Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

13141 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KILLZONE 3

posted by MentalCase97 (WEST COVINA, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game had an awsome campaine. i liked the multiplayer ,but not as much as the campaine!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun with friends

posted by giga_money (NEWNAN, GA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game has started on the ps2 and may not even end on #3. the single player story just felt to over welming of one person. then i saw 2 player story and invited a friend over. you can still earn the trophies on 2 player with twice the fun. the best way to play the game is by amazing melee man. other wise you are wasting bulets on the tough guys of the enimies. you go do amazing melee man, get all the kills and let your friend heal you. that is the funnist way to play. other whys you have to put on your gameing face and try to be serius if you wana bet the campaign. the online play is better than some, but there are to many camping spots that are hard to hit.

so rent not buy, and have a friend over.

AMAZING MELEE MAN is the best way and coollest. Y the brutal kill system rocks, way cooler than a knif kill that shutent kill you at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

surprisingly good

posted by Araff (RANDOLPH, NJ) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I really enjoyed this game. the story was fun with many twists and turns. however, it was short, I beat it on the hard difficulty (can't remember the name of it in the game) in ~7 hours. The weapons are nice and have a lot of variety. one thing that really surprised me however was the multiplayer. i was not expecting the multiplayer to at all be competitive with more popular games or games centered on multiplayer like call of duty, MAG, or Medal of Honor. overall i gave this game a 9. I really liked it, but there were a few things i would have changed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by Kurrick (SALEM, OR) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The game was good and flowed really well, there where a few jump the shark moments but the campaign was fun and well paced if MUCH to short.
I truly miss the days before online play, The campaign from many of the old game where fantastic. Unreal 1 & 2 come to mind. Its to bad that with all the money spent to develop games these days there cant be some of that put to good ol story and single player love.

Please forgive the little rant there, The game was/is allot of fun even the multi-player side was fun and the games seemed to be fairly well balanced even when one side had a skill advantage it wasnt to long before the skill levels seem to even out again and there where some very good matches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but not perfect!

posted by Valimor (MOUNT VERNON, OH) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I went into this game not expecting much. I have never been a big fan of killzone titles before, but decide to see this one through.
Let me start off with the good things:

Graphics: I really enjoyed the unique art style in this game. Lots of excellent particle effects flying all around as you run though enormous battle grounds. The design of the weapons impressed me as well, they all felt real which is important in a sci fi setting.

Controls: I like options, and that is what you have in this game. The default controls are different then what I am used to having spent alot of time playing cod. They give you the option to change the controls in ways that allowed me to play just like I do in cod games. Aiming and moving the camera feels a lot tighter then the previous killzone.

Multiplayer: Fun comes to mind when I think of how I feel about this titles multiplayer. Its class based which I dont normally like, but there are options within each class to unlock and then there are a few non-class specific options as well. So there is enough customization in play style to keep you interested. Also there are three game types; guerrilla warefare ( basic tdm), warzone ( picks a map and plays random game modes until a team wins), and operation ( objective based game mode, different objectives depending on faction and map). They are all executed very well, and with so many different abilities available to players it can turn into a tactical mind &#$% lol.

Now for the bad:

Storyline : well there really is'nt much of one to speak of, but lets be honest what strict shooter has a great story? Most people that play these types of games don't even pay much attention to the story from what I can tell. Its all about the action. However I do enjoy a good story, and I will say after the credits started rolling I was as clueless as the day I popped in the disk, and I felt let down.

Verdict : 9/10 for having the fun parts executed wonderfully :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Killzone3 AWESOME!

posted by Un4goten_Fury (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Just wanted to state, that althought it took about 2 days to beat, it is one I look forward to purchasing it and having it as one of my favs. Highly recommend that if u haven't played it yet, u need to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!!

posted by FlawdaKing (PANAMA CITY, FL) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The Story and gameplay is amazing, the online play is lacking a little but overall a great game to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

killzone sweet but lacking

posted by dagon45 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

ok this is my first review so bear with me. ok killzone 3 it was all around pretty awesome game as usual but it seems to me that recruit level was harder than veteran.online play alright but not enough players for such big levels and the fact that you cant really get any kind of ks going cause by time you get the kill some kills you from behind so online not to good for me personally.killzone takes me from any game but to me it seems just like call of duty black ops game play everything really except the disguises and cloaking abilityies it is call of duty black ops. well thats my review on killzone 3 or i would say my opinion.so later gamers i bring you another review or opinion soon...........-_- my rating is based on my personal opinion on killzone 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice but too short

posted by ps3456 (PASADENA, CA) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I just bought a Samsung 55" 3D TV and it plays nice in 3D mode. Had some issues where I had to reboot the system because it hung. The R3 to aim is annoying (I'm used to COD). Great rent, I would even buy it once the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dear Playstation

posted by willytaft (WHITING, IN) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is Shooting fish in a barrel. Literally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3..........still awesome

posted by djlowe1973 (SALEM, VA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Yet another notch in the Sony fan boy's belt and a good argument for the ps3 over 360. This ps3 exclusive has just about all you can handle in a first person shooter. I have played all three killzone's and the ps3 entries are both pretty awesome. With killzone3's more diverse levels and some really cool new weapons this is the best one yet. The story is pretty good and does a good job overall but has a pretty lame excuse for a cliff hanger ending. The game also controls well after you get used to it. Whether you use the Playstation move or the dualshock 3 control is responsive and tight. I will note this is only a review of single player. I live in the sticks and only have satellite internet so I get hosed in the online department. Here are my scores:

1. Graphics-9- very well done with diverse environments, character models, and vehicles. Occasional frame rate issues kept this from a 10.

2. Sound- 10- Good voice acting, good gun sounds, epic soundtrack. It is all good overall.

3. Game play- 9- the game controls well even in the driving sequences. Very well done, like I said though it is an adjustment over COD.

4. Fun factor- 9- I think this si a fun game and every ps3 shooting fan should give it a try. I bought it and beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzonetastic

posted by Cassius_X (GLEN SAINT MARY, FL) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Really good and addicting story mode, and alright multiplayer. Most definitely a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Killzone 3...Compact but fun

posted by hkeyman (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is yet another installment of the games that live with the title "Awesome Cosmic Game...living in an itty bitty living space"! This was a fun story to play through, visually stunning as most games of late have been. But as Killzone 3 follows suit with most games today the visuals fill most of the game and the online play once again trumps any single player mode. All in all as short as it seemed the overall game experience was an enjoyable one filled with fast paced action combined with a follow along story. And for someone who has never played the Killzone franchise it was easy to pickup and play as a standalone game. At times some of the cinematics to game then back again without game interaction other than running to a point was kind of annoying and left me wondering did I miss something or what was the point of that sequence other than to confuse the player? But all in all if your looking to have some action and first person shooter fun for a weekend (because thats all this game will take you to play through it)then Killzone 3 is a rentable game for you. And this is why I appreciate Gamefly and saving me 60$ bucks on a gaming purchase oops again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great FPS Amazing Graphics

posted by jrodny89 (LANHAM, MD) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

so for whoever said " if you like cod..." well guess what hes right if you like call of duty and expect it to be like it. well it's not, simply because this game isn't call of duty... anyways this game is great story line is solid and graphics are even better online play is awesome and very original to the game. and unlike other FPS out there you actually need skill for this game... sorry trading black ops in for this game was a good decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Boring

posted by johnrrodge (VERO BEACH, FL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

It's boring, the multiplayer is fun. but the campaign is boring. Don't pick this up :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by boomer12 (MESA, AZ) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is great for someone who wants a medium length shooter campaign game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Killzone 3...disappointing

posted by S2Kboy (AIEA, HI) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

If you like COD you may not like this game. The graphics are pretty good but the game controls are different from COD, which was very frustrating, and I didn't want to take the time to get used to it. I had high expectations before playing this game after reading raving reviews on it...which made my experience with it that more disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Killzone 3 Official Review

posted by simonsays3366 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Killzone 3 is definetely a well made game comparing in to its previous two previous prequels. The games controls are made for efficientcy especially for COD players. You willl find that changing controls to "alternate" will do switch this over to your likings. The story is well executed; the voice acting being the high point in this. The main standout in this game for me was its multiplayer. The system is vast with a very generous reward system. The maps are wonderfully constructed and battle ribbons along with upgrade point will further deliver killzone 3's high octane experience. ENJOYYY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

my expectations were higher

posted by MFDOOM6 (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

in my opinion i thought black ops mulitplayer was better, but killzones story was better and had me more hooked. but good game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Completely Awesome

posted by Geronimo1973 (PASADENA, CA) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Love the graphics and the variety of guns, tanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

killzone 3

posted by psychicAlien (SHREVEPORT, LA) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Kilzone 3 is by far the best killzone to date. I rated this game a 9/10
the graphis are top notch and if you have a 3D tv. The game has a
3D mode. the sound and music is good and keeps the feel of the story.
Control is tight and can be adjusted to your preference. I really liked
this game but, at times in the story mode it felt a little repitive. Not really
a big deal if you like first-person shooters. The story mode is good and
fun to play through either alone or with a friend. In co-op story mode.
The multiplayer to me is top notch and fun to play. The only thing is I
heard that the infiltraitor class can get off some cheap kills. Myself though I use the infiltraitor class and I haven't seen no preblems with this class. All in all a good solid game it won't go down as a classic like the
Halo and Gears of War game series ,but a good game. Thanks for rearding.

later,
Psychic Alien

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

killzone 3

posted by wasabiuli (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

Overall I enjoyed this game and it's a fun shooter. Yes, the graphics are great but the story is lacking, the campaign short and multi-player has been dumbed down. Worth a rent but not a game I would pick up again and again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Exciting Shooter

posted by WorldWarMe79 (CONWAY, SC) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I have no clue what the story was about, something about getting off the bad guy planet or something along that lines, but wow what a ride. This is the first Kill Zone game I have ever played and it made me what to check out the other two. The action was intense and the characters were fun to listen to (some times though it sounded like they were kinda whiny at times). The use of the jump packs was a nice touch but I was getting shot down most of the time on the higher levels. This is by far the best looking shooter I have played in a long time and I can only imagine how fun this is in 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Superb shooter!

posted by Dunnmaster (ELLSWORTH AFB, SD) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

Upon getting a 3D TV a month ago, I was really looking forward to this game. I was very impressed overall and had a great time throughout the entire single player campaign. The controls were tight, the 3D graphics were very immersive, and I even thought the story was good. I'm not sure why other reviews knocked it, but I felt it was just enough to give me a reason why I was doing the things my character was doing, but not too much to bore me. I did try out the Sharpshooter controller for the Move, but found that it was too hard to hold up for long periods of time, although it did work pretty well. The Move by itself was well-integrated, but to be honest, it felt inferior to using the gamepad. Overall, this was a very fun game, and I recommend it over Homefront or any of the other shooters that have come out recently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Shooter

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

It's a visually stunning game with some fun shooting and mediocre cut scenes. The Move option is just ok. I bought the gun to go along with the game. Calibrating, calibrating, and more calibrating. Still doesn't make it that good of a game. It's a nice idea, but doesn't make it better. The ending sucks, but getting there can be fun. The online was a lot slower moving than I like. I prefer Black Ops & Crysis 2 Demo. But overall, it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse