Rent Killzone 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Killzone 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

13193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

didnt like

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Too complicated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kill me

posted by urmommafool (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

controlls suck a s s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Killzone 3

posted by Towdaddy927 (POMPEY, NY) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game refused to load. The part that tried to load was scratched and keep pausing and skipping. I expected better game disc quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Steamy Pile of Poo

posted by HindenPeter (MOSES LAKE, WA) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Man, where to start... the dialogue and voice-acting is awful, the sounds seem like they were mixed and produced by a deaf person, and the models are all very much last-gen. Nothing about this game is smooth or tactile.

The biggest let-down is the incredible lack of a story. I seriously can't figure out what's going on the whole time, and for people like me who value the story over just about everything else, suffice it to say this gives a bad name to the previous 2 Killzones, which is kind of saying something.

And the dialogue! Oh the dialogue... I'm fairly certain they just pulled random people off the street, handed them $20 and a script, and said, "Now read that into the microphone." There's no feeling in any of the dialogue, save the Helghast leader (whose name I couldn't be bothered to remember), and even then it's all just yelling.

As far as the sounds go... God. I don't even know how you can screw up this badly. I'm led to believe that the sound designer is in fact deaf. There are no explosions, no sounds to indicate that that giant ship you're watching slam into the ground is in fact slamming into anything other than pure vacuum. Sound designer, whoever you are, I hate you.

Skipping everything else wrong with the single-player, lets move on to the multi-player, specifically the online experience. When you shoot someone in the face with a sniper rifle, you generally expect them to die right away. The designers thought this was wrong, so they give you enough time to replace your enemy's face with actual bullets before they die from the effects of the first one. Basically there's so much lag between when your bullets hit someone and they die that the game becomes unplayable.

Bottom line? This game isn't even worth renting, let alone buying. I can't believe it was even considered for best shooter/best PS3 game. The fact that it won both of those goes to show how easy it is to pay off Gamestop. Seriously, just skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hey

posted by oodparent (PATERSON, NJ) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

game did not work...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

about kill zone3

posted by haloplyr69 (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

kill zone 3 keeps frezzing on my ps3 i would like a kill zone 3 that doesnt frezz on my ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by zakman411 (TURLOCK, CA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

Put this game in my console 15 minutes ago. I just put it back in the mailbox. You tell me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Killzone 3 - Not good for the PS3 move

posted by thehudstud (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Let me make a full disclosure, my review only applies to the game as it relates to the PS3 Move.

I have not been a hardcore gammer. The last time I dominated gaming was Supertechmo Bowl for the original Ninetendo. I just purchased the PS3 within the past week. I only did this to get the Move. I wanted to play a first person shooter to make sure I wanted to keep it. I haven't played a FPS game in a long time. I was never any good with them on the PC. I bought the MOVE system and went with everything I could. Made sure I got the gun and the other extra stuff.

The other game I got was SOCOM 4. I realized one of the most important things was to be able to duck and shoot. I think I've got it down in SOCOM (at least I can do it).

In Killzone 3 I WAS UNABLE TO BE ABLE TO DUCK AND FIRE EFFECTIVELY. The problem is the way the buttons are configured it makes it very hard to do certain things. This flaw was fatal for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pretty Disapointing

posted by reeper586 (OAK CREEK, CO) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

Well, save yourself the rental. I haven't played the Killzone titles before, but this was very disapointing. The shooting action and the aiming with the guns is beyond difficult. The only word to describe the shooting on this game is TERRIBLE. You may as well be blind. If you familiar with Modern Warfare or Halo, you should skip this rental because the online is even more depressing. It lags constantly and drops lobbies as if you are playing on dial up internet. Overall, Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocrity

posted by NitroMidgets (CIBOLO, TX) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I heard all of the hype, played Killzone 2 and finally got a chance to play this game and I was completely underwhelmed. More of the same old cookie cutter Killzone/COD/BFBC shooter. Lather, rinse and repeat as needed until you have soaked every last dime of profit from the series.

Ever play a game and just as you get to the end you just lose interest in it completely? That would be a good way to describe this game. I didn't play it in multiplayer because the console multiplayers are a waste of time. I get my multiplayer fun in on the pc.

Underwhelmed, unimpressed and not ever worth purchasing. Barely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game SUCKS

posted by Commanderkillz (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

just wat the title says

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no way

posted by ozzman1102000 (HARPURSVILLE, NY) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

to much like gears of war games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You would think it would get better...

posted by grimm22 (EL CERRITO, CA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have given each Killzone a chance and man...no more. This game plays like absolute garbage. It reminds me of a poor-mans fps for N64 or PS1. The controls are atrocious, the story is just as lame-brained as any other fps game, multi-player is nothing special, and the graphics (which was the one reason Killzone 2 gave anybody a reason to play it) is now the norm as they are not superior anymore. It's just not that good. If I were to give it an unbiased rating, I would say it's a 6, though if you have anything better to do with your time, avoid this overrated, awful, used-tampon of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a half bad FPS... But boy is it lame

posted by sparis145x (EASTON, PA) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I don't really think this game is worth renting at all. I played through the entire campaign and TBH I had more frustrating moments then enjoyable ones. I will break down my list of pro's and cons for the campaign of this game.

Pro's:
1. Graphics and sound effects are really good looking. Voice overs look and sound really good.

2. The heavy weapons at the end of the game are really powerful and a lot of fun to use.

3. The storyline itself was actually pretty intriguing. I think that if I had possibly played the earlier games I may have given this game a better rating.

4. I really enjoyed the ability to slide into cover. It made closing the gap between cover and your enemies easier and fun.

5. Loved the jet pack... I was surprised as heck when I got it but completely enjoyed it.

Cons:
1. The dialogue between all of the characters are absolutely horrendous. Cpt. Narville is your typical follow the rules obey orders superior and Chenko and Rico are 2 of the lamest "play by their own rules" characters Ive ever played in any video game. The dialogue is the probably the worst Ive seen in any FPS

2. Idk what they were trying to do with the HUD but I could never tell where i was getting shot from. This way probably the most frustrating point of this game.

3. I don't understand why they did some of the things they did with taking cover. For example, when your in cover you can still be hit, however, when an enemy is behind cover your cannot hit them at all... That annoyed me to no end.

4. There is no recoil when you're shooting. All guns should have it, but its point and unload... you don't have to move at all.

5. Driving! There are 2 parts that are just weird and frustrating. One is a high speed chase that just expects you to know where you're going and half the time i crashed. The other was a Mech that felt more clunk then anything else.

All in all this game was pretty mediocre and if there is a KZ4 i will absolutely pass on it without thought

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh

posted by LocoForte (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Lots of great reviews, and yes it is a pretty nice looking game in general. And that's about all the good i can say about it. Even the 'nice looking' wasn't so impressive to me. Additionally, I personally had some technical issues: Move controller wouldn't work, online matchmaking was quite slow, and the game froze on me several times (Disc is mint condition). The sound also falls well short of expectations, i mean the guns all sound nearly the same! Melee is annoying and doesn't actually kill anyone - this was probably on-purpose but it's still annoying. Basically, this PS exclusive merely confirms, yet again, that i hate shooters on the playstation. Discount my 1 for whatever reason you want; for me it's reasonable as the game was back in the mailbox the very next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BORING

posted by lrnlvr (PALM BAY, FL) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

dont know if the actual gun would make this game any better, but from a standard ps3 controller, do yourself a favor and stick with Call of Duty. it was a boring boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SSDD

posted by Sannyasi (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

After waiting 30 mins for system update, game install and updates... ( usual for the WaitStation).. I was sadly not surprised to find the same issues with this game as I had with KZ2... CONTROL!!.... It is horrible and nearly the opposite of what you'd expect if you've played any other FPS on the planet (namely COD because that would be my choice of best fps control on a console).

Controls are sloppy, I feel as if my character is wasted while I try and control him. Even with the sensitivity down to 20% control feels too slow and still not precise... Jump button may work once every other time. 2nd problem... I find the resolution and aliasing worse than most... I attribute this to poor game textures that seam more noise than anything to achieve "detail".. It doesn't work... Art feels rushed and very unpolished.

If you enjoyed KZ2 I'm sure this will be now different for you but after one hour of play, its back in the sleeve heading back to gamefly.... I've now tried KZ2 and 3.... I'll skip 4 if they make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

unimaginitive and boring

posted by Takao (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this is yet another. bulletstorm crysis ect ect ect shoot em up game. at least the CoD games let you unlock new and better weapons as you progress as well as traits to "customize" your character. this is yet another linear "have to do it by the book cause no other way will work" shooter

btw i only got this for its compatibility with my move and sharpshooter... it only made the game more clunky controls and much worse experiance

next up socom 4... lets hope it works well with my sharpshooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No...Just, no...

posted by GamePRO620 (MINNETONKA, MN) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game, overall, is not good. the controls are janky, the graphics kinda suck, the campaign is monotonous, and the online is extremely biased towards the lifeless losers that have already achieved higher levels. the guns are cool though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GARBAGE

posted by booyakasx2 (KEW GARDENS, NY) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game is utter garbage.you can stand there and shoot a guy for 5 minutes straight and you will end up dead first.no purpose in taking cover beacsue the AI aiming is ridiculous,,.,.theyll snipe your head off with a shotgun a jam a grenade down your throat from the other side of the map..please..same game all over again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Is Why You Get GameFly

posted by MrCardBoad (ARLINGTON, TX) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage. Looks like garbage, sounds like garbage, plays like garbage. You cannot get %100 behind cover. There is a space battle in which you cannot control the ship and it is very very annoying. There are like -5 guns you can use. Every cliche in the book was used as far as characters go in a battle game. White main character, black partner, a sergeant who only obeys orders, and a random chic named Jammer who just pops out of nowhere to ease that 15 year old sexual tension. I had to check twice to make sure my PS3 HD setting were on right, thats how bad this game looks. The story line is completely absent of time. its just garbage. I cant believe games like this are made and its already 2011. Have fun playing for 4 hours. $67 well saved. Thank You Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

freezing skipping lag you name it

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

most people hate the campaign so i'll dedicate this review to the multiplayer unfortunately its not good either match making is quick but %80 of the time i would be paced in a game where im the only one on my team or the match would end as soon i a spawned most people say the hit detection is way off that couldn't be anymore accurate the hit detection is extremely annoying you hit people they dont die ever some people say the weapons and abilities are overpowered ok fair enough but whats worse is the lag you diminish someones health but it takes like 3 seconds for him to actually die major game breaker if thats not enough it freezes quite frequently or just skips to the point where you push the stick and he doesn't go anywhere but let go of it and it warps you 30 feat away its that bad after 3 days of the nonsense i decided to call it quits and return to killzone 2 speaking of killzone 2 its much better than the third just rent the second skip the third entirely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Freezing

posted by Ponno (ELKTON, MD) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

game had a lot of freezing issues. I would get to a certain point and the game would freeze and I would have to exit out.

Unable to progress past that point. The disc looked fine, no scratches that I could see.

Took a few minutes to load also to the title screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Short

posted by lanmar05 (ABBEVILLE, LA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good campaign bad online

posted by flaver323 (GENEVA, NY) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Killzone 3 has pretty good campaign but the online multiplayer i think in my opinion is bad.I do not recommend for some one to buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse