Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
7.8

13186 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Superior to its predecessor, still not quite there

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 improves on Killzone 2 in a lot of ways. There are much better, varied environments. New "set piece" levels make the game feel much more interesting, including jet packing from one floating rig in a sea of glaciers to another, zipping down a mountain in a ice vehicle while blowing up Helghast, blowing things up in a mech, even space combat. All of this in addition to Killzone's normal gun play.

Unfortunately the story is still pretty lame. There's mysterious green energy that can blow people up in a gory blood bath and its going to be used on Earth to kill everyone at once.

The characters are still forgettable. The protagonist still gets little actual screen time to develop, whereas his partner, Rico, is still a jerk and the weakling Captain Narville never really redeems himself for being a "by the book" idiot who gets a bunch of people killed for not adapting to the situations at hand.

There's a lot of fun to be had but its not really a game I can see many playing repeatedly. If multiplayer is your thing, you'll find a lot of replay value in that, but unfortunately Killzone 3 is, for me, a one and done game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killzone 3

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Feb 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

49 out of 63 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Once again, Guerilla Games has set the bar for what a first-person-shooter should be. Even though fps games are your thing, but Science-Fiction settings aren't, this game is a must play either way.

+ Best graphics/textures on a console up to this date.
+ Physics, weather and dynamic effects are extremely realistic.
+ 'Brutal Melees' make you want to embrace close-quarters combat.
+ Epic story with non-stop action will put you to the edge of your seat.
+ Very addictive and fun Multiplayer modes with a long rank-up system and point-based unlock system will have you playing for hours.
+ Many improved gameplay actions, in both single-player and multiplayer, from Killzone 2.
+ Supports 3-D and PS-Move.

- Epic story finishes with an anti-climactic and confusing ending.

Overall Rating: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same but more ... :)

posted by Deerwalker (SUNNYVALE, CA) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've played Killzone 1, 2 and now 3. This one is handles just like the 2nd with the added brutal melee (which I love). Different vehicles and the added jetpack (more like a boost pack that hovers down after) are pretty nice. Shooting is more acurate than the 2nd also. All in all it was a good game that was a bit more than I expected. Could have been a little better but I really enjoyed it. My only dislike was that (on easy) it was only about a full day of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

killzone 3

posted by playa4life1990 (GLENDALE, CA) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

53 out of 69 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Pros
.amazing game
.gorgeous graphics
.more weapons
.The melee is improved, for example when you press L1 to melee in killzone 2 your character hits the helghast with his weapon but in killzone 3 when you press L1 to melee your character either stabs the enemy in the eye, cracks the enemies head, cuts the enemies throat, crushes the enemies eyes and once in a while he hits the helghast with his weapon.
.Mulitplayer has improved superbly, if you played the open beta you get a sneak peek of killzone 3's online
.Action packed and fast pacing
.You get to use a jet pack which is pretty fun
.landscape is amazing
.You can play co-op
Cons
.characters are ok
.story can get a little boring sometimes

Overall:
Amazing graphics,everything has improved.
Multiplayer is amazing and its hard to get bored from the multiplayer.
This is a must own for any ps3 fan.
This game deserves a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Killzone just gets better

posted by Obscured (WEST BRANCH, MI) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

All you ps3 owners are in for a real treat as the arrival of Killzone 3 is here. Killzone has came a long way from its ps2 debut. Killzone 2 was great but Killzone 3 is perfect. The game takes place right where we left off with a huge war against the helghast. You step in the footsteps of ISA soldier and go head on with the Helghast. Not to much has changed in gameplay, but why fix what isnt broken. The shooting mechanics are much tighter than the previous titles. The graphics are still stunning, and the sound of your shots echoing down courdors still makes a chill go down the spine. Im not a fanboy of any console i love them all but xbox360 couldnt deliver killzone like the ps3. There are hundreds of things going on at one time from drop ships crashing to helghast everywhere. The multi-player is fun and will give call of duty fans a break for awhile. Pick this game up i guarantee you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Own PS3

posted by LoneWolf44 (DALLAS, GA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Its like going to paradise city this game is the best game I have ever played. EXCELLENT mulitplayer no complaints whatsoever. Very cool and medium length campain mode that is also co-op. It also has botzone which is like multiplayer but with bots for unexsperienced players much like call of dutys combat training. In closing this is a must buy for any FPS lover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best yet!

posted by CrimsonKage87 (CONFLUENCE, PA) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the killzone series for a few years now. And the newest installment has an amazing storyline and graphics in 2d and 3d that blow your mind this is ther best 3d video game experience I have had so far minimal ghosting. The sniper's lasers seem like they are coming out past your head and the snowfall and burning embers seem to hover between you and the tv. You'll find yourself moving you head to dodge bullets and missles truly they cared when they deciided to add 3d

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just short of perfection

posted by blockedIP (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 is just short of being my vision of the perfect game. Aside from the few bugs the game plays smoothly. The player can choose between the original control scheme or a more traditional "Call of Duty" like setup, no matter which one you prefer there is still a slight learning curb if the player is new to the series. In terms of gameplay, the guns feel like they have emphasis and are all incredibly deadly in their own right. The levels are spectacular to look at and almost always have massive set pieces that seem alive, and most of the time lethal, such as the MAWLR. The graphics are simply the most amazing thing I have seen in a video game to date, but I did notice a lag between when the voices of characters would play and when the character's mouths would move, the worst this got was in the first snow area where i saw a good 2-3 second lag between them. Finally, the story is amazing and never left me bored in any of the time I played it. The multi player is just amazing with intuitive controls, enjoyable guns to use, and the best form of leveling i have seen. Killzone 3 is just an amazing experience that will keep the player intertaned for their entire experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game will rock

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Guys this game is awesome.

The MP online beta games run about 10 to 20 mins per game.
Wich means you dont need to keep looking for a new game all the time, since your in one game for a decent amount of time.
Pros and cons if your having a good game you will rack up lots of points. con if your getting your arrsss kicked you will not be very happy but youll still get some decent points.

Most classes are nice i found the engineers sentry gun kinda a waste it gets destroyed way to easy.
The tactician or sniper was more my flavor cause i can capture bases or sit invisible and snipe at will.

You will love this title guys i guarantee it atleast for the difference in game CTF, DM, and Domination all in one round is very nice.

Good luck and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dont miss this!

posted by Assassino (LIBERTY, MO) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Killzone, a creative turn to war as you may have known from previous killzones. This game, it makes the war come real to you. The graphics (Wich are not everything) Are... Are brilliant! The Animations are great! Online play is super fun, Big maps, make for better ways to trap the enemy and ambush, just watch your back. And single player, a great story. I dont have much information as i just played the first mission, but just get the game, its the best thing since sliced Br... BACON!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best Killzone game yet!

posted by reaper_x54 (CANTON, IL) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 is by far my favorite game out of the Killzone series. I found Killzone 1 to be frustrating and just not fun to play. Killzone 2 was alot better but the controls were a bit sluggish. But Killzone 3 got it all right! The story mode actually received alot of bad reviews because of the way the story was told. But I rather enjoyed it! If your looking to play Kz3 don't expect another COD game. You cannot even compare it to Cod. It's completely different but still alot of fun! The story mode can be completed in around 4 hours (my completion time) and expect to experience alot of variety in the missions! Such as Jet packs, APC's, ships and more! Now on to the multiplayer. I enjoy the online part of kz3 alot! So here are the pros and cons.

Pros-
-Alot diff. than the norm FPS games these days.
-All of the classes are alot of fun and offer diff. variety.
-Amazing graphics!
-You feel the bullets hitting people, immersed in the gameplay!
-Split Screen Co-Op! (Thank god)

Cons-
-I end up having alot of trouble with matchmaking.
-Alot of times I don't get into games with more than one or two people.
-The menus are kind of irritating to navigate (and the party system).
-No dedicated servers.
-Steep learning curve (I don't have a problem with it, some do).

All in all I think Killzone 3 is worth the buy! The multiplayer is hard to put down and the Campaign is alot of fun! Enjoy =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Epitamy of shooters. Period.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) May 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 is the master of shooters. It combines great gun play, awesome game-play, insane amounts of violence, good story, and lots of freaking awesome guns. Let's start with the the combat. It runs good, although there's the occasional bit of lag when things get crazy hectic, it lasts for just a moment. The guns all handle incredibly well, and they always feel unique and different. The melee take-downs are awesome to watch. Plunging your fingers into some poor aliens eyes NEVER gets old. And the cover mechanics are great! I was constantly surprised at how smooth it works. A rarity in shooters. But, the game can get hard, very hard. I played on Normal and there were around 3 or 5 sequences that drove me CRAZY!! Mostly due to badly arranged checkpoints. But it never got too bad, just when I thought I was gonna break the controller, I got passed it and moved on to another fun-filled scene. And the pacing is superb, a perfect balance of shooting, vehicular sections, and one very memorable stealth chapter.
The story is also surprisingly good. Not great, this is a shooter after all, but the characters are well enough developed that you want them to win. But you don't necessarily care for them lots. Not like Uncharted or Battlefield: Bad Company. And the environmental graphics add to the feeling of being trapped on a hostile planet. But the textures occasionally are a bit blurry.

Pros: Fantastic game-play, very fun and addicting. Gorgeous environments, perfect balance of vehicle sections and gun-play. Gratuitous amounts of violence, rounded out with brutal melee that never gets old. Good story, just deep enough for you to be invested. Amazing cover mechanics and great gun selections. Addictive multi-player and split-screen always rocks!

Cons: Poor checkpoints and dumb deaths. Partner AI isn't that helpful. Textures get a bit foggy, some minor frame rate issues.

Overall, if you like shooters, then defiantly get this game. You will NOT be disappointed. I promise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KILLZONE 3

posted by DARKSTAR509 (SUNNYSIDE, WA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Killzone 3 was kind of like a killzone 2 1/2 it was pretty cool just not that much new stuff(guns,bad guys, and vehicles)although the arc cannon was sick. try just dont buy it. if they make a kilzone 4 they have to bring something new or else it will be lame:(. Play it though becuz it may not have anything new but nothing is wrong with that cuz killzone 2 was sick and killzone 3 is kind of just like it which makes it just as fun. just lets u down cuz u werent as surprised with anything new as u thought u would have been via all the propaganda about it on the web/tv and such. Just the ending kind of surprised me ;).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Killzone 3! Solid FPS!

posted by ThePariah77 (WHARTON, TX) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just finished the solo campaign of Killzone 3. The story was solid enough to be able to follow through and controls were solid. Nothing really ground breaking in a FPS these days although taking cover and taking aim from cover is a nice feature. Nice blend of action, stealth, and gunplay. Now that I think about it I didn't get a chance to go through the online which I kick myself for turning in the game early.
Bottom line is KZ3 is definitely a solid FPS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG!!!

posted by mugel90 (PLEASANT GROVE, UT) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am not usually into shooters. But dang, my brother and me just beat this game tonight!!! It was so amazing. I had a really great time with this game. I hope to see more shooters like this one in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wowzeeeerrrrssss

posted by marbly23 (PLEASANTON, CA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

at first i was skepticle when i heard there was going to be a killzone 3. i had played the killzone 2 demo and i hated it. the aiming sucked, colors were bland and it just didnt feel right.

when i first saw the killzone 3 demo i tried it out and fell in love. everything i disliked about the second one i found right in this one. i must have played it 30 times.

the campaign in this is amazing. the story dragged me in from the beggining. i think the developers did a nice job of balencing out the on foot action and in vehicle action. i have played some shooters where i was in a vehicle so long it got annoying and boring. didnt feel that with this game.

all the weapons are noticably different in different aspects. the main assult rifle the start with has a slow rate of fire but with good accuracy, and the "higs" default assulft rifle has bad accuracy but with a fast rate of fire.

the glaphics are really good in the game. that might be because i played it on a 1080p hd hp monitor so it looked amazing.

the gameplay is solid. controls feel really good. only problem i have is the aiming sensitivity. but still feels great. i like how your enimies spiew blood out of them wen shot, this gives your gun a sence of depth. makes it feel like you are actually doing something.

the multiplayer is really good as well. only 4 games modes but im not trippin about it cus i only play death match. the like the different classes and the perks you can get.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Epic Opportunity Missed, An Epic Franchise Lost

posted by spacecase90 (DUBLIN, OH) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I received my copy of Killzone 3 I was filled with excitement. Killzone 2 was an absolute treasure of a game and one of the top FPS games of this generation. It did not take long for that excitement to wane and give way to dissapointment, confusion and ultimately frustration.

Killzone 2 succeeded not just in its sweeping beauty but in its awesome depth and intense scale to the action around you. I still say that the final push up the capital steps with "war" going out of control to every side of you will always be one of the most memorable moments I have ever had with a controller in my hand. Killzone 2 is littered with scene after scene where you feel like a pawn of war fighting for survival in conflicts much larger than yourself, more so than any other shooter on the market.

Enter Killzone 3, eschewing the grand war scenes and breathtaking battles and instead favoring a more generic corridor shooter. Battle scenes are not all that was scaled away. Gone are the multitude of impressive and alien weapons exposed in every new level. I actually made probably 80% of my kills at least with the standard gun to start the mission.

Everything about Killzone took a step back, the uncomfortable hallway shooting leaves too many cheap flanking sections where you find yourself dying over and over to the impressive accuracy of your enemy, they get the ability to shoot through objects where you cannot shoot through an open door. The texture of the graphics and enemies creates many moments where you have to look for the glow of the eyes to find a target. Even the story, for which the series is not considered a pillar, is nonsense to the point you start in a prologue scene, flash back and when you get back to the opening scene its all changed. Why have the prologue in the first place.

There appears to be a focus on setups that favor using the Move controller and 3D glasses which is a shame. This game could have and should have been so much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not all that. good Rental

posted by stinger7491 (LYNN, MA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I didn't enjoy as much as i thought i would. Definitely didn't enjoy as much as KZ 2.

Problems: Buggy game play with objectives. you go to an objective point or location, and the game doesn't progress.. At one point i literally stood there for 5 minutes in anger shot my team and the gate opened... I played on veteran(there's 1 more harder difficulty) because I like challenges but i like having fun. This game felt more like work than fun. The cover system did nothing for keeping me alive.. all the hellghast did was throw grenades at me and its hard to get out often cove system to avoid the grenades. If you are prone to chucking your controller don't play on hard or harder. The vehicle levels totally sucked in my opinion, werent fun at all. Again it felt like work. The on foot missions were more fun. As far as awareness goes, i NEVER feel like i know where im being shot from. LAck of weapon diversity is a personal perceive. there's literally 2 of each weapon class. Story never drew me in.
I view Killzone as the ps3's answer to games like gears of war, and an alternative shooter to overrated but still successful/fun games like CoD. Multilayer in my opinion is flawless just hard for me to master so i sucked at it. For those who can get into it better theres probably more fun to be had with multi than anything else.
I feel like the story has huge potential but its not well developed. No sophistication. Good characters but they are predictable, and cliche.

Was it worth renting? Yea. Buying? Probably yes for multiplayer. Not for the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by mbiagi15 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have played Killzone 2 and 3. I believe the campaign on Killzone 2 is slightly better than on Killzone 3. The campaign in Killzone 3 is GREAT, but it's a little too short and there are some glitches. Like for instance it cuts to a black screen for a period of 3 seconds a lot. However with that said, online is much better in Killzone 3. The online multiplayer is different than a Call of Duty, but it is much fun. In Killzone 2, it took some getting used to compared to playing Call of Duty on the Xbox 360, but with Killzone 3, I was playing good right from the beginning. I enjoy just plain old team deathmatch, but the other game modes are fun as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by edouble187 (KILLEEN, TX) May 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing this game I find it a perfect 10! I see nothing wrong with this game in any sense of the word. Game play, sound, and especially the graphics is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

started good and ended bad

posted by Blak1508 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

game was very good overall. great grafics and all that jazz . After completing compain i went to multiplayer which i was nasty at , then i got board .... very quick !! Nothing jumped out at me just a no skill kill spree . i'll stick to Black ops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAME OF THE YEAR!

posted by NCKG69 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Single player is fun and entertaining. The Multi-player online is AMAZING!!!! The graphics and sound within the game are top notch. If you're a fan of FPS games then buy this game or at least rent it. I liked Killzone 2 but I didn't like the heavy "weighted" movements, well Killzone 3 made things MUCH better. I absolutely love this game right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9 STORY AND CHARACTERS KEEP FROM PERFECTION

posted by grinsn2007 (KILLEN, AL) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game has great graphics and gameplay. I the action setpieces. The weapons are great and the move works better than any game ive play with a gun controller. this is a must buy and for you MOVE OWNERS its a must. If the story would have been tighter the game would have been perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The REAL Truth

posted by Matthew110491 (MILL CREEK, WA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Best FPS out right now. Graphics are great, guns are great, maps are good, and difficulty is high. While i will say the story mode lacks in depth and story telling i could look past it. the reason being that i felt like it was more of a warm up for online multiplayer. The action of the online play will leave you on the edge of your seat!! But dont think you will be getting kill streaks left and right, because the online is much harder then any other gameout now (those who played KE2 may have a bit of and idea)
Graphics=10
Controls=9
story=8
online=10+HARD lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by Essence60 (SALEM, VA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing.The only thing I did not like was the HARDNESS.This game was really HARD and the ending was really weird but other than that it was amazing.
P.S. The online is awesome to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse