something missing from making it a great title. Mainly the lack of response in the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse